Find companies:
Morneau Shepell
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
43 reviews

Morneau Shepell Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much OT
Mid management role (Former Employee), Don MillsFebruary 22, 2013
Pros: good location
Cons: long hours with no pay
Nice offices, nice location, there is flexibility in your work day but there is an expectation to work overtime, a lot of overtime, for which you are not paid. Senior management makes commitments to clients with no thought as to how it will be accomplished and it is left to the staff to get it done by the time they promised. I worked with a great team – more... but it was not uncommon for people to be working 60-70 hour weeks. When you break down the compensation to the hours put in it's pretty bad. – less

February 25, 2013

AGREE 100% the company loves to pile on work but do not want to compensate you for your hard work.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Work Hours
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: working overtime
Being busy on a typical day. Assisting co-workers with their heavy workload.

The hardest part of the job if working overtime.
The most enjoyable part of the job is flexible time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company to work for
Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Sydney, NSFebruary 6, 2013
managers were great and ongoing training. Loved working with the public on a daily basis and assisting my clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Environment
Manager (Former Employee), 895 Don Mills RdJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: "good people"
Cons: psychologically damaging, poor leadership
I spent three years with this company at a mid-senior level. There is a severe disconnect throughout the organization.

The culture clash between Morneau (administering pensions and benefits), and Shepell ("work/life balance" services) is astounding, but no one ever seems to acknowledge, or address the inherent differences between the two companies. – more... Yes, they are still two companies, just ask the people of Shepell-fgi.

Anything good that happens at this company is usually taken over by leadership, and they find a way to screw things up because of their petty differences and political sensitivities.

I realize this is a pretty negative review, but look up Morneau Shepell and the words they use when referring to themselves in terms of workplace mental health: "leaders", "pioneers", "part of small group of companies leading the way in Canada". i mean really, that's just too much. I can think of at least a dozen people who have suffered from psychological damage and severe depression because of this toxic environment. I know people who have been bullied and shunned by HR, I know that some bullies are still at the company, while the good people who were tormented have moved on.

Don't be fooled by the fact that this company has "good people". You find good people everywhere you go. It's the leadership you have to watch out for, and the leadership at this company stinks. – less

April 15, 2013

Yes and now 2.5 months after terminating over 70 people they have the gall to now start recruiting for these same positions. One is on Indeed.ca today for Disability Case Manager. They should be reported for unethical business practices and should be very ashamed of themselves. This will be reported to the appropriate authorities.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morneau Shepell Ltd review summary
Senior Developer (Former Employee), Markham, ONJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: work from home
Cons: everyone for himself
A typical day at work consist on average 2 teleconferencing meeting, bunch of emails needs to answer and you try to handle several projects at the same time.
What I learned is don't believe what recruiters tell you about company. Contact people, who actually did work there.
Management wants results and don't want to be involved in your problems.
Most – more... co-workers are very nice people.
The hardest part of the job is to find information you need to do your job, as there is not much time allocated to provide documentation.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when you achieve some result, despite all roadblocks. But this doesn't last long. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level job
Client Care Representative (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONDecember 17, 2012
Pros: generous social committee-lunches, events, etc + benefits from day 1 of employment.
Cons: high stress, sales/targets
Good starting point for a recent grad in the social services field. Teaches you a lot about client intake and case management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work, learned a lot from my previous Managers and colleagues. I was a good team player.
Senior Payroll Coordinator (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioOctober 15, 2012
Pros: great values, treat other as you wanted to be treated
Cons: long hrs.
It was a very busy working environment.
I learned how to administer Pension Benefits, balancing the JE
I was doing the role of team leader in the absence of the Payroll Manager.
It was a great team. we all pulled together in order to meet the payroll deadline.
Year End is usually the hardest part of the job because I had to coordinate regular payroll – more... with YE adjustment and reconciliations.
Dealing each day with the clients, employees or Partners. Be able to assist and resolve any payroll inquires. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 14, 2012
Inbound and Outbound calls to employees regarding their benefits, pension and group RSP accounts.

Assist them with online navigation to review their benefits and account and also work very closely with other departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pension
Pension (Former Employee), TorontoAugust 31, 2012
Pros: people are great, various other areas to grow
Cons: do way too much for the salary they pay, management not supportive
Worked for this company as a pension analyst and to be honest, you never do what your paid to do. They expect you to answer calls from members even though they have a call centre. They also expect you to do admin duties such as photocopying member statements, communication, etc and have you manually stuff envelopes.
Management is not very responsive – more... to employee concerns. They tend to turn their backs and pretend they're going to do something about it. They seem to be reluctant to let go of the "bad apples" and instead have the good workers leave on them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place for a hard worker
Pension Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 22, 2012
It was a fun and educational experience. Hard work is essential everywhere if you want to succeed and Morneau is no exception but the firm has a lot of enthusiasm and positive energy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
External Consultant (volunteer) (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 26, 2012
Pros: guidance
Worked (volunteer) only for 2 months. Management was very supportive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult workplace
CALL CENTER COACH (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAAugust 15, 2014
Cons: benefits, salary
Hardest part of the job is to keep up with changes in upper management. No consistency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly but frustrating
Business Operations Administrator (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAApril 22, 2014
As a customer service representative, I hoped to help people solve their insurance problems and issues. It was frustrating that the only thing I could do was take their information and pass it along. Customers were frequently displeased with the lack of response, and I was unable to push for more assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More work given than can be reasonably handled
CSR (Former Employee), Greentree, PAAugust 27, 2013
Pros: free healthcare
Cons: no advancement, rotating schedule makes it hard to plan anything outside of work (doctors appts, etc)
I was a Customer Service Representative doing medical and pension benefits for a fluctuating number of clients but the number was always 10+. The company seemed as though it was going to move it's US base to Atlanta, Ga when they opened a call center down there. A significant number of upper level client directors and processing analysts took more secure – more... employment opportunities. The company has only hired a few people here and there to replace the lost directors and analysts. As a result, an unreasonable amount of work is circulated to everyone who is left. A typical day for a CSR is answering 30-50+ phone calls, managing client email boxes (and responding to emails asap), keeping detailed notes of each call, handling emergency updates by sending password encrypted emails to carrier contacts, working to resolve ongoing issues, and keeping track of everything you do because it's very important that you be able to account for 90% of what you do all day if asked to produce such a record. It's an "everything needed to be done yesterday but don't worry you might get a $0.20cents/hour raise next year if you continue to work yourself into the dirt" kind of attitude/atmosphere and not a company I would recommend to anyone. They have promoted CSR's twice in the few years I've been there but really promotions seem to be half based on nepotism and half on talent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of training, poor management,employees and management use drugs
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 18, 2013
Pros: the office is located in a nice building
Cons: management is horrible, breaks are short sometimes cancelled, people in the office aren't friendly, favoritism shown to certain employees
This is by far one of the worse call centers I ever had the pleasure of working in, the call center manager has no benefits knowledge and is quick to tell you that "this is not his job", it is very apparent he uses drugs along with several other employees including HR. The so called training consists of a powerpoint (if your so lucky), a few handouts – more... and sitting with other employees for a few days. Benefits analysts were constantly complaining about their jobs as if they did anything to begin with. Other people in the office are not friendly and acted as if we were invading their space. If you are looking for a position where you won't be happy and will dread coming to work everyday...this company is for you...if not, don't waste your brain cells. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEWARE!
counsellor (Current Employee), could be anywhereMay 5, 2013
Pros: office space, colleagues
Cons: everything else!
Notice that any decent reviews come from entry level or people in USA. The Shepell side of the company has deteriorated beyond belief through mergers and growth outside of its original scope, leading to an ethically questionable range of services (i.e. Disability management and EAP). It only cares about the bottom line at the cost of its employees' – more... health and well-being. Agree with negative comments made in other reviews -- overworked, underpaid, undervalued. If you speak up, you are invited to look elsewhere which is to the company's benefit as Shepell replaces experienced, skilled employees with less experienced people at a lower rate of pay. The managers are brilliant spin doctors when confronted with feedback and have succeeded in preventing counsellors across the country from communicating with each other. Employees are regularly bombarded with announcements of growth, profit and efforts to engage employees while imposing increased service targets, loss of benefits and incentives formerly enjoyed and offering (maybe) insulting pay increases. (Some might receive 2%, and some go without for several years -- none of it related to performance!) Not sure where the opportunities for advancement are. Counsellors generally love what they do and are finding it increasingly difficult to provide quality service while being burned out and disregarded. Be prepared to provide counselling sessions to 7 clients in 7 hours. Morale is dead. How ironic given that EAP's focus is the health & wellbeing of employees -- just not its own! – less

May 11, 2013

You're absolutely right!!! Come follow me on Twitter and I can share my experience. The amount of abuse I dealt with is unbelievable. They don't have any loyalty to the product that they sell. This is evident is the fact that they don't take care of their own employees. Please help me to speak out against them! I am suing them because of the mistreatment I received.

July 7, 2013

Hi there, I was thinking to apply for the full time position as a client care counsellor. As this would require a relocation, I wanted to make sure that this company/role would be worth the move. After reading your review (and a few others), I am now hesitant to apply... Is there any chance that I could connect with you via email to ask a few more questions? Or anyone who has worked for this company as a counsellor? Thanks so much! Mika

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much work and no OT pay
Disability Case Manager (Former Employee), Don Mills, OnFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: telecommute
Cons: workload unreasonable
The job was tele commute which has some benefits. However; the expectations were far too much. the compensation seems great but you put in a lot of hours. The hours you work are not paid for. You need to complete the work or it could become a performance issue. Everyone is in the same boat and struggling to keep up. I have previously done this type – more... of work and never had or since then had any difficulty keeping up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product, great people
Director of Business Development, U.S. Region (Current Employee), Lafayette, CAJanuary 3, 2013
Great opportunity, bad timing for me. Not yet fully committed to U.S. Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many opportunities to grow
Processing Analyst (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PADecember 11, 2012
Pros: free parking
Cons: parkway traffic
I enjoyed working at Morneau, the people were great and there were always opportunities to grow and expand your knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly atmosphere, management easy to work for
Telephone Operator (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, Pa.August 6, 2012
Pros: gives you a better understanding of medical benefits.
Cons: not enough work hours
* A typical day at work is answering calls from insured customers wanting to know more about thier benefits.

* Learned how to understand medical and dental benefits not just for our clients but for myself also.

* Management and and co-workers were excellent, everyone got along and helped each other.

* The hardest part of the job was learning the – more... different types of benefit coverage.

* The most enjoyable part of the job was help others understand thier medical benefits and getting them enrolled into a plan that met thier needs. – less

About Morneau Shepell

Morneau Shepell helps organizations reduce costs and improve their competitive positions by supporting the financial security – Read more