Find companies:
National Home Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

National Home Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy, always exciting news and updates, great place to learn
Team Captain of Water Heater Coordinators (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 6, 2014
Pros: team support
Cons: external issues
Great experience, nothing will teach you confidence like continuous action and a team of people behind you.
Everyday I had 300 emails, 60 calls, 2 meetings and hands to shake. I started at 7am and in a blink of an eye it was 4pm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environmet to work in, flexibility with school hours.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioFebruary 19, 2014
A typical day at work would start with being on time to start my shift at the cal centre. I was constantly updated through training about new products, changes in the system or product change. Management was excellent and they were flexible with my school hours as there were my co-workers who made it a nice environment to work in. I enjoy working with – more... people and making sure they get what they need, and providing excellent customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nation Home Services Review
General Labourer (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: see review
For my first job ever, I answered an ad offering $18 per hour for a general labourer position. I went to an interview and then got called for the next day for 3 hour orientation which i went to. They were very vague about what the job was and no more mention about pay. Flyers given about incentives like cash rewards and earning a trip for certain goals – more... reached. Well, turns out there is no general labour. it is door to door sales. you meet every day for mandatory training at 11 am. lunch is at noon. at 1pm you go out with a team. they drop you off to go door to door attempting to rent water heaters to home owners until 9pm. back the next day. they tried to say I had to work 6 days a week I thought i was earning a wage. for 1 week i showed up in freezing temperatures to work. they were supposed to keep us in pairs but the last time i worked, they had dropped me off miles from anyone else, left me there alone in the worst part of the city in the winter. when i texted my leader that i had to go to the washroom, he didn't come back and left me like that for a couple hours till i went home. Large dogs throwing themselves at the door when I knocked and men were yelling obscenities at me before i had a chance to speak. my biggest fear was that someone would actually open the door. Then it got dark at about 4:30 which made it even colder and scarier. By 7:30, I was still alone without anyone coming so i called my dad and he came to get me. i had to walk to a corner and tell him the names of the streets because i didn't know where i was. My parents and i agreed that i would never go back, and that was when we thought i was earning money. Afterwards, we found out it was a straight commission $18 was an estimate of what you could make. i had earned nothing for my 45 hours of work and mandatory training. my parents had bought me warm clothes and driven me into the city and picked me up every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really do enjoy working here and the opportunity to grow
Supervisor-Retention and Follow up Team (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: great benefits and always learning
Cons: no job security
I have had a great time while employed by National Home Services, I have learned alot about the business and industry. The management is lacking in there relationships with there employees and there is a high turnover. My co-workers are great to work with and very helpful, which makes the job easy and fun. The hardest part of my job is retaining a customer – more... that has made up there mind and wants to cancel there services with the company. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you will be recognized for good work if not by management definetly by customers. I also enjoy helping people and keeping customers satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great way to learn self motivation in a positive working environment.
Sales Team Leader (Former Employee), London, ONNovember 13, 2013
Pros: pay was based on how hard you worked
Working at National Home Services, I was responsible for coming in to the office at 730 in the morning and setting up the classroom for a positive training experience. My job was to prepare the sales representatives by setting the mood and adjusting their mindset to a goal oriented and motivated state. I was training sales reps to deal with communication – more... skills and goal setting as well as training them in the products the company was selling (HVAC equipment: furnaces, water heaters, air-conditioners, gas and electricity). I became a team leader 4 weeks after joining the company due to a great understanding of the company and a quick advance in sales. This advancement made it possible to sell HVAC equipment door-to-door with one or two trainees, which got to experience my sales directly throughout the day. I enjoyed my job quite a bit because there was no ceiling on the amount of money I could make, it was fully dependent on my positive attitude and the effort I put into the day.
Three months after being hired I also gained the opportunity to run my own team and take my workers on regular weekly road trips, around Ontario. This would take place Tuesday to Saturday, where we had the ability to stay in hotels and spend a bigger portion of the day doing sales. (9 am - 8 pm). I enjoyed the learning experience and management training, as well as the opportunity to travel to most major cities and many smaller towns within Ontario.
The part of the job I was not too fond of was the objection people had about doing business with people who came to their door. People felt threatened at times due to the fact that the market in gas and electricity had been saturated for quite some time, and previous companies in the business were not trained properly to handle rejection by the consumers. National Home Services had a great program and a knowledgeable staff that had overcome many obstacles to create an outstanding company in a very competitive industry. Overall it was a great learning experience that taught me the value of setting goals, working hard with a great attitude, being positive and proper communication in a business setting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic high performers rewarded with huge paychecks.
Team Manager Sales (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONOctober 30, 2013
Enjoy working and challenges, Very cool work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Door to door HVAC and water heater rental company
Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 11, 2013
Call centre and service support, pressure on metrics over quality
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face to face marketing
Sales Associate (Former Employee), EtobicokeAugust 23, 2013
Company was terrible but i learned alot about dealing with people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits, Friendly Environment and Co-Workers
Client Care & Retention (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 22, 2013
Good Benefits, Friendly Environment and Co-Workers. Opportunity for growth and to learn more about Energy Industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very physically demanding
Client Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 16, 2013
Pros: valuable sales experience
Cons: exhausting physically and emotionally
Working as a door-to-door sales representative is a very physically and emotionally demanding job. I did receive very beneficial experience about sales, but ultimately I left due to physical exhaustion, as well as a moral conflict with the way we had to misinform clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good money but work 7 days aweek and long hours
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 15, 2013
Cons: long hours and comission pay
it was agood job,very long hours for example 9-9 time u everyone got to go home it was 10 and didnt really work out for a balance between life and work equally and i have a daughter so it made it hard being gone 7 days a week 12hours a day and was based on commission so not very secure job placement but was fun and would be good for singles with no – more... child – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hours but not great management
Part time CSR (Former Employee), Mississauga ONJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: hours are fair, and easy to work the as part time
Cons: immature management, lack of coaching to be better
good hours but not great management, hours are fair, and easy to work the as part time, immature management, lack of coaching to be better
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place too work
Sales (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 18, 2013
Driven by yourself very good job for anyone that has the motive to work and too work hard but pays out huge up too 5000$ a week as a agent lots of room too grow too management as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Work Hours with work being life itself
NHS Agent (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: meeting the people within our society, great experience for customer services and friendly work environment
Cons: commission
Working at National Home Services was a great experience in part. Going door to door meeting different kinds of people was amazing, allowing me to gain a significant amount of knowledge on customer services. Also studying the product (water heaters) allowed me to understand the company and how to express National Home Services policy with the company – more... itself. Management is great , Human Resources definitely knows how to keep track of everything and also who to hire so everyone gets along really well almost like a family, since we work in teams. Speaking with the possible consumers was always joyful regardless of their persona. My Co-Workers were great , extremely friendly but the major downfall of the job is commission with the hours of work , if you simply do not have a good day. All in all NHS is great but a major flaw is it's commission based especially with the amount of hours of work , – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), TorontoJanuary 9, 2013
Every days I respond to customers inquiries regarding the services, the products and billing, I take identity verification calls as our door to door sales agents call to seal all the new deals, I dispatch technicians for the service calls and installations also I send all the installations and services daily report to my managers at the end of my shift. – more... The hardest part of the job is when the system (eg Internet) is running slow and I am not able to perform as required. The most enjoyable part of the job is I work with great people in a very fun environment that keeps me with a positive attitude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nhs
HR Generalist (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 30, 2012
Pros: clean
Cons: not many windows
amazing people, great work enviorment.

Love my work space my desk.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National Home Services - Great People Great location
Process Improvement Specialist (Current Employee), North York OntarioAugust 29, 2012
The work hours are not crazy. I feel there are many opportunities for growth and the company is growing!!! I feel lucky to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challanging work environment with lot of interaction to people across department on daily basis
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 27, 2012
sometimes very busy and sometimes challenging, this work place is fun to be. Learned lots of new things about industry and corporate world. Management is very passionate about processes and its vision. Coworkers are fun to be with and always supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a well established organization. They are consistently merging in to new areas of the water heater business.
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 26, 2012
Pros: self starter, works both in a team structure and individually, autonomy
Cons: not enough hours, no advancement, no work life balance
On a day to day basis it is usually busy and fast paced. This kind of environment keeps you on your feet and is always thinking of new innovative ways to get your job done. The management staff is impeccable and is always there to guide and support it's staff. I find my job to be rewarding because of the challenges that we are faced with and the fact – more... that I have the resources and tools to combat the challenges. Being able to meet and greet new customers, vendors and interact with my co-workers is profound. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long unpaid days
door to door sales man (Former Employee), windsor, ontarioFebruary 23, 2012
Pros: work outside most of the time
Cons: very dangerous and poor pay
my day begain with a meeting every morning. After the meeting we would all go fo lunch. Then we were sent into a area of the city and start going door to door, trying to sell water heaters. some weeks i wouldn" make any money at all.