Find companies:
National Money Mart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

National Money Mart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 1, 2014
a typical day at work, you can be assign to different branch sometimes every month or even every week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), westend , edmontonNovember 25, 2013
Pros: no free time
Cons: breaks are paid
busy on pay days, i love serving the customers.u will learn lots of things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people , work environment needs improvement
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Richmond, BCNovember 18, 2013
Pros: always learned something new
Cons: breaks are not guaranteed
Enjoyable for the first few months but after working there for several months flaws in company management began to emerge. Breaks are not guaranteed every shift and when you do get a "break" it is not a full 30 minute break. Calling for authorization can sometimes be a pain especially if you have a line up and you are all by yourself (needlessly stressful). – more... I really enjoyed working with others when there was one more person scheduled to work with me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONNovember 14, 2013
The day is spent mostly cashing cheques and processing wire transferrs, always have to be on top of your numbers involves a lot of money and counting and balancing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working here
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Milton, ONOctober 23, 2013
The people I worked with were good, but the overall company is very
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very painful work experience
Synchronization Technologist (Former Employee), Victoria, BCAugust 26, 2013
Pros: i'll post when i think of one
Cons: listed above
Salary and benefits are low. You're on your own, get minimal training and the coworkers can be very mean. Very cliquey culture. You don't get accepted unless you've been there a long time or are willing to waste your personal time socializing with coworkers. NOT recommended as a place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Whitby, ONAugust 20, 2013
The job its self was fun and easy. Always worked alone in the store so got very quiet at times. I loved seeing all the different type of people. I learnt a lot of great customer service skills and how to deal with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Fast
Financial Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kingston, ONAugust 14, 2013
Pros: benefits
Fast paced, high energy environment. good stable company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaJuly 2, 2013
Pros: good team
Cons: bad upper management
A typical day at work was very crazy. In the branch that I was in, we did without a manager for a year. The upper management was not behind or supportive of the employees. Also very stressful.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with the fact that there was no upper management to support the employees.
It was very under staffed, and due to that – more... the employees were over worked and tired.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the customers. I like seeing old faces. I also learned a lot about working as a team, being we were so under staffed, we really had to count on our team members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment, fast paced
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Spruce Grove, ABJune 13, 2013
It is an environment where everyday is different. I get to interact with different people everyday, from different countries and cultures. Through this job, I have improved my decision making skills. It is up to the CSR whether is it good or bad to continue the transaction. A job where there are two sides, the customer service side, and the office side. – more... It is like being in two jobs, in one work setting. The hardest part of the job is making the customers fully understand the policies that has to be followed, especially when the customer is already agitated. The most enjoyable part of this job is the learning. Everyday you learn something new about everybody. Everyday is different, everyday you'll never know who will walk in the store. It is always about going above and beyond customer service. Being able to provide more than what they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Here's my LONG list (Hope it helps). :D
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Former Employee), CanadaJune 12, 2013
Pros: great benefits. opportunities to learn.
Cons: volatile schedule. challenging work. difficult customers sometimes.
Opportunities to learn and grow:
- You'll learn how to handle difficult social situations.
- You'll get much better at multi-tasking, especially if you work at a busy store.
- You can go from CSR to Assistant Manager to Manager to District Manager to Regional Manager and so on. You are only limited by your ambition
- However, you don't have to climb – more... the ladder step by step. You can use education and outside experience to jump levels.

The CSR position is NOT a right fit for you IF:
- You want evenings and weekends off;
- You don't have a flexible schedule;
- You don't want to work too hard;
- You are prone to losing your temper;
- You are not conscious about security (Remember that you'll be working with money. You MUST follow security procedures 100%);
- You are not able to stand on your feet for a few hours at a time;
- You are unable to handle a fast-paced environment; or
- You are expecting to be paid for sitting around.

Keep In Mind:
- The higher turnover means that the jobs are not the right "fit" for everyone. Within 6 months you should learn whether the job is right for you or not, and that's pretty normal, I think.
- If you go to a busy store, you can expect to work VERY hard, but due to the higher store revenue, you might get better bonuses.
- If you go to a slow store, you might be sitting around for hours on your own, so bring a book/MP3 player/etc.
- Your co-workers and manager may be great or not, but it's like that with ALL workplaces. Sometimes, personalities clash and that's normal. You'll have the option to move to other stores.
- You'll get a lot of training so it's great for your development.
- Don't expect to get Friday/Saturday/Sunday off. This is not a regular 9am-5pm. Some stores are open late. Many are open on the weekend. Sometimes your co-workers call in sick. That's life. It happens.
- If you like to be challenged and grow as a person, give it a shot.

My Personal Experience:
- I learned a lot about myself and developed confidence in my skill.
- I was not very good with people when I started but this job taught me how to be great!
- I learned that I can handle a LOT of work with pinpoint accuracy.
- I learned that people who are irate are usually angry at something else.
- I learned how to be a good listener and learned to make people smile.
- I learned how to, literally, turn people's frowns upside-down.
- I learned that there's always something to do around the store. Don't waste time.
- I learned that, although I worked very hard, the company expected more. That was a bit saddening. :[
- The co-workers and managers were awesome people. We worked as a team and we helped each other all the time.
- The benefits are GREAT. Good coverage for dental/physio/optical/etc.
- Why I left? Had to move away, and also decided to follow a dream by changing careers completely.
- Still, it was a good experience, and now I'll always have a backup plan if I ever lose my job or need some extra part-time work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment but for experience was worth it
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 7, 2013
Pros: a good experience as there is a lot of things to learn
Cons: shortage of staff, management wasn't good neither was the pay
Usually you have a variety of shift that varies with different hours not very common that you have a normal schedule because the locations varies from 24 hours to opening as late as 11pm. Upon arriving to shift a typical day you would clock in on your time sheet, then check emails about any updates about any new services company offers or alerts about – more... anything very important to allow us to handle our job efficiently. You work like a bank teller providing banking advices, selling credit cards, doing collection calls, and cashing cheques, but there is much more services they offer as well, but we have to make sure to determine what type of services the client needs and provide them with that, but making sure to promote new services too. I learned in an environment like that attention to detail is a must, and you need to always update yourself with new information everyday. Working with the people was great, you meet all kinds of people that are trying to further their career but need a job that is willing to be flexible with their schedule. People that work there for a long time are very knowledgeable and you learn a lot in this type of work place. The hardest part in this field is having to deal with aggressive clients. Some times when things don't go according to their likes they try to make you feel intimidated and a little less of a person, but you manage all this with time. The best part about working for this company was meeting all kinds of different people from different walks of life and being able to make a difference for someone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Financial CSR (Current Employee), BramptonApril 26, 2013
Pros: incentive bonus
Cons: work/life balance
Co-Workers are cool but work/life balance is the worst part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible corporate culture at the high end of the company
BRANCH MANAGER (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 13, 2013
This company has no use for tis employees. They are the consumate use and abuse company They have no regard for their employees. The recently let go 5 senior branch management employees and the reason they gave for each one was " no longer required" Some of these managers were with the company for over 13 years and not a word of thanks for all the years – more... of dedicated service, just a not asking no longer required. How low can a company get. It is believed that these people were let go because they earned to much money in their job roles

Be very aware that if you work for this company it is a short term job at best. Just ask any of the longer term employees about it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not available
CSR (Former Employee), mississauga, ONMarch 27, 2013
Pros: no comments
Cons: no somments
good place to work at . Full of energy. Lots of new things to learn. friendly environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Vaughan onMarch 4, 2013
Pros: good hours
Cons: low salary
a typical day at money mart is opening up my til counting al the money in the store and assisting customers in doing transactions such as: cashing cheques, sending moey over seas, getting a ay day loan.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto ontarioFebruary 25, 2013
It was fun to work and not very hard to do.
My co-works were great
The company backs up its employee
The management listened
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Professional and I love it!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 23, 2013
I love doing this job but hours are too short for a full time. 24 hours a week is my maximum.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is so nice to meet people with different cultural backgrounds especially when they start talking about their life stories.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), West BroadwayFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: the company offers benefits
Cons: there are some weeks that i do not get 40 hrs.
Working at National Money Mart is really very challenging. I have learned a lot from this company such as cheque cashing, giving payday loans, buying and selling foreign currencies, sending and receiving money through Western Union, making collection calls and appraising and buying gold and silver. Aside from these technical skills, I have acquired – more... some soft skills. I have become resilient, patient, and compassionate. Many of our customers come to the store to share their life stories and it is really nice of them to do that. But there are days that it is not easy because we have customers who are also difficult to deal with. But this is part of our job. As an overall, it is nice working at National Money Mart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Money Mart Company
Former employee (Former Employee), Victoria, BCFebruary 5, 2013
National Money Mart Company is a subsidiary of the DFC Global Corp. a publicly traded company (NASDAQ - DLLR) and the largest convenience-based financial services company in the world. Since 1982, we have trained thousands in the art of outstanding customer service while providing financial solutions for millions of Canadians from coast to coast.

BeenThereDoneThatRight – February 25, 2013

This is as cookie-cutter a review as I've seen, straight from the desk of someone at NMM's head office. All it does is tell you about the company, straight from their own website. AND it stuffs a four-star rating into the mix on Indeed. Terrible. What's next? Glowing customer stories? Those may be a bit harder to find, but I'd love to see NMM try all the same. Four stars and a pasted corporate summary. Terrible.