Find companies:
National Defence
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
99 reviews

National Defence Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical office setting environment
Information Technology Support Technician (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJuly 12, 2014
Cons: no parking, no sick leave, no vacation time.
Answer help queue calls in timely fashion, assemble computer workstations at office locations, image new workstations with appropriate OS and software.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and ongoing feedback as to performance.
Records Management Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 2, 2014
Pros: positive work ethics.
Cons: disorganization at times.
Productive and ongoing feedback as to performance. Very helpful and training is provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday working with the CF brought new challenges and experiences
Armoured Crewman (Former Employee), Petawawa, ONJune 17, 2014
Pros: 100% medical and dental benefits
Cons: away from family.
Every day was very regimented. We knew exactly what we were going to be doing and when. Whether it be brushing up on basic soldier skills or maintaining armoured vehicles we were always fine tuning our soldiering. Everyone that I worked with on a day to day basis were not only co-workers but close friends. The most enjoyable part of my job was being – more... able to train with foreign forces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
under staffed and over worked, no life like it
MOBILE EQUIPMENT OPERATOR (Former Employee), Moose Jaw,Edmonton,Comox,Cold LakeJune 16, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: government run
team work and professional people working with broken outdated equipment, and making it work,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
catering meals
National Defence Army Reserve (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJune 16, 2014
Pros: lots of hours
Cons: not enough contracts
cook meals and serve to clients. make sure every thing is cooked properly and keep an eye on portion control and make sure my work area is clean. work fast but at a safe pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked on many different projects gaining much experience
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Gander, NLJune 12, 2014
Pros: training rooms and gym
Cons: resent lay-offs in dept of national defence
Morning briefing about the work day ahead . Load all necessary tools and equipment onto job truck and trailer . go to work site, review any safety hazards . maybe tasked with going to pick up material at supply stores or starting the job at hand which could be a wide range of jobs working with a many different TRADESMEN .Use of wide range of power tools – more... and provide heavy equipment support when needed . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced, quick turn around work environment
Database Admin/ Records Clerk (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 10, 2014
High pressure and quick turnaround work, daily requiring liaising with Canadian military around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of National Defence, Canada
Fleet Manager (Former Employee), SIU, Calgary, AlbertaJune 6, 2014
Pros: friendships
Cons: exctremely long hours on occassion.
Senior officer in charge of the Investigation Section, Security Section and on different occasions the Patrol Section. The experience was exceptional. I was very well received by all personnel of all ranks with the Military Police Community and was often selected to attend a variety of specialized training courses to assist me in my varying roles. A – more... typical day would be to review all reports that would require further or specialized investigation. I would then designate an investigator, ensuring the original report was submitted in the required time frame and all follow up action was within the 30 day allowable time frame. Reviewed and corrected all incoming reports for grammatical errors, etc.. Scheduled training for junior members, wrote annual evaluation reports, and recommended advancement and position changes for personnel deemed deserving of promotion.
The most enjoyable part was the close bonds and friendships as well as the superior training offered by the Department of National Defense. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Carpenter (Former Employee), Goose Bay, NLMay 28, 2014
Great company to work for, very busy and that's what I enjoy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, reasonable pay
Electrician (Former Employee), HALIFAX, NSMay 20, 2014
Pros: ability to increase abilities and to take on more responsibilities
Cons: not everyone's work ethics were the same.
Consistent employment and pension to work towards. HAD A LIFETIME CAREER.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerical
CR-03 (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 8, 2014
Student job while I was in college, good experience. Slower environment, looking for something more exciting and challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DND has been a great employer
Plumbering Shop Supervisor (Former Employee), Greenwood, NSMay 7, 2014
Pros: working with military supervisor of limited trade knowledge
Cons: great place to work with great co-workers and work activities
A typical day would start with scheduling any immediately required work to employee and tasking the rest of the staff to required duties. Once the staff are tasked I complete the time sheets for the previous day. My morning paper work also includes ordering of materials and the paying of invoices from the mail. I would then review incoming work and – more... provide estimates on cost for both materials and labour for management to further review. In the afternoon I visit work places to ensure all work sites safety regulation are being enforced and that the work is being done in an efficient trade like manner. I am often called to trouble shot problem areas as well as assist inspectors in Defense Construction Canada. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
met alot of new friends and like the moving around to different provinces
Vehicle Technician (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 6, 2014
Pros: medical and dental benefits and family support.
Cons: sometimes long hrs and getting posted every 3 or so years leaving friends
usually from 7:30am until 4pm unless you were on-call. Get in coveralls and pick up your work orders and start your job. Had gym/sports training 3 or 4 times a week. Learned to be a team player in the job and on sports teams. Never had to much to do with management if I could. Some of the best people in the world to work/play with. Whenever you or someone – more... got posted and you had to leave your friends behind or if someone died. Meeting new friends and keeping in shape. All of the sports and extra activities that were available. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good experience!
Technical Support Officer (Former Employee), OttawaMay 4, 2014
For the summer of 2013 I did my COOP at National Defense.
It was the first technical job I've ever had and it was really fun.
My job was to help the client with any problem they had with their computer, either by phone or in person. I used the Magic ticketing system to keep track of all my activity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Infantry Officer (Current Employee), Halifax, NSApril 30, 2014
Pros: good paying
Cons: higher ranks sometimes expect too much
Being the army, must expect discipline and orderly conduct. Somewhat of a brotherhood within the workplace. Teamwork is essential.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress free and exciting place to work with
IT Support Services Technician (Current Employee), Louie St. Laurent building, GatineauMarch 24, 2014
Clients at DND are very polite and I never encountered a rude employee during my tenure there. My co-workers in the IT area are helpful and my manager is an excellent decision maker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to work with challenging tasks.
Resource Management Clerk (Current Employee), Borden,ONMarch 17, 2014
Pros: part of a team working towards the same goal, travel to different parts of the country and meeting different people.
The CF is a very good place to work as you constantly meet new people every day. The work is challenging but also leaves you with a feeling of accomplishment. There are often deadlines to meet but as we work as a team the pressure is not bad when everyone is working towards the same goal. The people are very good to work with as they know what has to – more... be done and go about getting the task done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Canadian Fleet Pacific Coastal Division Unit Chief (Former Employee), Victoria, BCMarch 11, 2014
Pros: very high energy job with many benefits, always learning new skills and adapting them to work in any scenario.
Cons: could be away from home for long periods.
Always changing environments with challenges ranging from easy to complex. I had to supervise a very diverse group of people in extremely challenging circumstances and environments. Responsible for personnel management, personnel safety, equipment repair and operations, instruction and supervising of personnel and equipment. Quite often in a high stress – more... situation while trying to complete all tasks on time and safely. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very respectful environment,
Liaison Desk Officer (Former Employee), TorontoMarch 4, 2014
Productive and fun workplace, supporting all Land Force members all over Ontario.
Most enjoyable place I ever worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting, lots of smart people to bounce ideas off
Engineering (Internship) (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 2, 2014
Pros: set own hours
Cons: cant talk about work at home
I was exposed to a wide variety of things while working at DND. It was easily the most interesting job i have ever worked due to the large number of specialists working there with their unique insight into different types of problems. My job consisted of calling various people to make sure certain information was correct and up to date. I also updated – more... the Canadian Habitability and Husbandry standards while i was there. This required a lot of research. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About National Defence

The Department of National Defence (French: Ministère de la Défense nationale), commonly abbreviated as DND, is – Read more

National Defence Photos