NatWest Employee Reviews

Showing all 228 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
marvellous learning
Personal Banking Adviser (Former Employee) –  luton9 January 2017
my management training started in natwest bank was working for weath management department
training programme make me confident to deal with the client
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Associate Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  Hampshire8 January 2017
Good place to work, many different roles available.
Good range of tasks to do throughout the day.
Decent hours.
Many branches so easy to be close to home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good employers
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  Wimbledon, Greater London4 January 2017
Started working for \NatWest in the 80's , was overlooked for promotion more than once because as a female I was a 'worker ant' and told I would be better off just having a little job for some pin money while I raised a family.

I eventually became a manager but left as I was sick of the whole sales ethos and knew that some of the pressure to sell was immoral particularly PPI it seems I was right about that one!
Pros
great colleagues
Cons
poor managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant Place for Exprience
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Bethnal Green, Greater London20 December 2016
this is a great place to work if your looking to gain some experience especially if your in the process of trying to become an accountant or personal banker
Pros
exprience with professionals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Customer Services officer (Former Employee) –  Merseyside17 December 2016
Not valued, expected to work unpaid overtime regularly. You have to stand up.all day on tills. Very vulnerable as cash in open banking hall. No training. Poor communication. Incompetant management.
Pros
None
Cons
Not a good company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lethargic impotent placement
Financial Advisor Associate (Former Employee) –  London12 December 2016
For work experience at school wasnt a good experience as i was just told to stand at the doors and welcome customers consistently rather than complete any hands on work
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning curve here
cashier (Former Employee) –  Birmingham7 December 2016
enjoyed the hustle abd bustle of banking made a few mistakes in the beginning byt with help and training progressed very quickly. enjoyed covering other branches when they had staffing problems
Pros
lots of different jobs
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rotherham, South Yorkshire3 December 2016
nice environment to work. lots of skills are learnt and customer service skills are improved. A lot of hours but they are worth the pay. It could get stressful but not too bad.
Pros
learning skills
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sressfull
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Northwich3 December 2016
Customer service was a priority

An excellent foundation for life skills

Management could be a bit hit and miss

Co-workers were as a rule helpful

Working with tight deadlines

Suceeding in completing tasks in the required timescale
Pros
lunch hour
Cons
lack of overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and lovely staff
Bank staff (Former Employee) –  Clevedon, Somerset28 November 2016
The whole team were so lovely to work with and we're very welcoming and helpful. They were very rewarding and caring people. The costumers that came into the branch are also so lovely and polite. There are a varietg of jobs within the bank and luckily I was able to see how they all work. Overall a fab team and company and would love to work with them again in the future. I worked within part of the team for my work experience and wouldn't of wanted to go anywhere else.
Pros
Staff and costumers
Cons
A lot of standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Belfast Lough25 November 2016
Good company to work for. Productive team. Management is very helpful. Good training. Duties are explained very well and there is a good goal system. Good work/life balance
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Work
Trainee Cashier (Former Employee) –  South Woodford22 November 2016
This was more enjoyable than the last work experience. I was tasked to help any customers with problems that they had. The management was professional and always meant the customer being first.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to learn what is Customer service is about
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  London9 November 2016
Customers are the heart of this job and helping them to make and save the money. This includes helping them with growth of their money and security etc..

I have learned a lot about how to treat and look after the customer in front of you.

After the financial crisis the bank got rid of so many good staff and ended up with the left over management to deal with the business which came out as causing more problems due to their lack of knowledge of the business or the qualifications. Branch managers became managers just because of their sales tactics only and not necessarily known how to manage people or a bank branch.

Hardest part of the job has always been to digest unpaid overtime work we had to do due to shortage of staff and the workloads and the extended opening hours. No pay rises.

most enjoyable part of the job was meeting people and get to know them and build up a friendly relationship.
Pros
the name of the business
Cons
lots of unpaid workloads
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active and Busy
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Burnley6 November 2016
It was a very nice and relaxing environment to work in. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. They all worked as one big family and made sure to make me feel a part of it too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work with little rewards
Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Carmarthen Town4 November 2016
After 26 years service enough was enough, far too much pressure to sell and abusive customers, I was assaulted by a customer reported it to the managedment and nothing was done about it.
Pros
None nowadays
Cons
Long hours, expected to work extra hours for no pay, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my first job and was a junior role
Estates Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester Central17 October 2016
An excellent place to start of a junior career with lots of opportunities.
Quickly progressed from office junior to work with the estates team in the management of the banks property portfolio.
Worked with an excellent team but took the opportunity to move on as I had ambition to be a PA, which was fulfilled with the Wates Group.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Mortgage Adviser (CAS) (Current Employee) –  North17 October 2016
Very pressured environment, but some fabulous staff and customers. Not enough time in the day to complete all tasks expected of you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment to work
Customer Service/Chargeback Clerk (Former Employee) –  Scranton, PA11 October 2016
CEO's/Supervisors/Staff were excellent to work with/for. I learned a great deal as a consumer with credit cards and as an employee
Pros
Learned a great deal working as a team
Cons
The bank was bought out by another and was laid off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Customer service officer (Former Employee) –  London10 October 2016
A good place to work
* Listen to my customers inquires
* Learn't the whole role through experience.
* My direct manager showed me what is expected from me.
* Co workers happy to help each other
* Hardest part was being made redundant because of job relocation.
* Most enjoyable part was providing our customers professionally and politely
Pros
Ideal location and being able to use my experience .
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chester30 September 2016
2012 - 2014 Cashier at Natwest Chester

Responsibilities throughout Natwest bank employment
• Delivering a high standard of service to every customer that I served.
• Learning new product knowledge and systems efficiency within a short time frame.
• Treat customers fairly with a friendly approach to deliver a high standard
• Setting daily targets to deliver quality business and helping our customers.
• Helping team leaders to do weekly rotas, to ensure all areas of the business were covered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 228 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8