National Defence and Canadian Armed Forces

National Defence and Canadian Armed Forces Employee Reviews

Found 1,164 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough but good
Sergeant (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON22 August 2017
If you can handle the challenge of being away from home in a stress full work environment then give it a shot. The amount of different opportunities that are offered and the competitive salary involved make me wonder why more people do not enlist.
Pros
Good benefits, good salary, awesome co-workers
Cons
Long hours, often away from home, beaucratic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to start your career as a Professional Firefighter
Firefighter (Current Employee) –  Canada22 August 2017
Benefits of starting your career in the CAF are that you will receive world class training. The friends you will make throughout your career are unlike anywhere else.
Pros
Great salary, lots of opportunities for progression
Cons
Possibility of being posted away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
De la discipline dans un milieu énergique
Officier logistique (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC21 August 2017
Tout au long de mon service militaire, j'ai accompli plusieurs grands projets dans les domaines de la logistique et des communications. Ces projets d'envergure demandaient une maîtrise de son stress personnel et surtout une excellente discipline.
En assumant un rôle de gestion, j'ai utilisé mes qualités et compétences afin de toujours obtenir des résultats performants
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy on both sides of the scale.
Infantryman (Former Employee) –  Canada21 August 2017
You'll meet your best friends, and people you hate more than anyone else in the world. To every Good thing that happens here theres something just as bad. I'm not sure about other trades but being an infantryman really does require a good sense of humor, and the ability to see the silver lining on a day to day basis if you're gonna pull through.

Its usually not fun when you're doing the bad parts, but you feel happy reflecting that you've done such things.
Pros
Guns sometimes, dental, medical
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many meetings and delayed projects
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 August 2017
Be prepared for any meetings and delayed projects. Micro management from senior to middle management. Good vacation time and family days. Not a social work atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifestyle
LCIS Communications Technician (Former Employee) –  Canada21 August 2017
CF offer a great work and lifestyle, they are an employer of choice. Experience gained in the military will be useful for the reste of your life. Excellente work benefits.
Pros
Great pension plan, excellent health benefits
Cons
Your availability is always service depending, you go where they need you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet rewarding career
Infantry Soldier (Current Employee) –  Petawawa, ON19 August 2017
A fast paced environment with tons of training. You will learn to be a competent soldier that can move, shoot, and communicate as a base line, and learn how to perform in a small and large team. You learn how to operate many different weapons and learn many tactics on defence, offence, and many other types of operations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and challenging projects
Infantry officer (Current Employee) –  Quebec City, QC15 August 2017
The Canadian Armed Forces is a great orgaanisation to work for. The culture is appealing, the training is realistic and challenging and the benefits are excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job for the strong
Medical assistant (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC14 August 2017
i loved every aspect of my training from basic military training to career oriented training. amazing people ready to help and explain what was happening and why.
Pushed me to b out of my comfort zone
Pros
amazing teams, chain of commands, place to learn new skills
Cons
long hours, not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Signals Officer (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON14 August 2017
The Canadian forces is by far the best employer that I have ever worked for. You will be treated with respect, your professional development will be taken seriously and you will make many friendships.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy
Communicator Research Operator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 August 2017
This career was by far the most interesting. It took my to many places and I saw many things. Overseas deployment was tough, but that's part of the job. The camaraderie made you feel like you were part of a great family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Electronics Technician (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS10 August 2017
Great place to get an education and learn some life skills, ie leadership. But if you are not good at taking orders or find that you have to listen to people who outrank you but don't know their jobs very well, this may not be the place for you.
Pros
Excellent pay and compensation
Cons
Leadership sometimes not very helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get Environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 August 2017
DND is a great place to gain experience - especially as a student. They teach you workplace skills that are essential to any student looking to expand their knowledge outside of the academic environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Infantry Soldier (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS7 August 2017
While I appreciate the education and qualifications I received through the Canadian Armed Forces, the lack of work life balance and negative impact the culture had on me made it difficult for me to stay in this career. I was very prepared for military life however the culture surprised and worried me, therefore I chose to pursue other avenues.
Pros
Excellent Training
Cons
Psychological Impact
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Military / Driver Operator (Current Employee) –  Borden, ON7 August 2017
Great big company
Great careers
Lots of travelling
Many memories
Friends
Teamwork
Dedication
Flexibility
Wars
Fitness
Beer
Comradry
Joy
Family
Life
Forever a veteran
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Infantry Soldier (Former Employee) –  Petawawa, ON7 August 2017
Was very good places to work.enjoy going to work every day.good could workers.5 weeks payed holidays.holidays before any mission oversea.lots of courses to take and lots of training.keeping fit.
Pros
Keeping fit
Cons
Long time away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectable environment with opportunities for advancement
Records Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 August 2017
One of the best professional environment, where discipline and time management were high priorities. Every operation ran smoothly on time because each and every staff member was expected to perform their duties on strict schedules. Staff were all friendly and always helpful. What I enjoyed the most about this work experience was how everyday was a learning experience; there were a lot of career opportunities within Human Resources department so, senior staff/management encouraged me to exploit all the possibilities .
Pros
Friendly and motivating staff
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great advantage and salary
Collisions investigator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 August 2017
A great opportunity to learn a new trade and a great chance to travel the world. Excellent chance of advancement and pay. Start with 20 days paid leave to 25 days after 5 years. Medical and dental are paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just apply
Army ACISS (Former Employee) –  Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC4 August 2017
its an honour to serve, just apply and you wont regret it.

i worked a lot, but it never really felt like work, just hanging with friends in uniforms.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Aviation Technician (Current Employee) –  Borden, ON3 August 2017
read the news I cannot talk about the things I have been through or have done through the military. There are numerous ups and downs of this job/career in the forces.
Pros
benefits
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Defence and Canadian Armed Forces. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 1,224 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
4.3
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

CEO Approval

88%
314 ratings
Add your rating