MV Transportation Employee Reviews

Showing all 639 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting
School Bus and Access-a-Ride Driver/CDL Trainer (Former Employee) –  Denver, CO24 May 2017
Very busy and learn many routes management not to concerned about drivers and hardest part of the is the traffic and routes associated with the pick ups.
Pros
Client get to their destination
Cons
very stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and very exciting on the road.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CA24 May 2017
I enjoy being a bus driver with MV. I experience on the road, meet a lot of the drivers and customers. I gain so much experience by interacting with passenger.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great job, just was a young driver at the time
Driver (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD24 May 2017
Again was a great job at first, but when a couple of people was let go & tried to received my clients & tried to open up with little people & i stated was 29 30 still young wanted to speed. That resulted to my letting go. Overall at first was a great young business just wasn't enough people.
Pros
Yeah u could stop & work + plus u were your own boss
Cons
As stated good at first, but was just opening up & tried to add to much with very little people at first!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NY24 May 2017
Help is not always guaranteed as far as management, but the workplace feels like family. the hardest part is moving late trips off a driver rte. The most enjoyable part is communicating with drivers and customers and making sure the trip is a success.
Pros
providing service for the elderly
Cons
miscommunication with management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned some great skills, fun job, management not so professional
DISPATCHER/RESERVATIONIST (Former Employee) –  Carson City, NV23 May 2017
The overall job was fun, but the management at the Carson City office could be very unpleasant at times. But I learned a lot in the short time i worked there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is Fine
Driver (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NC23 May 2017
It's just driving a bus. Just show up on time and don't do anything dumb. My best advice would be to ask questions during training, ESPECIALLY about the use of ALL of the equipment relating to ADA guests. The lap band and other devices that ensure wheelchair-bound guests are safe aren't particularly intuitive, and left to their own devices, most trainers will gloss over the finer points of their operation and- depending on current circumstances- may try to rush training in general. Beyond that, it's a pretty standard job.
Pros
Simple, Reliable, Low-Stress once you have the routes memorized
Cons
Training can be rushed; Company is contracted to the city, when anything goes wrong you'll have no protection, having you available to fire keeps city hall jobs safe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Coach Operator, Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV22 May 2017
Job Duties: Pick up Passengers and drop off passengers at bus stops on a timely and safe way

Drive vehicles over specified routes or to specified destinations according to time schedules, complying with traffic regulations to ensure that passengers have a smooth and safe ride.
 Park vehicles at loading areas so that passengers can board. See more occupations related to this task.
 Advise passengers to be seated and orderly while on vehicles.
 Inspect vehicles and check gas, oil, and water levels prior to departure.
 Assist passengers, such as elderly or disabled individuals, on and off bus, ensure they are seated properly, help carry baggage, and answer questions about bus schedules or routes
Pros
time goes fast
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress out company to work for
Dispatch Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hyattsville, MD18 May 2017
Very stressful working enviroment, i've learned how people act and talk to one another, Management talks behind your back, workplace is not professional at all. The hardest part of working for this company, you never know if you will have a job here today or tomorrow, I didn't enjoy working for them at all.
Pros
4 shifts you can work
Cons
short breaks, No days off for holidays open 24/7 365 days a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No trust at all!
Access Driver (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WA15 May 2017
Management always seem to hire the wrong type of driver. One just made supervisor failed a drug test. that wasn't good for the other new hire moral. CEO merged with out keeping old drivers abreast of whats with the company
Pros
air condition in the summer
Cons
snow days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seniority
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Elk Grove, CA14 May 2017
We had to bid for jobs, by seniority. Contractor cut corners paid drivers as little as possible. Old fleet buses broke down daily. My hours dropped each bid time.
Pros
Liked clients
Cons
Split shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work to get skills
Transit Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Livermore, CA13 May 2017
Good place to work to get the skills that you need to move up.And the staff are fun to be around and they try to keep you in a good mood so you can go out and drive the passengers safety.
Pros
Good down time
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Elk Grove, CA12 May 2017
This company could use better management, it lacks professionalism. The staff ( drivers ) work hard to be a team but i feel that they struggle with the lack of support from management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and productive day always
Driver (Current Employee) –  San Leandro, CA12 May 2017
Start with a pre trip of the bus, a manifest, Nextel, and DVRI book. In this workplace u need patience. Hardest part of this job was not having a set area.
Pros
Training, experience, and learning to deal with different situations without losing your mind.
Cons
Two lunches longer hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Paratransit Driver (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD12 May 2017
Overall, this is a great place to work. The work environment is fantastic and work can be plentiful. The only downfall is the upper management doesn't always communicate pertinent information to drivers in a timely fashion.
Pros
All the overtime you can stand
Cons
Logistical data from the dispatchers doesn't always make sense.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Paratransit Driver (Former Employee) –  Beltsville, MD11 May 2017
I highly recommend anyone with a need to have a short work week and supportive work environment to work here. My brief time here was great and the customers were awesome. I might go back in the near future.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job was minimum wage and for somone that don't have a family unless you had second job
Medical Van Driver (Medi-Van Driver) (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FL11 May 2017
long hour's a lot of driving for the wage they are paying and it was the only job i had at that time and had a 45 min.drive to get to work,so i decide to look for a job that pay's more
Pros
enjoyed working with good people
Cons
minimum wage no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3rd World company
Transit Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV11 May 2017
Worse management company in 16 years to take over a contract. They pay bottom dollar. Some took $7,000 a year pay cuts when they took over. While another company that was also awarded the 1/2 contract got a $8,000 a year raise for the same job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, CA10 May 2017
I learned alot loved my staff and coworkers. loved transportion. I started as a driver and was told by My GM to always apply for any postion this comapny promotes growth
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule and good management
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CA10 May 2017
The schedule are mostly split shift. I learn that safety started with a good reward program. The manager are fairly consult.The difficulties are maintain a safe habit. My most enjoyable part are getting behind the wheel and my passenger are happy.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
low benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Bus Driver (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CA8 May 2017
company need a little work vary slow paced great employees need work on the buses but nothing major . the rides are very nice and appreciative needs to increase pay for drives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MV Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 639 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0