Find companies:
National Home Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

National Home Services Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to make money, but good experience and people
Customer Service and Sales Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 1, 2014
Pros: learning quite a lot from the experience, people were easy to get along with and a good management team as well as training staff.
Cons: long work hours; injured my leg on the job, won't be doing door to door sales again.
It's very hard to make money when you first start, and the hours can be extremely long, so you should know what you're signing up for.

Commissions only. This is hard when you're doing door to door sales for a lot of people but if you're good you can hit the early start bonuses for newcomers. Some people do have a lot of experience in the sales will – more... have a much better time at this.

However, when you do get rolling, you kind of get the hang of things, and it gets a lot less nerve-wracking, and you can start on some income, but it's still not guaranteed since you'll have good days and bad days. A lot of the people who stayed on for a year or more can do very well, but that really does depend on the person.

Hours are long. You're rarely going to get to leave before dark, regardless of the season. Since it's a commission only. you don't have much to do other than to continuously work. There's good incentives at the start for you to work, but a lot of people fail at hitting the bonuses. They insist on a 6 day work week with sometimes long trips to places far away. There's not a lot of free-time afterwards

The training crew did a very good job providing the skills required for the job, and the management was pretty close to team. There were a lot of co-workers joining and leaving the team on a weekly basis so it was a bit hard. I can't say I got along with everyone but I learned a lot from the senior team.

Job culture is not incredibly unique, they do what a lot of good sales teams do to try and have people get along, but you work mostly by yourself. A lot of people there had really bad music playing really loudly in the car though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, Convenient location
Receptionist/Office Assistant (Current Employee), North York, OntNovember 6, 2014
National Home Services overall is a good place to work.

My typical day would be to come in for 8:00am and open the office. I would turn on all lights, put away dishes that were in the dishwasher from the night before and then check emails and voice mails.

I would then manage 40+ ads from kijiji, craigslist, career builder etc.
Answer incoming calls – more... and booking applicants in for interviews for specific positions. Also, I would call any resumes I would have who were eligible for the positions we were providing.

I would email, scan, and make spreadsheets for head office on a daily basis.

Greet applicants as they came in for their interviews, and get them to fill out an application. Once they were done and if we had a lot of applicants in for the day I would help HR on the interviewing process by interviewing the applicants myself and hiring the ones who I thought were eligible.

Towards the end of the day I would clean up the office and kitchen, making sure everything was up to par. Once everything was done I would be the last one to leave and close office at 5:00pm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, if only the future were more certain.
Warehouse Lead/Lead Returns Officer (Current Employee), Ajax, ONOctober 23, 2014
I truly have enjoyed my employment with National Home Services. I am only leaving because the future of the company has been thrust into uncertainty due to a buyout by another company. I am taking the step of trying to secure more stable employment for the sake of my family.

During my time there, I have learned to deal with people from all walks of – more... life. I have acquired the ability to effectively lead a team. My communication skills have sharpened due to the fact that I am constantly interacting with people to co-ordinate appropriate return schedules. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gossip filled work environment
Call Agent (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: free water
Cons: commission
not a very welcoming atmosphere. i learn that is not good to be too friendly with my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales job
Salesman (Former Employee), toronto, ontarioAugust 22, 2014
Cons: 12-14hrs..long hours
Job was absolutely commission based and very long hours per day, where we have to go door to door walking to and from different neighbourhoods (about 4 a day). Selling and booking installation dates for old and new customers. Sometimes when you make a sale, company will take the sale for themselves and tell you, customer declined the installation. But – more... customers would call me to notify me that they have recieved the installation of h-vac or air-conditioner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
door to door sales
Team leader, (Former Employee), yorkdaleMay 6, 2014
hard work, knocking on doors from 12pm to 8 pm then take trips weekly to do the same out of town
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy, always exciting news and updates, great place to learn
Team Captain of Water Heater Coordinators (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 6, 2014
Pros: team support
Cons: external issues
Great experience, nothing will teach you confidence like continuous action and a team of people behind you.
Everyday I had 300 emails, 60 calls, 2 meetings and hands to shake. I started at 7am and in a blink of an eye it was 4pm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environmet to work in, flexibility with school hours.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioFebruary 19, 2014
A typical day at work would start with being on time to start my shift at the cal centre. I was constantly updated through training about new products, changes in the system or product change. Management was excellent and they were flexible with my school hours as there were my co-workers who made it a nice environment to work in. I enjoy working with – more... people and making sure they get what they need, and providing excellent customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nation Home Services Review
General Labourer (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: see review
For my first job ever, I answered an ad offering $18 per hour for a general labourer position. I went to an interview and then got called for the next day for 3 hour orientation which i went to. They were very vague about what the job was and no more mention about pay. Flyers given about incentives like cash rewards and earning a trip for certain goals – more... reached. Well, turns out there is no general labour. it is door to door sales. you meet every day for mandatory training at 11 am. lunch is at noon. at 1pm you go out with a team. they drop you off to go door to door attempting to rent water heaters to home owners until 9pm. back the next day. they tried to say I had to work 6 days a week I thought i was earning a wage. for 1 week i showed up in freezing temperatures to work. they were supposed to keep us in pairs but the last time i worked, they had dropped me off miles from anyone else, left me there alone in the worst part of the city in the winter. when i texted my leader that i had to go to the washroom, he didn't come back and left me like that for a couple hours till i went home. Large dogs throwing themselves at the door when I knocked and men were yelling obscenities at me before i had a chance to speak. my biggest fear was that someone would actually open the door. Then it got dark at about 4:30 which made it even colder and scarier. By 7:30, I was still alone without anyone coming so i called my dad and he came to get me. i had to walk to a corner and tell him the names of the streets because i didn't know where i was. My parents and i agreed that i would never go back, and that was when we thought i was earning money. Afterwards, we found out it was a straight commission $18 was an estimate of what you could make. i had earned nothing for my 45 hours of work and mandatory training. my parents had bought me warm clothes and driven me into the city and picked me up every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really do enjoy working here and the opportunity to grow
Supervisor-Retention and Follow up Team (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: great benefits and always learning
Cons: no job security
I have had a great time while employed by National Home Services, I have learned alot about the business and industry. The management is lacking in there relationships with there employees and there is a high turnover. My co-workers are great to work with and very helpful, which makes the job easy and fun. The hardest part of my job is retaining a customer – more... that has made up there mind and wants to cancel there services with the company. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you will be recognized for good work if not by management definetly by customers. I also enjoy helping people and keeping customers satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great way to learn self motivation in a positive working environment.
Sales Team Leader (Former Employee), London, ONNovember 13, 2013
Pros: pay was based on how hard you worked
Working at National Home Services, I was responsible for coming in to the office at 730 in the morning and setting up the classroom for a positive training experience. My job was to prepare the sales representatives by setting the mood and adjusting their mindset to a goal oriented and motivated state. I was training sales reps to deal with communication – more... skills and goal setting as well as training them in the products the company was selling (HVAC equipment: furnaces, water heaters, air-conditioners, gas and electricity). I became a team leader 4 weeks after joining the company due to a great understanding of the company and a quick advance in sales. This advancement made it possible to sell HVAC equipment door-to-door with one or two trainees, which got to experience my sales directly throughout the day. I enjoyed my job quite a bit because there was no ceiling on the amount of money I could make, it was fully dependent on my positive attitude and the effort I put into the day.
Three months after being hired I also gained the opportunity to run my own team and take my workers on regular weekly road trips, around Ontario. This would take place Tuesday to Saturday, where we had the ability to stay in hotels and spend a bigger portion of the day doing sales. (9 am - 8 pm). I enjoyed the learning experience and management training, as well as the opportunity to travel to most major cities and many smaller towns within Ontario.
The part of the job I was not too fond of was the objection people had about doing business with people who came to their door. People felt threatened at times due to the fact that the market in gas and electricity had been saturated for quite some time, and previous companies in the business were not trained properly to handle rejection by the consumers. National Home Services had a great program and a knowledgeable staff that had overcome many obstacles to create an outstanding company in a very competitive industry. Overall it was a great learning experience that taught me the value of setting goals, working hard with a great attitude, being positive and proper communication in a business setting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic high performers rewarded with huge paychecks.
Team Manager Sales (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 30, 2013
Enjoy working and challenges, Very cool work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Door to door HVAC and water heater rental company
Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 11, 2013
Call centre and service support, pressure on metrics over quality
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face to face marketing
Sales Associate (Former Employee), EtobicokeAugust 23, 2013
Company was terrible but i learned alot about dealing with people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits, Friendly Environment and Co-Workers
Client Care & Retention (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 22, 2013
Good Benefits, Friendly Environment and Co-Workers. Opportunity for growth and to learn more about Energy Industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very physically demanding
Client Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 16, 2013
Pros: valuable sales experience
Cons: exhausting physically and emotionally
Working as a door-to-door sales representative is a very physically and emotionally demanding job. I did receive very beneficial experience about sales, but ultimately I left due to physical exhaustion, as well as a moral conflict with the way we had to misinform clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good money but work 7 days aweek and long hours
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 15, 2013
Cons: long hours and comission pay
it was agood job,very long hours for example 9-9 time u everyone got to go home it was 10 and didnt really work out for a balance between life and work equally and i have a daughter so it made it hard being gone 7 days a week 12hours a day and was based on commission so not very secure job placement but was fun and would be good for singles with no – more... child – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hours but not great management
Part time CSR (Former Employee), Mississauga ONJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: hours are fair, and easy to work the as part time
Cons: immature management, lack of coaching to be better
good hours but not great management, hours are fair, and easy to work the as part time, immature management, lack of coaching to be better
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place too work
Sales (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 18, 2013
Driven by yourself very good job for anyone that has the motive to work and too work hard but pays out huge up too 5000$ a week as a agent lots of room too grow too management as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Work Hours with work being life itself
NHS Agent (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: meeting the people within our society, great experience for customer services and friendly work environment
Cons: commission
Working at National Home Services was a great experience in part. Going door to door meeting different kinds of people was amazing, allowing me to gain a significant amount of knowledge on customer services. Also studying the product (water heaters) allowed me to understand the company and how to express National Home Services policy with the company – more... itself. Management is great , Human Resources definitely knows how to keep track of everything and also who to hire so everyone gets along really well almost like a family, since we work in teams. Speaking with the possible consumers was always joyful regardless of their persona. My Co-Workers were great , extremely friendly but the major downfall of the job is commission with the hours of work , if you simply do not have a good day. All in all NHS is great but a major flaw is it's commission based especially with the amount of hours of work , – less