Motel 6 / Studio 6

Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Found 16 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to be Employed
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ONApril 11, 2016
The workday can differ, the AM shift sends the guests on their way and deals with any issue they might have with their bill.
PM shift is the one who check-in all the guest and take payment for the room. They also take reservations as well as the day shift.

Motel 6 Kingston is the best for work atmosphere, you treat the guest respectful and they in turn respect you for the most part. The manager at this location sticks by his employees decisions, yet makes sure the guest are always satisfied. The manager at this location is a pleasure to work for and it makes all the employees happy to come to work.

The hardest part of the job is working alone, on a busy night and having no back-up! Its close to the highway so its hard to predict a busy night. There can be 12 c/i when you go on the shift and at 7pm have the hotel full....But its a great place to work, management means everything
Pros
Manager, location
Cons
Working alone when it is unexpectedly busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life school
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Moosomin, SKMay 16, 2016
we always its good to work on cruise ship but no one realize how hard is it, Its life school where you travel the world meet people learn working under big stress, and lots more
its fun
its safe
good money
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start up place
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Moosomin, SKMay 13, 2016
Its fun you learn all departments at once,
marketing tools very sharpening here
you learn make your decisions on your own
its like all jobs in one room
Pros
not much
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Laternal Learning
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONApril 20, 2016
It's good to work in MOTEL 6 environment, while contacts with customer.

the most enjoyable part of the job is to serve the guest as a family member.
Pros
Learning Skills
Cons
Not Enough Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy customer service environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, ABNovember 18, 2013
Answer phone and communicate with people all day. As I was the Assistant manager I provided staff with goals and leadership.

Assisted with scheduling, hiring new staff and training new staff.

Hardest part of position was dealing with upset customers. On the other hand seeing happy customers made up for the very few bad times.

Absolutely loved everyone I worked with.
Pros
fun environment, benifits, stability
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaning, cleaning, cleaning!
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ONJuly 22, 2014
Everyday is the same. Clock in, stock cart, start cleaning rooms, and then clean your cart and take garbage out, then clock out.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
long hours, repetitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Studio 6
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONAugust 25, 2015
Studio 6 was an interesting place to work. For the two months I worked there I was 18 at the time, during the day I did not receive a walkie-talkie for safety purposes to keep in contact with other team members. There was also no cameras within the halls or any entrances other than the front entrance which made me feel a little uncomfortable. The staff was great. They were always there to help if you needed some. Every month they would have a staff meeting with one of the people from head office and we would sit down with tea and muffins and discuss issues or upcoming goals.
Pros
great stafff, great hours
Cons
Unsafe enviroment at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviornment
Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ONOctober 24, 2015
management and staff are very friendly. more like family. very positive atomsphere. everyone is very flexible with the work schedule. housekeepers are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and got really good experience
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ONMay 27, 2014
- Answer phone calls and make reservations, check-in guest, ensure balance all the payments at the end of the shift, may be have to do extra shifts (16 hours altogether), deal with companies for the direct billing, enquiries and problems, deal customers problems or complains, sometimes have to call police officers for guest safety.
- Deal with housekeepers - know how to deal or behave with co-workers. improved really good customer service, can any type of situations
- Really great management, very flexible
- co-workers - sometimes hard to deal with housekeepers
- i did not find anything hardest part
- morning shift is really enjoyable part of this job
Pros
employees appreciation
Cons
different types of customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience with lovely co-workers
housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MBJuly 3, 2013
It was a full time job, and I worked 8 hours everyday. It requires lots of human labours. I learned how to make my daily life time better, because I spent most time with my job. The hardest part always are lots of check out rooms, but I enjoy to work with my co-workers, I'm the youngest when I was there, they taught me a lot, and sometimes if we have lots of rooms, we helped each other. It's a good experience
Pros
totally a hour resting time, it seperates three times evenly.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work..
House Keeping & Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONFebruary 22, 2013
Peaceful work environment, great staff to work with. I have learnt to be efficient in all areas of this establishment and to represent my work effectively and responsibly. Management sets proper guidelines for workers to follow in order to work efficiently and to accomodate satisfied customers. No part of any job is hard if you apply yourself with knowledge, common-sense and hard work. The best part of the day is to have the work completed in a satisfactory manner pleasing to the clients, management and myself...
Pros
great staff to work with..
Cons
disagreeable customers..
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ONSeptember 21, 2012
Our day at work consisted of cleaning motel rooms. We worked very hard and did our job to the best of our ability. We were never appreciated for our hard work.
Pros
great co-workers
Cons
very long hours and no appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Front Desk/Night Auditor (Current Employee) –  Claresholm, ABFebruary 15, 2015
The motel 6 in claresholm would be a great place to work if different people owned it the was a different manager and if there wasn't a drunk and a druggie working there
Pros
ample time to get your stuff done
Cons
hours will get cut for no reason, and they will hire someone else to take your job
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONSeptember 17, 2013
Fast pace environment really taught me how to work under a fast pace workplace and it allowed me to challenge myself to see how well I could work under a certain amount of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ONJune 26, 2014
checking guests in and out
handling complaints and inquiries
doing laundry
Pros
nice co workers and manager
Cons
cleaning washrooms and night shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

See more Motel 6 / Studio 6 reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 676 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3