Find companies:
Navy Federal Credit Union
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
217 reviews

Navy Federal Credit Union Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for but management needs help!
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Ridgecrest, caSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: the members you get to meet
Cons: management is incompetent
Members really make this job worth it. At the end of the day I got more praise and recognition from them than my own management team. I made the choice of really trying to excel in this company and learn as much as possible. Big mistake because when management saw that I could handle complex situations ALL problems were sent to me and no other employees – more... were urged to step up and assist. I never managed to get training in that could further advance my skills because there was never enough time, however other employees seemed to get training often. There was tons of favoritism and new and exciting training opportunities were often given out to the least knowledgable or productive employee because managers "felt bad" for them. My managers kept forgetting to put me in for raises, broke promises to get me trained as a supervisor, and often interrupted my lunches so that I could deal with angry members or assist/takeover situations that they were unfamiliar with. I finally had to start leaving the property so that I could eat in peace! The company itself could be great to work for but their choices for whom is selected for management is horrible. Based on my experience I would not recommend NFCU – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Loan officer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 19, 2013
Pros: being on call for the atm machines, great benefits.
Cons: base closed, out of a job.
My days work was working with the public. Taking loan apps, entering them into the computer. Phones. Customer service. Etc.
I got along with all my coworkers. I had my own office. I also worked with the Atm Machines.
Carried a Beeper on call. This was great because it was all overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center/Member Service Rep, far too much challenge, stress, and responsibility for the compensation/benefits.
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Vienna, VASeptember 18, 2013
Pros: growing company with respect for it's financial members.
Cons: no flexability with schedule, vacation, time off, etc in call center.
Call Center/Member Service Rep, far too much challenge, stress, and responsibility for the compensation/benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Vice President (Current Employee), Vienna, VASeptember 10, 2013
good company. too much paperwork. very inflexible. but heart is in the right place. pays well
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many endless mandatory overtime hours required
Mortgage Processor/Closer (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: too much overtime, no work/life balance
Salary and benefits are great; however, working in the Mortgage Dept. is very stressful and you will have no personal life. 5-10 hours of overtime were mandated the entire time I worked there; and, per management at the time I resigned, there was no relief in sight. Company continued to offer promotions on mortgages without having additional staff in – more... place to meet demands. I feel they valued the numbers rather than the ability to satisfy borrowers by financing in a timely manner, and also more than their employees mental/physical health. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Member Service Representative II (Current Employee), Winchester, VAAugust 27, 2013
Pros: great benefits, compensation, knowledgable management
Cons: breaks determined by system, 21 sick day requirements, no change from day to day
No change between one work day to another. Great Co-workers. Friendly environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Beulah, FLAugust 24, 2013
Enjoyed the feeling of solving someones problems
Learned how to slow my speech and fill my vocabulary full of courtesy words.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My coworkers were great
Administrative Assistant/LCR Support Clerk (Former Employee), Vienna, VAAugust 23, 2013
I learned to be a team player and I enjoy helping members. My typical day consist of answering the phones, during accounts payable, posting payments and receiving incoming mail. My management team was ok. The hardest part of my job was leaving my coworkers I enjoy working with them. The most enjoyable of my job was learning new things and helping the – more... members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NFCU
Member Service Representative III (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLAugust 19, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: management
Great company with great benefits. However the contact center lacks direction like most big financial institutions do. There is always change with new laws and regulations. Management changed a lot and caused misguidance/misdirections amongst teams and upper management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for just not a whole lot of room for growth.
Member Service Representative (Current Employee), Fountain Valley, CAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: great hours.
Cons: no room for growth.
The office work is easy and member are very nice to us. The only problem is that we do not have any professional development for team member like my-self.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
BSA/AML Analyst (Former Employee), Vienna, VAAugust 7, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: favoritisim and bias management behaviors
NFCU is an over all good company to work for. Their benefits are excellent, and you get an annual bonus - which is very nice! The downfalls are in management: unless you are related to, married to, dating, or best friends with someone in management it is hard to advance to a higher position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Diberville, MSAugust 3, 2013
My experience at NFCU was horrible. I've never been at a job were I had to choose between work and my family. Mgmt made you feel bad when you had a sick child or an illness yourself and needed time off. You accrue sick leave and annual leave but yet it's a problem getting time off. Mgmt states business need plays a factor in gettin requested time off. – more... Business need wouldn't be an issue if the mgmt team wasn't running/firing their employees. The branch I worked for was very divided amongst its team leaders and employees. Mgmt abused their authority and showed acts of prejudice. I've never felt so degraded in my life. Since when does a top performer, educated, goal driven individual become an ineffective careless employee? Hmm sounds a little fishy to me. I think NFCU as a whole has good intentions but the individuals they have managing are ruining the reputation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very large, stable company...
Senior Copywriter (Current Employee), Vienna, VAAugust 2, 2013
I have enjoyed my time here at Navy Federal as a contractor, as it is a large company with stability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced enviroment
Account Specialist I (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLJuly 28, 2013
I enjoyed working in the variety of positions due to the steady fast paced enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Training and management
MSR (Former Employee), Montgomery,AlJuly 28, 2013
Pros: pay rate
Cons: poor training and not caring about the employees, you are replaceable by all means
The pay is great here but management has poor training they expect you to know everything and jump and help them and I felt harassed about my attire daily from asst. manager until I didn't like going to work. She focused more on attire than teaching me my duties. There is no privacy when you do something wrong everyone knows your busy(other employees). – more... They joke and pick fun of other workers no professoinal structure and they cover their owns backs. Everyone talks about each other and then smile in one another face. This is truly one place you really need to have a strong tolerates for. You are replaceable and no job security at all. I moved away from the area, however I made friends but management made me dislike the area even more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my position
Recruit Training Specialist (Former Employee), Great Lakes, ILJuly 27, 2013
Pros: customer interaction
Cons: was not full time/needed internship credits for graduation
Being a lover of the people, I rather enjoyed working with presentations, and being in contact with interested parties of the credit union, as well as established members. I was in charge of giving presentations, that explained different aspects of the credit union (i.e. ordering checks, wiring money, setting up allotments, credit scores, and check – more... cards). Being able to answer questions, and quite frankly heighten their enthusiasm in our banking facility was a real high for me, because I could be very influence, either way. It caused me to really up my vibe when orchestrating these presentations, as I really wanted to give up a great first impression of our credit union. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), JapanJuly 26, 2013
Pros: great manager
Cons: short lunch
Great place to work for, I learned a lot during my 2 years. I have learned to work as a team. I had great co-workers who taught me a lot with a manager who was there when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with great amendities.
Mortgage Processor (Former Employee), Vienna, VAJuly 25, 2013
Pros: metro excessible
Cons: low staff
Like all mortgage companies the environment was very fast paced but management was very flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Enviroment
Mortgage Collections Counselor (Current Employee), Pensacola, FLJuly 24, 2013
Pros: many morale boosting activities
Management is helpful, co-workers are friendly and sociable, the most enjoyable part of the job is counseling members past their delinquency
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
MEMBER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJuly 23, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: n/a
Management was very supportive & planned and developed employees to gain knowledge of work situations and understand policies & procedures. Co-workers & managers worked together as a team to performed functions accurately, timely & consistently Enjoyed working with the Military and members. The hardest part of the job was leaving the team. I relocated – more... out of state. – less

About Navy Federal Credit Union

"Once a member, always a member," promises Navy Federal Credit Union (NFCU). This policy has helped NFCU become one of the nation's – Read more

Navy Federal Credit Union Photos