Find companies:
Moxie's Classic Grill
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

Moxie's Classic Grill Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with poor morals
Food and Beverage Server (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: pricey menu items, lack of respect for women, illegal practices
Although the staff and customers are enjoyable, the goals of the restaurant, expressed through female workplace uniforms, seems immoral and sexist. Males are required to wear pants, long-sleeved shirts, while females must wear extremely tight, low-cut tops, shorts, skirts on the patio, lounge and bar areas. In many minds, this leads to lack of respect – more... for women as human beings, and rather decorations to ensnare male customers.
Not to mention: Pricey menus.
This restaurant also uses a Dine and Dash fund; each server must pay 1.00 per shift, to add to the fund. If any customers decided to leave without paying, or leave without tipping (and there wasn't an obvious reason why), management may use the fund to pay you a 10-15% tip and the bill. Management is quite difficult when it comes to paying from this fund, although they held a party to spend the copious amounts of funds - raised by the staff itself! It was explained to some staff by outside members of the public, that this is in fact illegal. Nothing has changed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-pace and worth it.
Cocktail Waitress (Former Employee), Brampton, ONApril 7, 2014
Moxie's has exceedingly high expectations of their employees. The days were long and the nights even longer. It is a fast paced environment with hardly any opportunity for break. That being said- it was a blast to be employed by Moxie's while in school. It is the perfect environment for a student, with it's young staff, party environment, odd shift – more... hours and tips. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, very fast paced
Hostess (Former Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: free meals occasionally
Cons: rude customers
A typical day at work for me would be seating guests, cleaning tables, running food, and when there was a bit of time, socializing with the many friends that I made working there.
The managers were all great, all very fun to be around. Never too overbearing, but they expected all the staff to do their jobs diligently, so as long as the requirements – more... were being met daily, the relationship between the managers and employees was great. The hardest part for me would probably be the long hours, in heels, and having to do it all with a permanent smile on your face. The most enjoyable part of the job was definitely how tight knit everyone was. Literally everyone at the workplace was friends, you could count on anyone to help you when you needed it, and then you had people to hangout with afterwards. It was great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, with good line cooks
Line Cook (Former Employee), Barrie, ONNovember 29, 2013
Cons: long hours
We were worked hard and had fun doing it. I had issues comunicating with management because they were so busy with other issues. I enjoyed my experience there but wish there was more communication.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends...
Sous Chef (Former Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 24, 2013
Pros: hugh benefit.
All situation depends on you.
Don't take this job,If you want step up your culinary future.
Take this job,If you want hugh benefit and good life balance without money wise .
Management is stupid.
Too cheep.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
line cook (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 22, 2013
Pros: good staff and good activities
Cons: some time no rest always busy.
I've worked for Moxie's Classic Grill for 5 years now and in those five years I can tell you this if you're looking for a challenge and a fun place to work be guarantee Moxie's is the place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great food, Great people
Line Cook (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJune 1, 2013
I start the day by stocking and preparing food items in need for revenue and for night/morning staff members. Once opening tasks are complete and the store has opened I make orders for guests in a safe and timely manner. When my station is slower I make sure I quickly help other team members who are in need. When revenue is over I restock the stations – more... and do a line clean up. This includes sweeping and mopping the floor, wiping the counters and handles with appropriate cleaning supplies.
I have learned a lot working here such as certain cooking techniques, preparing for mass sales, time management abilities and how to use kitchen and cleaning equipment properly. Another thing that I have learned is that by working well with others you will succeed to great extents at tasks at hand. We are a family at Moxie's and always help one another out which is the greatest part about this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Dishwashing job
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Campbell River, BCMay 17, 2013
No complaints here, was treated respectfully. Typical dishwashing job seen in every restaurant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work envorinnoment with fascinating guests.
Server, Coordinator & Hostess Supervisor (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONApril 22, 2013
Pros: guest interation
Cons: unpredictable hours
My job is always lively and demanding but always rewarding. We work short hours that are intensive because we don't just serve food we create a familiar environment to even first guest. We believe that guest connections is an even stronger asset than the food. Management is helpful, never micromanaging but are quick to help without hesitation. The hardest – more... part of the job is living up to personal standards of guest service in times of over-extending. The most enjoyable part is the instant gratification that my guest, whether the retired couple, the young family with small children or the business people in for a short swift lunch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are a brown nosing yes man, this is the place for you.
Kitchen (Former Employee), Barrie, OnFebruary 5, 2013
Only reason their pay was at all decent was their tip pool structure, which they hold over your head, if you do anything that displeases them they take it away. Upper Management and Ownership need some social education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced with competitive wages
Prep Cook/Baker (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: organization
Cons: long hours, lack of job security
busy, fast paced and organized working environment
great compensation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough employees
Prep Cook (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: good white chocolate brownie
Cons: food quality is not their top priority
It's very confusing working there. Everyone is ether a manager, or supervisory, or sous chef, or KM. You start to wonder if you are the only employee! And their focus is not on the food but having beautiful people in the front of house.