Find companies:
NBC Universal
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
441 reviews

NBC Universal Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly stressful environment
Production Coordinator (Former Employee), New York City and VancouverDecember 6, 2012
Pros: working together for a common goal
Cons: long hours; extend time between jobs
This job listing is a combination of working in independent film industry. I worked in New York City and Vancouver over a 15 year period. Typically working in film and television are 14-16 hour days with constant work in an extremely stressful environment.

Working in the production office you must deal with all types of of situations and be able to – more... improvise many solutions.
Typically my co-workers were great people. Since we worked extremely long days we usually succeeded in making the days spent in the office pleasant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free movie club
Shipper (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: free movies
getting things ship on time
about movies
fine
very nice
not having a complete order
working
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Again
Operations (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 25, 2014
An opaque employer that asks for far more than they give back. All of the good employees are being driven away by the corporate policies put in place. This is the Wal Mart of the entertainment industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Seasonal position
Bartender/Vendor (Current Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 21, 2014
I enjoy working and meeting new people. So working here seasonally I get to be apart of all the events such as Halloween Horror Nights, Mardi Gras and Summer nights.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere, everchanging
Digital Sales Operations Coordinator (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 15, 2014
Work with other teams, learned about each department I work with, great management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fast-Paced Environment
Broadcast Operations Coordinator (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 13, 2014
Pros: planned special events catering
Cons: short breaks, no career advancement
My typical day was to prioritize/manage the VP's schedule, edit/approve payroll.
I've learned how to effectively create a 9-day work week schedule for 20+ engineers
My co-workers were a great group, respectful, fun
The hardest part of my job was receiving blame for something that didn't involve me
The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with – more... the engineers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
BARTENDER/SERVER (Current Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 7, 2014
Clock in to work, take care of guest dining needs. Management is very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everybody is friendly and caring. Also, great perks with working for the company.
Survey Research Recruiter (Current Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 7, 2014
Management is amazing and caring. Everyday my department has candy and/or food for the team members. They always try to motivate you to do your best and are encouraging. They rotate team members in and out of sun and shade so you don't die in the heat. Best company I have ever worked for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse and a fun place to work at.
Sales, cashier (Current Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 6, 2014
Pros: free lunches, entry to the park, discounts and acess to special events
Cons: short breaks
I meet hundreds of people every time I work and it's people from all around the world. Some people speak English, some don't at all and you have to adapt and try to understand what they want as best as you can. I have learned to be patient with people because not everyone is nice and how to mange my time effectively because it's a fast paced work environment. – more... My co-workers and I work together like a well-oiled machine; we are trained to work together, also independently and how to adapt to different situations. In my opinion, working with all types of people is most enjoyable and hardest part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Work experience
Intern Studio Assistant (Former Employee), Stamford, CTNovember 5, 2014
Pros: experience
A typical day consisted of getting wardrobe for the guests and making sure they were comfortable for their appearance. Doing runs was also a big part of my job, whether it was to a clothing store or to the office. I learned what it is like to work in a high pressure environment. My co-workers were great and everyone was willing to help each other. The – more... hardest part of the job was probably right before show time because that is when everyone was in a rush to make last minute changes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disciplined and Goal-Oriented Environment
Senior Business Analyst, I (Current Employee), Universal City, CA 91608November 2, 2014
Since the years that NBCUniversal was formed under General Electric, the company has been very focused on achieving results using the "First Time Right" model. It serves NBCUniversal well that many of their current processes were developed under GE's leadership, giving NBCU a more disciplined approach to issues than many of our competitors. Although – more... the company is part of the Entertainment Industry, it shares parts of its outlook with the Six Sigma-driven mentality of the Aerospace Industry.

Management is good at NBCUniversal, but often the hardest part of the job is dealing with friction between businesses to attain an outcome.

As far as co-workers go, the rank-and-file personnel of NBCUniversal are the best you'll find. Friendly, outgoing, willing to pitch in and share knowledge, they are the heart and soul of what makes NBCUniversal a great company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family work place
Park Attendant (Former Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 1, 2014
Pros: get attached to patients
Cons: discharging patients/ patient deaths
My day consisted of visiting patients, medicine reminders, bathing, dressing, light duty cleaning, answering phones, laundry, errands.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy go lucky greeter
Turnstile Attendant (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 31, 2014
Greet Guest at the Gates of our Parks. Welcome them with smiles. Receiving Tickets from guest and allowing them to enjoy the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worthwhile Experience
Writer / Producer / Presenter (Former Employee), freelance, IrelandOctober 31, 2014
Short term contract aimed at the European release of the Wolf of Wall Street DVD in May of 2014. See Linkedin for more details.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun work place
Sales & Administrative Consultant (Former Employee), Port Charlotte, FLOctober 30, 2014
All my hard work payed off in the long run & I made good friends along my journey.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Land of Make-Believe
Food Stand Attendant (Former Employee), Universal City, CAOctober 28, 2014
It was my first post-college job. I didn't mind traveling 35 miles when gas was $1.47 a gallon in 2002.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did't work here long
Tile (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 26, 2014
No opinion, seemed like a good place to work. Most people seemed happy to be there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved every minute
GT Crew Member (Former Employee), London, ENGOctober 26, 2014
Pros: free food, travel, car, fuel, phone etc etc etc
Cons: long late hours on occasion (but good overtime rates to cover them)
I drove for NBC for the 2012 Olympic games in London and enjoyed every minute of it. Working with nice, friendly people and extremely well remunerated. Shame it was a temp contract
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was instrumental in my learning process of people interaction.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 26, 2014
Pros: center of tourism provided good insight about the world outside of the us
Cons: hours were subject to the needs of the business.
My typical day of work consisted of talking to tourists and natives of New York. I conducted register transactions, upsold merchandise and provided information about NBC Tours and tourism destinations. I learned how to ask open ended questions which allowed me to become more comfortable with myself approaching people I didn't know and have a no pressure – more... conversation with them. I also learned that in a corporate environment being professional goes a very long way in every action taken on a daily basis. The hardest part of the job was selling things people didn't want to buy. The most enjoyable part was that I had a lot of fun working there joking with people from all over the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amusement Park
Park Attendant (Former Employee), North Hollywood, CAOctober 26, 2014
A usual day started with cleaning the park, making sure things were tidy, making sure that any extra duties assigned were completed as soon as possible. I learned to be successful, and to work in a very fast paced environment. The co-workers and management team were wonderful. I enjoyed the job overall!

1 2 3 4 5

About NBC Universal

NBC Universal is one of the world's leading media and entertainment companies in the development, production, and marketing of – Read more