Find companies:
Motherhood Maternity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
118 reviews

Motherhood Maternity Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Fashionable
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Halifax, NSApril 29, 2014
I enjoyed working in retail for being able to help mothers to be during the special maternity period. Work days were busy but still enjoyable to see all mothers to be finding comfortable clothes and thank you for it. I hence customer services skills, sales skills, and to satisfy need and wants of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with expectant mothers and being part of their experience was fun
Manager (Former Employee), 2 locations Edmonton AlbertaJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: long hours, not being acknowledged for hard work done
With working in a maternity store you had a short period of time to work with your customers. By that I mean they are only pregnant for 9 months so our interaction was short yet fun because we were able to walk expectant mothers through the process of being pregnant and giving them fashion advise for this small but important demographic community.

My – more... job as the manager was training my staff to work with these ladies and understand that they are different from the average shopper. Their needs are different and we needed to be aware of that on a constant bases.

I also did the merchandising of the store as the floor plan dictated, however I made store based decisions on what was best for my location.

The staff was also trained on floor set because I am a strong believer in knowing I cant be there 24/7 so my staff was taught how to do the floor set.

I also believed in training for succession as my goal was to move up in the company and I wanted a trained staff to continue running the store.

I enjoyed training and coaching my staff, especially the staff that hadn't experienced being pregnant.

The hardest part of the job was the company was American owned and the laws in the US and Canada are different so it was a challenge when the Canadian stores were being governed by US policies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsibilities
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONJuly 22, 2012
Pros: i enjoy having responsibilities and being able to operate the store single-handed at times
Cons: not enough hours per week
There are many times throughout the week that I am left alone to open the store, or for multiple hours in the evening before closing. I must count the till in the morning, file emails and daily memos, provide excellent customer service on a first-name basis with the client, ensure general housekeeping of the store, balance the cash till at night and – more... place deposit in the safe, nightly call-in to the district manager, close and lock store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), El Paso, TXAugust 18, 2014
Learned how to be a sales expert.
friendly, flexible with schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Store Manager (Current Employee), Daytona Beach, FLAugust 13, 2014
Pros: friendly customers
Cons: one person coverage all day
This is a strong friendly and professional place to work. The company is very good at backing there employees and making you feel valued. Its a simple customer service job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Multi Unit Store Manager (Current Employee), Midland, TXJuly 30, 2014
This is a wonderful company to work for. I received all the proper training to become a successful store manager. Daily duties include receiving and putting new freight out on the sales floor, ensuring sales floor is clean and organized at all times, and above all customer service. We love to wardrobe our clients for their entire pregnancy. My favorite – more... part of the job is working with our clientele and really being able to connect with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly wonderful customers
Store Manager (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 25, 2014
Nice place to work, happy customers. Never enough payroll hours. I had really good employees, but needed to compensate for the lack of payroll hours by working myself. Usually worked one person in the store. No breaks.

Despite these issues, this was a fun job because the customers were excited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prego to Go
Maternity Expert (Former Employee), Stockton, CAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: great discount, intimate environment, friendly people
Cons: intense pressure to sell
This is a very sweet place to work at. It's a very intimate environment, depending on your location you can be among a few co-workers or by yourself.

The location I worked at was a small volume store, so I usually worked independently or with my store manager.

In the smaller locations everyone had keys to the store, so everyone was responsible for – more... opening/closing procedures. Everyone did everything. There was no other way around it, so if you're lazy or expecting to get out of being responsible this job would not be for you.

You get to know your co-workers on a very intimate basis since there is a small crew in any shift. This can either make or break your experience.

The customers are pretty chill for the most part. They come in wanting help, so as the "maternity expert" it's your duty to study and become as knowledgeable as possible about the product and latest trends and education in pregnancy. It truly is sweet to see mommies with their new born babies or as they come in to see you throughout their transitioning trimesters. You develop good relationships with these people, when you are sincere.

Also, people are usually there to SPEND MONEY! Which in turn helps your personal sales. I had a few huge sales over $500 which puts you on this list for the whole district to see and gawk over your numbers. The more of these you have, the quicker you move up in your district number and the more you are recognized as a top seller.

There are contests the company does where you can win prizes, and you also get a really good discount, if you don't mind wearing pregnancy clothes, despite even if you're not pregnant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Associate & Cashier/ key holder (Former Employee), Bluffton, SCJuly 14, 2014
great place to work, you get to meet alot of diffrent people and be apart of there experience of motherhood.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 14, 2014
I dont know why I stayed so long, it gave me a headache for the entire year...No hours, they hire more and people when they dont have hours to give..I do not recommend this company to anyone. I couldnt pay my bills with the checks I was getting one point.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independence and responsibility
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Carlsbad, CAJune 30, 2014
Pros: customer satisfaction
Cons: unstable heathy working environment
great place to learn the aspect of independent working.
large quantities of physical resposibility places unto each associate.
The company runs as a team and only through this team effort can ultimate goals be achieved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping new moms feel better about themselves was gratifying
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), tampabay area, flJune 28, 2014
Pros: contests to win great things
Cons: no breaks
loved my job, however never getting a break was tough. I had to sneak in a fitting room when it was dead & eat.
worked with amazing associates & other store managers.
No room to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Killeen, MallJune 23, 2014
Pros: meeting new people and having a great time
Cons: management was not the best.
This was a great company to work for but the management was unfortunately not the best, she fraternized with other employees and cut my hours tremendously even though i was selling 151% a day. I was always respectful because I was thought treat others how you want to be treated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Personnel Clerk-Telemarketer (Former Employee), Santa Monica, CAJune 23, 2014
Pros: team enviorment
Cons: layoff
Great place to work. there was opportunity to utilize your skills. they were very receptive to ideals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The customers are my motivation
Asst Manager (Current Employee), Waldorf, MDJune 10, 2014
Stocking, making thank you calls to customers.I learned about making schedules,floorset, being a leader an marketing. The most enjoyable part are the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun and loving place to work
Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Columbia, MDJune 10, 2014
A typical day at work is paperwork before the gate opens, when the gate opens nothing else matters but the sales and the clients. when the store closes there is paperwork to be completed and call in all numbers that were made that day. What I have learned is that you can make anyone happy just by attending to their needs. Making them feel confident – more... in themselves makes me feel better about myself and my job. It is a friendly and loving environment filled with love . My co-workers felt more close than ever because we all worked together and at the end of our shift the numbers always showed. The most enjoyable part was coming in and not expecting to leave out feeling refreshed and ready for the next work day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An opportunity to show my willingness to help
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Flagstaff, AZMay 26, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers, interaction with a wide range of customers
Cons: being pressured to persuade customers to purchase more items
As a sales associate at Motherhood Maternity, I was responsible for helping with store stock, customer service, cash register operation, and maintaining store cleanliness. I learned how to work with a wide range of people, how to run a cash register, and how to take responsibility for my work and accomplishments. The manager of my store knew that she – more... could rely on me to accomplish any tasks she needed me to around the store. I respected her and was happy to help her as she needed. My co-workers knew that if they needed someone to cover their shift, I would do my best to be able to be that person. The hardest part of this job for me was meeting my goal numbers for the amount of sales I made. I learned that it is against my character to be a pushy sales person. The thing I enjoyed most about this job, though, was helping customers find the things they needed, and being friendly and joyful in my service to each customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-pace Client based Retail
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee), Sioux Falls, SdMay 10, 2014
Motherhood is a company that prides itself on helping the client feel beautiful in their new pregnant bodies. It is a fast-pace, selling culture job that requires a lot of product knowledge and high customer service skills. The hardest part of the job is balancing the tasks that have to be completed while achieving metric goals. The most enjoyable part – more... of the jobs is creating the connections with the clients that translate into long standing relationships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not that bad of a place
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Omaha NEApril 10, 2014
Worst part of it is having to work all by yourself. I don't really remember much about this place
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motherhood Review
Maternity Sales Representative (Current Employee), Lithonia, GAApril 8, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: limited hours
Motherhood is a great company to work for. It introduces you to the operations of a retail store. As a worker at Motherhood I opened and closed the registers, assisted clients with all of their needs and wants. I executed floor sets, helped open and close stores, opened up credit card accounts. I processed shipment and made sure paper

1 2 3 4 5

About Motherhood Maternity

The destination for moms-to-be may be a store operated by Destination Maternity, a designer and seller of  mid-priced to high-end – Read more

Motherhood Maternity Photos