National Research Council Canada Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical Day at Work
Regional Contribution Agreement Officer (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS21 April 2017
Arrive 7:30 am.

Review emails, log into our Online Portal, Review proposals, claims from clients, this will give me an idea what is in store for me.
Pros
Working directly with Clients.
Cons
Lack of managment communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work atmosphere
Research Scientist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 February 2017
Good place to work, good people, nice equipment and environment, would definetely recommend to people to work there. need to open more opportunity to general public for employment
Pros
nice place to work
Cons
bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment, not a fan of the government structure
Engineering Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL9 February 2017
Was able to work on my project with excellent guidance and managed to learn from many departments but was not a fan of the government structures (not for me) and would have liked more hours.
Pros
Great learning experience
Cons
Not many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working culture with like minded individuals
Technical Officer Level 3 (Current Employee) –  St. Marys, ON3 January 2017
The NRC in Halifax Nova Scotia is a true hub of scientific innovation and research. Your fellow employees become like family.
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
Current position has very little time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Aircraft Maintenance Engineer’s Assistant (Former Employee) –  Uplands, ON16 November 2016
I worked at building U-61 at the Flight Research Laboratory and it was fantastic. All of the staff was very friendly and knowledgable and was always there to help you.

I've never been one to enjoy doing work or to wake up in the morning and think "Heck yeah! Work is gonna be great" but everyday that I would make my way to the hangar, you could catch me with a smile plastered across my face on the 97 bus arriving at the airport.
Pros
Friendly and knowledgeable staff + foosball, ping pong and badminton at lunch
Cons
It's the government so there will always be some sort of BS on the go
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
technical support aerospace
Technical Operator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 August 2016
worked with the 3.5m high speed windtunnel, interesting work at times! also very boring with very little to Do!
average work week you could do in a day! management was very distance, supervisors made a lot of promises
that they were unable to keep! still great job with very little work and high pay!
Pros
very little work with great pay!
Cons
lots of broken promises! very old technology!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very informational department and lots of opportunities...
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 August 2016
Friendly morning and afternoon greetings
Different filing system, bit of challenge sometimes
Hardly ever saw any management.
co-workers were on constent rotation
research of data entry and content was the reason I enjoyed this job

no comments on hardest part of the job
Pros
Friendly atmosphere
Cons
with no instructions job could be a bit of challenge at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, research
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  montreal, canada14 October 2015
research center for welding and manufacturing

Nice atmosphere and professional scientist
They develop new technology in term of laser welding and machining
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and fun place to work
Nanosensing Technologies Co-op Student (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 June 2015
Everyone is your friend there and very inclusive. They wanted me to advance my skills and knowledge and gave me good life tips.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment always busy preparing for new test programs.keeps you thinking.
Technical Officer/ Chief Operating Engineer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 April 2015
Its a reasonably good place to work at with the appropiate skill sets. People are friendly,health and safety is improving!
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Difficult to advance at certain catergories.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management plagues this company
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa16 July 2014
- Lack of management
- Management constantly gossips
- Rules are bent for favorite employees
- They outright try to make things bad for employees they want to fire but can't, so they attempt to make people quit
- The Union will not help in matters because they do not want to "rock the boat with golden people"
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor management, constant gossip among management
Was this review helpful?Yes 70No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting company and industry to work in
Project Management Officer Assistant (COOP) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 March 2014
Opportunity to work and live in Europe, great support network and colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 26Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun lab
Visiting Worker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 March 2012
nice and clean offices, fancy labs, supervisors are very nice and very erudite.
Pros
advanced lab equipments
Cons
traffic in rush hour after work
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 34Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Research Council Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7

National Research Council Canada Reviews by Location