Mountain Equipment Co-Op Employee Reviews

Showing all 21 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very inspiring place to be!
Cash specialist, floor staff (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC2 May 2017
The workplace culture is happy and exciting as we're always helping members to plan their next outdoor adventure for camping, kayaking, hiking, cycling or climbing.
Pros
training programs
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MEC, un magasin de jouets pour les mordus de plein air !
Conseillère en vente (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC26 April 2017
Je n'ai jamais vu une compagnie avec d'aussi belles valeurs !
La Co-op est une grosse famille. Ce n'est pas pour rien que nous appelons la clientèle des ''Membres'' et non des clients !

Les formations chez MEC sont complètes, tellement intéressantes et surtout en continue ! Nous sommes vraiment des conseiller(ères) et non des commis de plancher. Notre travail est d'assurer que les membres s'amusent avec du matériels de qualité lors de leurs aventures!

Les responsables du plancher sont très transparents avec leurs employés et ça j'aime ça ! La porte du bureau est toujours ouverte donc s'il y a quoi que se soit, ils sont là pour vous !

Pour les heures, je n'ai jamais eux de problèmes. Ils respectent vos disponibilités le plus possible.

Bref, j'adore mon travail et il y a vraiment possibilité de carrière chez MEC !
Pros
Avantages sociaux et possibilité de carrière
Cons
Salaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good summer job
Frontline Staff & Member Service (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC4 April 2017
For a summer job employer seeking unskilled workers, MEC really put a lot of good training into their employees and helped ensure everyone was having a great time while at work. Shifts and times could be swapped and changed with ease if a situation arose, and the culture was very accepting and calm when it came to sales, goals, and other objectives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inclusive and energetic workplace environment
Frontline staff (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON22 March 2017
Mountain Equipment Co-op is a very fun atmosphere to work in. Interacting with members as they are about to embark on adventures that they're gearing up for or hearing about previous trips is inspiring and interesting. The staff are friendly and well educated on all products.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing some good things but old problems seems to stay
Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC23 February 2017
Some management vision that is not carried through. Old technologies and misaligned strategies. Some management with agendas which is not productive.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn about the outdoors and promote good customer service.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  North York, ON5 February 2017
I really enjoy working here. The environment is great, and everyone is very approachable.
They really care about the environment, and they send out a good sustainable message for anyone that is a member. They do the best that they can with their return policy (Rock Solid guarantee) to ensure the lifespan of the products.
They want to promote an active lifestyle for the outdoors by offering different events and programs.
Pros
Helpful staff, knowledgable about products
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Cashier duties (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 January 2017
schedule- good and improved over the years.
most enjoyable part of the job would be starting my day and leaving.
employees at the location is like slowly building some sort of relationship w/ customers.
Pros
looking forward to the day
Cons
having to end the day
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Preety interesting workplace environment
Frontlineer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 January 2017
Typical day is work work and work
learn more about outdoor gears
Management so sooo
co workers are fun to work with definitely
PTL can sucks time to time Product team leader
Free food sometimes and employee discount and pro deal
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great new DC with good management and potential for growth for the right employee
Lead Hand (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 January 2017
I had a great experience with MEC. Great people, fun atmosphere and opportunity for growth. I had to leave for personal family matter, however it is a great place to work and if you love the outdoors then you will appreciate the company and who they are.
Pros
Good staff
Cons
Working holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well established
Distribution Center Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON15 December 2016
Learned a lot from the company.
management was very cooperative.
My co-workers are very friendly.
hardest part is the tight deadlines for shipping everyday.
Pros
Free Coffee in the Cafeteria
Cons
No extra hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Want to know more about Mountain Equipment Co-Op?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be
Front Staff (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC6 December 2016
The company is amazing!

The Best Costumer Service ever! A great environment to be with excellent leaderships and also great co-workers!

They are really concern about your skills, so you will have a lot of training to prepare you to give excellent advices to members.

The clinics are amazing! And they are free for members, and of course, if you are one of the leaders, you will get pay for that clinic!
Pros
Field Courses
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the floor staff at the Vancover store are amazing and a great group of people.
Services Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 June 2016
The staff at MEC is really what makes that job so fun. You get to come to work everyday with people you like. It is a fast paced work environment that keeps you on your toes.
Cons
working nights and weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult management
Inventory Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC18 March 2016
Higher People in the company have lost the vision of why they are running a outdoor company and are now simply running the company to make more money.
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day, co-workers
Frontline and Back stock Staff (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 February 2016
Most days I worked on the front line helping people find the gear to best suit their needs. I was trained in shoes, all apparel, tent and bags, backpacking hard goods, optics and instruments, packs, backpacks, and as a cashier. Some days I would work back stock where we used store mobiles to restock the selves full of product. I learned how to interact with members, a lot about gear, and multi member service. I really liked my co-workers they shared very similar interests as myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, culture and team
Product and Inventory Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 January 2016
Working with teams to achieve a common goal. Maintain merchandising standards. Recruiting, on boarding, training and development.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Full-Time Sales Associate, MEC (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 January 2016
A day at work - help enable people to lead active outdoor lifestyles by pairing customers up with appropriate equipment

What you learned - LOTS regarding outdoor activities and apparel, etc

Management - Great management, very friendly and personable

Co-workers - Great co-workers, really friendly and easy to get along with

Hardest part - learning about all the products available in the store

Most enjoyable part - Overall a great job to have
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Back stocker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 February 2015
Management was outstanding,
employees were great,
days went by quick,
standing all day could make you sore
great deals on gear
got to learn alot about the sports and activities that people do
and its a great place to work
Pros
too many to say
Cons
sore from standing
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MEC Bicycle Mechanic
Bicycle Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC8 May 2014
I was a bicycle mechanic at MEC in Victoria. I interacted with members with regards to the nature of their bicycle problems, performed repairs, as well as teaching clinics and being involved in community-outreach events.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Bike Mechanic / Bike Builder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 April 2014
Far travel from where I live in the south only reason I might not be going to work there again.
Pros
Amazing staff and management
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A healthy life work balance is maintained.
Cashier/Retail Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta15 April 2013
A typical day at included processing member sales, providing member service, merchandising, acting as concierge. I really enjoyed my co workers and the management worked hard to help you achieve your goals. I enjoyed leading a learn to run program in the community.
Pros
field course participation.
Cons
no parking, difficult commute.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mountain Equipment Co-Op. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.2
Culture
4.7

Mountain Equipment Co-Op Reviews by Location