Find companies:
National Oilwell Varco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
295 reviews

National Oilwell Varco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical MNC that forget human capital is their greatest asset.
An Executive (Former Employee), 4 Gul WayApril 4, 2014
* Lack of focus & not really willing to invest on grooming talent for the plant although they do claimed they training.... Most of the training are oversea, i.e USA.
* Plant doesn't involve in "after hours" activities to boost working relationship between colleagues.
* Top Level Management does not respect/follow the local culture and insist of doing – more... things which they believe the 'best practice", causing strain on the relationship with the employees in the plant.
* Top level management doesn't have much connection with the lower level, hence relationship, understanding, beliefs cannot gel.
* In short,company doesn't look after the employees. It is very hard of the managers & snr executive to provide necessary support to improve the place into HPC environment when lacking top management support. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company
fitter (Former Employee), Houston Texas galena parkMarch 25, 2014
If you are a black man or white man this is not the location for you they only hired Mexican they only hired black man and white man for their quoted after 1 to 3 months they will let you go the because you work to slow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of opportunity for advancement, compensated well
Field Sales Representative (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMarch 21, 2014
Pros: great benefits, salary, bonus, culture, co-workers, corporate giant backing
Cons: demanding irregular hours, not a 9-5. never really off work, work phone
The field sales job is probably typical of any oil and gas field sales position. NOV is a giant in oil and gas industry so awesome opportunity to go anywhere with the company. Demands a lot of time and energy, but you are compensated well for that time and energy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Mechanical Designer/Project Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 20, 2014
Great company to be employed with. I've learned a lot about the industry thus far and I'd love to take my talents to the next level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, great pay, great benefits!
Warehouse/Driver (Former Employee), Alva, OKMarch 18, 2014
Pros: great pay, benefits, learning
This was a great job. A typical day at work consisted of loading and unloading parts trailers, inventory parts, and delivering parts to oil rigs. I learned quite a bit about the oil industry in general, how things worked, and the parts they used to make everything work. The hardest part of the job was the mental challenge to overcome working in the – more... 130 degree trailers in the summer time. With plenty of hydration it wasn't hard to overcome. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work at my own pace, listen to music as I worked, and the constant moving around. It helped me physically get fit and feel more healthy, all while learning and getting paid! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enhanced interpersonal skills
Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 17, 2014
Enjoyed working with a variety of people, getting a chance to improve my interpersonal skills and seeing the various sides to Human Resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyday is different
Southern Area Inventory and Assets Manager (Former Employee), Rosenberg, TXMarch 17, 2014
Typical day will be any other day in Oil & Gas Business. Fast-paced
environment. I've learned all things related in this market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment
Admin. Assistant (Current Employee), BeechnutMarch 17, 2014
Fun environment, I am kept busy everyday with different task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company. Family oriented
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 5, 2014
Pros: very open with their employees.
NOV is a great company to work with. All of the employees worked with one another and held plenty of employee activities. Everyone knew everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My location in glena park doesnt have the best supervisors.
Shipping Coordinator (Current Employee), gelna park, txFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: 10 hour days, 60 hour weeks
Cons: salarys are not very good
Supervisors do not teach you what you need to know, its up to you to figure out the operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World-wide Energy Resources Company
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Dilley, TXFebruary 20, 2014
Constantly monitor Completion's fluid stocks and products. I have learned about the pace-paced business of completing oil and gas wells and thus being able to bring them into production. My co-workers are very hard working. I am sometimes called to load trucks with fluids and products by myself. I have assisted in building yard fluid inventory. The – more... most challenging aspect of this job is to keep pace with the engineers and assisting them wherever and whenever I can. The most enjoyable part of this job is being able to keep that pace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
layback but with not very good Management
Buffing Machine Operator- (Current Employee), Willis, TXFebruary 19, 2014
This job is pretty layback, but management needs to improve and be equal with everybody. Two face Management and also favorable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive learning
General assembler (Former Employee), Orange, CAFebruary 18, 2014
fast pace manufacturing, opportunity for growth and great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was easy!
Cnc Machinist (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: 25 cent sodas, double pay on sunday, 6.5% match on 401k
Cons: alot of favoritism! they cover each other! falsely ncr reporting! horrible managment
The job itself was easy! The co-worker from different shift are horrible! They would hide job router and no one was accountable for there error (NCR) ALOT of favoritism. The so call superintendent was beyond horrible! Tools were never calibrated. Machinists were force to do own QA. Was told that employee can not transfer to other NOV division which – more... was a lie! This is one of the worst place I ever work but due to the pay I was able to last 2 1/2 years at this center! Grass is not greener on the other side!! Worst ethically. Management will LIE to your face! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure job
Project Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 10, 2014
Very high paced work environment with minimal supervision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOV Enerflow
Health, Safety, and Environmental (HSE) Manager (Current Employee), Broken Arrow, OKFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: very specialized company for the oilfield business so demand is high
Cons: to far away
NOV Enerflow is good company with a great crew. The Operational manager is one of the most exceptional mentors anyone could hope to have in a boss. The supervisors are willing to take care of their employees and are quick to implement new safety regulations and able to adjust to the every day changing world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for someone who is willing to relocate in order to promote.
INSIDE SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee), Searcy, ARFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: nights and weekends off
Cons: lack of opportunity / no promotions for home bodies
A normal day at the office includes completing a daily cycle count on our inventory, processing purchase orders, and completing invoices. When there are no orders to be taken, I spend that free time cleaning and organizing around the office and warehouse. I have learned that the customer is priority number 1. I will always do what is best for the customer – more... as long as it does not violate ANY company policies. My manager has always been slow to speak to insure that the wisest answer is given. The manager also gives every employee an opportunity to ask questions, seek answers, and find solutions to everyday problems. I work with a great team! Everyone I work with has a family like relationship with one another. We get along 99% of the time and we have always got each others backs. Sometimes I feel like we are so close that certain rules or mistakes are looked over because nobody wants to address the problem in fear of creating quarrels. I would have to say the hardest part of my job is keeping myself motivated. I am use to a busy atmosphere and maintaining a full throttle state of mind. Here lately, things have been so slow that it is hard to stay busy all 8 hours of the day. I must say, I enjoy the weekends off and working a steady Mon - Fri 8-4 shift. That allows me to give my family the time they deserve and it also allows me to get a good break from the stress I sometimes deal with at work. The reason why I am looking around for different job opportunities is strictly because of my pay rate. I have been in the inside sales position for almost three years and there has been no openings or talks of openings for promotion, I finally feel like I am at the top of my skill level and would like to learn what else is out there. I want to be out of the office and spending more time with the customers at there place of work. I also feel like I am not getting paid a fair amount. I have seen my salary decrease every year for the last three years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work enviornment
Document Control (Former Employee), Stavanger, NorwayFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: nice co-workers
I started my document control career at NOV and I do not regret that. I learned so much and my co-workers were so enjoyable and friendly. hardest part of the job was all the deadlines but it made time go by faster as I like to work in fast paced environments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and deadline driven which I enjoy
Shipping Clerk (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: benefits are great
Cons: turnover
Print tickets to send to the warehouse to be pulled and packed.
Receive tickets back in office, to confirm and print shipping documents.
Work with Sales team on prioritizing orders for shipment.
Communicate issues via emial to freight forwarders and internal customers.
Ensure orders meet promised delivery date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a day in the part but enough to keep you going.
Team Lead/Assembly Mechanic in Mud Pump Derartment (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: if we met the quarter we were rewarded someimes and during the holidays the held functions for us.
Cons: there were 3 breaks. two 15 minute brreaks and oun 30 min break for lunch.
A typical day at work when I first started a NOV was full of work from the time you stepped in the door til the time you clocked out. I went into the company as a temp to hire with no experience whatsoever, but learned quickly.

As too management that to started out well and went well until changes within the ranks took place. My co-workers were all – more... good to me and just about everyone else I came to know there.

For me there wasn't a hardest part of the job. Everyday was a new day to learn something else. And the best part of the job was when the Product was completed and ready to be shipped to the customer. – less

About National Oilwell Varco

National Oilwell Varco is the tool man that provides goods and services to exploration and production companies¬†operating in oil – Read more

National Oilwell Varco Photos