Find companies:
Motherhood Maternity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
102 reviews

Motherhood Maternity Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with expectant mothers and being part of their experience was fun
Manager (Former Employee), 2 locations Edmonton AlbertaJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: long hours, not being acknowledged for hard work done
With working in a maternity store you had a short period of time to work with your customers. By that I mean they are only pregnant for 9 months so our interaction was short yet fun because we were able to walk expectant mothers through the process of being pregnant and giving them fashion advise for this small but important demographic community.

My – more... job as the manager was training my staff to work with these ladies and understand that they are different from the average shopper. Their needs are different and we needed to be aware of that on a constant bases.

I also did the merchandising of the store as the floor plan dictated, however I made store based decisions on what was best for my location.

The staff was also trained on floor set because I am a strong believer in knowing I cant be there 24/7 so my staff was taught how to do the floor set.

I also believed in training for succession as my goal was to move up in the company and I wanted a trained staff to continue running the store.

I enjoyed training and coaching my staff, especially the staff that hadn't experienced being pregnant.

The hardest part of the job was the company was American owned and the laws in the US and Canada are different so it was a challenge when the Canadian stores were being governed by US policies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsibilities
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONJuly 22, 2012
Pros: i enjoy having responsibilities and being able to operate the store single-handed at times
Cons: not enough hours per week
There are many times throughout the week that I am left alone to open the store, or for multiple hours in the evening before closing. I must count the till in the morning, file emails and daily memos, provide excellent customer service on a first-name basis with the client, ensure general housekeeping of the store, balance the cash till at night and – more... place deposit in the safe, nightly call-in to the district manager, close and lock store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Workplace
Clerk, Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Tucson, AZApril 24, 2012
Unpacking new clothing for the shop, Steaming and hanging for customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not that bad of a place
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Omaha NEApril 10, 2014
Worst part of it is having to work all by yourself. I don't really remember much about this place
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motherhood Review
Maternity Sales Representative (Current Employee), Lithonia, GAApril 8, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: limited hours
Motherhood is a great company to work for. It introduces you to the operations of a retail store. As a worker at Motherhood I opened and closed the registers, assisted clients with all of their needs and wants. I executed floor sets, helped open and close stores, opened up credit card accounts. I processed shipment and made sure paper
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Retail Sales Supervisor (Former Employee), Wyomissing, PAMarch 15, 2014
Helping pregnant women find what they need and want for there pregnancies is fun. Great work environment but its part time unless you are store manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,
HAND 2 HOME (Current Employee), Lakewood, WAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: great hours
I learned so much here, especially about diversity. it was nice helping assist mothers through pregnancy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely an interesting experience dealing with pregnant women
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bronx, NYFebruary 24, 2014
I worked trying to find the right look for a pregnant women.
i learned to be patient and vulnerable with the pregnant women the way they were vulnerable with me when they came in talking about their pregnancies.
my manager was the best manager ive ever known
co workers were great as well
the hardest part of the job was having to learn along the way – more... about pregnant women"s needs. I Knew nothing so when they asked me questions at first i was very unknowledgeable.
the most enjoyable part of the job was being around pregnant women all day and learning more about their needs – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Company, but..
Supervisor (Current Employee), Gurnee, ILFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: amazing manager, product is excellent
Cons: no vacation time earned, not able to work 30+ hours
The company itself is great I love the idea of helping woman feel great about themselves during a special time in their lives is wonderful. I feel my job is jeopardy when business isn't going the way they want them going.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved maternity and helping women during their time of pregnancy.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Victorville, CAFebruary 4, 2014
Great clothing and comfortable for women who are expecting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, easy job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Southaven, MSJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: got to dress other people
Cons: i was pregnant
I worked every hard at this job. I made sure the store was in order, drove back and forth to the other stores and made sure that store was in order, put up clothes, tend to the customers, open and close the store, deposit the money at the back. I learn how to work with all women. My manager helped me out a a lot in my life and while working in the store – more... and going to school. My co-workers was awesome. The hardest part was on my feet all day while pregnant. The enjoyable part is being able to dress other pregnant women and making them feel good about themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Key Carrier (Former Employee), Woodbridge, VAJanuary 10, 2014
Flexible hours, good discount, friendly staff. Always something to do
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great work ethic
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Mays Landing, NJJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: experience
Cons: opportunies to advance, and terrible business ethic.
I did not enjoy working for this company at all. I was hired as a full time employee, and without notice I was reduced to not even parttime hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at.
Store Manager (Current Employee), ogden utahJanuary 3, 2014
it is a really good company.good benefits,and get bonus every month if you make plan!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dislike the Job
Keyholder (Former Employee), Greendale, WIDecember 16, 2013
Very long hours by yourself and it was slow everyday. Not enough pay, not enough recognition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsh work enviroment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tysons Corner, VADecember 9, 2013
This job has decent opportunities for advancement, however hard work is involved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job!!!
keyholder (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 8, 2013
Pros: pay was good, good hours
Cons: didn't get a lunch break
I would get to the store about 30 mins before opening time to print out daily papers and make sure the store was ready for the day etc. I loved this job it was easy and fun. Being a mother I could def relate to the "clients" we had. All of my co-workers got along good. Management was beyond good. It's nice to have a manager who is willing to do the – more... things she wants you to do. The hardest part of the job would be the shipments. Sometimes they would send so much at one time it would be impossible to get it all out within a day or two. The most enjoyable part is the daily interaction with the clients. You get to meet people from every stage of their pregnancy and you can join them in their excitement about their new bundle of joy: ) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job and customers
Floor supervisor/Acting Store Manager (Former Employee), Peoria, ILDecember 3, 2013
This is a very tough place to work if you have a family. They do not like to give overtime. You are always alone. They expect so much out of you in a day and if you dont get it done its not good. I loved the customers and the small amount of staff I was able to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NICE QUIET ENVIROMENT
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 3, 2013
Pros: it was very easy and quick to learning the registers
Cons: no breaks, very slow sometimes, and the pay
I ACTUALLY HAD FUN WORKING THERE BECAUSE I LOVED THE FACT THAT I MADE THE LADIES FEEL GOOD ABOUT BEING PREGNANT AND SHOWING THEM DIFFERENT STYLES WHILE CARRYING A BABY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow enviroment and work alot alone
Store Manager (Former Employee), Springfield, PANovember 15, 2013
Pros: great pay. meet new people
Cons: rare to get a break. slow work enviroment
I've learned alot about new and old maternity products. Hardest part was being alone for 8 hours and having to run quickly to the bathroom. Most enjoyable part was when the mothers had the babies and would bring them in to show me.

1 2 3 4 5

About Motherhood Maternity

The destination for moms-to-be may be a store operated by Destination Maternity, a designer and seller of  mid-priced to high-end – Read more

Motherhood Maternity Photos