Mount Sinai Health System

Mount Sinai Health System Employee Reviews

Found 57 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep your mouth shut
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 December 2016
Working with a whole bunch of women who manage the department was absolutely terrifying. You could tell that they despised men and that they were sexist - all of their "receptionists" were men. In short, I was let go because I was too popular. They even tried to spread vile lies about me when I was let go, and they didn't have the proof to substantiate this. The compensation was half decent but, you need to be a "yes" person or you will find how easily they would flex their powers to show you out the door. The hospital management is as corrupt as they come. They do favours for each other and how they stay in a power of position. There is a lot of hush hush meetings and there is very little accountability.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and productive, staff members are extremely helpful, very efficient and well organized clinical environment
Surgical Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 June 2016
The three doctors whose clinics I was a surgical oncology receptionist for, all had different expectations of how the clinic is run.
They were patient and kind with me, allowing for a positive learning environment.
The management is organized and well equipped to deal with staffing changes and impromptu clinic days and other emergency circumstances.
Co-workers, especially nurses and the surgical secretaries to the doctors were extremely friendly, helpful and multifaceted when it came all the different responsibilities that needed to be fulfilled for a clinic to run smoothly.
The responsibilities did not seem overwhelming and the patient interactions were always pleasant. All in all, a very enjoyable experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top 50 employer
Prenatal Education Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 September 2016
Great place to work people are friendly and supportive.
I have worked in different areas of the hospital and have learned different procedures for different departments.
It's good work experience.
Pros
PAID LUNCH
Cons
LONG HOURS
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Medical Secretary (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 September 2016
Great place
long-term
friendly environment
good experience
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hospital for placement
Work Placement-Medical Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 November 2016
My supervisor has been working in this field for almost 15 years and let me lean much useful information. She is quite nice and helpful too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring
Medical Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 September 2016
Staff was very helpful when learning new things. Staff was always willing to go out of their way to go over workload if I did not understand the task that needed to be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent environment workplace to work at.
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 March 2016
A decent environment workplace to work at. I personally had one of my work experiences working in this hospital. My seniors referred me a good candidate for the company and my direct trainer wanted me to continue me in future prospects. I made some really good friends while working at the company who were always helping and caring in all aspects. I would love to recommend it to anyone who is interested in working at the place.
Pros
friendly and warm people
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Reward
Co-op High School Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 May 2016
It was a great experience at Mount Sinai Hospital. As a high school co-op student I learned many valuable skills and knowledge about the variety of careers that exist in a hospital beyond nurses, doctors and orderlies.
Pros
Friendly Staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Engineering Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 August 2016
This was a short project done during university time. We did a process optimization project trying to maximize the efficiency.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large hospital with small town feel
Staff RN (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 May 2016
A major hospital in the center of the city near the university. Great people in all areas of work, very diverse and cultural patient population. Never dull in or away from work
Pros
Large city activities
Cons
Traffic and parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience working in the health system
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 March 2016
The day usually starts with administrative works and continues with talking to patients and other volunteer works. I have learnt a lot through working with patients and from nurses. They are very friendly and willing to answer your questions and help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
TRANSPORTER (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 May 2016
no two days are ever the same, some days you can't wait to go home and get off your feet, and other days, you wish you can stay a little longer to enjoy the atmosphere.
Pros
N/A
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning environment
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 March 2016
I had a great time volunteering at Mount Siani Hospital. The people were great, helpful and taught me a lot while I worked at the pharmacy. I'm happy I got to spend my time there.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Travel time from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Côte-Saint-Luc, QC15 March 2016
I performed clerical work and helped several departments throughout the hospital (Human Resources, Accounting, Maintenance, Medical Files)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like work environment in Mount Sinai Hospital because management is very supportive and colleagues are very professional and fun people to work with.
Medical Laboratory Technician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 October 2015
I like work environment in Mount Sinai Hospital because management is very supportive and colleagues are very professional and fun people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment with heavy and consistent workload.
Full Time - Glass Washing Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 May 2016
A typical day at work followed a shifting work routine depending on which shift I held in a given week. I worked at a different station each week for a total of 4 weeks in a cycle. Mostly it involved organizing and wrapping test tubes and beakers, learning how to be as efficient and fast as possible. I would then move to sterilization of contaminated glassware and would deliver sterilized glassware from the autoclave machine that was switched out.

My manager was very kind and helpful but not always present as she was a manager for a rather large area of the institute. She left a co-worker to help me get used to everything with a steep learning curve.

The hardest part of the job was the language barrier and communication difficulties I had with my co-workers and the fact that we were on completely separate pages, me being new and interpreting things from the bottom up and them being older and used to how everything functioned exactly according to a set routine. It was hard to understand each other most of the time and became frustrating at times.

The most enjoyable part of my job was being in a hospital environment and being able to work shifting schedules depending on the week.
Pros
Salary and hours were amazing
Cons
Co-workers were hard to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent teaching hospital that provides the best patient care to all members in the community who we treat with respect and equality.
Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 June 2015
An excellent hospital that provides an exceptional work environment where all members work as a team and are treated with respect and equality. Every member that walks through those doors are welcomed and we are there to provide the best patient care.
Pros
excellent work events gives you the opportunity to interact with other members.
Cons
hours may vary
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great multi-tasking experience
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 May 2015
Mount Sinai, was a great experience in a multi-tasking fast paced environment, that exposed me to administration, clerical, and patient care duties and responsibilities, hence enhancing my knowledge and experience, as well as skill sets in a challenging, highly pressured fast paced environment, that helped me work even better, and accomplish my goals on a daily basis of volunteering in mount Sinai Hospital
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Volunteering at Mount Sinai
Gynaecologists Assistant (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 March 2015
While i was Volunteering at Mount Sinai Hosptial Ive learned that this is the environment that i need to be in. Knowning that i can help people that are in need of medical attention makes me feel complete inside. I have a passion with interacting directly with patrons that i can get a feel and a clear understand of them. The most enjoyable part of this job is that i was able to meet and interact with new people, booking patients, do follow up calls, faxing and working beside a doctor that i thought was so inspiring, Dr. Wolfman (gynaecologist)
Pros
Providing excellent service to patients
Cons
Purging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 August 2015
The job is motivating, and the staff are all friendly and helpful during the work. I have learned a lot and met many motivating and inspiring people from the volunteer experience in the hospital.
Pros
inspiring
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 617 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

Mount Sinai Health System Reviews by Location