Find companies:
Motherhood Maternity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
114 reviews

Motherhood Maternity Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal environment for empowered self-starters
Store Manager (Former Employee), North Charleston, SCJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: empowerment
Cons: limited staff, limited payroll hours (specifically during peak periods)
While I enjoyed my experience at Motherhood overall, this is a very difficult company in which to manage as the company has very high expectations without providing the necessary resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job
Sales rep (Current Employee), Elizabeth, NJJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: working with new morther
Cons: not sure
it a great place to work. you get to meet all type of people when working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN FUN FUN
MSR (Former Employee), colonie, nyJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: travel, great customers
Cons: poor management
often opened the store. With my position, I worked more than one location. That gave me a chance to explore the different areas of the company and NOT be bored. It kept me on my toes! I dealt with repeat clients and some of the best customers! I loved dressing pregnant women. They always appreciated having someone to help with something can be very – more... difficult! I had great coworkers, I am still in touch with one. My last manager was not so good at her job, this caused me to resign. I just couldnt handle 2 locations alone and occasionally working under another manager. I learned to merchandise and ask questions to find out what a customer needed, wanted and expected. My goal was to always give service I want to receive. I tried as best I could to make every experience enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee), Monroe, LADecember 4, 2012
Pros: client relations, healthcare
Cons: no supporting management in the store, much time spent away from home
Motherhood has been very good to me the past couple of years, I moved from a part-time associate to a store manager after being there for just over a year and a half. I learned all of my management skills such as hiring, training, visuals, general daily business such as paperwork, processing shipment, and selling. After a few months worth of hiring – more... I quickly fine-tuned my skills in being able to select candidates worthy of the job. The company itself is very close, all associates are on a first name basis with the district manager who makes frequent visits, and even the regional manager who is the in the store sometimes as well. It's great working in a company when your superiors are so easily contacted. The hardest part of the job is being the only manager in the store. My store's volume does not call for an assistant manager so managing the entire store was my responsibility. I enjoyed making great connections with my clients and being able to help their needs. It's a great feeling when you really help someone who may walk into the store without a clue as to what they need during their pregnancy, but they walk out educated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Mother, there is nothing like helping a Mother-to-be
Part-Time Supervisor (Former Employee), Shops @ Lake Havasu, Hwy95, Lake Havasu AZ 86404December 4, 2012
Pros: personal touch in making their pregnancy a wonderful experience
Cons: havasu is a small town, not enough business to support the store
Daily Duties included, shipping & receiving, banking, scheduling and resets.

My capacity was at a managerial level where I was in charge of the day-to-day store dynamics. My coworkers were younger than myself and I felt more like a mentor, which I found extremely rewarding.

A first time Mother has a certain glow that cannot be duplicated. Finding – more... her the "perfect" outfits to show off her miracle, left me with a warm feeling inside even if the day was long. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun
Sales Associate/Key Holder (Former Employee), Lombard, ILDecember 4, 2012
Did not like working at this retail store.
Did not treat there workers fairly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced, boring place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Fairview Heights, ILNovember 9, 2012
Cons: no benefits
All about the money, very pushy management. shipment is poorly done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with moms to be
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VANovember 8, 2012
Great Job Great Opportunity especially since I had a great team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and knowledgable job
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Chino, CAOctober 11, 2012
Pros: helping new moms
Cons: slow at times
Busy hands on customer service
Product knowledge
wonderful management
small staff
shipment and floorset difficult
working with expecting mothers is fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Creative Environment, Hard work pays off!
Store Manager (Former Employee), Henrico, VAOctober 10, 2012
I was able to learn to be independent, confident, creative.
You'll learn interviewing skills, coaching techniques, Identifying your weak and strong points, Schedule to business needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very different Enviornment working with expecting moms
Key Holder/Customer Care/Cashier (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: having a part and opinion with the new moms expecting decisions.
Cons: short lunches
Great company to work for with plenty room for growth nd promotions.I learned to master using the system for logging in shipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee), Tyler, TXSeptember 5, 2012
Pros: bennefits
Cons: no advancement oppurtunities
The customers are a joy as we get to be apart of a special time in their lives. The upper management does not treat store managers well and you are unable to advance past store manager if you do not have district manager experiance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work envionment, but high pressure
store manager (Current Employee), Traverse City, MIAugust 17, 2012
Pros: good compensation
Cons: they appreciate you until they don't
Motherhood Maternity is an excellent place to work for a strong individual looking to advance in the retail business. The stress can get a little high if sales are down or you do not have the right team working for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work situation lacked management and employees
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Wichita, KSAugust 17, 2012
Pros: was able to keep busy and the health care was good
Cons: not enough hours available to give proper attention to store and customers
I loved the fast paced environment however I did not feel that there were enough hours allotted to allow proper attention to the customers and the store as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, boutique like feel
Store Supervisor (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 16, 2012
Upper management is hands off which allows you to make your own decisions to drive your business as you see fit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Increasing store productivity and keeping a stable staff.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Cary, NCAugust 13, 2012
Pros: enjoyed assisting customers with purchases.
Cons: very small store and was not busy all the time.
Open and close the store. Hire and train new assistant mangers, and staff. Increased productivity and kept a clean working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and playful environment
Store Manager (Former Employee), Stockton, CAAugust 10, 2012
Pros: great staff, playful and full of happy moments
Cons: understaffed, small store and hard return policy
As an Store Manager for Motherhood Maternity, I learned that being a manger was about trust and dedication. I loved my job daily with my employees and customers. I felt the District Manager was not very helpful in my training or success. I would have loved to stay with Motherhood Maternity, as I am a mom, it made work something I loved and enjoyed in – more... one place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business that was goal oriented and a chance to be yourself.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Tamuning, GUJuly 18, 2012
Pros: interacting with people, learning new things everyday
Working at Motherhood Maternity was an experience that will be with me always. Being the Store manager definitely had its challenges, however, the challenges were never to difficult to overcome. Favorite part of the day is meeting new people, establishing a relationship with them, and having them become frequent clients of the store. My staff, like – more... myself, was well rounded and outgoing. We really enjoyed what we were doing which made each work day fun and successful. Unfortunately, the company decided to close the store because of how far the Guam store is from all other locations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back environment
Sale Associate (Former Employee), Flowood, MSJuly 6, 2012
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: the pay and customers attitudes
I love meeting new people and it was always a good day there were some bad and irritated days and some wonderful days. My co-workers thy were good to get a long with and also the managers. The hardest part was working by yourself and doing the totes before a deadline.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work... not a lot of patience
Cashier (Current Employee), Lee's Summit, MOJune 30, 2012
Pros: getting to help people, comfortable enviroment.
I love working at Motherhood. The people are friendly and I love helping people. It's great. The problem is, the manager I have doesn't have a whole lot of patience with me. I had only been working for about 2 weeks when I was told that I wasn't strong enough to hold the store on my own and got my hours cut to next to nothing. I personally don't think – more... I was given enough of a chance to prove myself. – less

About Motherhood Maternity

The destination for moms-to-be may be a store operated by Destination Maternity, a designer and seller of  mid-priced to high-end – Read more

Motherhood Maternity Photos