Find companies:
National Oilwell Varco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
309 reviews

National Oilwell Varco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet dangerous work enviornment
Service Operator (Former Employee), Crosby, TXMay 19, 2014
Pros: benifits, breaks, and flexible schedule
Cons: 12 hour shifts and no breaks between shifts
Using fork lifts and cranes while working on coiled tubing. While it was a new learning experience I felt it had a few to many danger zones. Management was not as aware of problems but co-workers were helpful. The hardest part of the job was being lifted in cranes using safety harnesses to secure tubes. The most enjoyable part of the job was the 14 – more... day work schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everchanging culture with an unknown outlook
Buyer (Current Employee), Conroe, TXMay 15, 2014
Cons: employee compensation, employee turnover, management culture
NOV is a great company, but the division that I am in is a revolving door at the management level. About 20 different managers have come and gone over the last 20 months. Outlook of the company is positive due to their size and capabilities, but there is not an employee-friendly culture at my location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worlds Leading Company in Oils & Gas
CNC MACHINIST (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 15, 2014
Cnc Machinst Operated Mazak Lathe.Good Company with established manufacturing process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back atmosphere
Next Generation Leadership Program (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 14, 2014
Quality company full of quality people, not always easy to climb quickly through the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Anonymous (Former Employee), San Angelo, TXMay 14, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
I have to agree with the other review for the San Angelo location. The company as a whole, may be great, but this particular location is a joke in my opinion. Management was unwilling to listen to new ideas on safety. This location has the worst safety record out of the entire company, they need all the help they can get. Lots of favoritism, especially – more... in my department, employees not willing to come forward with injuries for fear of losing their safety bonuses and fear of getting ridiculed by management, because management only seems to focus on treating the injuries instead of sitting down with the employees, doing thorough accident investigations, and asking for their opinions on how to make their jobs safer and more efficient. They only seem to go for the "I'm the safety guy, and you'll do what I tell you to do" approach, which never works. On top of that, their training sessions were like an hour and a half long and it's very difficult to keep people interested when your safety meetings run that long. Safety meetings should be no more than 15 minutes long. Also, pay was way below what someone with my educational background should've been getting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Schedule/Expedite/Applicator (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 13, 2014
Nice environment and professional people. Learned a lot on leadership here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product Line
Design Engineer (Current Employee), Conroe, TXMay 13, 2014
Good, i have been able to develop my skills.
I would tell anyone that it is a good company to start your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best ever
Forklift Driver/Material handler (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 30, 2014
my life in the army was great, wish i was still there. nothing more i casn say,. GO ARMY !!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Coatings Department Manager (Former Employee), N/AApril 22, 2014
Off Shore Drilling equipment manufacturing

• Schedule work, Develop Capital Appropriations, assign responsibilities, implement requirements, and maintain compliance with laws, standards, regulations, and company/customer requirements
• Manage and direct work for multiple shifts in multiple locations and attain diligent results
• Coordinate supervision – more... and implement quality control process – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable work with great benifits
Mechanical Assembler (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits, and a great 401k plan
Cons: 12 hr shifts and difficult to advance in the company and the pay is to low.
12 hour shifts the pay is not that great but the benefits compensate where the hourly wage lacks. I've learned to be proficient and to be safe (safety is very important) management is not all that great in order to advance in the company you have to be with the company for some time (6+ years) or know somebody. if you want to transfer to a different – more... NOV location it may be a little more difficult that you would think. the hardest part of the job is much like any other job just politics and the long hours. most enjoyable part of my job is gaining experience and knowing you are working for a large company and you may eventually be able to advance and make great money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No safety, no management
Fiberglass (Former Employee), San Angelo, TXApril 20, 2014
Cons: everything
horrible place to work, horrible pay,
management was hardly there and showed no signs of safety towards employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good O&G company with supportive work environment
Design Engineer (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 20, 2014
Working at NOV was a rewarding experience, as I got to work with different product lines while I was there. It is a collaborative work environment, and the engineering managers are very approachable and helpful. Since it is a large, international company, opportunities for growth are enormous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Accounts Payable Coordinator (Former Employee), Scott, LAApril 4, 2014
I loved my job at National Oilwell Varco. The location I worked at had a family feel and that was something I truly loved. I started off as receptionist and data entry but quickly moved into the Accounting department which I absolutely love.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical MNC that forget human capital is their greatest asset.
An Executive (Former Employee), 4 Gul WayApril 4, 2014
* Lack of focus & not really willing to invest on grooming talent for the plant although they do claimed they training.... Most of the training are oversea, i.e USA.
* Plant doesn't involve in "after hours" activities to boost working relationship between colleagues.
* Top Level Management does not respect/follow the local culture and insist of doing – more... things which they believe the 'best practice", causing strain on the relationship with the employees in the plant.
* Top level management doesn't have much connection with the lower level, hence relationship, understanding, beliefs cannot gel.
* In short,company doesn't look after the employees. It is very hard of the managers & snr executive to provide necessary support to improve the place into HPC environment when lacking top management support. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company
fitter (Former Employee), Houston Texas galena parkMarch 25, 2014
If you are a black man or white man this is not the location for you they only hired Mexican they only hired black man and white man for their quoted after 1 to 3 months they will let you go the because you work to slow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of opportunity for advancement, compensated well
Field Sales Representative (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMarch 21, 2014
Pros: great benefits, salary, bonus, culture, co-workers, corporate giant backing
Cons: demanding irregular hours, not a 9-5. never really off work, work phone
The field sales job is probably typical of any oil and gas field sales position. NOV is a giant in oil and gas industry so awesome opportunity to go anywhere with the company. Demands a lot of time and energy, but you are compensated well for that time and energy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Mechanical Designer/Project Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 20, 2014
Great company to be employed with. I've learned a lot about the industry thus far and I'd love to take my talents to the next level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, great pay, great benefits!
Warehouse/Driver (Former Employee), Alva, OKMarch 18, 2014
Pros: great pay, benefits, learning
This was a great job. A typical day at work consisted of loading and unloading parts trailers, inventory parts, and delivering parts to oil rigs. I learned quite a bit about the oil industry in general, how things worked, and the parts they used to make everything work. The hardest part of the job was the mental challenge to overcome working in the – more... 130 degree trailers in the summer time. With plenty of hydration it wasn't hard to overcome. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work at my own pace, listen to music as I worked, and the constant moving around. It helped me physically get fit and feel more healthy, all while learning and getting paid! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enhanced interpersonal skills
Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 17, 2014
Enjoyed working with a variety of people, getting a chance to improve my interpersonal skills and seeing the various sides to Human Resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyday is different
Southern Area Inventory and Assets Manager (Former Employee), Rosenberg, TXMarch 17, 2014
Typical day will be any other day in Oil & Gas Business. Fast-paced
environment. I've learned all things related in this market.

About National Oilwell Varco

National Oilwell Varco is the tool man that provides goods and services to exploration and production companies operating in oil – Read more

National Oilwell Varco Photos