Find companies:
Morgan Stanley
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
702 reviews

Morgan Stanley Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Project Analyst-Equinox (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 17, 2014
Review of existing files and tape data for purchase of loans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Intern Position
Intern (Former Employee), BreaSeptember 17, 2014
I worked with a financial adviser with clients and did data entry work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Work environment
Registered Client Services Associate (Former Employee), New Brunswick, NJSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: friendly office
Cons: short or no breaks
A career development experience that I can use for a career at another firm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
QA Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 15, 2014
Great experience working in such a big crowd. Enjoyed a whole lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chalanging and dynamic
Analyst (Former Employee), Glasgow, SCTSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: challenging, great improvement and study perspective, great facilities and working environment
My typical day at work would start at 8.30. Every morning I organised my workplace, open the computer systems that were needed, process the spreadsheets that represented my workload for the day. Then I would go through my emails that I received overnight from the Americas and East Asia and sort them out by their urgency.By 10.30 I had to be ready for – more... the team meeting where all the team members reported the situation with the outstanding cases to the manager ask for help or offer advise. After the meeting I would start solving the outstanding and urgent cases, the new cases were less important for the moment so I used to work on them later in the afternoon. During the day I used to receive emails and calls from inside the company and from our customers with a wide array of issues that had to be solved. My main function was to make sure that a deal that was between the company is the same as clients information and in case of discrepancies I had to solve them.
Another important aspect of the job was the continuous training in regards to the financial products that we were working with.
And finally every employee had to be part of different project groups that were dealing with problems like process improvement and teaching improvements, I was part of 3 projects that one of them I initiated and I take great pride in it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working at MS
Branch manager, Senior Vice president (Former Employee), Los Angeles areaSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: money, flexibility
Cons: senior management can put undue pressure on you
If you do your job as a manager you make tons of money, even a lackey can make money if they meet their goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work environment
Client Service Associate (Former Employee), Springfield, MASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: convenient location
Cons: parking not paid for
Company provided a great learning environment. Enjoyed working with both co-workers and clients. If the Financial Adviser I worked with had not moved to Florida, I would still be with Morgan Stanley.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in MS campus outside of NYC
Associate (Former Employee), Purchase, NYSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: brand name
Cons: terrible location, no teamwork, some bad managers
The area which I worked was growing too fast and the team in place was not experienced enough to handle it. MS gave away the house and promised everything to their clients without realizing that the firm couldn't live up to that promise. People WILL stab you in the back with you in the room...happened too many times to me. If you have no conscience – more... or morals, MS is for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing firm to work for.
Business Management Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 7, 2014
I learned a great deal very very quickly.

By far, some of the smartest and most enjoyable people I have ever worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Associate Portfolio Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 6, 2014
The gym is great! Hardest part is the commute. Great employee networks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHSeptember 5, 2014
Typical work day was cold calling setting appointments. Management helpful hands on daily basis.Co-workers and Senior advisers all very helpful. Great Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for those interested in a career in finance.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: health/dental benefits and work-life balance etc.
Cons: long hours
I learned a great deal and worked with a diverse set of individuals. Answering calls and heavy calendaring was a typical day. Compensation could have been better. A lack of decent raises over the past few years was due to the economic downturn as was the case with similar companies in the industry. The company encourages you to incorporate challenges – more... in your career. Overall the work-life balance and benefits was excellent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment, very professional
Senior Vice President/Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Miami, FlSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: being able to customize a portfolio to meet the client's goals long term
Cons: market volatility
Be on top of the news in the different stock markets. Day to day broker transactions, customer relations and care. Meeting clients to review their portfolios and investments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hiring and therefore skills but poor IT culture - it's a bank!
Equity Derivatives Project Manager (Former Employee), Hong Kong, HKISeptember 4, 2014
Pros: interesting technical work and business
Cons: difficult co-workers
A great bunch of developers and excellent technical knowledge right up the chain of command. But seemingly no interest in management and no expectation of this within the company culture. This is where investment banking doesn't work with IT. There's too much competition and this precludes team work.
Still, the technology is interesting and so is the – more... business - the frustration is in getting anything really done. It's as if you have to fool the system in order to do so.
I learned a huge amount about structured products and the business rationale for trading them. Improved my knowledge of market risk management. Learned a fair bit of accounting. Learned a number of areas of regulatory aspects to trading.
Generally co-workers were smart and skilled, but competition led some to be difficult to work with - and that was the hardest part of the job.
Getting into technical and business detail on complex products was fascinating and where the different participants could lose themselves in the job and thereby let go of their career anxieties. The result was enjoyable work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New York mentality
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Carmel, INSeptember 3, 2014
Work with clients on the phone. Management is only interested in their own advancement. Some good co-workers. Dealing with the back office. Dealing with good clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive workplace
Senior Account Representative (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: free lunch, monthly bonus
Cons: healthcare
Senior Account Rep Hours: 8:30 - 5:30 M-F
Mortgage Servicing
Management: Theory Y
Co-workers: Enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont waste your time
Senior Service Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 29, 2014
Pros: nothing at all
Cons: managers suck, people don't want to follow rules
This company does not care about their long standing employees!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
Report Developer (Current Employee), PuneAugust 27, 2014
good place to work but low salary. Timilng is good and management is helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment.
Client Service Associate (Former Employee), Brickell Ave. Miami , FLAugust 25, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits, holiday parties and thanksgiving lunchon.
Helped clients and financial advisors resolving issues. It was a great challenge and experience working in this company as well as learned how to manage multitask in a time sensitive situation. The management and co-workers were very cooperative and friendly. The hardest part of the job was when I had to leave the company. The most enjoyable part of – more... the job was when I could provide clients and financial advisors with my help and when issues got resolved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers. Tough Job
Financial Advisor, Financial Planning Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 21, 2014
For me its hard to succeed on a commission based job. These days its very difficult to make contacts with all the restrictions on cold calling.

About Morgan Stanley

One of the world's top investment banks, Morgan Stanley serves up a smorgasbord of financial services. The company operates in three primary – Read more

Morgan Stanley Photos