National Money Mart Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes, it's 1-star; I gave it a lot of thought. No, I won't change my rating. Read why...
Branch Manager, Store Supervisor, Teller (Former Employee), Victoria, BCJuly 17, 2012
Pros: the rare lovely co-worker, while they lasted.
Cons: read the review. short take: massive stress, long hours, no rewards
Let me start off by saying I was with NMM for many years as a CSR later manager. At no point in my long employment did I feel as though my job even approached secure or that I was valued as a person. Or even for my skills and experience. I worked with many fantastic people and made the best of my job to earn a wage, but in NO WAY can I recommend that anyone work for this company. That should be enough to steer you AWAY from this place, but if you want specifics, read on. I've tried to be objective, for the most part.

- Salary / Benefits

This is a joke; the company's policies are geared towards paying their employees as little as possible while blowing smoke about how wonderful their wages are and how lucky they are to be employed. The company does have a decent health / dental package as well as life insurance, but it costs. Plan on using the additional medical benefits such as counseling and massage therapy for stress early on. Bonuses are dangled in front of staff and managers but are usually very difficult to attain as the targets seem arbitrary. There are a lot of intelligent people working for HO at this company but they can't seem to figure out how to grow their business through new ventures instead of trying to milk their shrinking current product lines. Wages are less than a bank pays for tellers with any experience and the manager wage is laughable when compared to positions in similar companies with comparable workloads.

- Culture / Values

The worst kind of corporate behaviors flourish here. There is no support from Head Office for retail, as they have their own – more... problems. Having liasoned with HO on and off for years, I can say quite honestly that NONE of the initiatives I tried to implement found any support. Simple things to improve working conditions and staff safety were met with indifference at best and derision at worst. There are NO values inside NMM apart from those that make the shareholders money and allow the top brass to keep their jobs. ALL else is transitory and nothing improved in the decade I was there. Not a thing; it was incredible to see how hard NMM resisted the efforts of their employees to better the company as a place to work. They espouse the value of their training programs, yet for all their in-house development they cannot develop and implement policies to improve the company in any measurable way for their workers.

- Job Security / Advancement

There is no job security; employees can be let go with the flimsiest of excuses, as long as Legal says NMM can make a case. At one point, most of a Western Canada district, dozens of employees, were fired en masse due to 'regular minor breaches' of company policy. There was NO thought given as to how to keep the stores operating with the remaining staff, who dropped like flies from stress - and with no thanks from HO and no apologies. Advancement is usually made from the typical corporate ladder-climbing, consisting of stepping on the efforts of others and claiming credit first. People are usually promoted as much for their ability to manipulate others as their ability to survive the winnowing process that constantly results in new staff replacing the 'old' burned out ones after a year or so. NMM is never supportive of it's staff when it came to customer complaints and usually sided with the customer in a situation to 'keep them satisfied' - leaving the employee hanging with the constant feeling that they would be let go after EVERY complaint. HR writeups were common and affected promotions, as well as wage increases. Given that so much of their job was affected by the backwards and punitive NMM policies as well as chronic staff shortages, customer complaints were inevitable and constant, as was staff turnover. The incredible lack of staff is considered 'normal' by HO who know that NMM would rather work one staffer to the bone than to pay for the three necessary to properly take care of customers and reduce wait times in line from the average of fifteen minutes and more on busy days.

- Management

The best managers usually lasted the shortest amount of time, as people who care about their employees don't have much of a future at NMM. The unrealistic targets set down by HO each quarter are usually impossible to attain with stores constantly understaffed and it always falls to the manager to make up the difference - hence the rapid burnout of the ones who care. Upper management rotates regularly as they fail to hit their targets and leave the company as soon as their contracts are up, making far more money than the longer-serving DM's. There never was and never will be any upper management who do more than pay lip service to caring about the needs of the 'peons' in the lower ranks - again, just what I have overheard in my time dealing with these corporate sharks who play the game very, very well. It is incredible to think that so many good lower level management potential is wasted from NMM's policies of squeezing every last erg of effort out of a person and discarding them instead of creating an environment where they can succeed and flourish. Don't let anyone tell you different; the smiling assurances they will tell you about how wonderful and progressive a place NMM is to work are

- Work / Life Balance

Most managers live with a phone that never, ever stops ringing, as staff at all levels of NMM don't believe in time off. I have personally seen emails from upper management to district managers that belittle and berate the DM's for not answering emails at 2am. The job was 24/7 and staff at all levels were constantly called in to fill in for all manner of reasons; the smarter ones refused after a while. Never have I heard of a company less concerned with allowing it's employees to have a life outside of work, or that care so little about making their work contributions feel valued. Constant, unending stress, unrealistic expectations and a massive daily workload were the norm. Burnout was common and the nature of the business was such that it always compounded the stress levels for everyone - employee and customer both.

I will end there, as I am hoping by now that you have a better grasp of why NMM should be crossed off your list of potential employers as well as that of anyone you like or even respect a tiny bit. It is a place for those who worship the worst of the corporate mandate and who have no problem in advancing based on those selfish precepts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Here's my LONG list (Hope it helps). :D
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Former Employee), CanadaJune 12, 2013
Pros: great benefits. opportunities to learn.
Cons: volatile schedule. challenging work. difficult customers sometimes.
Opportunities to learn and grow:
- You'll learn how to handle difficult social situations.
- You'll get much better at multi-tasking, especially if you work at a busy store.
- You can go from CSR to Assistant Manager to Manager to District Manager to Regional Manager and so on. You are only limited by your ambition
- However, you don't have to climb the ladder step by step. You can use education and outside experience to jump levels.

The CSR position is NOT a right fit for you IF:
- You want evenings and weekends off;
- You don't have a flexible schedule;
- You don't want to work too hard;
- You are prone to losing your temper;
- You are not conscious about security (Remember that you'll be working with money. You MUST follow security procedures 100%);
- You are not able to stand on your feet for a few hours at a time;
- You are unable to handle a fast-paced environment; or
- You are expecting to be paid for sitting around.

Keep In Mind:
- The higher turnover means that the jobs are not the right "fit" for everyone. Within 6 months you should learn whether the job is right for you or not, and that's pretty normal, I think.
- If you go to a busy store, you can expect to work VERY hard, but due to the higher store revenue, you might get better bonuses.
- If you go to a slow store, you might be sitting around for hours on your own, so bring a book/MP3 player/etc.
- Your co-workers and manager may be great or not, but it's like that with ALL workplaces. Sometimes, personalities clash and that's normal. You'll have the option to move to other stores.
- You'll get a lot of training – more... so it's great for your development.
- Don't expect to get Friday/Saturday/Sunday off. This is not a regular 9am-5pm. Some stores are open late. Many are open on the weekend. Sometimes your co-workers call in sick. That's life. It happens.
- If you like to be challenged and grow as a person, give it a shot.

My Personal Experience:
- I learned a lot about myself and developed confidence in my skill.
- I was not very good with people when I started but this job taught me how to be great!
- I learned that I can handle a LOT of work with pinpoint accuracy.
- I learned that people who are irate are usually angry at something else.
- I learned how to be a good listener and learned to make people smile.
- I learned how to, literally, turn people's frowns upside-down.
- I learned that there's always something to do around the store. Don't waste time.
- I learned that, although I worked very hard, the company expected more. That was a bit saddening. :[
- The co-workers and managers were awesome people. We worked as a team and we helped each other all the time.
- The benefits are GREAT. Good coverage for dental/physio/optical/etc.
- Why I left? Had to move away, and also decided to follow a dream by changing careers completely.
- Still, it was a good experience, and now I'll always have a backup plan if I ever lose my job or need some extra part-time work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment but for experience was worth it
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 7, 2013
Pros: a good experience as there is a lot of things to learn
Cons: shortage of staff, management wasn't good neither was the pay
Usually you have a variety of shift that varies with different hours not very common that you have a normal schedule because the locations varies from 24 hours to opening as late as 11pm. Upon arriving to shift a typical day you would clock in on your time sheet, then check emails about any updates about any new services company offers or alerts about anything very important to allow us to handle our job efficiently. You work like a bank teller providing banking advices, selling credit cards, doing collection calls, and cashing cheques, but there is much more services they offer as well, but we have to make sure to determine what type of services the client needs and provide them with that, but making sure to promote new services too. I learned in an environment like that attention to detail is a must, and you need to always update yourself with new information everyday. Working with the people was great, you meet all kinds of people that are trying to further their career but need a job that is willing to be flexible with their schedule. People that work there for a long time are very knowledgeable and you learn a lot in this type of work place. The hardest part in this field is having to deal with aggressive clients. Some times when things don't go according to their likes they try to make you feel intimidated and a little less of a person, but you manage all this with time. The best part about working for this company was meeting all kinds of different people from different walks of life and being able to make a difference for someone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers in fast paced environment
Level 3 Collector (Former Employee), Victoria, British ColumbiaSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: great people to work with, great motivators.
Cons: unpaid overtime, constant threat of relocating office to philippines
A typical day of work would be to log into my phone at my desk, and start making calls, go through answering machines as fast as possible, when a customer was on the line I was to check into their individual situation and ask probing questions to find out how the customer would be able to pay the bill, either in small frequent amounts, or a one time lump sum.

At Money Mart I learned to remove myself from a situation and have to look at the bigger picture with the company's best interest in mind. Management could be difficult at times, not to me personally, but because not everyone was able to make their targets, they would threaten collection department with moving to the Philippines for cheaper workers. My co-workers were great, they really made my time there enjoyable, and always looked forward to seeing them everyday.

The hardest part of the job was having to listen to people explain their situation as to why they are not able to pay the bill, but still be firm and detach myself from the situation and explain that the bill must be paid. The most enjoyable part was having customers who were avoiding us because they felt like there was no way they would be able to make payments, going over their finances and finding a solution that worked for both, the company, and the customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The was a lot of favortisum and descriinion. If a manager did not like you personaly they made wok dificult.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Guelph, ONApril 26, 2014
Pros: processed a certain amount of payday loans you would get a small bonus
Cons: often got stuck working double shifts..
Had many different customer coming into the branch. Lots of details about cheque cashing, loan, foreign currency etc, to be remembered and executed. Learned a lot about god risk taking and bad risk taking far as issuing pay day loan, or casing a cheque was concerned. Learned about making sure that you had the right person in to store to prevent fraud and also learned about money laundering and how to prevent and stop this from happening especially with Western Union transactions. Management had the most isuesthere. If a manager did not like you personally they made the work environment unpleasant and look for reason to let you go..Also a lot a favortisum went on and unfair work loads. Never really reconnized for work that was done even when it was good work. Co-worker were for the most part pleasant to work with but those who had a managers favorite spot took advantage and did must less work and made most of the mistakes. The hardest part was doing good hard work and not getting any credit or it or a manager giving that credit to someone else. The best part about the job was working with the that came in to the branch everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible loan sharks
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lindsay, ONOctober 12, 2012
Pros: free pre-paid credit card, which is now useless since most banks have a credit/debit card now
Cons: seeing people get worse into debt with a company that is 'helping' them
I spent 4 years working for Money Mart in Ontario. They had me working at 3 different stores in two different cities, 6 or 7 days a week. They had no problem breaking government laws in that respect. They also used shoddy money counters which were always miscounting money. Eventually I was feeling very stressed from the work load, and began making some counting errors, including having to take the fall for the money counter being wrong. My doctor put me on stress leave for 7-10 days, and when I came back I was suspended within an hour, and fired the next day by phone. It was devastating and life changing, as I had given them so much. I had to fight them with the government to get a proper dismissal pay.
A typical day at Money Mart: steal people's money. I learned that corporations in the 'financial retail' sector are basically just dirty loan sharks who will do basically anything to get you hooked on their products - trust me, cross selling is a huge part of this job.
I guess I'm biased from my terrible experience, but good luck to whomever goes to work there. Don't expect any help or kindness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, diverse employees, customer focused.
Customer Experience Specialist (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 14, 2014
• Responsible for creating the opportunity to make a real difference within the organization and to help improve the experience we offer our customers.
• Working with colleagues from across the organization that represent the Voice of Customer, Voice of the Process and Voice of the Business, as well as with internal stakeholders to create a Customer Transformation Program that delivers great customer experiences consistently.
• Responsible for developing and bringing to life significant initiatives which will ensure we not only meet the basic needs of our customers, but also deliver those signature actions which exceed their expectations and bring a step change in business performance
• Supporting the Customer Service Centre by leading and monitoring the use of a range of business improvement tools to identify and interpret current levels of customer experience, diagnose problems and propose acceptable solutions or options that will result in a change in performance.
• As a passionate customer advocate, I help shape the customer-led culture within the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment to work in
Branch Manager (Former Employee), East YorkJune 4, 2014
Pros: working with great people
Cons: not much room for advancement
• Communicated to all staff effectively in regards to performance reviews, disciplinary actions and coaching.
• Accountable for all labour in store as well as recruiting staff for the store in order to have a proficient team.
• Scheduling staff efficiently to cover the busiest times at the store to alleviate long wait times for customers.
• Controlled all marketing aspects of the store including business to business, local area marketing and community events.
• Responsible for training all new staff on point of sale systems as well as coaching them weekly.
• Delegated responsibilities successfully to strengthen team cohesion and help staff to feel a sense of responsibility and pride in their work.
• Analyzed financial statements in order to pin-point problematic areas in the business and then created action plans in order to reinforce those aspects.
•Responsible for creating and implementing action plans to target sluggish areas to turn them into growing services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If there was something less than 1 star, that's what I'd choose
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Victoria, BCFebruary 26, 2015
Pros: i honestly can't think of one
Cons: dishonest management, disingenuous behaviour, ignoble staff and upper management, culture of favourtism, the list goes on...
I worked for this company for only a month, and in that time I experienced exactly what a company should NOT do.

This company does not only lie and manipulate their customers, the employees (and ESPECIALLY management) will step on anyone and everyone to get ahead. There is no recognition for a job well done, and the employees themselves are dumb as bricks. I would guess the majority of them did not finish high school.

There is a culture of favourtism, and anything you say will be used against you, so if you do decide to apply for this terrible job, don't open your mouth about anything. Keep it to yourself. Your ideas, your criticisms, gossip, whatever. Just keep to yourself and don't make any friends. Nobody is to be trusted there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is so nice to meet people with different cultural backgrounds especially when they start talking about their life stories.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), West BroadwayFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: the company offers benefits
Cons: there are some weeks that i do not get 40 hrs.
Working at National Money Mart is really very challenging. I have learned a lot from this company such as cheque cashing, giving payday loans, buying and selling foreign currencies, sending and receiving money through Western Union, making collection calls and appraising and buying gold and silver. Aside from these technical skills, I have acquired some soft skills. I have become resilient, patient, and compassionate. Many of our customers come to the store to share their life stories and it is really nice of them to do that. But there are days that it is not easy because we have customers who are also difficult to deal with. But this is part of our job. As an overall, it is nice working at National Money Mart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apply at own risk...
CSR (Former Employee), OntarioApril 30, 2014
Cons: wage, hours, management, customers.
The company rotates staff and managers to various locations in your district. In 2 years I worked at 3 locations. If you refused, they would cut your hours and make you feel guilty.
One of my managers was awful and made my work environment very unpleasant. She also lied on my review resulting in not getting a raise.
If you work in a smaller store, you can work a whole shift alone with no lunch break and NO cigarette breaks. If you step out of the store to smoke, you will be fired on the spot.
You are expected to treat the customers like gold, even if something is their mistake and they are verbally abusing you. Which happens very often. I was also threatened by a customer who was going to wait until my shift was done to physically harm me. My then, district manager didn't seem to care or show concern. If you are a sensitive person, I would highly recommend you look elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment, fast paced
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Spruce Grove, ABJune 13, 2013
It is an environment where everyday is different. I get to interact with different people everyday, from different countries and cultures. Through this job, I have improved my decision making skills. It is up to the CSR whether is it good or bad to continue the transaction. A job where there are two sides, the customer service side, and the office side. It is like being in two jobs, in one work setting. The hardest part of the job is making the customers fully understand the policies that has to be followed, especially when the customer is already agitated. The most enjoyable part of this job is the learning. Everyday you learn something new about everybody. Everyday is different, everyday you'll never know who will walk in the store. It is always about going above and beyond customer service. Being able to provide more than what they needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is my summary
Assistant manager/Customer service /Key Holder (Current Employee), 1077 north service road mississauga ontSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: use to this type of work
Cons: pay is not what i expected it to be
a typical day a work consist in helping customers, balancing all cash in store and all transactions according to the amount in the system.

everyday we learn about new customers, and information about possible fraudulent transactions that may be happening

management is great there is no unfairness that I have felt I feel comfortable and happy in my workplace.

hardest part of the job is dealing whit large amounts of cash, at the time can be a bit scary as you are responsible for it but if you take your time and do things right you are balance at the end of the day

I just enjoy the work environment. I love talking to customers and creating a relationship where they are so comfortable they keep coming back to see me and to use our services, rather than the competitors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
CSR and District Administrator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 19, 2015
Pros: the people
Cons: sometimes my hours were lowered without warning
I liked working at money mart, despite being let go due to my position no longer being necessary to the company; it was not performance related, so I don't really have hard feelings about it. I enjoyed coming to work, and I think I was good at my job. There were some tough sales targets to meet sometimes, and sometimes my hours were cut down, which made things stressful, but eventually I got the hang of things. I worked there for 3 years and made a lot of friends. The wages were a tad low, but it was enough to live on, plus the overtime pay was good. The health benefits were good and I liked the human resources staff. Sometimes things were tough because my locations could get very busy and the large line ups of customers could get daunting. but it made the days go by quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Customer Service Representative Coach (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBOctober 16, 2012
Pros: really sharp and challenge
Cons: heavy work load but considerable lower pay.
I did have a lot fun working at Money Mart.
It was my first full time job, and I really love it. First of all, I like working with numbers, what I did at Money Mart are 99% dealing with money, help customers with their financial needs. I have to say, working at Money Mart is no different or I can say more challenge than working at the Bank. You are dealing with all different kinds of customers, mostly under financial difficulty. I do learned a lot at Money Mart, such as financial knowledge, how to deal with difficult situation, always alert with fraud, being accurate all the time... and so on.
People working at Money Mart are really helpful, you always have back ups even though most of the time you have to working independently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is a joke!
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 10, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
This company is terrible I worked for them for just about 6 years and they don't care about their employees at all. I moved up fast in the company which is a plus but only because my district manager wanted to put me in a d volume store where she really didn't have to deal with me any longer. There was a point where I didn't see her for over 2 months which I think is terrible for a district manager as it is her job to check in to see how the store is operating. At the time I was promoted and put in to this store there was just me. There was no assistance with hiring another person or even shift coverage. You would expect a hand with hiring when you work from 7:30am to 9:30pm at night and 7 days a week at that. So if you enjoy working like a dog for minimal pay this is the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute joy to help Customers from all works of life
Customer Service/Teller (Former Employee), Lawrence and Railway RoadDecember 22, 2012
Pros: bonuses are given when target are met
Cons: distant commutting
Typical day at work is setting up a station before customers arrivals, and be alert to serve customers in order to help and complete transactions accurately.

I learned customers behaviour and understaning of customers for the purpose of advicing customers on a daily basis.

The managaement was professional, and gave me the opportunity to manage and train new employess.

The co-workers were a perfect team, and achieved the target goals set by the organisation anaually.

The most difficult aspect of the job is seeing a customer leave unsatisfied.

The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting customners need at the end of every transaction.

February 25, 2013

This review reads like a brochure written by MMart's PR department. It's impossible to accept that 'the hardest part' of the job was 'seeing a customer leave unsatisfied' - really? Anyone who rates National Money Mart more than 2.5 stars out of 5 has either led the most incredibly charmed and lucky life one can imagine, or hasn't been on the job for more than a month or two. I won't bring up the ugly possibility that the reviewers were 'sent' here by NMM to improve their image. That would be... amusing.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and Friendly Customer service environtment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Markham, ONSeptember 16, 2015
Pros: Working environment and freedom
Cons: Low salary
Fast space environment with friendly staffs and management. A very challenging job that will personally make you grow on retail banking field. I have enjoyed helping variety of customer with many different banking services as per their needs. We have a very friendly team and we work together to reach our goals and achieve targets. I have improved my problem solving skills during my journey as a customer service representative at Money Mart. The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting different clients each and every day and understanding their needs and full fill them with job satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to learn everyday. Enjoyed customer interaction.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 22, 2012
Pros: flexible hours.
Cons: having to clean the lobby, when the previous shift failed to.
Overall Money Mart was a good company to work for. Daily challenges were always an opportunity to learn something new and look at things in a different perspective. The hardest thing about the job was income tax season. It add so much more dynamic to the job when tax season arrived. Management was often reliable but not always, but that is to be expected in any job. I most enjoyed interacting with the customers. It was my job to make sure that everyone who walked into our establishment was looked after and their many needs met. I truly enjoyed helping people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible corporate culture at the high end of the company
BRANCH MANAGER (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 13, 2013
This company has no use for tis employees. They are the consumate use and abuse company They have no regard for their employees. The recently let go 5 senior branch management employees and the reason they gave for each one was " no longer required" Some of these managers were with the company for over 13 years and not a word of thanks for all the years of dedicated service, just a not asking no longer required. How low can a company get. It is believed that these people were let go because they earned to much money in their job roles

Be very aware that if you work for this company it is a short term job at best. Just ask any of the longer term employees about it