Find companies:
Nationwide Building Society
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
119 reviews

Nationwide Building Society Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, Different, Fun
Customer Representative (Current Employee), essexOctober 14, 2014
I start work at 10 to 9, servicing cash machines, to then setting my work station up for the day.
This is then continued by serving a number of customers with different needs and queries.
Throughout the day I complete audits and administration.

I work closely with the management as I am a deputy officer and I am in charge in the absence of management.

I – more... do monthly rotas, for holidays different working patterns and time off.

I also run the safe so I collect monies from other members of staff as well as giving it out to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent enough place to work
Case Owners (Former Employee), BournemouthOctober 14, 2014
I enjoyed working at Nationwide, in the mortgage department, as my responsibilities were data entry and collection. I was able to work fast and was able to work on my own, whilst being a part of a team.

However, the team I was on was not managed properly, there were two managers on a job share basis, and they did not communicate properly between themselves, – more... or with the rest of the team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vibrant office environment
Full Time Mortgage Administrator (Current Employee), GlasgowOctober 11, 2014
Process mortgage applications

liaising with brokers, mortgage consultants, solicitors and valuer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee), NorthamptonOctober 7, 2014
Nationwide is an enjoyable place to work with a wide variety of job roles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finance support of programme leads
Senior Project Accountant (Former Employee), Swindon, ENGSeptember 30, 2014
Finance support of programme leads
Finance support of programme leads
Finance support of programme leads
Finance support of programme leads
Finance support of programme leads
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive and Fun Workplace
Personal Banking Manager (Current Employee), LiverpoolSeptember 24, 2014
• Build and maintain customer relationships.
• Find out and provide solutions to customers on a face-to-face level.
• Help customers build a secure and beneficial future.
• Engage with new and existing mortgage customers with affodabilties, mortgage quotes and queries, and provide decision in principles.
• Explain different types of loan, credit and – more... new mortgage options available.
• Analyse applicant’s financial status, credit and current property evaluations to determine feasibility of granting any loans.
• Achieve individual targets.
• Train and coach staff to develop their own skills.
• Maintain compliance at all times.
• Set goals to achieve targets.
• Deal with high workloads.
• Plan the day/week/month accordingly to hit targets with a structured plan.
• Have the skill set to adapt to daily changes.
• Ensure that Treating Customers Fairly is one of my main priorities.
• Maintain fantastic people skills to gain trust within customers to provide the best service possible.
• Adapt to changes within the financial industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enriching experience
Customer & Fraud Consultant (Current Employee), SwindonSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: job satisfaction
Cons: unsociable hours
During a typical day in my current role I take between 50 and 75 calls depending on call volumes. These could vary from something as simple as an account balance enquiry all the way up to reporting fraudulent transactions occurring. Whether these be card based payments, online fraud, account takeovers, or identity theft and accounts being opened fraudulently. – more... Every customer is unique and require a tailored and personal approach. Some you can have a laugh and a joke with which make the job incredibly fun. And obviously some customers phone and just want the facts, or are incredibly stressed or upset by what may have happened to them, which require a great amount of empathy and confidence to reassure them we are on their side and will work with them to put their mind at ease.
The hardest part of the job is inevitably giving customers bad news. Whether that be a decline for a financial service they may not be eligible for or that they have been a victim of fraud, or simply that they have received poor service in the past and trying to resolve a matter for them which has caused them to lose confidence in the company I work for. However this can also be the most enjoyable part of the job, knowing that I, beyond all others have found a way to help this customer. And I can go home with my head held high with the knowledge that I have restored their faith in their financial provider. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Change of Career
Customer Representative (Current Employee), Worcester, ENGSeptember 16, 2014
After working in banking for 2 years i have now decided it is not for me. I am now completing my AAT level 2 and hope to find employment in an accounting role.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Test Lead (Current Employee), United statesSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breals
A typical day at work
what you learned
management
you co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive career
Customer Representative (Former Employee), High Wycombe, ENGSeptember 10, 2014
As customer representative, I had responsibility for delivering an excellent approach to customers wishing to use our services. My duties involved accessing customer accounts online, exchanging moneys and making customers aware of additional products that could support them further. This often resulted in me achieving the best sales results in the branch. – more... Within my first three months in the role, I was promoted to ‘Bankage Officer’, showing the trust given to me by my seniors. This was a role that required a lot of responsibility and precise organisation and planning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, good products, bad leadership
Customer Representative/Bankage Manager (Former Employee), Northern CountiesSeptember 5, 2014
Absolutely excellent time working this field. Dealing with customers daily, building up relationships, helping members with everything from their savings and investments to Protection and Insurance, from sharing a happy moment opening a new baby's first account to empathising with a bereavement of a loved one. Unfortunately Nationwide employ the age – more... old tactic of promoting their managers one stage above their competency levels leaving for a shambles in middle management and turmoil in the senior area. Those that don't leave or keep job-hoping to avoid anyone detecting their inadequacy are left stagnant and failing for years and seem to find their only solace in victimising their "underlings" and drowning any young ambitious competition in a pit of despair. This wasn't just my personal experience as I corresponded with dozens of new starters over the country and they all shared the same feedback. The only people who seem to do well in this environment are the part-time working mums who can afford not to care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience, no support or progression
Branch Manager (Current Employee), londonSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: good experience, good company
Cons: no progression, support
a typical day at work consists of me managing a team of 4 people - 2 cashiers, 1 deputy manager and 1 personal banker. Every morning we would all have a start up meeting organising and planning what the day ahead will consist of. We would set individuals goals and expectations as to where we all want to be by the end of the day and also where we want – more... the branch to be against the rest of the area by the end of the day.
i heave learnt a lot by working with Nationwide especially since being within my management role. in the past year u have especially learnt a lot about the risk element within the branch and how to ensure that the branch is kept within its limits and controls are monitored.
management has changed recently and i fear that known is understanding that i want to move on and progress i have had 2 manages within the last 2 years and both of which have explained that i am ready to move on yet when a opportunity arises nothing comes of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Environment
Senior Accountant (Former Employee), Swindon, ENGSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: catering options
Cons: parking arrangements
An excellent working environment with good facilities. Generally a fun place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy, friendly team
Complaint Handler (Current Employee), Swindon, ENGAugust 15, 2014
Pros: great team
Cons: lots of work
prioritise workload for the day, investigate each complaint. Call ech customer offer resolution, discuss compensation. Handle calls on behalf of team members, update complaints in absence of colleagues. Management is friendly, approachable and helpful. It can be hard refuting customers concerns and offering what we consider a fair outcome if they remain – more... unhappy. I enjoy talking to customers generally and investigating a wide range of concerns each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Productive
Customer Service Consultant (Current Employee), DunfermlineAugust 7, 2014
Pros: 1% off loans
Cons: long hours and different shift patterns ranging from 6-10pm
On a daily basis I deal with various customer queries and complaints in regards to the accounts that the customers hold with the society. Management in the society is good, always around to help with any difficult customers and all co-workers are friendly and overall good people!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting place to work
Fraud Investigator (Former Employee), coventryAugust 4, 2014
I enjoyed my time at Nationwide(tsys) the job was great and there was never two days the same, the training was brilliant and I learnt so much there. all my excellent customer service skills I learnt there and my analytical skills too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Customer Service Administrator (Former Employee), Swindon, ENGJuly 24, 2014
Pros: easy acces to town.
Cons: sudden contract termination without previous notice due to lack of work available.
Typical day at work was very boring.
There was not much to learn considering the position I was asigned to.
Co workers were OK.
The job was very simple.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
SQL/SSIS/SSRS Application Developer (Former Employee), Swindon, ENGJuly 23, 2014
A friendly place to work, with the employees very much valued by the management/directors
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Technical Adviser (Former Employee), Northampton, ENGJuly 23, 2014
Pros: courses for job advancements, friendly staff.
Cons: poor work/life balance, poor upper management.
A generally good place to work. Co-workers tend to be enthusiastic about the job and willing to help others become more proficient in theirs. Local managers are good at managing people but tend to leave work management to the workers. The hardest part of the job is to keep up with the pace of change and the most enjoyable is knowing that good work is – more... rewarded. Nationwide is willing to send you on courses that will help you work better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for...
Area Manager Financial Planning (Former Employee), Area covered Caernarfon to Telford.July 9, 2014
Pros: allowed to run my monthly plan
Cons: too much micro management and reporting
I spent 25 years working at Nationwide and worked my way through the ranks from an MT to Area Manager. Most recently responsible for managing a team of Financial Planning Managers, assessing sales results, ensuring compliance and supervision requirements are completed within timescales, developing individuals with personal plans, working closely with – more... a retail branch management team to drive opportunities and results. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Nationwide Building Society

Nationwide Building Society is the world’s largest building society, one the UK’s largest savings providers and a – Read more

Nationwide Building Society Photos