Find companies:
National Defence
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
104 reviews

National Defence Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army Life
Combat Engineer (Former Employee), Gagetown, NBAugust 22, 2014
Pros: job stability
Cons: war
A typical day in the Army was wake up at 630 gym for 730 for an hour workout, then get dismissed from gym for your next timing and show up for role call then get morning orders. after orders we would break off into our sections and and carry out our daily routine orders.

Ive learned a lot about team work ,camaraderie, loyalty and professionalism and – more... time management.

As for co workers Ive learned that you only work fast and sufficient if you can be approachable and professional and get along well with others , if not your morale will decrease and work efficiency will lack, people get complacent and miss things and safety becomes a factor. Ive seen it first hand what can happen if there is low morale.

The most enjoyable part of my job was doing what no one else wants to do and doing it good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard and fun workplace
Regimental Police Officer (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 15, 2014
Pros: comradery
Cons: uncertainty, poor living conditions
Typical day at work would include alot of tank maintenance. I learned alot about how to work in a team enviroment but can also work alone. My leaders taught me alot on a daily basis,my co workers also taught me alot. We kept eachothers moral up in times where it would be low.

Hardest part of the job is being away from home and not knowing where we – more... could end up. Most enjoyable part would be, being out doing training and actually being in the tank. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was hard to work with
High School Apprentice Welder (Former Employee), Victoria, BCAugust 7, 2014
Pros: union
Cons: many people were hard to work with
Didn't have the most enjoyable time there. Management and other co workers did not give me the respect i felt i deserved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all great experience
Administrative Assistant (AS-01) (Former Employee), Ottawa , OntarioJuly 24, 2014
Pros: was the fact that i was able to speak with everyone and learn so much, / great lunch parties from time to time and the connection with the team was a good one
Cons: i really could not say much as per cons.
Working within DND was an amazing experience that I will for ever remember. Great work team, I was able to really take on great tasks working with a Lieutenant Colonel, I learned so much more about our troops and just a great department to learn about.

Working so close by with Peter Mackay was even better. I think over all that this job and opportunity – more... that was presented to me was the most amazing one so far. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with great people
Compensation Assistant (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 18, 2014
As a casual employee my typical day consisted of culling files to be transferred via protected B status. Maintained all drop filing and shredding of sensitive documents. Light receptionist duties as computer work. I was always treated fairly and with respect by management and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting career
Hull Technician, Canadian Forces Base Esquimalt (Current Employee), Victoria, BCJuly 17, 2014
Pros: diversity
Cons: long deployments
Work place is extremely diverse. One day you can be at work the next day you are deploying domestically for a major catastrophe or enroute to an international deployment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical office setting environment
Information Technology Support Technician (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJuly 12, 2014
Cons: no parking, no sick leave, no vacation time.
Answer help queue calls in timely fashion, assemble computer workstations at office locations, image new workstations with appropriate OS and software.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and ongoing feedback as to performance.
Records Management Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 2, 2014
Pros: positive work ethics.
Cons: disorganization at times.
Productive and ongoing feedback as to performance. Very helpful and training is provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday working with the CF brought new challenges and experiences
Armoured Crewman (Former Employee), Petawawa, ONJune 17, 2014
Pros: 100% medical and dental benefits
Cons: away from family.
Every day was very regimented. We knew exactly what we were going to be doing and when. Whether it be brushing up on basic soldier skills or maintaining armoured vehicles we were always fine tuning our soldiering. Everyone that I worked with on a day to day basis were not only co-workers but close friends. The most enjoyable part of my job was being – more... able to train with foreign forces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
under staffed and over worked, no life like it
MOBILE EQUIPMENT OPERATOR (Former Employee), Moose Jaw,Edmonton,Comox,Cold LakeJune 16, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: government run
team work and professional people working with broken outdated equipment, and making it work,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Service Desk Officer (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBJune 14, 2014
Pros: highly supportive work environment, opportunity for training, possibility for advancement when available
Cons: highly stressful
An average day at work, with the Canadian Armed Forces, is highly stressful, but nothing compares to the satisfaction of knowing you've helped protect your country, and those that live in it.
Every day is a learning experience.
Management, on the local level, is the best I've ever had the pleasure of working with. My co-workers are highly trained, with – more... each having their own area of expertise. Combined, we manage to provide support to the highest degree possible.
The hardest part about working for a military establishment, is the loss of friends when they're posted to different wings/bases.
The most enjoyable part of working with the Armed Forces, is meeting new friends, and providing the military with the highest level of support possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked on many different projects gaining much experience
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Gander, NLJune 12, 2014
Pros: training rooms and gym
Cons: resent lay-offs in dept of national defence
Morning briefing about the work day ahead . Load all necessary tools and equipment onto job truck and trailer . go to work site, review any safety hazards . maybe tasked with going to pick up material at supply stores or starting the job at hand which could be a wide range of jobs working with a many different TRADESMEN .Use of wide range of power tools – more... and provide heavy equipment support when needed . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced, quick turn around work environment
Database Admin/ Records Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 10, 2014
High pressure and quick turnaround work, daily requiring liaising with Canadian military around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of National Defence, Canada
Fleet Manager (Former Employee), SIU, Calgary, AlbertaJune 6, 2014
Pros: friendships
Cons: exctremely long hours on occassion.
Senior officer in charge of the Investigation Section, Security Section and on different occasions the Patrol Section. The experience was exceptional. I was very well received by all personnel of all ranks with the Military Police Community and was often selected to attend a variety of specialized training courses to assist me in my varying roles. A – more... typical day would be to review all reports that would require further or specialized investigation. I would then designate an investigator, ensuring the original report was submitted in the required time frame and all follow up action was within the 30 day allowable time frame. Reviewed and corrected all incoming reports for grammatical errors, etc.. Scheduled training for junior members, wrote annual evaluation reports, and recommended advancement and position changes for personnel deemed deserving of promotion.
The most enjoyable part was the close bonds and friendships as well as the superior training offered by the Department of National Defense. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Carpenter (Former Employee), Goose Bay, NLMay 28, 2014
Great company to work for, very busy and that's what I enjoy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, reasonable pay
Electrician (Former Employee), HALIFAX, NSMay 20, 2014
Pros: ability to increase abilities and to take on more responsibilities
Cons: not everyone's work ethics were the same.
Consistent employment and pension to work towards. HAD A LIFETIME CAREER.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerical
CR-03 (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 8, 2014
Student job while I was in college, good experience. Slower environment, looking for something more exciting and challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DND has been a great employer
Plumbering Shop Supervisor (Former Employee), Greenwood, NSMay 7, 2014
Pros: working with military supervisor of limited trade knowledge
Cons: great place to work with great co-workers and work activities
A typical day would start with scheduling any immediately required work to employee and tasking the rest of the staff to required duties. Once the staff are tasked I complete the time sheets for the previous day. My morning paper work also includes ordering of materials and the paying of invoices from the mail. I would then review incoming work and – more... provide estimates on cost for both materials and labour for management to further review. In the afternoon I visit work places to ensure all work sites safety regulation are being enforced and that the work is being done in an efficient trade like manner. I am often called to trouble shot problem areas as well as assist inspectors in Defense Construction Canada. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
met alot of new friends and like the moving around to different provinces
Vehicle Technician (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 6, 2014
Pros: medical and dental benefits and family support.
Cons: sometimes long hrs and getting posted every 3 or so years leaving friends
usually from 7:30am until 4pm unless you were on-call. Get in coveralls and pick up your work orders and start your job. Had gym/sports training 3 or 4 times a week. Learned to be a team player in the job and on sports teams. Never had to much to do with management if I could. Some of the best people in the world to work/play with. Whenever you or someone – more... got posted and you had to leave your friends behind or if someone died. Meeting new friends and keeping in shape. All of the sports and extra activities that were available. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good experience!
Technical Support Officer (Former Employee), OttawaMay 4, 2014
For the summer of 2013 I did my COOP at National Defense.
It was the first technical job I've ever had and it was really fun.
My job was to help the client with any problem they had with their computer, either by phone or in person. I used the Magic ticketing system to keep track of all my activity.

1 2 3 4 5

About National Defence

The Department of National Defence (French: Ministère de la Défense nationale), commonly abbreviated as DND, is – Read more

National Defence Photos