Find companies:
Motel 6 / Studio 6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
398 reviews

Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaning, cleaning, cleaning!
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Huntsville, ONJuly 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long hours, repetitive.
Everyday is the same. Clock in, stock cart, start cleaning rooms, and then clean your cart and take garbage out, then clock out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONJune 26, 2014
Pros: nice co workers and manager
Cons: cleaning washrooms and night shifts
checking guests in and out
handling complaints and inquiries
doing laundry
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and got really good experience
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee), Burlington, ONMay 27, 2014
Pros: employees appreciation
Cons: different types of customers
- Answer phone calls and make reservations, check-in guest, ensure balance all the payments at the end of the shift, may be have to do extra shifts (16 hours altogether), deal with companies for the direct billing, enquiries and problems, deal customers problems or complains, sometimes have to call police officers for guest safety.
- Deal with housekeepers – more... - know how to deal or behave with co-workers. improved really good customer service, can any type of situations
- Really great management, very flexible
- co-workers - sometimes hard to deal with housekeepers
- i did not find anything hardest part
- morning shift is really enjoyable part of this job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy customer service environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Medicine Hat, ABNovember 18, 2013
Pros: fun environment, benifits, stability
Cons: long hours
Answer phone and communicate with people all day. As I was the Assistant manager I provided staff with goals and leadership.

Assisted with scheduling, hiring new staff and training new staff.

Hardest part of position was dealing with upset customers. On the other hand seeing happy customers made up for the very few bad times.

Absolutely loved everyone – more... I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place
Room Attendant (Former Employee), Brampton, ONSeptember 17, 2013
Fast pace environment really taught me how to work under a fast pace workplace and it allowed me to challenge myself to see how well I could work under a certain amount of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience with lovely co-workers
housekeeper (Former Employee), Brandon, MBJuly 3, 2013
Pros: totally a hour resting time, it seperates three times evenly.
Cons: long hours
It was a full time job, and I worked 8 hours everyday. It requires lots of human labours. I learned how to make my daily life time better, because I spent most time with my job. The hardest part always are lots of check out rooms, but I enjoy to work with my co-workers, I'm the youngest when I was there, they taught me a lot, and sometimes if we have – more... lots of rooms, we helped each other. It's a good experience – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work..
House Keeping & Laundry Attendant (Former Employee), Brampton, ONFebruary 22, 2013
Pros: great staff to work with..
Cons: disagreeable customers..
Peaceful work environment, great staff to work with. I have learnt to be efficient in all areas of this establishment and to represent my work effectively and responsibly. Management sets proper guidelines for workers to follow in order to work efficiently and to accomodate satisfied customers. No part of any job is hard if you apply yourself with knowledge, – more... common-sense and hard work. The best part of the day is to have the work completed in a satisfactory manner pleasing to the clients, management and myself... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Whitby, ONSeptember 21, 2012
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: very long hours and no appreciation
Our day at work consisted of cleaning motel rooms. We worked very hard and did our job to the best of our ability. We were never appreciated for our hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's employment
Guest Services Representative (Current Employee), VADecember 16, 2014
Pros: i have employment
Cons: no lunch break, little to no wage increase
I enjoy the people I work with not so much the job. Its kinda of a let down to see how much people try to scam you to save a couple of dollars. Constantly understaffed, under prepared. Never received an employee handbook so wasn't clear on what my actual duties were, but gm said its what ever he tells us to do. Because Housekeeping continued to exceed – more... minutes per room, they had to send laundry home early and now Front desk had to do laundry on top of regular duties, and if it wasn't completed we would get written up, but housekeeping was never reprimanded for exceeding minutes per room. Motel 6 is the only place where 8 out of 10 is bad, Even though our product is cheap out dated and faulty we have to maintain a perfect score to keep our job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job for a self motivated person.
Night Auditor (Former Employee), Riverdale, UTDecember 12, 2014
I worked the audit position.

To simplify a standard day; I show up and ask the previous co-worker how their shift was and if there is any information that need to be passed on. After that I would pretty much wait until 5:00. At 5:00 I would print out my audit work and fact check/balance the days money flow. If something was wrong I would have to troubleshoot – more... to find the source of the problem and correct it if I could or forward the issue to the manager. Throughout the shift I would get around 5-15 customers looking for a room. When the next shift shows up to take over, I pass any relevant information to the co-worker and head home.

The hardest parts of the job would be dealing with a disgruntled customer, searching through the days paperwork if there is a problem and staying awake the whole shift if you're not used to working overnights.

The best part of the job is probably the downtime while you work. This job is perfect for people taking online college classes or writers and the like. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed place to work for.
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Spokane, WADecember 9, 2014
Pros: stress free
Cons: dirty dirty rooms
I was a housekeeper so I learned how to clean the guest rooms in accordance to policy. The motel was well managed with a manager who lived on property so if there was ever any issues they were always right there. It was a good team of housekeepers we all worked on are own list of rooms, but we helped each other when we would finish are list to help – more... them get theirs done. The hardest part of that job was when we had people come in and trash the room they were in. All in all I liked working there the work was stress free. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good customer service
Guest Representative / Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Vallejo, CADecember 8, 2014
Pros: good working skills
my typical day would to keep a smile on my face and show the customer that you know your job and that you show them respect. The management was great there and the coworkers were great except a couple of them.I learned that you have to make the customer happy and show them that you do care about there experience and making them know you care about them – more... getting a good experience there at your place of employment. they will return and you get them in fast check in. I have had a good and bad times there , I go in to work and i make sure the other shifts have supplies and papers they will need for the day. Also i make sure that the next shift has change, and keys so they don't have vend right out of the get on the clock . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy workplace
Receptionist (Current Employee), Lansing, ILDecember 7, 2014
Pros: college student friendly, flexible, reliable, productive
Cons: poor management
A typical day at work depends on the day of the week, Some days are busier than others. I answer telephone calls constantly, assist customers, and check in customers. There's really never a dull moment. The management is okay but could use some better communication skills. Despite the issues I'm able to fulfill my job. My co workers are great to work – more... with. The most enjoyable part of the job is making someone's day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to gain customer serivce experience.
Guest service representative (Former Employee), Vacaville, CADecember 6, 2014
dealing with rude customers with their racist comments and cursings.
being confident with the job performance I did and never hesitate in completing any job task that is given to me.
co-workers were very friendly and all were very easy going, trustable, honest and hardworking at the same time.
hardest part of this job was getting a preferred room for – more... guests and dealing with their complains.
enjoyable part - police coming in and arresting the guests due to their doings or behavior. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motel 6
Night Auditor (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKDecember 5, 2014
Posts room charges and taxes to guest accounts.Processes guest charges voucher and credit card vouchers.Posts guest charge purchase transactions not posted by the front office cashier.transfer charges and deposits to master accounts.Verifies all account postings and balances.Monitors the current status of coupon, discount, and other promotional programs.Tracks – more... room revenues, occupancy percentages, and other front office statistics.Prepares a summary of cash, check, and credit card activities.Summarizes results of operations for management.Prepare of End of day procedure.Run end of day process in property management software (PMS).Understand principles of auditing, balancing, and closing out accounts. operate PMS, typewriters, and other front office equipments.perform check-in and check-out procedures – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Desk
Guest Service Representative - Front Desk (Former Employee), Palm Desert, CADecember 4, 2014
Checked guest's in/out of rooms. Managed multi-line phone system. Processed cash and credit card payments and refunds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard worker, give 110% at all times
Manager On Duty/Guest Service Representative (Current Employee), Cheyenne, WYDecember 3, 2014
Cons: healthcare
I have worked in customer service all of my life from table buser, waitress, hostess, cook, dishwasher, town clerk/treasurer for a government entity, bar tender, serveral assistant manager jobs to hospitality work. I am very eager to learn new things and would a career change.

Typical day at work now is: greet morning customers with coffee, answer – more... phones all day long, check in and out guests throughout my shift, do the deposit, check the audit packs, check hours for everyone, daily log of rooms sold, hours worked, expenses paid out etc. Handle any and all guest comments or complaints if any. Do paperwork for all new hires or ones that are let go. The most enjoyable part of the job is the customers and book work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Front Desk Agent/GSR/Manager on Duty (Former Employee), Spring Hill, FLDecember 2, 2014
worked with a great team. It was a busy hotel, and I learned a lot about the hospitality industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Needles, CANovember 26, 2014
laundary, making beds and stripping, dusting etc. vacumeing and customer service ski;;s
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Receptionist (Former Employee), Waterloo, IANovember 25, 2014
Excellent Management and Customer Service Requirements. The staff is super friendly and the pay is excellent. Meeting new people everyday was a great thing.

1 2 3 4 5

About Motel 6 / Studio 6

Accor est l'hospitalit√©.¬†France's Accor is one of the world's leading hotel operators and the market leader in Europe. Present – Read more

Motel 6 / Studio 6 Photos