National Express Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
engineering
Coach builder (Former Employee) –  West Bromwich1 December 2017
ok pay but can be bullyed by management if they take a dislike to you so if you can put up with the day to day you may be ok but take it from experience give it a miss
Pros
money
Cons
hassle25
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, but you'll forget what your wife looks like.
Coach Driver (Former Employee) –  Heathrow, Greater London28 November 2017
Great job for a single person who can tolerate 12-13 hours a day away from home, or somebody who hates their wife.
Also a great job for those who love to drive around people who are seemingly incontinent? Who boards a coach and thinks:
"It's been 20 minutes. I think I'll have a poo"
The answer to that question? Most of them.
Pros
Good opportunities to make decent money
Cons
No time to spend it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, low hourly rate, difficult customers
Coach Driver (Former Employee) –  Chester-le-Street, Durham22 November 2017
If you don't mind working 65 hours a week and being in a different hotel every night then this is the job for you. The customers are an absolute nightmare, not a single shift where you don't get awkward customers complaining
Pros
Free lunches at service stations
Cons
Long Shifts (upto 19 hours long, low hourly rate, terrible customers)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
P.C.V Driver (bus) (Current Employee) –  Heathrow15 November 2017
In the seven years I've worked for this company I've never seen a poorly managed company twice I have worked for National Express and twice they've severely let me down they have now tupe the department I'm in over.
Pros
None
Cons
Your just a number
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Mojave, CA9 November 2017
great place to start your driving career. Staff realy work with you and help you to stay positive. It just that build up place, giving you your wings to fly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a safe career move
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Dundee City31 October 2017
Turn over is incredible. Very poor management. Not interested in the driver. The fact you have a family or a mortgage. Don't dare make a mistake you will pay the ultimate price. Alot of your colleagues will stab you in the back. Job used to be good before national express took over. Your not a person your a number
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retirement village
Pissenger dispoal unit (Current Employee) –  Stansted Carpark's16 October 2017
The job in it self is very good. There is a relaxed atmosphere at Stansted City. No time tables no cash, no loading unloading luggage, and no rushing.

Management are supportive, and the shift 's are always the same and never change, unless they change the times. for EG: if your on the 06:45 rota your'll start at 06:45 everyday.

With this in mind you can plan ect. Holidays are not on a block, and you can get into a routine.
Pros
A happy bus is a bus with no Pissengers
Cons
pay could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work place
Coach Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands12 October 2017
A very good place to work. Management very understanding and works well with there staff to help arrange Home life and work life. Other staff member are willing to help and work as a team.
Pros
Free rooms
Cons
Trafcic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Far too long ago
Electrical automotive engineer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands24 September 2017
Did my apprenticeship there in 1990. Good training with sponsored education in the field of expertise. Long since change I suspect. unaware of the current environment.
Pros
Good facilities
Cons
Limited progression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor IT Department
IT (Current Employee) –  Birmingham12 September 2017
Salary is ok but IT department isn't run very well. Job culture is not very nice and management are always trying to find a scapegoat. There is zero progression for internal staff as they regularly hire externally, and they provide no training to help you progress.
Pros
Free Bus/Coach passes
Cons
Poor culture, no progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working for NX
Driver (Current Employee) –  Stansted Airport4 September 2017
I do my job to the best of my ability, I get on with everyone. I've seen lots of changes since I started.
I don't really get involved, I just come in do my work and go home
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
jj
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  london30 August 2017
Bus Driver (2014 -2016) Stagecoach East Midlands
Responsible for school contract and public routes
Cash handling
Checking Transport Passes
Giving timetable or route information
Helping passengers who are having difficulty getting on or off the vehicle
Working to tight time tables
Responsible for daily cleaning and maintenance of vehicle
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work.
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands28 August 2017
Just turn up to work and get the job done safely and securely ensuring the passengers that board your bus get to where they need to go safely and without injury.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Operations Driver (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FL18 August 2017
Enjoyed working with the children on a daily basis and having a positive impact on their daily growth and development.

Enjoyed the teamwork with management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Coach Driver (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London18 August 2017
boring, not enough wage work management don't care about social life I learnt many ways in London but only one out was always running late the most enjoyable part was coming home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside10 August 2017
During my work experience at national express the staff were ery friendly and caring. They offer Reasonable lunch breaks and breaks through the day. Great workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounts payable
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Warrenville, IL3 August 2017
Great work environment if you enjoy working on your own with little to no supervision. The work is tedious however setting your own pace is a good idea they offer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telephone reservations manager
Call Centre Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands3 August 2017
Involved in setting up a centralised reservations centre in birmingham digbeth coach station
Again I was only in the position for a short period
Of time.
Pros
Company car
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite good
Digital Contact (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands24 July 2017
Very customer focused, your colleagues will make up for what the business lacks. Very strict on timing and your beaks and productivity will be monitored
Pros
Free travel
Cons
Strict
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Finanical Accounts Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands17 July 2017
Good Company, really good management and team leaders to support you with day to day duties. Unfortunately I was just contracting at this company and there were no permanent opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 133 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3