Mountain Equipment Co-Op Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult management
Inventory Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCMarch 18, 2016
Higher People in the company have lost the vision of why they are running a outdoor company and are now simply running the company to make more money.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day, co-workers
Frontline and Back stock Staff (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 25, 2016
Most days I worked on the front line helping people find the gear to best suit their needs. I was trained in shoes, all apparel, tent and bags, backpacking hard goods, optics and instruments, packs, backpacks, and as a cashier. Some days I would work back stock where we used store mobiles to restock the selves full of product. I learned how to interact with members, a lot about gear, and multi member service. I really liked my co-workers they shared very similar interests as myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, culture and team
Product and Inventory Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCJanuary 13, 2016
Working with teams to achieve a common goal. Maintain merchandising standards. Recruiting, on boarding, training and development.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Full-Time Sales Associate, MEC (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 11, 2016
A day at work - help enable people to lead active outdoor lifestyles by pairing customers up with appropriate equipment

What you learned - LOTS regarding outdoor activities and apparel, etc

Management - Great management, very friendly and personable

Co-workers - Great co-workers, really friendly and easy to get along with

Hardest part - learning about all the products available in the store

Most enjoyable part - Overall a great job to have
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Back stocker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABFebruary 12, 2015
Management was outstanding,
employees were great,
days went by quick,
standing all day could make you sore
great deals on gear
got to learn alot about the sports and activities that people do
and its a great place to work
Pros
too many to say
Cons
sore from standing
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MEC Bicycle Mechanic
Bicycle Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCMay 8, 2014
I was a bicycle mechanic at MEC in Victoria. I interacted with members with regards to the nature of their bicycle problems, performed repairs, as well as teaching clinics and being involved in community-outreach events.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Bike Mechanic / Bike Builder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 5, 2014
Far travel from where I live in the south only reason I might not be going to work there again.
Pros
amazing staff and management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A healthy life work balance is maintained.
Cashier/Retail Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AlbertaApril 15, 2013
A typical day at included processing member sales, providing member service, merchandising, acting as concierge. I really enjoyed my co workers and the management worked hard to help you achieve your goals. I enjoyed leading a learn to run program in the community.
Pros
field course participation.
Cons
no parking, difficult commute.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.6
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.9

Mountain Equipment Co-Op Reviews by Location