Find companies:
National Oilwell Varco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
243 reviews

National Oilwell Varco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not a proper fit for me and my skill set
Joined NOV as a Service Technician (Former Employee), Broussard LADecember 3, 2013
NOV was a tough and very dirty place to work. I am not against physical labor but NOV was very different. A very unsanitary facility to say the least. I realized that this field was not my future and that I want a job that I can turn into a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOV was a ok company to work for.
Receiving Coordinator (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 29, 2013
Cons: be careful what youi wish for
my typical work day was very busy/ I learned a lot in 16 plus years. the management did not care enough about the employees. some co-workers were good others needed training. hardest part of my job was dealing with issues between buyers and vendors. the most enjoyable was my team working under my supervision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOV (Corporate) has a reputation of a great company to work for.
Fulfillment Coordinator, Materials Management (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 25, 2013
NOV has a reputation of a great company it might be but, my experience has been different I work for the Benefits side of the company and Management needs improvements (Mary Burke & Jamie Lelz) they are not professional, the level of micromanagement goes beyond legal. HR never helps (Karen Kramer) the employees, HR allows management to do illegal things – more... to employees for example:: Allows managers to call your personal Doctor and tell them that He/She needs to release you from whatever the OW reason might be and have you attend to work the next day. or layoff employees for medical reasons and tell them that they are been let go do to absences even when there is the proper doctor's notes stating the condition of the patient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life At NOV
Centrifuge Mechanic (Former Employee), Conroe, TXNovember 25, 2013
Pros: benefits, vacation, independence.
Cons: 3 managers over 11 workers, under paid at 16/hr, training.
Work day there was a good learning experience in the solids control area of the oil field. I have learned basic fabricating and mechanical responsibilities on centrifuges. Like, reading blue prints, wiring machines like centrifuges, shakers, dryer centrifuges, and VFDs (variable frequency drives). I learned how to build from beginning to finish different – more... types of centrifuges, like 3400, 2000hs, 1960s, 2172hs. I repaired and ran centrifuges as I progressed. I have also rebuilt VFDs. I had 2 leadmen and a supervisor over the shop. It was difficult working in a place where your supervisor nor one of the leadmen knew how to build a centrifuge, only one did. There was a lot of mis-management and lack of communication happening in the work place. On the good side, the benefits and experience was the best thing I liked about National Oilwell Varco. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ON THE RIG SITE
Solid Control (Former Employee), Watsontown, PANovember 25, 2013
Pros: lots of money
Cons: away from home alot
WELL WE WOULD WORK 12 HOURS SHIFTS 7 DAYS A WEEK FOR 4 WEEKS IN A ROLE SOME TIMES THERE WAS TWO PEOPLE PER SHIFT BUT MOST OF THE TIME IT WAS ONLY ONE MAN PER SHIFT . WE HAD TO MONITOR MAINTAIN ALL EQUIPMENT ARE ONLY DOWN TIME TO FIX STUFF IS WHEN THE RIG STOPPED DRILLING .
I HAD TO LEARN ALL OF THE EQUIPMENT MY SELF THERE WAS NO TRAINING IT WAS ALL – more... HANDS ON .
THERE WAS NO MANAGEMENT IF SOMETHING BROKE I HAD TO MAKE DO WITH PARTS I HAD OR BRORROW FROM THE RIG .
KEEPING THE MUD ENGINEER HAPPY .
YOUR OUT IN ALL WEATHER YOUR OUT FOR 28 DAYS OR MORE U STAY AND SLEEP ON THE RIG SITE THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE JOB IS THE LAST DAY ON THE SITE – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security offered but not the work or hours promised
Solids Control Operator (Current Employee), Odessa, TXNovember 24, 2013
Pros: we get paid mileage but only if we drive from out of town and quarterly bonus
Cons: mileage checks are consistently not paid on time, no field work given, no proper training given, only a very small incentive bonus given based on work done.
NOV has the ability to be a great company but the unfortunate side is the job I, and many others like me, were hired to do is not the job we are currently working. Most all Techs and Operators are now garaged at the company shop making less hours and much less money. I hired on to learn the oil field and rise to the top of my game but not to be a full-time – more... shop hand. For this reason alone I am seeking a position in similar fields where I can learn, grow, and become the best at what I've chosen to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company if you dont want to advance
Admin Assistant, Expeditor (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 21, 2013
Pros: nice people
Cons: management lied
you get told you are up for advancement when reality your not
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst oil companies in the area
Manufacturing Planner (Current Employee), Odessa, TXNovember 19, 2013
Pros: nothing good to say about it.
the worst management ever. They have lost mostly all of their clients and employees. no leadership at all, no communication and miserable salaries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 18, 2013
Pros: free lunch, quarterly bonus
Great company, takes very good care of their employees. wish i would have never left
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Quality Control Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 5, 2013
good place to work. after 15.7 years was laidoff boss did not like me
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistance
Administrative Assistance/ accounts recievable (Former Employee), Victoria, TXNovember 4, 2013
great place to work a lot to learn in the oilfield and sales, defiantly a great team work place to be apart of
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent workplace
Mechanical Fitter (Current Employee), portlethenNovember 2, 2013
mechanical fitter in the refurb department.

servicing, maintaining and refurbishing a wide range of solid and fluid processing machinery
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Job
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 30, 2013
Pros: plenty of overtime.
Cons: 85% of your life spent at work.
You can not base a review on National Oilwell Varco based on one location, due to the fact that there are several different locations. My experience is only based on the one location I came from. 12 hour nights with a monthly schedule of your work days predated. Two shifts from 6 to 6.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service & Safety is the NOV way.
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKOctober 30, 2013
Pros: cook outs, and lunches paid by venders, and company.
Cons: extremely long hours, no raises.
10 to 14 hour work day, various duties, then being on call. 3pm-6am.
Learned a great deal about Down Hole tools, the way they perform.
Partook in the management classes provided in Houston for NOV
Great co-workers, all worked well together
the hardest part of the job, was the long hours (only).
Enjoyed the interactions with my co-workers. Learning something – more... new every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch out
District Office Manager (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CaqOctober 24, 2013
Great place to work - until you step on someone's toes. Don't trust management. They smile to your face and stab you in the back. Don't believe when they tell you they value you. Will turn on you in a heartbeat. to Upper management you are just a number. If you work 10 hours a day - it comes to be expected. Someone wants you gone - and believe me you – more... are gone - in a heartbeat – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empowered and rewarding position with boundless insight into credit analysis
Credit Analys (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 20, 2013
Pros: company supplied soft drinks, coffee and breakfast sandwhiches
Cons: job location and short breaks
Started each day early with excitability to get accounts reconciled and enterprising, hard-working, focused and proven strengths in manufacturing and accuracy, attention to industry and timelines in managing disbursement functions for diverse-industry employers.
(2010) Acquired Credit Analyst /Accounts Representative position and assigned to special – more... “think tank” group for implementing next generation technologies and process automation’s to foster an environment of continuous improvement with a credit authorization level of $750,000. Improved cash flow and helped facilitate company’s return to profitability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Work place
Assistant Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee), DubaiOctober 16, 2013
1.Daily I am mainly working for variance control.
2. Solve tooling issues.
3. Check running parts for process changes in easy way and reduce cycle time.

1.How to manage the operators
2. how to work as an Engineer.

1.Management supported me for knowledge development.

1. I got nice colleagues in my work place

1.Every day I try to do challengeable – more... projects.

1.Always I enjoying my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of hours
Hydraulic Technician (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 7, 2013
Pros: lots of over time
Cons: bad management
typical day at work:dirty
what I learned there:lots about hyd,elect, pneumatics,how to deal with others
management:management not very good
my co workers:grate folks to work with
the hardest part of the job:being there 16 hours a day 6/7 days a week with not enough work to do got boring
best part of the day :going home to my family
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great work environment
Corporate Credit Analyst (Current Employee), Houston, TexasOctober 7, 2013
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: compensation
Small teams that make it easier to work with. There is no micro management. Everyone works at their own pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Pricing Analyst (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 4, 2013
Pros: free luches
Cons: short breaks
Productive and fun place. I attended many traning course in Finance, accounting, safety etc. helped me perform my duties well.
I built a good relations with my co-workers. We always discuss new ideas how to achieve our work.

About National Oilwell Varco

National Oilwell Varco is the tool man that provides goods and services to exploration and production companies operating in oil – Read more

National Oilwell Varco Photos