NAV CANADA Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 21 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 3, 2016
Great company to start when you are young and work your way in a career. The people are hard working and safety focused. People understand they are part of a team.
Pros
Great Salary and Benefits
Cons
Older workforce
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High learning experience, Nav canada is the best place to learn all types of foods an they have the best training team possible
Cooking & customer service, (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ONJune 15, 2016
I learned so much working for nav Canada
everyone was so friendly an they thought me so much
i learned how to bake an cook an i learned so many different positions in the filed ,
everyone was very patient with me if i messed up or needed help ,
i loved working for nav canada
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not at this time
AIM Assembly Specialist (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONDecember 23, 2015
It's a typical 9-5, I learned a lot about the science of flying and the back ground into flights. Management sucks, they don't have a clue on what their employees are doing day to day. Co-workers are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had an interesting job in a highly technical environment for years.
Flight Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  variousNovember 8, 2015
The job has changed a lot over the years, primarily due to technological updates. Some of the tasks performed regularly throughout my career with NavCanada, were:
- pre-flight weather briefings
- filing flight plans for pilots - both private vfr pilots and commercial ifr pilots
- issuing NOTAMS re: safety issues affecting flight or special circumstances - such as balloon flights, military flight operations, search and rescue operations, missing aircraft, etc.
- communicating with pilots in vicinity of the airports when I worked as airport advisory and with pilots in Arctic Canada when I worked in the Flight Information Center via landline telephone, sat phones and later cellphones; and via VHF, UHF and HF radios where practicable
- updating manuals periodically
- recording daily operational statistics

The first thirteen years I worked in single stand stations, meaning I was often alone on shift. At those locations, I did hourly weather observations and recorded and sent them on the computer. Our computers were on a company intranet and most of the programs we used were created 'in-house' for our specific purposes.

So even though I worked as Flight Service Specialist for 28 years, I kept up with changes with in-house training given by the technicians who had developed the 'new' program, and the job was constantly changing - new rules and procedures, new policies developed as circumstances required, etc.

I am looking forward to working with a dynamic, growing business here in North Bay.
Cons
full rotating shifts, 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Introverts need not apply
CAD technician (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 18, 2015
Great place for highly sociable extroverts to get ahead. Even if you can't do the job, as long as if you are friendly with the right people, you will be on the fast track to management.
If you should be an introvert, or in some way not able to be very sociable, you will be out the door as fast as they can get rid of you.
Pros
3 weeks vacation, 3 weeks paid sick leave, 1 week paid appointment time, and 11 days of holiday time per year.
Cons
The people.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT ENVIRONMENT
Administrative Clerk-contract (Current Employee) –  ottawa, onFebruary 23, 2015
Great place to work! Unfortunetly I was only on a contract, and didn't have the opportunity to stay on longer!
Great life/work balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever changing workplace due to customer needs and constant staff changes
Delivery driver and mail room duties (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONDecember 30, 2014
Administrative duties (Mailroom) were a daily function. Learned great people skills and met numerous fun people. Hardest part was uncertainty of job security
Pros
chance to use organizational and people skills
Cons
use of own vehicle was required
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm environment
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCNovember 24, 2014
The workplace has a calm environment. The bosses trust that you are doing a good job. They are available when you have questions, listen to suggestions and always friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reputable Organization
Safety, Quality & Evaluation Specialist - level II (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONOctober 7, 2014
Spent nearly a decade with Nav predominately in the technical arena. Solid company that offers employee opportunity to develop and advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, high stress learning
Air Traffic Controller Trainee (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 23, 2014
ATC training is a fast paced, high stress course. Every day is spent trying to fix the mistakes you made in practice the day before while trying to figure out what the next step is. It is however very rewarding when you manage to apply what you are thought to the job.

The environment is usually a mix of extremely professional and extremely laissez-faire which can change from one second to the next.
Pros
extremely good pay and benefits
Cons
extremely hard training, extremely high stress and complexity
Was this review helpful?Yes16No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun and Focused place to work
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 9, 2014
A Typical day consisted of Organizing and Updating Diagrams.

I learned lots about file maintenance and how to work productively alone.

Management was always upbeat and busy.

Co-workers were task oriented.

Hardest part of the job was learning how to keep focused on your own.

The most enjoyable part of the job was when everyone would take time to gather items for fundraiser and charity events.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and challenging place to work
Assist.to Directors of Ops Analysis and Finance (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, onSeptember 4, 2014
Assisted 2 directors in arranging travel, meetings, expense reports and formatting of reports.
Pros
good work environment in a challenging field
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place for students to get experience in the IT field.
Support Desk Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 10, 2014
Management is relaxed and focused on understanding the needs of the students with regard to their career.
Pace varies, can be very busy at times, fostering a need to prioitize tasks in order of importance, or slow, which in turn fosters the need to complete backlogged work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great people, future focused.
Technology Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 4, 2013
Excellent company to work for, good career progression, good money, excellent people across the board.
Pros
the people are awesome, highly oranized, future focused.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager of 4 fast paced departments
Manager (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, OntarioApril 27, 2013
My day was typically around 14 hours. My duties were to make sure all functions and departments were running smoothly and completed in the time allowed. Processed payroll and gratuities. Scedual for 4 departments, and weekly Manager on duty.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment Summary
Summer Student Position- Payroll Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONApril 14, 2013
• Administrative duties.
• Calculations (retro-pay, pension deficiencies, bonuses, etc.)
• Interpreting collective agreements.
• Participated on a reclassification- PSAC, ATSAC, and CATCA.
• Updating information in payroll system (ISYS and Oracle).
• Vacation/ Leave entry
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment with gym, cafeteria, etc.
GIS Specialist (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 9, 2012
Productive and friendly environment with gym, cafeteria, etc.
Pros
professional nvironment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 30 year career!
Air Traffic Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 9, 2012
Shift work has some advantages, but makes the work/life balance challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work fro
Senior Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Ottawa ONMarch 28, 2012
This is a good company to work for. Good benefits and pay. Good employer
Was this review helpful?Yes4No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
J'ai beaucoup aimé travailler dans cette entreprise. C'était un remplacement temporaire d'un congé de maladie
Commis de bureau (Former Employee) –  Québec, QCMarch 26, 2013
C'était un travail très varié. faire la saisie de données relatives au paie, congé aussi préparer les commandes. Recevoir les colis et les acheminer aux personnes concernées. répondre au téléphone. codifier les factures, les faire approuver et les expédier pour paiement. faire des photocopies. distribution du courrier etc.
Pros
travail varié
Cons
contrat trop court (pas de poste vacant) car j'aurais aimé continuer à travailler là.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No13Report

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
4.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1