National Research Council Canada

National Research Council Canada Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Aircraft Maintenance Engineer’s Assistant (Former Employee) –  Uplands, ON16 November 2016
I worked at building U-61 at the Flight Research Laboratory and it was fantastic. All of the staff was very friendly and knowledgable and was always there to help you.

I've never been one to enjoy doing work or to wake up in the morning and think "Heck yeah! Work is gonna be great" but everyday that I would make my way to the hangar, you could catch me with a smile plastered across my face on the 97 bus arriving at the airport.
Pros
Friendly and knowledgeable staff + foosball, ping pong and badminton at lunch
Cons
It's the government so there will always be some sort of BS on the go
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very informational department and lots of opportunities...
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 August 2016
Friendly morning and afternoon greetings
Different filing system, bit of challenge sometimes
Hardly ever saw any management.
co-workers were on constent rotation
research of data entry and content was the reason I enjoyed this job

no comments on hardest part of the job
Pros
Friendly atmosphere
Cons
with no instructions job could be a bit of challenge at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, research
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  montreal, canada14 October 2015
research center for welding and manufacturing

Nice atmosphere and professional scientist
They develop new technology in term of laser welding and machining
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and fun place to work
Nanosensing Technologies Co-op Student (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 June 2015
Everyone is your friend there and very inclusive. They wanted me to advance my skills and knowledge and gave me good life tips.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment always busy preparing for new test programs.keeps you thinking.
Technical Officer/ Chief Operating Engineer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 April 2015
Its a reasonably good place to work at with the appropiate skill sets. People are friendly,health and safety is improving!
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Difficult to advance at certain catergories.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management plagues this company
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa16 July 2014
- Lack of management
- Management constantly gossips
- Rules are bent for favorite employees
- They outright try to make things bad for employees they want to fire but can't, so they attempt to make people quit
- The Union will not help in matters because they do not want to "rock the boat with golden people"
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor management, constant gossip among management
Was this review helpful?Yes63No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting company and industry to work in
Project Management Officer Assistant (COOP) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 March 2014
Opportunity to work and live in Europe, great support network and colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No24Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun lab
Visiting Worker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 March 2012
nice and clean offices, fancy labs, supervisors are very nice and very erudite.
Pros
advanced lab equipments
Cons
traffic in rush hour after work
Was this review helpful?Yes15No31Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

National Research Council Canada Reviews by Location