National Oilwell Varco Employee Reviews

Found 71 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor salary, great hours
Millwright Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 May 2013
National Oilwell Varco probably has the lowest paid Millwrights in all of edmonton. The journeyman rate is well below industry standards.

Besides the poor wage, the hours are great, they're very flexible. The people are good-natured, there isn't someone nipping at your heels all the time.

The best part of this job is that you get to go home to your family every night.
Pros
Flexible work schedule, lots of overtime
Cons
Very low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver Operator
Driver Operator (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TX27 April 2013
Love my job and get along with my co-workers, i have learned alot in this company.What i enjoyed the most is go to work and come back home the same day, with 2 days off.
Pros
perdim
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no support
Production Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 April 2013
NOV does not help you with very much. very little training and they don't seem to care.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the place for me
Benefits Administrator (Former Employee) –  leduc11 March 2013
Staff had no direction; not interesting; data entering all day; i learned pivot tables
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people!
1st Year Welder Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 March 2013
Ive been working with NOV for 11 months and recieved my blue book apprentice, they are always motivating me to learn more.
Co workers are fabulous, management is wonderful.
I have learned many things about fabrication, working in a welding shop. Perfect Company to build a Career.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
micro managed to the hilt!
Parts Coordinator (Former Employee) –  calgary26 October 2012
hardest part of job was showing up! was named enerflow industries prior.
Pros
its a job
Cons
no raises. no class, stay away!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Inventory Labourer (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB17 September 2012
would receive incoming crates, stock shelfs, move stuff with forklift, pull parts, ship parts
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
lExperienced as a tool room in-charge (Former Employee) –  edmonton,alberta16 August 2012
learned new ideas and challenging jobs from co-workers and management.
Pros
fun and free lunches
Cons
12 hours shift
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company for those who like to build up skills and contribute.
Electrical Designer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 May 2012
Design electrical schematic;
Specify sensors, meters, and panels;
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Lead Inspector (Former Employee) –  Saskatchewan,Nisku3 March 2012
great company to work for not a lot of room for advancement,hence my need to move forward in my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more National Oilwell Varco reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,405 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7