Find companies:
Nationwide Building Society
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
99 reviews

Nationwide Building Society Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable with great progression.
Senior Triage Advisor, Collections and Recoveries (Current Employee), Northampton, ENGJuly 8, 2014
As I am still in employment, the review would be the same as previous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable place to work
Risk Partner (Current Employee), SwindonJuly 6, 2014
I have lots of opportunity to develop with in-house training courses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A flexible employer
Insurance Claims Advisor (Former Employee), NorthamptonJuly 3, 2014
Pros: flexible working, good holidays, good training
Cons: challenging exiting staff car park
Busy and challenging.
No two days the same.
To communicate with customers both verbally and written.
Approachable understanding management.
Supportive team members.
Hitting and exceeding targets with regular feedback.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-stop, 24 hour
Security Supervisor (Current Employee), Security Control RoomJune 30, 2014
Pros: work for nationwide
Cons: long hours, lots of contractors
The largest employee in Swindon, four to five thousand people coming and going each day. a beehive of processes and compliance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommended workplace
Business/Quality Analyst (Current Employee), NorthamptonJune 29, 2014
Excellent team spirit and will always help if they can, lack of opportunity in the company but your efforts are always rewarded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding company to work for.
Mortgage Processor (Former Employee), SevenoaksJune 19, 2014
Mortgage Processor, evaluating clients for successful applications and passing the report to the correct department. Progressing through the company, I then became Mortgage Underwriter and head of the Completions department. I had a team of five who I delegated work to, made sure we acheived our department targets and completed their monthly appraisals.
I – more... then progressed further where I worked at another mortgage Centre, where I was promoted to oversee all training and development of staff members. Also I would work at the head office, assisting with new data systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target driven
Customer Advisor (Former Employee), LondonJune 12, 2014
Great team.

Typical day consists of mainly of customer service and meeting individual and branch target
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investment in staff
Senior Accountant (Current Employee), Northampton, ENGJune 3, 2014
In my Nationwide career spanning 11 years I have developed from an assistant accountant to a senior accountant. Nationwide supported me through my exams, all passed first time, and allowed me to progress in my Finance role. This included simple reconciliations, calculation of provision levels, regulatory and statutory reporting, analysis of regulator – more... guidance to ensure compliance and the opportunity to develop my other skills through courses in aiding my ambitious nature. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer service consultant (Current Employee), Northampton nacJune 3, 2014
Great company if your looking to progress fast in your career
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with flexible work/life balance
Senior Consultant in Data and Modeling (Former Employee), SwindonJune 3, 2014
Pros: gym, showers, canteen, shop and hairdressers all on site
................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with flexible work/life balance
Senior Consultant in Data and Modeling (Former Employee), SwindonJune 3, 2014
Pros: gym, showers, canteen, shop and hairdressers all on site
................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with flexible work/life balance
Senior Consultant in Data and Modeling (Former Employee), SwindonJune 3, 2014
Pros: gym, showers, canteen, shop and hairdressers all on site
................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive
Personal Banking Manager (Current Employee), The Strand, LondonJune 2, 2014
Pros: location, advancement
Cons: predictability, repetitive
A typical work day consists of having interviews with customers in which I identify financial need areas and aim to fill that need using Nationwide products where available. I also ensure that customer service levels are kept at an optimum and customers leave interviews with me extremely satisfied. A typical day for me at work also include providing – more... coaching for the referrers in the branch, guiding them as to how to spot opportunities relating to Nationwide products.

My time here has helped me improve my management, listening, interview, coaching and administrative skills.

I work with a few fun loving people which make the workplace have a relaxed atmosphere.

The hardest part of my job is when, sometimes I am unable to help a customer with their needs. Also it is quite repetitive and sometimes predictable, therefore the job tends to have a short life span.

The most enjoyable part of my job is when I am able to provide financial solutions for customers which evidently makes them better off and eases their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Contact Centre
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee), Sheffield, ENGMay 18, 2014
Pros: off the phone activity and free drinks
Cons: long hours on phone
A typical day at would be taking calls 7 hours of the day dealing with customer enquiries, complaints and products queries. I learned to deal with a variety types of customers. Learnt new skills which can definately would be a valuable attribute for my future job. Skills such as dealing with compliant procedure, pressure situations and data entry. The – more... management at Nationwide is really good. The centre has about 8 teams and each manager can a good support. My manager is very supportive of my situations and undertstands each team member. My team members are brilliant, they are very supportive and fun to work with. Working in contact centre can be repetetive but as a team we have fun days where we can enjoy and also do the job. I don't there is a part of the job that is very hard. You have to meet coaching guidlines when taking calls so when customer are surveyed we can meet the 57% target - which shows customers found our service excellent. This can be stressful if we have system errors which have impacted the customers and this can relate to our customer experience which may also lead to complaints. Enjoyable part of the job is this contact centre is the people you work with. They are friendly, proffesional and supportive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job, Poor Management
Caseowner (Former Employee), BournemouthApril 23, 2014
Great amount of training received and at a high quality. Typical day was to get in and start at 9 and finish at 5 with an hour for lunch. Poor people management and everyone was unhappy with their role. Bad ratio of temporary to permanent staff. Hardest part of the job was that there wasn't enough work to go round which is what made me leave as there – more... were some days there was no work to do as there was too many employees for the amount of work. Most enjoyable part of the job was when we had work as I enjoy being able to work and keeping busy with work is great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faced paced environment working to tight deadlines
Process Coach (Former Employee), SwindonApril 9, 2014
Pros: working on your own initiative, working tight deasdlines
Cons: only reporting to higher management sometimes no direction.
To work to the direction of the Operations Manager to provide a sustainable skill and knowledge base for the department to improve the overall customer experience and effectiveness of the operations. Coaching and training team members to achieve required levels of their performance on processing. Creatively analysed large data and designed Management – more... Information for all levels of management for existing projects within the deadline. Champion any departmental incentives to increase efficiency within the savings department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Corporate Communication Manager (Former Employee), SwindonApril 8, 2014
One of the best companies I've worked for so far!

The internal communication team was awarded the Best Team of the Year Award by Melcrum in 2012.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Development
Project Co-Ordinator (Current Employee), LondonApril 5, 2014
It really depends on what you’re working on. Some projects are small and will only take a week, some are large scale projects and take months. During the initiation of the project, the IT project manager might meet with key stakeholders to help identify what the key objectives are. During analysis and design the IT project manager might help the team – more... in gathering requirements and brainstorm technical solutions for the problem at hand.

Typically my team and I are responsible for company wide project management support of all areas of technology including the telephone systems, networks, hardware, software, security and database admin. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Rewarding
PERSONAL BANKING MANAGER (Former Employee), LondonApril 3, 2014
Pros: quarterly bonus on performance
Cons: working saturdays
Interviewing customers for their personal banking, which included opening current accounts,credit cards, personal loan applications, selling Home Insurances, opening different types of savings accounts,sending chaps and swift transfers, dealing with Mortgage queries and referring customers to Senior Financial Advisor for long term investments in stocks – more... and shares. I have learned good customer service skills as well as a lot of information on the products that I sold.I have learned how banks operate and interview techniques such as what you are allowed and not allowed to say to a customer.
I worked well with management most of the time and they focused on your development and gave feedback on observations.My co-workers were supportive to my role and referred customers to me and likewise I would refer customers to the Mortgage advisor and the Senior Financial Advisor.
The hardest part of the job was sometimes I would have appointments in my diary all day which meant I would be interviewing all day and I also had to achieve corporate targets.If the branch was busy, it can put you under a lot of pressure.
The enjoyable part of the job was after many years I found the job quite easy and satisfying and it was very local so I did not have to travel far. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Secretary to Senior Executive/s (Former Employee), Northampton, ENGApril 2, 2014
Loved working there but due to restructuring the culture is changing.

1 2 3 4 5

About Nationwide Building Society

Nationwide Building Society is the world’s largest building society, one the UK’s largest savings providers and a – Read more

Nationwide Building Society Photos