Find companies:
Nationwide Building Society
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
126 reviews

Nationwide Building Society Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy, friendly team
Complaint Handler (Current Employee), Swindon, ENGAugust 15, 2014
Pros: great team
Cons: lots of work
prioritise workload for the day, investigate each complaint. Call ech customer offer resolution, discuss compensation. Handle calls on behalf of team members, update complaints in absence of colleagues. Management is friendly, approachable and helpful. It can be hard refuting customers concerns and offering what we consider a fair outcome if they remain – more... unhappy. I enjoy talking to customers generally and investigating a wide range of concerns each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Productive
Customer Service Consultant (Current Employee), DunfermlineAugust 7, 2014
Pros: 1% off loans
Cons: long hours and different shift patterns ranging from 6-10pm
On a daily basis I deal with various customer queries and complaints in regards to the accounts that the customers hold with the society. Management in the society is good, always around to help with any difficult customers and all co-workers are friendly and overall good people!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting place to work
Fraud Investigator (Former Employee), coventryAugust 4, 2014
I enjoyed my time at Nationwide(tsys) the job was great and there was never two days the same, the training was brilliant and I learnt so much there. all my excellent customer service skills I learnt there and my analytical skills too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Customer Service Administrator (Former Employee), Swindon, ENGJuly 24, 2014
Pros: easy acces to town.
Cons: sudden contract termination without previous notice due to lack of work available.
Typical day at work was very boring.
There was not much to learn considering the position I was asigned to.
Co workers were OK.
The job was very simple.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
SQL/SSIS/SSRS Application Developer (Former Employee), Swindon, ENGJuly 23, 2014
A friendly place to work, with the employees very much valued by the management/directors
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Technical Adviser (Former Employee), Northampton, ENGJuly 23, 2014
Pros: courses for job advancements, friendly staff.
Cons: poor work/life balance, poor upper management.
A generally good place to work. Co-workers tend to be enthusiastic about the job and willing to help others become more proficient in theirs. Local managers are good at managing people but tend to leave work management to the workers. The hardest part of the job is to keep up with the pace of change and the most enjoyable is knowing that good work is – more... rewarded. Nationwide is willing to send you on courses that will help you work better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for...
Area Manager Financial Planning (Former Employee), Area covered Caernarfon to Telford.July 9, 2014
Pros: allowed to run my monthly plan
Cons: too much micro management and reporting
I spent 25 years working at Nationwide and worked my way through the ranks from an MT to Area Manager. Most recently responsible for managing a team of Financial Planning Managers, assessing sales results, ensuring compliance and supervision requirements are completed within timescales, developing individuals with personal plans, working closely with – more... a retail branch management team to drive opportunities and results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable with great progression.
Senior Triage Advisor, Collections and Recoveries (Current Employee), Northampton, ENGJuly 8, 2014
As I am still in employment, the review would be the same as previous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable place to work
Risk Partner (Current Employee), SwindonJuly 6, 2014
I have lots of opportunity to develop with in-house training courses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A flexible employer
Insurance Claims Advisor (Former Employee), NorthamptonJuly 3, 2014
Pros: flexible working, good holidays, good training
Cons: challenging exiting staff car park
Busy and challenging.
No two days the same.
To communicate with customers both verbally and written.
Approachable understanding management.
Supportive team members.
Hitting and exceeding targets with regular feedback.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-stop, 24 hour
Security Supervisor (Current Employee), Security Control RoomJune 30, 2014
Pros: work for nationwide
Cons: long hours, lots of contractors
The largest employee in Swindon, four to five thousand people coming and going each day. a beehive of processes and compliance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommended workplace
Business/Quality Analyst (Current Employee), NorthamptonJune 29, 2014
Excellent team spirit and will always help if they can, lack of opportunity in the company but your efforts are always rewarded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding company to work for.
Mortgage Processor (Former Employee), SevenoaksJune 19, 2014
Mortgage Processor, evaluating clients for successful applications and passing the report to the correct department. Progressing through the company, I then became Mortgage Underwriter and head of the Completions department. I had a team of five who I delegated work to, made sure we acheived our department targets and completed their monthly appraisals.
I – more... then progressed further where I worked at another mortgage Centre, where I was promoted to oversee all training and development of staff members. Also I would work at the head office, assisting with new data systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target driven
Customer Advisor (Former Employee), LondonJune 12, 2014
Great team.

Typical day consists of mainly of customer service and meeting individual and branch target
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investment in staff
Senior Accountant (Current Employee), Northampton, ENGJune 3, 2014
In my Nationwide career spanning 11 years I have developed from an assistant accountant to a senior accountant. Nationwide supported me through my exams, all passed first time, and allowed me to progress in my Finance role. This included simple reconciliations, calculation of provision levels, regulatory and statutory reporting, analysis of regulator – more... guidance to ensure compliance and the opportunity to develop my other skills through courses in aiding my ambitious nature. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer service consultant (Current Employee), Northampton nacJune 3, 2014
Great company if your looking to progress fast in your career
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with flexible work/life balance
Senior Consultant in Data and Modeling (Former Employee), SwindonJune 3, 2014
Pros: gym, showers, canteen, shop and hairdressers all on site
................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with flexible work/life balance
Senior Consultant in Data and Modeling (Former Employee), SwindonJune 3, 2014
Pros: gym, showers, canteen, shop and hairdressers all on site
................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with flexible work/life balance
Senior Consultant in Data and Modeling (Former Employee), SwindonJune 3, 2014
Pros: gym, showers, canteen, shop and hairdressers all on site
................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive
Personal Banking Manager (Current Employee), The Strand, LondonJune 2, 2014
Pros: location, advancement
Cons: predictability, repetitive
A typical work day consists of having interviews with customers in which I identify financial need areas and aim to fill that need using Nationwide products where available. I also ensure that customer service levels are kept at an optimum and customers leave interviews with me extremely satisfied. A typical day for me at work also include providing – more... coaching for the referrers in the branch, guiding them as to how to spot opportunities relating to Nationwide products.

My time here has helped me improve my management, listening, interview, coaching and administrative skills.

I work with a few fun loving people which make the workplace have a relaxed atmosphere.

The hardest part of my job is when, sometimes I am unable to help a customer with their needs. Also it is quite repetitive and sometimes predictable, therefore the job tends to have a short life span.

The most enjoyable part of my job is when I am able to provide financial solutions for customers which evidently makes them better off and eases their lives. – less

About Nationwide Building Society

Nationwide Building Society is the world’s largest building society, one the UK’s largest savings providers and a – Read more

Nationwide Building Society Photos