Find companies:
Motherhood Maternity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
119 reviews

Motherhood Maternity Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail job.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Freehold, NJJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: worked in the mall
Cons: no job advancement
Depending on whether I opened or closed the store determined my responsibilities. In either situation I dealt with the registers, bank documents and store information. Throughout the day when product came into the store we updated it in the computer and then rearranged the store for the product. I learned the background of how to properly, maintain – more... financial documents for Motherhood Maternity and the appropriate way to handle all documents. In the store there was only one manager and one assistant manager the rest were part time employees that had other jobs. The hardest part of the job was meeting your sales goal for the day. The most enjoyable part of the day was interacting with all the newly pregnant women and helping them with anything they needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to bulid relationships with clients
Store Manager (Current Employee), Rivergate Mall / Cool Springs GalleriaJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: great customers to work with
Cons: no breaks offered due to single coverage at stores to save payroll
I have been at Motherhood for over 4 years, I currently manage 2 stores, I have been the acting District Manager many times and have personally trained 4 other store managers and assisted in training the District Mananger. I have really enjoyed the many people I work with, I do all the second interviews for the district. I have personally approved over – more... 50 people to be hired with the company. I have traveled with the company to run and hire staff for 12 stores. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i absolutly loved it!
Title (Store Manager) (Former Employee), Carlsbad, CAJanuary 19, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: 401 k no match
my job was to help pregnant women find the best items for special occassions and to fit their budget, product knoledge is a big part of how much you can sell, asking a lot of questions to determine their needs, i learned a lot about suggesting extra items because you just don't know how much people will spend if you don't mention something you missed – more... that sale. i was the manager there for almost 12 years and i loved everything about it, my co-workers were awesome and the most enjoyable part of it was when women came in with their new borns. the hardest part of my job was working on floor sets while store was open and it was only 2 of us and we only had about 2 days to finish it, we had to do 100% of client service and cashier, also we could never have overtime – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for a short term job.
Merchandise Sales Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FlJanuary 16, 2013
An ok place to work but not much room for growth within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal environment for empowered self-starters
Store Manager (Former Employee), North Charleston, SCJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: empowerment
Cons: limited staff, limited payroll hours (specifically during peak periods)
While I enjoyed my experience at Motherhood overall, this is a very difficult company in which to manage as the company has very high expectations without providing the necessary resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job
Sales rep (Current Employee), Elizabeth, NJJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: working with new morther
Cons: not sure
it a great place to work. you get to meet all type of people when working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN FUN FUN
MSR (Former Employee), colonie, nyJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: travel, great customers
Cons: poor management
often opened the store. With my position, I worked more than one location. That gave me a chance to explore the different areas of the company and NOT be bored. It kept me on my toes! I dealt with repeat clients and some of the best customers! I loved dressing pregnant women. They always appreciated having someone to help with something can be very – more... difficult! I had great coworkers, I am still in touch with one. My last manager was not so good at her job, this caused me to resign. I just couldnt handle 2 locations alone and occasionally working under another manager. I learned to merchandise and ask questions to find out what a customer needed, wanted and expected. My goal was to always give service I want to receive. I tried as best I could to make every experience enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee), Monroe, LADecember 4, 2012
Pros: client relations, healthcare
Cons: no supporting management in the store, much time spent away from home
Motherhood has been very good to me the past couple of years, I moved from a part-time associate to a store manager after being there for just over a year and a half. I learned all of my management skills such as hiring, training, visuals, general daily business such as paperwork, processing shipment, and selling. After a few months worth of hiring – more... I quickly fine-tuned my skills in being able to select candidates worthy of the job. The company itself is very close, all associates are on a first name basis with the district manager who makes frequent visits, and even the regional manager who is the in the store sometimes as well. It's great working in a company when your superiors are so easily contacted. The hardest part of the job is being the only manager in the store. My store's volume does not call for an assistant manager so managing the entire store was my responsibility. I enjoyed making great connections with my clients and being able to help their needs. It's a great feeling when you really help someone who may walk into the store without a clue as to what they need during their pregnancy, but they walk out educated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Mother, there is nothing like helping a Mother-to-be
Part-Time Supervisor (Former Employee), Shops @ Lake Havasu, Hwy95, Lake Havasu AZ 86404December 4, 2012
Pros: personal touch in making their pregnancy a wonderful experience
Cons: havasu is a small town, not enough business to support the store
Daily Duties included, shipping & receiving, banking, scheduling and resets.

My capacity was at a managerial level where I was in charge of the day-to-day store dynamics. My coworkers were younger than myself and I felt more like a mentor, which I found extremely rewarding.

A first time Mother has a certain glow that cannot be duplicated. Finding – more... her the "perfect" outfits to show off her miracle, left me with a warm feeling inside even if the day was long. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun
Sales Associate/Key Holder (Former Employee), Lombard, ILDecember 4, 2012
Did not like working at this retail store.
Did not treat there workers fairly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced, boring place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Fairview Heights, ILNovember 9, 2012
Cons: no benefits
All about the money, very pushy management. shipment is poorly done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with moms to be
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VANovember 8, 2012
Great Job Great Opportunity especially since I had a great team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and knowledgable job
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Chino, CAOctober 11, 2012
Pros: helping new moms
Cons: slow at times
Busy hands on customer service
Product knowledge
wonderful management
small staff
shipment and floorset difficult
working with expecting mothers is fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Creative Environment, Hard work pays off!
Store Manager (Former Employee), Henrico, VAOctober 10, 2012
I was able to learn to be independent, confident, creative.
You'll learn interviewing skills, coaching techniques, Identifying your weak and strong points, Schedule to business needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very different Enviornment working with expecting moms
Key Holder/Customer Care/Cashier (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: having a part and opinion with the new moms expecting decisions.
Cons: short lunches
Great company to work for with plenty room for growth nd promotions.I learned to master using the system for logging in shipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee), Tyler, TXSeptember 5, 2012
Pros: bennefits
Cons: no advancement oppurtunities
The customers are a joy as we get to be apart of a special time in their lives. The upper management does not treat store managers well and you are unable to advance past store manager if you do not have district manager experiance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work envionment, but high pressure
store manager (Current Employee), Traverse City, MIAugust 17, 2012
Pros: good compensation
Cons: they appreciate you until they don't
Motherhood Maternity is an excellent place to work for a strong individual looking to advance in the retail business. The stress can get a little high if sales are down or you do not have the right team working for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work situation lacked management and employees
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Wichita, KSAugust 17, 2012
Pros: was able to keep busy and the health care was good
Cons: not enough hours available to give proper attention to store and customers
I loved the fast paced environment however I did not feel that there were enough hours allotted to allow proper attention to the customers and the store as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, boutique like feel
Store Supervisor (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 16, 2012
Upper management is hands off which allows you to make your own decisions to drive your business as you see fit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Increasing store productivity and keeping a stable staff.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Cary, NCAugust 13, 2012
Pros: enjoyed assisting customers with purchases.
Cons: very small store and was not busy all the time.
Open and close the store. Hire and train new assistant mangers, and staff. Increased productivity and kept a clean working environment.

About Motherhood Maternity

The destination for moms-to-be may be a store operated by Destination Maternity, a designer and seller of  mid-priced to high-end – Read more

Motherhood Maternity Photos