National Express Employee Reviews

Showing all 120 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Operations Driver (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL18 August 2017
Enjoyed working with the children on a daily basis and having a positive impact on their daily growth and development.

Enjoyed the teamwork with management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Coach Driver (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London18 August 2017
boring, not enough wage work management don't care about social life I learnt many ways in London but only one out was always running late the most enjoyable part was coming home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside10 August 2017
During my work experience at national express the staff were ery friendly and caring. They offer Reasonable lunch breaks and breaks through the day. Great workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounts payable
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Warrenville, IL3 August 2017
Great work environment if you enjoy working on your own with little to no supervision. The work is tedious however setting your own pace is a good idea they offer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telephone reservations manager
Call Centre Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands3 August 2017
Involved in setting up a centralised reservations centre in birmingham digbeth coach station
Again I was only in the position for a short period
Of time.
Pros
Company car
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite good
Digital Contact (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands24 July 2017
Very customer focused, your colleagues will make up for what the business lacks. Very strict on timing and your beaks and productivity will be monitored
Pros
Free travel
Cons
Strict
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Finanical Accounts Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands17 July 2017
Good Company, really good management and team leaders to support you with day to day duties. Unfortunately I was just contracting at this company and there were no permanent opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer focused
driver (Current Employee) –  Walsall, West Midlands21 June 2017
Customer focused, face to face with customers, dealing with all walks of life from able bodies to someone in a wheelchair.working to strict time table but insuring the customer comes first.
Pros
n/a
Cons
various shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closest to perfect as iv ever come
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, OH19 June 2017
This is a bus driving position contracted through a developmental disability school board. This position has excelent hours, good coworkers, great management, and good union benefits. Though it can be difficult to deal with certain issues with passengers, it is a very rewarding job.
Pros
The people -from passengers to coworkers to management.
Cons
very rarely passengers or guardians cause issues, but is not as bad as public school if all proceedures are being followed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  West Midlands12 June 2017
I hve worked here for 2 years as a bus driver, great work colleagues. Always get on with them, great management and always willing to help you out when needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and uninspiring
Desktop Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands6 June 2017
Although my salary is quite good, In a lot of the other departments it isn't, morale among my team is low and the job is boring and the only reason i have stayed here is due to the wages but i am now actively looking for another role
Pros
Free Bus pass
Cons
Boredom
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coach driver
Whittle coach and bus (Former Employee) –  digbeth1 June 2017
Great company to work for good pay and uniform was provided , it was based in digbeth and there was a excellent reward system, i was a gold driver and i was one of two who won driver of the years running
Pros
uniform provided
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands27 May 2017
National Express are a good employer. I was given opportunities to display my capabilities which lead to me being promoted to Team Manager within 2 and half years. The management are often transparent and share changes and decisions with their staff which is not something a lot of companies will do these days. The hours were fully flexi and there was regular weekend work which is why I chose to leave the company, however, I still see it as one of the best employers I have had in 12 years of work.
Pros
Free bus pass along with a free coach pass for the UK for 2 people, cash/voucher/gift incentives
Cons
shift work, weekend work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed meeting new people everyday.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  West Bromwich, West Midlands23 May 2017
the company overall is great, management was a let down as there was no support or good communication from them, especially when they dismiss you for something which cannot be backed up by evidence, and they assume they can take on any roll without looking up or seeking advice about actions they take against drivers.
Pros
free travel
Cons
split shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work practice
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  West Bromwich, West Midlands2 May 2017
management cant run the company correctly they are only concerned about there bonuses and shares in the company not the welfare of its employees as they don't think employees should have rest or family time employees should work, work and more work this is why more employees leave or get sacked then stay with the company and if an employee is ill and gives a doctors note in they still have a inspector/management visit there house checking up on them and even if they are in hospital and have to report all medication they are on to the company for checking as proof the are ill and go into work for a assessment , the working day is really long with no paid breaks paid for only 7.30 hrs when a working day can reach with non paid breaks up to 12 hrs they don't support there employees when they get abuse from customers its always the employees fault were treated like kids with no respect hardest part of this job is pleasing the bosses and waiting for you to get sacked culture of the company is that were are just numbers not employee or a member of the company unless you brown nose or bosses snitch grass
Pros
free uniform
Cons
long working hours for really bad conditions and pay with NO paid breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Bus & Coach Driver (Former Employee) –  Heathrow25 April 2017
very good company to work for nice people to work with friendly helpful able to change dutys everyday clean reliable buses and coaches mostly new vehicles
Pros
free staff and family travel
Cons
long hours early starts 03:00am late finishes 02:30am
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small company with big dreams
National Director, Marketing and Communications (Former Employee) –  Warrenville, IL24 April 2017
The small organization continuously tried to be better, not always succeeding. The culture was okay, a lot of negative from previous employees / structure. I hope the organization does well. Good people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a lot of involvement nice
trainey cours and Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  West Midlands28 March 2017
Had too take a test and was told if i pass i would be offed a job with the company i passed all the tests i gained my bus & coach license and was offed a job found a loot of good friends did about three months went in the office and was let go it was ok i liked what i gained from the course.
Pros
good team work and management
Cons
let go
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, friendly staff and colleagues
Sales and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands7 March 2017
nice place, friendly management and staff. Although very filthy place to work. work stations look like they have not been cleaned in years. Job itself is easy once you get to know the systems. very busy during Christmas period
Pros
easy job, friendly atmosphere
Cons
not very clean
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Ancillary Worker (Current Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands4 March 2017
Nice place to work, work is enjoyable and the staff are friendly. They offer great opportunities so you can further you career
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Gets cold at night
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 120 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4