Find companies:
National Oilwell Varco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
277 reviews

National Oilwell Varco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Coatings Department Manager (Former Employee), N/AApril 22, 2014
Off Shore Drilling equipment manufacturing

• Schedule work, Develop Capital Appropriations, assign responsibilities, implement requirements, and maintain compliance with laws, standards, regulations, and company/customer requirements
• Manage and direct work for multiple shifts in multiple locations and attain diligent results
• Coordinate supervision – more... and implement quality control process – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable work with great benifits
Mechanical Assembler (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits, and a great 401k plan
Cons: 12 hr shifts and difficult to advance in the company and the pay is to low.
12 hour shifts the pay is not that great but the benefits compensate where the hourly wage lacks. I've learned to be proficient and to be safe (safety is very important) management is not all that great in order to advance in the company you have to be with the company for some time (6+ years) or know somebody. if you want to transfer to a different – more... NOV location it may be a little more difficult that you would think. the hardest part of the job is much like any other job just politics and the long hours. most enjoyable part of my job is gaining experience and knowing you are working for a large company and you may eventually be able to advance and make great money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No safety, no management
Fiberglass (Former Employee), San Angelo, TXApril 20, 2014
Cons: everything
horrible place to work, horrible pay,
management was hardly there and showed no signs of safety towards employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good O&G company with supportive work environment
Design Engineer (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 20, 2014
Working at NOV was a rewarding experience, as I got to work with different product lines while I was there. It is a collaborative work environment, and the engineering managers are very approachable and helpful. Since it is a large, international company, opportunities for growth are enormous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Accounts Payable Coordinator (Former Employee), Scott, LAApril 4, 2014
I loved my job at National Oilwell Varco. The location I worked at had a family feel and that was something I truly loved. I started off as receptionist and data entry but quickly moved into the Accounting department which I absolutely love.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical MNC that forget human capital is their greatest asset.
An Executive (Former Employee), 4 Gul WayApril 4, 2014
* Lack of focus & not really willing to invest on grooming talent for the plant although they do claimed they training.... Most of the training are oversea, i.e USA.
* Plant doesn't involve in "after hours" activities to boost working relationship between colleagues.
* Top Level Management does not respect/follow the local culture and insist of doing – more... things which they believe the 'best practice", causing strain on the relationship with the employees in the plant.
* Top level management doesn't have much connection with the lower level, hence relationship, understanding, beliefs cannot gel.
* In short,company doesn't look after the employees. It is very hard of the managers & snr executive to provide necessary support to improve the place into HPC environment when lacking top management support. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company
fitter (Former Employee), Houston Texas galena parkMarch 25, 2014
If you are a black man or white man this is not the location for you they only hired Mexican they only hired black man and white man for their quoted after 1 to 3 months they will let you go the because you work to slow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of opportunity for advancement, compensated well
Field Sales Representative (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMarch 21, 2014
Pros: great benefits, salary, bonus, culture, co-workers, corporate giant backing
Cons: demanding irregular hours, not a 9-5. never really off work, work phone
The field sales job is probably typical of any oil and gas field sales position. NOV is a giant in oil and gas industry so awesome opportunity to go anywhere with the company. Demands a lot of time and energy, but you are compensated well for that time and energy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Mechanical Designer/Project Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 20, 2014
Great company to be employed with. I've learned a lot about the industry thus far and I'd love to take my talents to the next level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, great pay, great benefits!
Warehouse/Driver (Former Employee), Alva, OKMarch 18, 2014
Pros: great pay, benefits, learning
This was a great job. A typical day at work consisted of loading and unloading parts trailers, inventory parts, and delivering parts to oil rigs. I learned quite a bit about the oil industry in general, how things worked, and the parts they used to make everything work. The hardest part of the job was the mental challenge to overcome working in the – more... 130 degree trailers in the summer time. With plenty of hydration it wasn't hard to overcome. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work at my own pace, listen to music as I worked, and the constant moving around. It helped me physically get fit and feel more healthy, all while learning and getting paid! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enhanced interpersonal skills
Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 17, 2014
Enjoyed working with a variety of people, getting a chance to improve my interpersonal skills and seeing the various sides to Human Resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyday is different
Southern Area Inventory and Assets Manager (Former Employee), Rosenberg, TXMarch 17, 2014
Typical day will be any other day in Oil & Gas Business. Fast-paced
environment. I've learned all things related in this market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment
Admin. Assistant (Current Employee), BeechnutMarch 17, 2014
Fun environment, I am kept busy everyday with different task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company. Family oriented
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 5, 2014
Pros: very open with their employees.
NOV is a great company to work with. All of the employees worked with one another and held plenty of employee activities. Everyone knew everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My location in glena park doesnt have the best supervisors.
Shipping Coordinator (Current Employee), gelna park, txFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: 10 hour days, 60 hour weeks
Cons: salarys are not very good
Supervisors do not teach you what you need to know, its up to you to figure out the operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World-wide Energy Resources Company
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Dilley, TXFebruary 20, 2014
Constantly monitor Completion's fluid stocks and products. I have learned about the pace-paced business of completing oil and gas wells and thus being able to bring them into production. My co-workers are very hard working. I am sometimes called to load trucks with fluids and products by myself. I have assisted in building yard fluid inventory. The – more... most challenging aspect of this job is to keep pace with the engineers and assisting them wherever and whenever I can. The most enjoyable part of this job is being able to keep that pace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
layback but with not very good Management
Buffing Machine Operator- (Current Employee), Willis, TXFebruary 19, 2014
This job is pretty layback, but management needs to improve and be equal with everybody. Two face Management and also favorable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive learning
General assembler (Former Employee), Orange, CAFebruary 18, 2014
fast pace manufacturing, opportunity for growth and great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was easy!
Cnc Machinist (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: 25 cent sodas, double pay on sunday, 6.5% match on 401k
Cons: alot of favoritism! they cover each other! falsely ncr reporting! horrible managment
The job itself was easy! The co-worker from different shift are horrible! They would hide job router and no one was accountable for there error (NCR) ALOT of favoritism. The so call superintendent was beyond horrible! Tools were never calibrated. Machinists were force to do own QA. Was told that employee can not transfer to other NOV division which – more... was a lie! This is one of the worst place I ever work but due to the pay I was able to last 2 1/2 years at this center! Grass is not greener on the other side!! Worst ethically. Management will LIE to your face! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure job
Project Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 10, 2014
Very high paced work environment with minimal supervision.

About National Oilwell Varco

National Oilwell Varco is the tool man that provides goods and services to exploration and production companies operating in oil – Read more

National Oilwell Varco Photos