National Money Mart Employee Reviews

Found 76 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Providing exceptional customer service
Part-time customer service representative (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ONJanuary 29, 2016
Company is a good one to work for. I am able to deal with several situations that come about in a quick and effective manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, nicest colleagues
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJanuary 21, 2016
Good place to start, they have the best training program and once you are ready to work alone you are expected to work for real, sell and collect. Generate revenue.
Some times the customers are annoying and you are expected not to react.
Pros
Nicest colleagues, Good training, Fast paced
Cons
Paid less and gets really busy and messy on busy days.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Rewarding workplace
Branch Manager, District Trainer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONJanuary 6, 2016
Scheduling
Sales focused environment
Set goals, daily, weekly, monthly for employees
Managed a great team
Local area marketing
Training and Development of Staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a horrible company to work for. They don't take care of their employees and the management sucks. Never again will I work for these people.
Former CSR (Former Employee) –  OntarioDecember 20, 2015
Constant double shifts without being able to step out. The management was horrible. Payroll couldn't apply raises and benefits on time. They do not look out for their employees.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
CSR and District Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 19, 2015
I liked working at money mart, despite being let go due to my position no longer being necessary to the company; it was not performance related, so I don't really have hard feelings about it. I enjoyed coming to work, and I think I was good at my job. There were some tough sales targets to meet sometimes, and sometimes my hours were cut down, which made things stressful, but eventually I got the hang of things. I worked there for 3 years and made a lot of friends. The wages were a tad low, but it was enough to live on, plus the overtime pay was good. The health benefits were good and I liked the human resources staff. Sometimes things were tough because my locations could get very busy and the large line ups of customers could get daunting. but it made the days go by quickly.
Pros
the people
Cons
sometimes my hours were lowered without warning
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Again
Customer Service Representative Coach (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 1, 2015
This is the worse company to work for. Never again, they do not care about their employees. CSR's do most of the work and get the lowest pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced,goal oriented
Financial Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ONOctober 20, 2015
process loans new and previous ones, cash cheques, answer calls, cross sell products, send receive funds via western union, co-workers were good to work with, new management, working alone when busy is the hardest with no relieve
Cons
long hours and no relieve is working alone
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work.
CSR, ASM and BM (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABSeptember 28, 2015
I was with this company for over seven years, worked as a CSR, ASM and BM, and I agree with the lack of job security and feeling valued. I've seen DM's fire managers just because they didn't like each other. Tons and tons of turn over. The job is easy and laid back enough, depending on your store. lots of pressure on sales. It is hard to work here in the sense that you're helping the company take advantage of vulnerable people (Payday loans for people on CPP and AISH). Most people I know there are absolutely miserable.The pay isn't great but the opportunity for OT is there, however that means you're working 130 hours a pay period.
Pros
Easy
Cons
Long hours, no work life balance, don't feel valued.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enjoyable environment to be in
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BCSeptember 23, 2015
management did not seem to enjoy working there. Complained all the time about not getting paid enough for the hours they had to work. The atmosphere in the store was not an enjoyable environment to be in and caused a lot of stress and tension. Management was not supportive and coworkers complained all the time that it was to much and did not want to work full time hours so that someone else was raising her child
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and Friendly Customer service environtment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Markham, ONSeptember 16, 2015
Fast space environment with friendly staffs and management. A very challenging job that will personally make you grow on retail banking field. I have enjoyed helping variety of customer with many different banking services as per their needs. We have a very friendly team and we work together to reach our goals and achieve targets. I have improved my problem solving skills during my journey as a customer service representative at Money Mart. The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting different clients each and every day and understanding their needs and full fill them with job satisfaction.
Pros
Working environment and freedom
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun enjoyable work place until they downsized all the great folks out of there.
Collection Officer (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCAugust 24, 2015
Was once a fun place to work...Learned a lot and gained some extra skills...The most enjoyable part was working alongside my colleagues and learning from them as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
SR CSR (Former Employee) –  torontoAugust 21, 2015
start from counting cash and cleaning the place.
i have became confident and learn to understand peoples behavior, hardest part of job was to catch unreal cheques and call police.
most enjoyable was to help customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity to gain experience
Customer Service Representative/Helpdesk (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONMay 26, 2015
I learned a lot while working with National Money Mart, including valuable cash handling skills and customer service on a whole new level. I learned about the fragility that comes with working with people's finances, and tried my best to make every transaction go smoothly. I was responsible for ensuring that all my duties were completed, as most times I worked alone in the store for 8-12 hours at a time.
Pros
paid breaks
Cons
no actual breaks allowed in a shift, no shift coverage, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive and progressive workplace culture
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton ABMay 17, 2015
More often than not a positive and engaging atmosphere with plenty of learning opportunities awaits you every day at the workplace. The expectation to learn, execute and accomplish is always a top priority. The scope of work is very demanding and hence requires everyone to stay at par with company expectations and abreast with requisite policies and procedures. It provides unlimited exposure and possibilities to advance and improve thereby enabling each employee to function progressively with good results in the end.
Pros
Training oriented culture
Cons
Compensation and benefits reflect scope for improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and lots of advancement
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ONMay 14, 2015
6 years with the company from csr to branch manager I learned a great amount from the people within this company. I was responsible for training and hiring staff, as well as payroll. I served customers as well as did my management duties
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment.
BRANCH MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONApril 21, 2015
Is a fast paced environment with lots of responsibility. lots of responsibility and plenty of expectations places on all levels. Focus on sales and collections.
Pros
fast paced
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place overall.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Newmarket. OnApril 1, 2015
Working at Money Mart taught me a lot about the finance world as well as they gave me a lot of customer service/banking skills. I was fortunate to be part of a great team and management and excelled in my position with them. The hardest part of the job was doing collections/sales and the shift work. All in all my journey with them was great.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ive advanced since then.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONMarch 17, 2015
At money mart I loved my job and the people I served. It was heart breaking to see the same people in the cycle every two weeks. Money mart thinks they are helping people, but really they are just giving them the resources to allow people to get more in debt then they can manage.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is a joke!
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 10, 2015
This company is terrible I worked for them for just about 6 years and they don't care about their employees at all. I moved up fast in the company which is a plus but only because my district manager wanted to put me in a d volume store where she really didn't have to deal with me any longer. There was a point where I didn't see her for over 2 months which I think is terrible for a district manager as it is her job to check in to see how the store is operating. At the time I was promoted and put in to this store there was just me. There was no assistance with hiring another person or even shift coverage. You would expect a hand with hiring when you work from 7:30am to 9:30pm at night and 7 days a week at that. So if you enjoy working like a dog for minimal pay this is the job for you.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes32No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away.
csr (Current Employee) –  ottawaFebruary 27, 2015
horrible. terrible management. treat employees like garbage. disorganized. cheap. take advantage of people. no respect. everyone that works there desperately wants to leave. stay as far away as you can.
Was this review helpful?Yes30No3

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 80 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture