Find companies:
National Oilwell Varco
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
275 reviews

National Oilwell Varco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelant
System Designer / Equipment Designer (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 10, 2014
A typical day is a fast going passe and a challenging one as-well. However fun to work at and full people willing to help you succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent productive & exceptional workforce
Supervisor (Current Employee), GatesheadJune 2, 2014
Pros: work force
Very good to place to work, with excellent staff, benifits & conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unethical practices, dishonest management, no accountability!!!
machinist (Former Employee), provo, utahJune 1, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: dishonest management
Machinist, (former employee), provo,Utah
Unethical practices , manager over the production and machine shop has no education or experience behind them.. all they worry about is looking out for the big BONUS!!!
We had no raises for years before and since that manager took over the shop!
No accountabity , unfair trust in mgmt.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than most places for engineering technician work
Senior Project Layout Specialist/Draftsman (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 31, 2014
Pros: good pay, benefits, and working conditions.
Cons: you will usually need an engineering degree to advance.
This job consisted of preparing shop drawings for pipe manufacture based on the plans and specifications. Management is usually OK and co-workers were great. This work is considered by many to be boring, but there is a certain feeling of accomplishment when the drawings are correct and complete.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place with Awesome Personalities!!!!!!!
Field Service Technician I (Former Employee), Elk City, OKMay 30, 2014
Pros: lots of work opportunity.
Cons: on call, not enough time home as an fst
Anyone with a passion for IT or Mechanical Engineering should work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and friendly atmosphere, my boss was fantastic.
Clerk II (Former Employee), Breaux Bridge, LAMay 28, 2014
Pros: very relaxed atmosphere
Cons: no advancement.
I was the only clerical personnel in this office. I would check on jobs that had come in or were going out. Inventory equipment that had come in. Invoice customers, scan invoice and e mail to the Lafayette office, answer 4 line phones. Payroll was done on a weekly basis. Check with company man for use of rental equipment out on their rigs. I was responsible – more... for getting everything ready for cooks we did for charities and rig locations. I had a great working relationship with my boss and with the 12 men I worked with. It was a very relaxed atmosphere. The hardest part was leaving this job and saying my good byes to people I had worked with for 20 years.
I worked with the same people for both Ambar and NOV. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
QC Tank Inspector (Former Employee), Conroe, texasMay 23, 2014
Pros: lots of hours
Cons: lots of hours
I was only employed here for about 4-5 months but the time that I was there it was a good company to work for. In fact I would go back. Unfortionately I was laid off with a lot of other people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work but lack of advancement opportunities due to supervisor
Final Documentation Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 22, 2014
Pros: good people over all nice people work here
Cons: lack of advancement opportunities
The company is a good place to work, generous amount of holidays are offered. However, after I reached eligibility to apply for promotions. My supervisor originally gave me permission to apply for promotions then when he was contacted by recruiters to interview me for the positions he refused to allow them to speak to me. When I asked him why his words – more... were"I cannot spare you you are my senior employee and are too valuable to me". I am not sure how commonly this occurs at the company but I know this can happen at any company. At NOV recruiters need supervisor / manager permission to interview you for promotions. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people that work here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good and useful training was obtained
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 21, 2014
Pros: a lot of hours (up to 74 a week)
Cons: our lead man did not have any leadership skills
Inspect in process machined part dimensions and NDT.
Management was okay, but I did not see them enough like I think you should.
All my coworker were great and very willing to help if it was needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic expectations from management
Hr administrative assistant (Former Employee), Provo, UtahMay 20, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: micromanaging leadership, lack of direction from management, high turnover
A lot of down time in my position. Depended fully on manager to provide me with work. It was hard to be an efficient employee when there was no access to the work load. High turnover environment. Benefits were good but management was not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet dangerous work enviornment
Service Operator (Former Employee), Crosby, TXMay 19, 2014
Pros: benifits, breaks, and flexible schedule
Cons: 12 hour shifts and no breaks between shifts
Using fork lifts and cranes while working on coiled tubing. While it was a new learning experience I felt it had a few to many danger zones. Management was not as aware of problems but co-workers were helpful. The hardest part of the job was being lifted in cranes using safety harnesses to secure tubes. The most enjoyable part of the job was the 14 – more... day work schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everchanging culture with an unknown outlook
Buyer (Current Employee), Conroe, TXMay 15, 2014
Cons: employee compensation, employee turnover, management culture
NOV is a great company, but the division that I am in is a revolving door at the management level. About 20 different managers have come and gone over the last 20 months. Outlook of the company is positive due to their size and capabilities, but there is not an employee-friendly culture at my location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worlds Leading Company in Oils & Gas
CNC MACHINIST (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 15, 2014
Cnc Machinst Operated Mazak Lathe.Good Company with established manufacturing process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back atmosphere
Next Generation Leadership Program (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 14, 2014
Quality company full of quality people, not always easy to climb quickly through the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Anonymous (Former Employee), San Angelo, TXMay 14, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
I have to agree with the other review for the San Angelo location. The company as a whole, may be great, but this particular location is a joke in my opinion. Management was unwilling to listen to new ideas on safety. This location has the worst safety record out of the entire company, they need all the help they can get. Lots of favoritism, especially – more... in my department, employees not willing to come forward with injuries for fear of losing their safety bonuses and fear of getting ridiculed by management, because management only seems to focus on treating the injuries instead of sitting down with the employees, doing thorough accident investigations, and asking for their opinions on how to make their jobs safer and more efficient. They only seem to go for the "I'm the safety guy, and you'll do what I tell you to do" approach, which never works. On top of that, their training sessions were like an hour and a half long and it's very difficult to keep people interested when your safety meetings run that long. Safety meetings should be no more than 15 minutes long. Also, pay was way below what someone with my educational background should've been getting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Schedule/Expedite/Applicator (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 13, 2014
Nice environment and professional people. Learned a lot on leadership here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product Line
Design Engineer (Current Employee), Conroe, TXMay 13, 2014
Good, i have been able to develop my skills.
I would tell anyone that it is a good company to start your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best ever
Forklift Driver/Material handler (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 30, 2014
my life in the army was great, wish i was still there. nothing more i casn say,. GO ARMY !!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Coatings Department Manager (Former Employee), N/AApril 22, 2014
Off Shore Drilling equipment manufacturing

• Schedule work, Develop Capital Appropriations, assign responsibilities, implement requirements, and maintain compliance with laws, standards, regulations, and company/customer requirements
• Manage and direct work for multiple shifts in multiple locations and attain diligent results
• Coordinate supervision – more... and implement quality control process – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable work with great benifits
Mechanical Assembler (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits, and a great 401k plan
Cons: 12 hr shifts and difficult to advance in the company and the pay is to low.
12 hour shifts the pay is not that great but the benefits compensate where the hourly wage lacks. I've learned to be proficient and to be safe (safety is very important) management is not all that great in order to advance in the company you have to be with the company for some time (6+ years) or know somebody. if you want to transfer to a different – more... NOV location it may be a little more difficult that you would think. the hardest part of the job is much like any other job just politics and the long hours. most enjoyable part of my job is gaining experience and knowing you are working for a large company and you may eventually be able to advance and make great money. – less

About National Oilwell Varco

National Oilwell Varco is the tool man that provides goods and services to exploration and production companies operating in oil – Read more

National Oilwell Varco Photos