Find companies:
National Money Mart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

National Money Mart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and fun work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONJuly 17, 2014
Continuous learning and support from management.
Strong attention to detail is needed along with ability to multitask and function in a very fast pace environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment to work in
Branch Manager (Former Employee), East YorkJune 4, 2014
Pros: working with great people
Cons: not much room for advancement
• Communicated to all staff effectively in regards to performance reviews, disciplinary actions and coaching.
• Accountable for all labour in store as well as recruiting staff for the store in order to have a proficient team.
• Scheduling staff efficiently to cover the busiest times at the store to alleviate long wait times for customers.
• Controlled – more... all marketing aspects of the store including business to business, local area marketing and community events.
• Responsible for training all new staff on point of sale systems as well as coaching them weekly.
• Delegated responsibilities successfully to strengthen team cohesion and help staff to feel a sense of responsibility and pride in their work.
• Analyzed financial statements in order to pin-point problematic areas in the business and then created action plans in order to reinforce those aspects.
•Responsible for creating and implementing action plans to target sluggish areas to turn them into growing services – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job; long hours expected.
CSR (Current Employee), OntarioJune 3, 2014
Pros: health benefits, strong training.
Cons: long hours, low pay, management that doesn't understand your job, minimal bonus opportunity.
You definitely learn a lot about risk assessment at this job. That being said, the whole payday loan industry can be a little soul destroying at times. That being said, it is a needed service.
A lot of the learning is done on your own on this job; trial and error.
If you have decent team, you might tolerate your job, unfortunately finding good people – more... for this position can be difficult.
Hardest part of the job is the lack of support for shift coverage, someone else doesn't show up? Well, you're out of luck, you're closing.
Most enjoyable can be the people you work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable inviroment
manager/collections (Former Employee), Dufferin and KingMay 26, 2014
Pros: atmosphere
Cons: hours
-very busy steady flow daily
-many different crossselling different products
-started as CSR to store manager then created A/R division
-worked very well with others, put through many people into mangement
-alot of reports and reviews and many more responibilities
working with many different people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
healthy work environment
Customer Sales Representative - Staff (Current Employee), kamloops bcMay 15, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Fantastic managers and colleagues. Hands on activities and educative workshops and employee improvement plans
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), TorontoMay 9, 2014
Money Mart is definitely a easy going company to work for. It's very flexible, but very hard to build your way in the company. Not many aknowledgement for your good effort.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apply at own risk...
CSR (Former Employee), OntarioApril 30, 2014
Cons: wage, hours, management, customers.
The company rotates staff and managers to various locations in your district. In 2 years I worked at 3 locations. If you refused, they would cut your hours and make you feel guilty.
One of my managers was awful and made my work environment very unpleasant. She also lied on my review resulting in not getting a raise.
If you work in a smaller store, you – more... can work a whole shift alone with no lunch break and NO cigarette breaks. If you step out of the store to smoke, you will be fired on the spot.
You are expected to treat the customers like gold, even if something is their mistake and they are verbally abusing you. Which happens very often. I was also threatened by a customer who was going to wait until my shift was done to physically harm me. My then, district manager didn't seem to care or show concern. If you are a sensitive person, I would highly recommend you look elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The was a lot of favortisum and descriinion. If a manager did not like you personaly they made wok dificult.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Guelph, ONApril 26, 2014
Pros: processed a certain amount of payday loans you would get a small bonus
Cons: often got stuck working double shifts..
Had many different customer coming into the branch. Lots of details about cheque cashing, loan, foreign currency etc, to be remembered and executed. Learned a lot about god risk taking and bad risk taking far as issuing pay day loan, or casing a cheque was concerned. Learned about making sure that you had the right person in to store to prevent fraud – more... and also learned about money laundering and how to prevent and stop this from happening especially with Western Union transactions. Management had the most isuesthere. If a manager did not like you personally they made the work environment unpleasant and look for reason to let you go..Also a lot a favortisum went on and unfair work loads. Never really reconnized for work that was done even when it was good work. Co-worker were for the most part pleasant to work with but those who had a managers favorite spot took advantage and did must less work and made most of the mistakes. The hardest part was doing good hard work and not getting any credit or it or a manager giving that credit to someone else. The best part about the job was working with the that came in to the branch everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Processed day to day banking
Customer Service Representative / Manager (Former Employee), Chatham-Kent, ONApril 15, 2014
Processed day to day banking and kept detailed, accurate, financial records.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 1, 2014
a typical day at work, you can be assign to different branch sometimes every month or even every week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), westend , edmontonNovember 25, 2013
Pros: no free time
Cons: breaks are paid
busy on pay days, i love serving the customers.u will learn lots of things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONNovember 14, 2013
The day is spent mostly cashing cheques and processing wire transferrs, always have to be on top of your numbers involves a lot of money and counting and balancing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working here
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Milton, ONOctober 23, 2013
The people I worked with were good, but the overall company is very
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very painful work experience
Synchronization Technologist (Former Employee), Victoria, BCAugust 26, 2013
Pros: i'll post when i think of one
Cons: listed above
Salary and benefits are low. You're on your own, get minimal training and the coworkers can be very mean. Very cliquey culture. You don't get accepted unless you've been there a long time or are willing to waste your personal time socializing with coworkers. NOT recommended as a place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Whitby, ONAugust 20, 2013
The job its self was fun and easy. Always worked alone in the store so got very quiet at times. I loved seeing all the different type of people. I learnt a lot of great customer service skills and how to deal with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Fast
Financial Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kingston, ONAugust 14, 2013
Pros: benefits
Fast paced, high energy environment. good stable company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaJuly 2, 2013
Pros: good team
Cons: bad upper management
A typical day at work was very crazy. In the branch that I was in, we did without a manager for a year. The upper management was not behind or supportive of the employees. Also very stressful.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with the fact that there was no upper management to support the employees.
It was very under staffed, and due to that – more... the employees were over worked and tired.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the customers. I like seeing old faces. I also learned a lot about working as a team, being we were so under staffed, we really had to count on our team members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment, fast paced
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Spruce Grove, ABJune 13, 2013
It is an environment where everyday is different. I get to interact with different people everyday, from different countries and cultures. Through this job, I have improved my decision making skills. It is up to the CSR whether is it good or bad to continue the transaction. A job where there are two sides, the customer service side, and the office side. – more... It is like being in two jobs, in one work setting. The hardest part of the job is making the customers fully understand the policies that has to be followed, especially when the customer is already agitated. The most enjoyable part of this job is the learning. Everyday you learn something new about everybody. Everyday is different, everyday you'll never know who will walk in the store. It is always about going above and beyond customer service. Being able to provide more than what they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Here's my LONG list (Hope it helps). :D
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Former Employee), CanadaJune 12, 2013
Pros: great benefits. opportunities to learn.
Cons: volatile schedule. challenging work. difficult customers sometimes.
Opportunities to learn and grow:
- You'll learn how to handle difficult social situations.
- You'll get much better at multi-tasking, especially if you work at a busy store.
- You can go from CSR to Assistant Manager to Manager to District Manager to Regional Manager and so on. You are only limited by your ambition
- However, you don't have to climb – more... the ladder step by step. You can use education and outside experience to jump levels.

The CSR position is NOT a right fit for you IF:
- You want evenings and weekends off;
- You don't have a flexible schedule;
- You don't want to work too hard;
- You are prone to losing your temper;
- You are not conscious about security (Remember that you'll be working with money. You MUST follow security procedures 100%);
- You are not able to stand on your feet for a few hours at a time;
- You are unable to handle a fast-paced environment; or
- You are expecting to be paid for sitting around.

Keep In Mind:
- The higher turnover means that the jobs are not the right "fit" for everyone. Within 6 months you should learn whether the job is right for you or not, and that's pretty normal, I think.
- If you go to a busy store, you can expect to work VERY hard, but due to the higher store revenue, you might get better bonuses.
- If you go to a slow store, you might be sitting around for hours on your own, so bring a book/MP3 player/etc.
- Your co-workers and manager may be great or not, but it's like that with ALL workplaces. Sometimes, personalities clash and that's normal. You'll have the option to move to other stores.
- You'll get a lot of training so it's great for your development.
- Don't expect to get Friday/Saturday/Sunday off. This is not a regular 9am-5pm. Some stores are open late. Many are open on the weekend. Sometimes your co-workers call in sick. That's life. It happens.
- If you like to be challenged and grow as a person, give it a shot.

My Personal Experience:
- I learned a lot about myself and developed confidence in my skill.
- I was not very good with people when I started but this job taught me how to be great!
- I learned that I can handle a LOT of work with pinpoint accuracy.
- I learned that people who are irate are usually angry at something else.
- I learned how to be a good listener and learned to make people smile.
- I learned how to, literally, turn people's frowns upside-down.
- I learned that there's always something to do around the store. Don't waste time.
- I learned that, although I worked very hard, the company expected more. That was a bit saddening. :[
- The co-workers and managers were awesome people. We worked as a team and we helped each other all the time.
- The benefits are GREAT. Good coverage for dental/physio/optical/etc.
- Why I left? Had to move away, and also decided to follow a dream by changing careers completely.
- Still, it was a good experience, and now I'll always have a backup plan if I ever lose my job or need some extra part-time work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment but for experience was worth it
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 7, 2013
Pros: a good experience as there is a lot of things to learn
Cons: shortage of staff, management wasn't good neither was the pay
Usually you have a variety of shift that varies with different hours not very common that you have a normal schedule because the locations varies from 24 hours to opening as late as 11pm. Upon arriving to shift a typical day you would clock in on your time sheet, then check emails about any updates about any new services company offers or alerts about – more... anything very important to allow us to handle our job efficiently. You work like a bank teller providing banking advices, selling credit cards, doing collection calls, and cashing cheques, but there is much more services they offer as well, but we have to make sure to determine what type of services the client needs and provide them with that, but making sure to promote new services too. I learned in an environment like that attention to detail is a must, and you need to always update yourself with new information everyday. Working with the people was great, you meet all kinds of people that are trying to further their career but need a job that is willing to be flexible with their schedule. People that work there for a long time are very knowledgeable and you learn a lot in this type of work place. The hardest part in this field is having to deal with aggressive clients. Some times when things don't go according to their likes they try to make you feel intimidated and a little less of a person, but you manage all this with time. The best part about working for this company was meeting all kinds of different people from different walks of life and being able to make a difference for someone. – less

1 2 3