National Defence and Canadian Armed Forces

National Defence and Canadian Armed Forces Employee Reviews

Found 1,194 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Demanding, requires a lot of responsibility
Army Communications Information Systems Specialist (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL5 September 2017
Healthy work environment, requires you to think on your feet. lots of opportunity to travel, and meet many different people from different ethnic groups from around the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging environment
Infantry Soldier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 September 2017
I wouldn't say there was a typical day for me. It was a dynamic environment that was extremely challenging at times. Building relationships was an enjoyable part of this experience. I learned many useful skills throughout my experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to get some life skills
Reserve Soldier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 September 2017
My service to the Canadian Armed Forces was a life changing experience. I recommend it to anyone interested in a unique and challenging life adventure. If you never try you will never know.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the unit.
Signals Operator (Former Employee) –  Canada31 August 2017
The life in the Canadian Forces completely depends on the unit that you are posted to as well as the base in which that unit is located. Health benefits are unmatched.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great time
Logistics Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto31 August 2017
I have enjoyed my time in the combat engineers. So many great people to work with! Since I am a reservist experiences may vary but I cant confidently say that the Canadian military is a great organization to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a lifestyle!!!
Avionics Technician Journeyman (Current Employee) –  CFB Trenton30 August 2017
It's a life changer. Many different aspects to the CAF. Wether it"s Army, Air Force or Navy they all have a wide variety of experiences to offer. Visit www.forces.gc.ca for more info
Pros
Stable
Cons
varied hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job for everyone
Vehicle Technician, 1 Service Battalion (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 August 2017
Throughout the military trainings, there are few things across my mind. One is the management system is terrible. Due to the high job security, the higher positions in the chain of command are severely corrupted. They are NOT open minded when it comes to new ideas or new concepts. There are still a lot of bullies when it comes to females and other races. When it comes to relocation, it is hard to get the location that you want the most due to many many reasons: training locations, budget, vacancy, etc.
Pros
Great job security and great medical benefit
Cons
hard on your body and lots of not open minded people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, great career
Senior Logistics Planner of Material and Transport (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 August 2017
A great honour to have served Canada for over 30 years in numerous operations and foreign deployments. I would highly recommend the military to any Canadian.
Pros
Pension Benefits and job security
Cons
Hard on Families while away on operations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough but good
Sergeant (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON22 August 2017
If you can handle the challenge of being away from home in a stress full work environment then give it a shot. The amount of different opportunities that are offered and the competitive salary involved make me wonder why more people do not enlist.
Pros
Good benefits, good salary, awesome co-workers
Cons
Long hours, often away from home, beaucratic
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to start your career as a Professional Firefighter
Firefighter (Current Employee) –  Canada22 August 2017
Benefits of starting your career in the CAF are that you will receive world class training. The friends you will make throughout your career are unlike anywhere else.
Pros
Great salary, lots of opportunities for progression
Cons
Possibility of being posted away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about National Defence and Canadian Armed Forces?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy on both sides of the scale.
Infantryman (Former Employee) –  Canada21 August 2017
You'll meet your best friends, and people you hate more than anyone else in the world. To every Good thing that happens here theres something just as bad. I'm not sure about other trades but being an infantryman really does require a good sense of humor, and the ability to see the silver lining on a day to day basis if you're gonna pull through.

Its usually not fun when you're doing the bad parts, but you feel happy reflecting that you've done such things.
Pros
Guns sometimes, dental, medical
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many meetings and delayed projects
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 August 2017
Be prepared for any meetings and delayed projects. Micro management from senior to middle management. Good vacation time and family days. Not a social work atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifestyle
LCIS Communications Technician (Former Employee) –  Canada21 August 2017
CF offer a great work and lifestyle, they are an employer of choice. Experience gained in the military will be useful for the reste of your life. Excellente work benefits.
Pros
Great pension plan, excellent health benefits
Cons
Your availability is always service depending, you go where they need you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet rewarding career
Infantry Soldier (Current Employee) –  Petawawa, ON19 August 2017
A fast paced environment with tons of training. You will learn to be a competent soldier that can move, shoot, and communicate as a base line, and learn how to perform in a small and large team. You learn how to operate many different weapons and learn many tactics on defence, offence, and many other types of operations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and challenging projects
Infantry officer (Current Employee) –  Quebec City, QC15 August 2017
The Canadian Armed Forces is a great orgaanisation to work for. The culture is appealing, the training is realistic and challenging and the benefits are excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job for the strong
Medical assistant (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC14 August 2017
i loved every aspect of my training from basic military training to career oriented training. amazing people ready to help and explain what was happening and why.
Pushed me to b out of my comfort zone
Pros
amazing teams, chain of commands, place to learn new skills
Cons
long hours, not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Signals Officer (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON14 August 2017
The Canadian forces is by far the best employer that I have ever worked for. You will be treated with respect, your professional development will be taken seriously and you will make many friendships.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy
Communicator Research Operator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 August 2017
This career was by far the most interesting. It took my to many places and I saw many things. Overseas deployment was tough, but that's part of the job. The camaraderie made you feel like you were part of a great family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Electronics Technician (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS10 August 2017
Great place to get an education and learn some life skills, ie leadership. But if you are not good at taking orders or find that you have to listen to people who outrank you but don't know their jobs very well, this may not be the place for you.
Pros
Excellent pay and compensation
Cons
Leadership sometimes not very helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get Environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 August 2017
DND is a great place to gain experience - especially as a student. They teach you workplace skills that are essential to any student looking to expand their knowledge outside of the academic environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Defence and Canadian Armed Forces. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 1,254 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
4.3
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1