Find companies:
Morgan Stanley
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
741 reviews

Morgan Stanley Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold and cut throat environment
Financial Advisor Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 7, 2014
Revolving door of FAAs made it hard to get traction.
They are only looking for money gatherers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting industry to work in...
Operations Manager/ Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAOctober 6, 2014
Pros: very exciting industry!!!!
Cons: very corporate and some limitations to growth.
I initially worked as a sales assistant to stockbrokers and later was offered a management position to oversee the operations at a local office. I learned a great amount and enjoyed learning about an industry directly involved in the economy. Aside from running an office, I embraced the product knowledge provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confidential
Associate/Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 6, 2014
Morgan Stanley was an enjoyable place to work.

I agreed to not discuss details of working at Morgan Stanley and am not including any details of working at Morgan Stanley.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good professional environment
Technical Lead (Current Employee), New YorkOctober 6, 2014
I have enjoyed working at Morgan Stanley. I have made personal and professional growth in tenure with Morgan Stanley.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good employer
Office Secretary (Former Employee), Москва, CENOctober 6, 2014
Being my first job it was overwhelming and rewarding, as a sign of the things to come. Highly grateful to get hired at Carlyle as a Receptionist, you show your stamina and great performance and they will reward and support you accordingly. Amazing how many extra things one could learn, where there is a will there is a way!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers are friendly and helpful
Computer Technician (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 4, 2014
Pros: sometimes the free lunch
Cons: short breaks
I enjoy providing excellent services to the clients who depend on accurate and efficient quality work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place. no team work no management that actually works !
Consultant then permanent (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJ then 1 NY PlazaOctober 3, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: everything
This was THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER WORKED AT. No team work. You are on your own and no one cares. First in last out on a daily basis. Management is horrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Intern (Investment Banking Division) (Former Employee), 11October 3, 2014
Meals and transportation covered; may not pay much but the experience and knowledge is priceless
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable learning experience in a corporate office
Intern (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAOctober 1, 2014
Completed individual and team projects based on client and business development. Learned new aspects of the financial industry everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morgan stanley is super place to work.
AVP (Senior Manager) (Current Employee), MumbaiSeptember 29, 2014
The best part of MS is it supports and adapts latested technologies. and you get chance to work on them.

Team hirarchy is hoirizontal. So its awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to intern
Intern (Former Employee), Towson, MDSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: learned a lot
Cons: did not hire interns
Mostly sent out invitations, sat in conference call and learned ins and outs of the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLSeptember 24, 2014
Morgan Stanley is an American multinational financial services corporation headquartered in the Morgan Stanley Building, Midtown Manhattan, New York City. The main areas of business for the firm today are Global Wealth Management, Institutional Securities, and Investment Management.
I was a part of Morgan Stanley Investment banking- Tax payments and – more... breakdowns. I was involved in integration of Capital Gain Tax Module to the existing CMS application for calculating and deducting Capital Gain Tax amount of the client as result of the profit earned from sale of stocks, bonds, precious metals and property. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as a contractor from 2010 thru 2012. I was part of the 24 x 7 on-call support team.
DB2/z Engineer and Systems Programmer for z/OS (Former Employee), Princeton Junction, NJSeptember 23, 2014
I provided on-site DB2 systems programming for z/OS support. DB2 v9 & v10 - Data Sharing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Global Wealth Management Intern (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 23, 2014
Hard working
great co workers
great working environment
positive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Vice President, Annuity (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 23, 2014
Great place to work. They have a great work life balance and know how to treat employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Portfolio Manager (Former Employee), London, ENGSeptember 23, 2014
Productive workplace, excellent staff and colleagues. Great offices
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ELFMS
Net Developer (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 22, 2014
Educational Loan Financial Management System (ELFMS) provides operational and decision-making support to the asset side of balance sheet for bank. The scope of the project is to design a web application to handle lifecycle of Educational loan post origination until termination. This project is web base application for loan applying and re-payment of – more... customers and supports evaluation, verification and reporting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient and enjoyable place to work.
Financial Control Group Manager (Current Employee), West Conshohocken, PASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: team atmosphere, great corporate culture, phenomenal work / life balance
Cons: nothing major.
Working at Morgan Stanley has been a great experience. I would suggest others to take an offer from Morgan Stanley if one is presented. One of the great things about Morgan Stanley is the flexibility. There is no such thing as a set schedule. Most deadlines are spread out over the course of a set period and individuals have ample time to complete the – more... tasks at hand as long as you are disciplined enough to self manager yourself. The management teams are extremely knowledgeable and always willing to lend a hand when needed. I have learned so much in my time with the firm from an accounting and financial perspective, but also from a professional viewpoint. I have learned how to take a step back and look at a process to be able to look for was to enhance how things are done today. Over the course of my career here, I have learned many essential skills that one would need to advance my career. I have been involved with client invoicing and understanding all the business impact for different products and lines of businesses. I have been exposed to the expenses paid to internal and external parties that market our funds to investors. I have become an important part to our teams that generate our forecasts for the future and profitability of our products and services because I now understand how the revenues are offset by our expenses to determine what the firm is actually earning from one product to the next. The hardest part of the job is understanding who provides all the information we use to complete our responsibilities. There are a number of teams such as client services, operational services, product management, transfer agencies, and fund accounts where we need to obtain information. Once one understand where all the information is derived, it makes it easier to understand how all the pieces make up the entire picture of what is done in Morgan Stanley finance. Lastly, the most enjoyable part of the job is that there is always more that can be learned. I recently was involved in a project to relocate one of our process centers from one office to another. No staff was retained from the prior team, but all team members involved have been trained and brought up on how we at Morgan Stanley handle things and it has forced me to be more of a leader. It is great to feel that sense of accomplishment that you were essential to such a major transition. I have enjoyed my time with Morgan Stanley and would suggest a career with Morgan Stanley to anyone interested. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a progressive environment to work in
IT Systems Engineer (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: we are all contractors
The Group I work with are very supportive. If there are somethings that are giving you issues to fix they all do there best to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Project Analyst-Equinox (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 17, 2014
Review of existing files and tape data for purchase of loans.

About Morgan Stanley

One of the world's top investment banks, Morgan Stanley serves up a smorgasbord of financial services. The company operates in three primary – Read more

Morgan Stanley Photos