Find companies:
Mortenson Construction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Mortenson Construction Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative
Assistant/ Project Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Elk Grove Village, ILJuly 23, 2014
Pros: strong company
Cons: no advancement
Strong company to work for. Learned all construction fundamentals and working with a diverse group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretest planning, safety summary, preparing workers with tool set, layout and logistics.
Foreman/Mech/tension/torque (Former Employee), Bracketville, TexasJune 29, 2014
changes were often but managable due to new truss and layout design. Managment often difficult due to workers new enviroment never working construction or mechanical systems. Workers were quick to adapt to changing methods, cordinating between engineering, management/safety., diffulcult at times, most enjoyable part of job, completing task, working – more... with good people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Interesting Workplace
General Labor (Former Employee), Bracketville, TxJune 24, 2014
Communicating with Supervisors, Peers, or Subordinates, Performing General Physical Activities, Handling and Moving Objects, Inspecting Equipment, Structures, or Material, Getting Information, Operating Vehicles, Mechanized Devices, or Equipment, Monitor Processes, Materials, or Surroundings, Making Decisions and Solving Problems, Controlling Machines – more... and Processes, Identifying Objects, Actions, and Events – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Way too much favoritism and politics
Superintendent (Former Employee), Phoenix, ArizonaFebruary 26, 2014
Cons: bad management and job selection left us out of work
Five years and it all ended with a grudge match between the PM and superintendent.... The superintendent was laid off after completing two $100,000+ projects and a $22 million municipal project.

Don't waste your time with a company that will cut you off just months before your vesting in the Pension fund and hours after you brought another project – more... in on time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked there for years
Accounting & Payroll Clerk (Former Employee), Golden Valley, MNDecember 16, 2013
Accounts Payable and Accounts Receivable
Reconciling bank statements
Month end closings
Payroll
W-9
Assistant to Controller
Responsible for project completion with approved budget and time frame
Assures established goals and objectives are being met on assigned projects
Human Resources
Develop and maintain successful client relations
Taxes- 941, 940, – more... Quarterly, Sales, withholding, MN Levy, MN Unemployment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company. Management is hit and miss
Equipment operator (Current Employee), Mojave, CAOctober 19, 2013
Pros: good pay. good safety culture
Cons: poor management
Overall Good. No future unless you want to travel. Hard working people in the feild.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working together to finish a project at a deadline
wind tech (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXJuly 22, 2013
After a long day of work erecting two towers my coworker informed me that our Forman needed for us to do another tower because we had three winded out days. So we were behind on schedule. We had never done three towers in one day and I was very tired and hungry. It so happened that my lovely wife send me a wonderful picture of my steak waiting for me – more... and on the table. I showed that picture to my coworker and said if we work harder together to finish this project we can both eat & relax. I then knew I had to push myself to get home. Deep down I really didn't think I could do it but we successfully finished. I learned that when you think something is in possible if you work hard it possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Applications Services Analyst (Former Employee), MinApril 3, 2013
Pros: long breaks, benefits, work from home
* Sign into Virtualized PC environment
* Work on Service Now tickets
* Build and code Applications into ServiceNow ERP system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy commerical and industrial construction
Project Superintendent (Former Employee), St. Paul , MNMarch 14, 2013
Pros: to build and see the end results fair beyond my time
Cons: never enough time to have with family
Plan work schedule , work with designers , architects, engineers , owners, vendors, and sub contracting firms and self preformed work from our own employees. I have been able to see consturction changes in equipment and forming systems to medical equipment and heavy industrial machinery installation.
My role has been to manage by mentoring, problem – more... solving, with ahead of schedule turn overs to owners.
I enjoy spending time with my co-workers and having constant communication with them on the job , through being vary open to others options and ideas.
Never being home.
Creating new buildings and projects safely , meeting new people , over coming obsticles in design and unknown conditions – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Pay
FOREMAN NACELL/HUB/BLADE PREPERATION, MOJAVE (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJanuary 26, 2013
Was employed in there wind division. Work was good when they had jobs going. But there was no room for movement to other divisions when wind work was slow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company good pay
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee), enid,okJanuary 10, 2013
good people to work with on the crews. management is ok but still needs some work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs I ever had
Estimator II (Former Employee), Chandler, AZOctober 18, 2012
Pros: healthcare, paid time off, great ethics and employee
Cons: lack of work due to economy
Mortenson Phoenix office is fun place to work, great ethics and employees, good working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome company to work for.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Hawkeye,IAOctober 12, 2012
A company with great ethics and employees. I would recommend anyone working for this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone works very hard but the company has a great ethic
Marketing Coordinator (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 27, 2012
Can be very tenure based - as in, the rules are different for those with tenure than others. Eventually, this will get them into trrouble.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company!
Construction Administration Assistant (Former Employee), Greeley CoAugust 1, 2012
Pros: everything
Cons: animosity in mgmt
One of the best jobs I ever had! They are accepting of who you are. Great hours and great pay. Everyone is pretty nice and lots of excitement!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, communication, leadership, and incentives/compensation.
Employee (Current Employee), BellevueMay 28, 2012
Cons: healthcare, leadership, communication, compensation, bonuses, hours, etc.
Mortenson's Seattle Operating Group has been a huge disappointment. The leadership team expects a whole lot with little or no recognition. They preach work/life balance and the "work hard, play hard" atmosphere. This could not be further from the truth. You are considered lazy and worthless if you work less than 12 hours a day. Mortenson also has a – more... terrible reputation among sub-contractors. Lastly, they recently restructured their insurance (which used to be the only positive). They went to a high deductible program. With the already low salaries they offer, this insurance has effective my family drastically. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and grow as a professional
Carpenter Foreman (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 12, 2012
Pros: work environment, friendly people and exciting projects.
Cons: lack of work due to economy.
It was great to work in some of the most exciting projects in Arizona. Mortenson provided the training and support for me to be better employee and professional.

About Mortenson Construction

M. A. Mortenson Company leaves its footprints all over the country. The general contractor performs construction, development, – Read more