Find companies:
National Money Mart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
54 reviews

National Money Mart Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place, great manager and workmates
CSR (Current Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 3, 2014
Hectic, pressure
Need to stay in control of any situation and become a problem-solver.
Learning how to speak up and guide others to achieving set targets.
Working along policies and procedures.
Doing what you know best, in a confident and efficient manner
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, diverse employees, customer focused.
Customer Experience Specialist (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 14, 2014
• Responsible for creating the opportunity to make a real difference within the organization and to help improve the experience we offer our customers.
• Working with colleagues from across the organization that represent the Voice of Customer, Voice of the Process and Voice of the Business, as well as with internal stakeholders to create a Customer – more... Transformation Program that delivers great customer experiences consistently.
• Responsible for developing and bringing to life significant initiatives which will ensure we not only meet the basic needs of our customers, but also deliver those signature actions which exceed their expectations and bring a step change in business performance
• Supporting the Customer Service Centre by leading and monitoring the use of a range of business improvement tools to identify and interpret current levels of customer experience, diagnose problems and propose acceptable solutions or options that will result in a change in performance.
• As a passionate customer advocate, I help shape the customer-led culture within the organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager push too hard
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 3, 2014
Pros: you can say you dealt with money
Cons: most things
The environments of most locations are dangerous.

Managers are way too hard on CSRs.

Pay is low and stress is high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers in fast paced environment
Level 3 Collector (Former Employee), Victoria, British ColumbiaSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: great people to work with, great motivators.
Cons: unpaid overtime, constant threat of relocating office to philippines
A typical day of work would be to log into my phone at my desk, and start making calls, go through answering machines as fast as possible, when a customer was on the line I was to check into their individual situation and ask probing questions to find out how the customer would be able to pay the bill, either in small frequent amounts, or a one time – more... lump sum.

At Money Mart I learned to remove myself from a situation and have to look at the bigger picture with the company's best interest in mind. Management could be difficult at times, not to me personally, but because not everyone was able to make their targets, they would threaten collection department with moving to the Philippines for cheaper workers. My co-workers were great, they really made my time there enjoyable, and always looked forward to seeing them everyday.

The hardest part of the job was having to listen to people explain their situation as to why they are not able to pay the bill, but still be firm and detach myself from the situation and explain that the bill must be paid. The most enjoyable part was having customers who were avoiding us because they felt like there was no way they would be able to make payments, going over their finances and finding a solution that worked for both, the company, and the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging & Learning Environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Surrey, BCSeptember 13, 2014
Busy and funfilled environment , lots of things to learn and explore your talent .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the Company
Regional Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: great culture, fantastic people, wonderful management
Cons: very old office building
Was employed at NMM for a one year administrative contract. The employees and management were fantastic. I always felt as if I was part of the team and they were very gracious at the end of my contract. I would definitely work for them again!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Branch Manager and CSR (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 11, 2014
The company has very flexible working hours. Not comfortable disclosing any further information on that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is my summary
Assistant manager/Customer service /Key Holder (Current Employee), 1077 north service road mississauga ontSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: use to this type of work
Cons: pay is not what i expected it to be
a typical day a work consist in helping customers, balancing all cash in store and all transactions according to the amount in the system.

everyday we learn about new customers, and information about possible fraudulent transactions that may be happening

management is great there is no unfairness that I have felt I feel comfortable and happy in my – more... workplace.

hardest part of the job is dealing whit large amounts of cash, at the time can be a bit scary as you are responsible for it but if you take your time and do things right you are balance at the end of the day

I just enjoy the work environment. I love talking to customers and creating a relationship where they are so comfortable they keep coming back to see me and to use our services, rather than the competitors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and fun work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONJuly 17, 2014
Continuous learning and support from management.
Strong attention to detail is needed along with ability to multitask and function in a very fast pace environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment to work in
Branch Manager (Former Employee), East YorkJune 4, 2014
Pros: working with great people
Cons: not much room for advancement
• Communicated to all staff effectively in regards to performance reviews, disciplinary actions and coaching.
• Accountable for all labour in store as well as recruiting staff for the store in order to have a proficient team.
• Scheduling staff efficiently to cover the busiest times at the store to alleviate long wait times for customers.
• Controlled – more... all marketing aspects of the store including business to business, local area marketing and community events.
• Responsible for training all new staff on point of sale systems as well as coaching them weekly.
• Delegated responsibilities successfully to strengthen team cohesion and help staff to feel a sense of responsibility and pride in their work.
• Analyzed financial statements in order to pin-point problematic areas in the business and then created action plans in order to reinforce those aspects.
•Responsible for creating and implementing action plans to target sluggish areas to turn them into growing services – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job; long hours expected.
CSR (Current Employee), OntarioJune 3, 2014
Pros: health benefits, strong training.
Cons: long hours, low pay, management that doesn't understand your job, minimal bonus opportunity.
You definitely learn a lot about risk assessment at this job. That being said, the whole payday loan industry can be a little soul destroying at times. That being said, it is a needed service.
A lot of the learning is done on your own on this job; trial and error.
If you have decent team, you might tolerate your job, unfortunately finding good people – more... for this position can be difficult.
Hardest part of the job is the lack of support for shift coverage, someone else doesn't show up? Well, you're out of luck, you're closing.
Most enjoyable can be the people you work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
healthy work environment
Customer Sales Representative - Staff (Current Employee), kamloops bcMay 15, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Fantastic managers and colleagues. Hands on activities and educative workshops and employee improvement plans
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), TorontoMay 9, 2014
Money Mart is definitely a easy going company to work for. It's very flexible, but very hard to build your way in the company. Not many aknowledgement for your good effort.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apply at own risk...
CSR (Former Employee), OntarioApril 30, 2014
Cons: wage, hours, management, customers.
The company rotates staff and managers to various locations in your district. In 2 years I worked at 3 locations. If you refused, they would cut your hours and make you feel guilty.
One of my managers was awful and made my work environment very unpleasant. She also lied on my review resulting in not getting a raise.
If you work in a smaller store, you – more... can work a whole shift alone with no lunch break and NO cigarette breaks. If you step out of the store to smoke, you will be fired on the spot.
You are expected to treat the customers like gold, even if something is their mistake and they are verbally abusing you. Which happens very often. I was also threatened by a customer who was going to wait until my shift was done to physically harm me. My then, district manager didn't seem to care or show concern. If you are a sensitive person, I would highly recommend you look elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The was a lot of favortisum and descriinion. If a manager did not like you personaly they made wok dificult.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Guelph, ONApril 26, 2014
Pros: processed a certain amount of payday loans you would get a small bonus
Cons: often got stuck working double shifts..
Had many different customer coming into the branch. Lots of details about cheque cashing, loan, foreign currency etc, to be remembered and executed. Learned a lot about god risk taking and bad risk taking far as issuing pay day loan, or casing a cheque was concerned. Learned about making sure that you had the right person in to store to prevent fraud – more... and also learned about money laundering and how to prevent and stop this from happening especially with Western Union transactions. Management had the most isuesthere. If a manager did not like you personally they made the work environment unpleasant and look for reason to let you go..Also a lot a favortisum went on and unfair work loads. Never really reconnized for work that was done even when it was good work. Co-worker were for the most part pleasant to work with but those who had a managers favorite spot took advantage and did must less work and made most of the mistakes. The hardest part was doing good hard work and not getting any credit or it or a manager giving that credit to someone else. The best part about the job was working with the that came in to the branch everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Processed day to day banking
Customer Service Representative / Manager (Former Employee), Chatham-Kent, ONApril 15, 2014
Processed day to day banking and kept detailed, accurate, financial records.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 1, 2014
a typical day at work, you can be assign to different branch sometimes every month or even every week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), westend , edmontonNovember 25, 2013
Pros: no free time
Cons: breaks are paid
busy on pay days, i love serving the customers.u will learn lots of things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people , work environment needs improvement
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Richmond, BCNovember 18, 2013
Pros: always learned something new
Cons: breaks are not guaranteed
Enjoyable for the first few months but after working there for several months flaws in company management began to emerge. Breaks are not guaranteed every shift and when you do get a "break" it is not a full 30 minute break. Calling for authorization can sometimes be a pain especially if you have a line up and you are all by yourself (needlessly stressful). – more... I really enjoyed working with others when there was one more person scheduled to work with me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONNovember 14, 2013
The day is spent mostly cashing cheques and processing wire transferrs, always have to be on top of your numbers involves a lot of money and counting and balancing.

1 2 3