Find companies:
Nationwide Building Society
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
110 reviews

Nationwide Building Society Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive career
Customer Representative (Former Employee), High Wycombe, ENGSeptember 10, 2014
As customer representative, I had responsibility for delivering an excellent approach to customers wishing to use our services. My duties involved accessing customer accounts online, exchanging moneys and making customers aware of additional products that could support them further. This often resulted in me achieving the best sales results in the branch. – more... Within my first three months in the role, I was promoted to ‘Bankage Officer’, showing the trust given to me by my seniors. This was a role that required a lot of responsibility and precise organisation and planning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, good products, bad leadership
Customer Representative/Bankage Manager (Former Employee), Northern CountiesSeptember 5, 2014
Absolutely excellent time working this field. Dealing with customers daily, building up relationships, helping members with everything from their savings and investments to Protection and Insurance, from sharing a happy moment opening a new baby's first account to empathising with a bereavement of a loved one. Unfortunately Nationwide employ the age – more... old tactic of promoting their managers one stage above their competency levels leaving for a shambles in middle management and turmoil in the senior area. Those that don't leave or keep job-hoping to avoid anyone detecting their inadequacy are left stagnant and failing for years and seem to find their only solace in victimising their "underlings" and drowning any young ambitious competition in a pit of despair. This wasn't just my personal experience as I corresponded with dozens of new starters over the country and they all shared the same feedback. The only people who seem to do well in this environment are the part-time working mums who can afford not to care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience, no support or progression
Branch Manager (Current Employee), londonSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: good experience, good company
Cons: no progression, support
a typical day at work consists of me managing a team of 4 people - 2 cashiers, 1 deputy manager and 1 personal banker. Every morning we would all have a start up meeting organising and planning what the day ahead will consist of. We would set individuals goals and expectations as to where we all want to be by the end of the day and also where we want – more... the branch to be against the rest of the area by the end of the day.
i heave learnt a lot by working with Nationwide especially since being within my management role. in the past year u have especially learnt a lot about the risk element within the branch and how to ensure that the branch is kept within its limits and controls are monitored.
management has changed recently and i fear that known is understanding that i want to move on and progress i have had 2 manages within the last 2 years and both of which have explained that i am ready to move on yet when a opportunity arises nothing comes of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Environment
Senior Accountant (Former Employee), Swindon, ENGSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: catering options
Cons: parking arrangements
An excellent working environment with good facilities. Generally a fun place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy, friendly team
Complaint Handler (Current Employee), Swindon, ENGAugust 15, 2014
Pros: great team
Cons: lots of work
prioritise workload for the day, investigate each complaint. Call ech customer offer resolution, discuss compensation. Handle calls on behalf of team members, update complaints in absence of colleagues. Management is friendly, approachable and helpful. It can be hard refuting customers concerns and offering what we consider a fair outcome if they remain – more... unhappy. I enjoy talking to customers generally and investigating a wide range of concerns each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Productive
Customer Service Consultant (Current Employee), DunfermlineAugust 7, 2014
Pros: 1% off loans
Cons: long hours and different shift patterns ranging from 6-10pm
On a daily basis I deal with various customer queries and complaints in regards to the accounts that the customers hold with the society. Management in the society is good, always around to help with any difficult customers and all co-workers are friendly and overall good people!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting place to work
Fraud Investigator (Former Employee), coventryAugust 4, 2014
I enjoyed my time at Nationwide(tsys) the job was great and there was never two days the same, the training was brilliant and I learnt so much there. all my excellent customer service skills I learnt there and my analytical skills too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Customer Service Administrator (Former Employee), Swindon, ENGJuly 24, 2014
Pros: easy acces to town.
Cons: sudden contract termination without previous notice due to lack of work available.
Typical day at work was very boring.
There was not much to learn considering the position I was asigned to.
Co workers were OK.
The job was very simple.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
SQL/SSIS/SSRS Application Developer (Former Employee), Swindon, ENGJuly 23, 2014
A friendly place to work, with the employees very much valued by the management/directors
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Technical Adviser (Former Employee), Northampton, ENGJuly 23, 2014
Pros: courses for job advancements, friendly staff.
Cons: poor work/life balance, poor upper management.
A generally good place to work. Co-workers tend to be enthusiastic about the job and willing to help others become more proficient in theirs. Local managers are good at managing people but tend to leave work management to the workers. The hardest part of the job is to keep up with the pace of change and the most enjoyable is knowing that good work is – more... rewarded. Nationwide is willing to send you on courses that will help you work better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for...
Area Manager Financial Planning (Former Employee), Area covered Caernarfon to Telford.July 9, 2014
Pros: allowed to run my monthly plan
Cons: too much micro management and reporting
I spent 25 years working at Nationwide and worked my way through the ranks from an MT to Area Manager. Most recently responsible for managing a team of Financial Planning Managers, assessing sales results, ensuring compliance and supervision requirements are completed within timescales, developing individuals with personal plans, working closely with – more... a retail branch management team to drive opportunities and results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable with great progression.
Senior Triage Advisor, Collections and Recoveries (Current Employee), Northampton, ENGJuly 8, 2014
As I am still in employment, the review would be the same as previous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable place to work
Risk Partner (Current Employee), SwindonJuly 6, 2014
I have lots of opportunity to develop with in-house training courses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A flexible employer
Insurance Claims Advisor (Former Employee), NorthamptonJuly 3, 2014
Pros: flexible working, good holidays, good training
Cons: challenging exiting staff car park
Busy and challenging.
No two days the same.
To communicate with customers both verbally and written.
Approachable understanding management.
Supportive team members.
Hitting and exceeding targets with regular feedback.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-stop, 24 hour
Security Supervisor (Current Employee), Security Control RoomJune 30, 2014
Pros: work for nationwide
Cons: long hours, lots of contractors
The largest employee in Swindon, four to five thousand people coming and going each day. a beehive of processes and compliance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommended workplace
Business/Quality Analyst (Current Employee), NorthamptonJune 29, 2014
Excellent team spirit and will always help if they can, lack of opportunity in the company but your efforts are always rewarded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding company to work for.
Mortgage Processor (Former Employee), SevenoaksJune 19, 2014
Mortgage Processor, evaluating clients for successful applications and passing the report to the correct department. Progressing through the company, I then became Mortgage Underwriter and head of the Completions department. I had a team of five who I delegated work to, made sure we acheived our department targets and completed their monthly appraisals.
I – more... then progressed further where I worked at another mortgage Centre, where I was promoted to oversee all training and development of staff members. Also I would work at the head office, assisting with new data systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target driven
Customer Advisor (Former Employee), LondonJune 12, 2014
Great team.

Typical day consists of mainly of customer service and meeting individual and branch target
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investment in staff
Senior Accountant (Current Employee), Northampton, ENGJune 3, 2014
In my Nationwide career spanning 11 years I have developed from an assistant accountant to a senior accountant. Nationwide supported me through my exams, all passed first time, and allowed me to progress in my Finance role. This included simple reconciliations, calculation of provision levels, regulatory and statutory reporting, analysis of regulator – more... guidance to ensure compliance and the opportunity to develop my other skills through courses in aiding my ambitious nature. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer service consultant (Current Employee), Northampton nacJune 3, 2014
Great company if your looking to progress fast in your career

1 2 3 4 5

About Nationwide Building Society

Nationwide Building Society is the world’s largest building society, one the UK’s largest savings providers and a – Read more

Nationwide Building Society Photos