Find companies:
Navy Federal Credit Union
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
225 reviews

Navy Federal Credit Union Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic Family Environment
Account Specialist I (Former Employee), Vienna, VAMay 13, 2014
Pros: bonus and over time
multiple shift options. Very into the happiness and satisfaction of its employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I expected. Horrible work environment
msr (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FlMay 10, 2014
NO TRAINING, Management talks down to you. Wasn't even shown where to do my tax forms or direct deposit. Ask multiple times to show me how and where to sign up for benefits. Never shown or given any time to sign up. It's a double standard there. Treat their employees like slaves, feel like I'm in the military. For being a big corporate company it SUCKS... – more... how can they expect to give good service with no training. You can't. Looking for a more employee friendly job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Benefits
Call Center Account Specialist (Former Employee), Pensacola FlMay 8, 2014
Pros: excellent pay and benefits
Cons: this is a call center and therefore has extremely strict rules, they are simply black or white there is no gray in special circumstances
This is a great place to work in the call center environment. The management is fair and all employees are treated equally. There is great opportunity for advancement at this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
MSR (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAMay 6, 2014
by far the best job I have ever held.. great compny and great co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good experience
Business Account Officer- (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 2, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: lack of leadership and taining
Not the position I applied for. I was under the impression, this was a sales development role. It was not, it was commercial credit underwriting. No training, little coaching, lack of leadership
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great people!
Mortgage Support Assistant (Former Employee), Vienna, VAApril 28, 2014
Working at NFCU HQ was a great experience. I assisted processors in the steps performed when approving a member for a home loan.
It was a pleasure going to work everyday, being surrounded by great caring coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst employer ever!
MSR (Current Employee), Winchester, VAApril 25, 2014
Pros: decent pay when looked at by itself.
Cons: everything. lunch and breaks shortened by time requirements, rules, constsant surveillance, exceptionally stressful work.
Training promised help when we got on the floor. NOT! All "help," all reviews are geared to what we do wrong. Rules change constantly and seem to matter more than quality of work. Employees are watched and listened to constantly. Time requirements run to the second. Phones ring constantly, never any time to breathe, callers are rude, think they know – more... more than the workers, constantly demand to speak to supervisors when they dislike answers; workers are expected to be "respectful" to those who are rude and demanding. I cried while driving to work most days. If this is a "Top 100" I dread what others are.
They offer "free incentives" such as coffee, lunch bags- they should put money into computers and headphones that work properly and easily. During busy times they don't allow supervisors or coaches off the phones, either, so workers get no assistance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Members and Members :) Management :(
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), D'Iberville, MSApril 22, 2014
Navy Federal Credit Union in general is a great company to work for; however, when it comes to the management team that's a whole different story, granted not all management team is the same. With this particular location, you know as soon as you walk in the door what kind of day it's going to be and most of the time it's not good. Don't bother having – more... a family with young children because you're told you need to have a "back-up" plan for someone else to take care of them if needed. If you need to go to the doctor or you have to take your children to the doctor unexpectedly don't bother getting a doctor's note because it does you no good unless you've been out more than three days. You accumulate sick leave, but its only to be used for scheduled appointments. Team members work well together and can always count on each other when assistance is needed. Team members were afraid to ask management for assistance because anything you ask is received negatively by management and its written down and put in your file for your review. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Winchester, VAApril 17, 2014
Pros: excellent wages and benefits and bonus
handling 100 phone calls a day,changes everyday and new policies
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to wrok.
Member Service Representative (Current Employee), Fountain Valley, CAApril 12, 2014
Pros: great 401k plan.
Cons: only 30 minutes lunch.
I learned something new everyday. For examples, how to approach a unhappy member. How to greet members properly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NFCU
Registered Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Augusta GA.April 2, 2014
Pros: compensation structure and benefits are very good
Cons: management in individual branches do not necessarily follow company guidelines.
Superb company to work for. Great compensation. Great team to work with. Co-workers were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOVERMENT MORTGAGE UNDERWRITER
DE Mortgage Underwriter (Former Employee), Herndon, VAMarch 19, 2014
MORTGAGE UNDERWRITER
CREDIT ANALYSIS
INCOME ANALYSIS
TITLE REVIEW
COLLATERAL REVIEW
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great facility
Supervisor Maintenance Services (carpenter shop) (Former Employee), Vienna,Va.March 18, 2014
Great place to work,except in the Facilities management section,your manager would be a morbidly obese micro manager who is a clown.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful environment, very comfortabe and relaxing
Msr I - Member Service Rep I (Former Employee), Winchester, VAMarch 18, 2014
great management wonderful being in the presence of GOD the entire day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely long stress filled days, numbers oriented, no true value of employee and quality of work
Mortgage Loan Processor (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLMarch 18, 2014
Pros: free gym, decent pay
Cons: mandatory ot, management, numbers oriented, flexibility, unrealistic quotas
I started off optmistic and excited to work at NFCU and was hoping this would be my place of retirement, but that all quickly changed. It was mandatory that you work 14 or more hours a day no matter what or be would be terminated. They are not flexible and will not work with your hours, sadly I know this from experience. I feel they valued the numbers – more... rather than the ability to satisfy borrowers by financing in a timely manner, and also more than their employees mental/physical health. As a mortgage processor you would have over 50 to 70 loans (whereas 30 loans should be the most you handle at a time) at a time and you were told to contact each member and touch each loan everyday as well as answer a phone that rung 24/7 or get reprimanded and possibly terminated. To many unnecessary daily huddles/team meeting to discuss emails that you would read yourself didn't help when you already were skipping lunch to make sure you get your work done. I have never worked for such a demanding place in my life and no matter how much you did it seemed to never enough. I agree with a lot of the other comments regarding unqualified people being promoted because of favoritism (bad management). There were a lot of people in higher position who had no clue what they were doing and would ask people below them for help. I never experienced a work environment like this one and would never recommend it to anyone else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love that the co has great things to offer employees
Mortgage Support Assistant (Current Employee), Pensacola, FLMarch 17, 2014
Pros: the company has so many services available to the employees
Cons: i have not been able to grow as i anticipated.
I assist a closing team of 12 closers with administrative duties.
I have a more in depth understanding of the mortgage industry.
I absolutely love my co-workers. We all work as a family.
The hardest part of my job is I am not challenged. I am in a very entry level type of job and there is no more room for growth in my current position. I have had a – more... hard time trying to grow in the direction I have wanted to.
The most enjoyable part of my job is my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Interactive Place to Work and Grow Sales Skills
Registered Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLMarch 15, 2014
Pros: consistent growth opportunities
Cons: limited branch staffing
Servicing client financial needs, no matter what goals the members have offering solutions that are in the best interest of the client.

Hardest part is leveraging business partners that were miles away to host client appointments

Rewarding to be able to offer solutions that save families financial lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy Federal is an employer with great potential for growth, both personal and professional.
VA Gov't Submissions/RESPA Compliance Processor II (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLMarch 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits, facilties and people. awesome members (customers).
Cons: no opportunities for working from home for the department that i worked in.
They provide their employees with the necessary tools to both further their education and their careers. They also provide a comparable benefits package to full time employees (FTE). They also provide health and wellness services, such as an on-site Registered Nurse, workout facility with showers and several counselors to keep the employees mentally – more... and emotionally happy. Navy Federal has a very secure campus, equipped with security guards that patrol the campus throughout the day and evening. The host an annual Health Fair, as well as a variety of activities that are family friendly. Twice a year, they host an Open House so that the families of employees may take a tour of the facility and learn more about Navy Federal.

The staff and management at Navy Federal are very courteous of each other and the Members (customers). They are extensively trained throughout the year on such points as Member Identity Protection and Security (including but not limited to Member Credit Card Security) and Customer Service. Navy Federal strives to put to their Members (customers) ahead of the "bottom line". They maintain a strict confidentiality pertaining to their Members' needs. The employees of NFCU work hard to maintain the Members' accounts and loans so that the Members feel like part of the NFCU family and not just another account or loan.

I enjoyed working at Navy Federal because I learned how to deal with difficult people, both internally and externally, in an efficient and professional manner. I very much miss working with the people at Navy Federal Credit Union, they were a wonderful bunch of folks. If given the opportunity to rejoin the team, I would definitely jump on it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Member Service Representative (Current Employee), Jacksonville, NCMarch 9, 2014
Pros: great benefits & pay
Cons: limited advancement opportunity at branch level, part time hours require being available as if full time
NFCU offers great benefits & really seems to care for their employees & members. As a company, they stress excellent member service and reward their staff for providing that excellent service. At the branch level, advancement opportunity is limited but if you're willing to relocated to VA or Pensacola, FL, opportunity is there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Web Designer (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMarch 6, 2014
Top voted company to work for. They want only the best for their employees and offer many perks, from training to discount tickets.

About Navy Federal Credit Union

"Once a member, always a member," promises Navy Federal Credit Union (NFCU). This policy has helped NFCU become one of the nation's – Read more

Navy Federal Credit Union Photos