Find companies:
National Defence
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
82 reviews

National Defence Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress free and exciting place to work with
IT Support Services Technician (Current Employee), Louie St. Laurent building, GatineauMarch 24, 2014
Clients at DND are very polite and I never encountered a rude employee during my tenure there. My co-workers in the IT area are helpful and my manager is an excellent decision maker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to work with challenging tasks.
Resource Management Clerk (Current Employee), Borden,ONMarch 17, 2014
Pros: part of a team working towards the same goal, travel to different parts of the country and meeting different people.
The CF is a very good place to work as you constantly meet new people every day. The work is challenging but also leaves you with a feeling of accomplishment. There are often deadlines to meet but as we work as a team the pressure is not bad when everyone is working towards the same goal. The people are very good to work with as they know what has to – more... be done and go about getting the task done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Canadian Fleet Pacific Coastal Division Unit Chief (Former Employee), Victoria, BCMarch 11, 2014
Pros: very high energy job with many benefits, always learning new skills and adapting them to work in any scenario.
Cons: could be away from home for long periods.
Always changing environments with challenges ranging from easy to complex. I had to supervise a very diverse group of people in extremely challenging circumstances and environments. Responsible for personnel management, personnel safety, equipment repair and operations, instruction and supervising of personnel and equipment. Quite often in a high stress – more... situation while trying to complete all tasks on time and safely. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very respectful environment,
Liaison Desk Officer (Former Employee), TorontoMarch 4, 2014
Productive and fun workplace, supporting all Land Force members all over Ontario.
Most enjoyable place I ever worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting, lots of smart people to bounce ideas off
Engineering (Internship) (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 2, 2014
Pros: set own hours
Cons: cant talk about work at home
I was exposed to a wide variety of things while working at DND. It was easily the most interesting job i have ever worked due to the large number of specialists working there with their unique insight into different types of problems. My job consisted of calling various people to make sure certain information was correct and up to date. I also updated – more... the Canadian Habitability and Husbandry standards while i was there. This required a lot of research. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good healthy environment , saw a lot of Canada and met many lifetime friends .
Radar Technician (Former Employee), Comox, BCFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: great to live in various parts of canada .good environment to work in .good pay and benefits .
Cons: closed all the radar sites and my trade disappeared .
Maintained the operation of many types of Radars . l supervised and trained many co-workers through on the job training on various Radar sets. Attended many courses for Radars , first aid , firefighting , leadership,search and rescue and survival courses .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working environment
WELDING / CONSTRUCTION (Former Employee), Québec, QCFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: great career and tranging
Cons: dangerous
this career was one of the best jobs that I have ever had. the hours were long but the people that you would work with were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent workplace with friendly HR staff
Human Resource Assistant (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 13, 2014
• Reviewing and confirming employee acting assignments prior to entry into the database
• Updating employee pay list following transfers
• Responsible for data entry of employee information
• Referring client enquiries to designated officers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Service Desk Manager (Former Employee), Petawawa, ONFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: training and experience opportunities .
Cons: high stress environment.
Fast paced environment. Talented co-workers and hard working management. Hardest part of the job is keeping on top of the workload and the fast changing pace of IT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Stores Person (Former Employee), Wainwright, ABJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: lots of stress
I served 28 years with the National Defense and had to take an early medical retirement due to stress and anxiety.
The job was great but we do not get recognized for what we do, There are no promotions as civilians are not allowed to be supervisors unless you are a special person. There is a lot of favoritism and for those of us that have been there – more... for years well you have to be in the favorites file. With all the cutbacks it is a higher demand for more work and less help. Civilians have no say so in the work place which is upsetting as we are the ones who are at the workplace at all times. The military put in an average of 25 to 30 hours work as week and we put in 40 hours a week and have to make up for the military while they are on various other duties, It is very hard and stressfull. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace, excellent team work
Training Officer, Administration Officer (Current Employee), Whitehorse, YTJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: helping children
Cons: politics
A typical work day would consist of inputting a lot of information into the computer. Writing Ro's.. Various printing jobs, filing and organization.. I've learned many protocols. Hardest Part of my job is the computer program called fortress. I enjoy everything about my job :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cohesive work environment with exploration geographically
Infantry (Current Employee), Wainwright, AlbertaJanuary 9, 2014
The Department of National Defence (DND) trains you from the ground up guiding you every step of the way. It allows for plenty of time to keep your body and mind in excellent shape. I have experienced many courses, cultures, and self realizations over my time in the military. The most enjoyable thing about DND is the people you meet and work with throughout – more... your career and the connections you maintain with those people. One downfall to DND would be the time spend away from your family for very extended or even unknown periods of time.

All in all, the Canadian Armed Forces just ended up not being the career for me, but that doesn't mean it is not the career for someone else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to learn more technical than pratical knwoledge
DMPP 3: Project Management & Acquisition Policy (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: co-workers are helpful
Cons: my office was located far from the manger's office
- Manager was motivational
- Learned in detail of contract policies
- Hardest part of the job was obtaining the certificate for RDMIS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Electrical Technician (Current Employee), Victoria, BCDecember 27, 2013
Very good training and opportunities to progress career. Very long time spent away from family while on deployment was tough. Good pay and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in the military
Vehicle Journeyman (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 18, 2013
Pros: travel and work experience
Cons: on call 24 and 7 no real life outside of military
in the military working as a mechanic
some days in shop some days out in the elements
comradely is great had to look out for and with fellow workers
No life like it - more than a catch fraze
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintaining the Pacific Fleet of Naval Vessels
Licenced Carpenter - Licenced Shipwright (Former Employee), Victoria, BCDecember 17, 2013
Pros: satisfaction of working for the navy and thereby, my country
I have taken courses in naval architecture, lofting, pattern and mold making, rigging, blacksmithing, sail making, planning and estimating, and hull surveying, during my tenure with Defence Department.I have successfully completed the "Canadian Power Squadrons" safe boating course, and the "St. John Ambulance" first aid course. I also possess a valid – more... Canadian passport.

I believe I can achieve standards of excellence with most peers and with most tasks, regarding the design, production and repairs of wooden, concrete, fiberglass and metalwork. I also am literate with computers, and project planning, and liaise between involved contractors.

Letters of commendation twice from the Deputy Minister of Defence, for completely rebuilding a broken mainmast for the H.M.C.S. Oriole only days before her annual "Swifture International Yacht Race", and for the exact construction and successful delivery of the lifeboat (replica) carried by the (now floating museum) H.M.C.S. Sackville, in time to commemorate the Canadian Navy's 75th anniversary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marine Engineer
Chief Engineer Royal Canadian Navy (Submarines) (Current Employee), ADM MAT OttawaDecember 12, 2013
Pros: skill and mind sets
Cons: long deployments away from families
typical present day would be as a Life Cycle Material manager for Submarine Engineering Systems. as a Military member my present position allows me to interact with my Civilian counter parts and contractors. I am only one of two military members working with a group of 20 civilians,

Hardness part of my present position would be the lack of military – more... structor that I have come to know over 29 years of service. working out of the comfort zone of the military world and now in a world dealing with other government departments and contractors.

I enjoy the feeling that at the end of the day that I have done my best to ensure that the men and women of the navy and submarine service are getting the best service possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere.
Marine Engineering Systems Operator (Former Employee), Various Locations.December 6, 2013
Lots of teamwork in this enviornment , people look out for each other and lots of training and room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Classification -Records/information management
Information management (Former Employee), OttawaNovember 26, 2013
Classification -Records/information management
Reccords Clerk
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great way to meet new people
Assistant Cook (Former Employee), Victoria, BCNovember 15, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: worked crazy hours
I was a hard worker their was still in high school when I started working for them I did dishwasher preap cook, cooking breakfast and lunch for the navy crew. I also worked for waste management last fall and I was an amazing worker .

1 2 3 4 5

About National Defence

The Department of National Defence (French: Ministère de la Défense nationale), commonly abbreviated as DND, is – Read more

National Defence Photos