Find companies:
Morgan Stanley
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
668 reviews

Morgan Stanley Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Director - Operations Risk and Control (Current Employee), Glasgow, ONAugust 31, 2014
Pros: excellent mobility opportunities, good benefit package.
Cons: less focus given to achieving a good work-life balance.
I have worked for Morgan Stanley for almost 11 years and have been given many opportunities to advance my career through the excellent mobility opportunities that they offer. I have had the unique opportunity to not only work across divisions but also across regional jurisdictions. I was given the opportunity to work in the New York head office for – more... 13 months which allowed me to advance my skill set and experience a new city and culture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day work
IT Consultant (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJune 11, 2014
I monitored alerts through netcool monitoring systems. I created and run autosys job scheduler. I also created and run different shell scripts in UNIX/LINUX environment. I also queried in MySQL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits and salary aren't great
Senior Developer (Current Employee), Montreal, QCApril 23, 2014
Pros: work from home, 6% rrsp matching
Cons: salary, perks
Not very trendy with latest technologies. Lots of in-house proprietary software no one else uses in industry, lots of obsolete software to maintain.
Company still requires a dress code even for IT office.
Benefits and perks are behind compared to other tech companies in Montreal.
What's good?
Great co-workers, lots of smart and enjoyable people, employees – more... are very diverse and multi-cultural. Opportunity to travel and work with co-works across globe. Good for people to start their career and peak at the world beyond the province. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Consultant (Former Employee), Montréal, QCNovember 14, 2013
Pros: nice place
Its a productive and fun place to work. A typical day starts from 9 to 6pm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer experience
Volunteer Software Developer (Former Employee), Montréal, QCMay 7, 2013
Morgan Stanley has a multitude of experience programmers at it hands. The projects we were tasked with was ambitious but achievable. They provided excellent guidance and theoretical training and were always available for questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot to learn
Senior Business Manager (contract) (Current Employee), Montreal, QCApril 7, 2013
Pros: there is so much to learn, its teaching me how to handle two tasks that are completely different, its teaching me how to switch back and forth while paying attention to detail in each task at hand
Cons: i can't find any. the hours are long but its very fulfilling
I am an integral part of the team where formally I am the lead in the Capital Management space where I perform all the functions that I have described in the resume. However, on the side I am also involved in the Resource Management space where I assist my colleague with auditing any new consultants that have been hired in the wrong bracket based on – more... the new governance that is being developed and implemented in house. Moreover, we also raise tickets and approve tickets for new resources - only consultants - once we have completed our due diligence. On the other hand, I speak with the foreign exchange desk and the Treasury department for questions relating to foreign exchange risk if there is a project that will heavily invest in a currency other than US dollars and to see if we are able to minimize the risk in case the dollar drops in relation to the other currency in question. I also socialize ideas on Business Management calls and seek feedback on pain points regarding getting projects approved. I work with teams that are looking to raise new spend requests and explain to them the workflow involved in getting an approval and why their spend request has been sent back. Moreover, I am also putting all best practices, documents that I have created on SharePoint and am currently in the process of putting the the approval process for both the Capital Management space and Resource Management space so we can get all approvals at a central place while eliminating the need for sending emails back and forth and giving full transparency to all stake holders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Very Productive Environment
Infrastructure Engineer (Former Employee), Montreal QCJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: work from home
Cons: slow moving company
Lots of politics, Very good Co-workers, Management kinda sucks, Not very trendy with technologies
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Intern Position
Intern (Former Employee), BreaSeptember 17, 2014
I worked with a financial adviser with clients and did data entry work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Work environment
Registered Client Services Associate (Former Employee), New Brunswick, NJSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: friendly office
Cons: short or no breaks
A career development experience that I can use for a career at another firm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
QA Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 15, 2014
Great experience working in such a big crowd. Enjoyed a whole lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chalanging and dynamic
Analyst (Former Employee), Glasgow, SCTSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: challenging, great improvement and study perspective, great facilities and working environment
My typical day at work would start at 8.30. Every morning I organised my workplace, open the computer systems that were needed, process the spreadsheets that represented my workload for the day. Then I would go through my emails that I received overnight from the Americas and East Asia and sort them out by their urgency.By 10.30 I had to be ready for – more... the team meeting where all the team members reported the situation with the outstanding cases to the manager ask for help or offer advise. After the meeting I would start solving the outstanding and urgent cases, the new cases were less important for the moment so I used to work on them later in the afternoon. During the day I used to receive emails and calls from inside the company and from our customers with a wide array of issues that had to be solved. My main function was to make sure that a deal that was between the company is the same as clients information and in case of discrepancies I had to solve them.
Another important aspect of the job was the continuous training in regards to the financial products that we were working with.
And finally every employee had to be part of different project groups that were dealing with problems like process improvement and teaching improvements, I was part of 3 projects that one of them I initiated and I take great pride in it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working at MS
Branch manager, Senior Vice president (Former Employee), Los Angeles areaSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: money, flexibility
Cons: senior management can put undue pressure on you
If you do your job as a manager you make tons of money, even a lackey can make money if they meet their goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work environment
Client Service Associate (Former Employee), Springfield, MASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: convenient location
Cons: parking not paid for
Company provided a great learning environment. Enjoyed working with both co-workers and clients. If the Financial Adviser I worked with had not moved to Florida, I would still be with Morgan Stanley.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in MS campus outside of NYC
Associate (Former Employee), Purchase, NYSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: brand name
Cons: terrible location, no teamwork, some bad managers
The area which I worked was growing too fast and the team in place was not experienced enough to handle it. MS gave away the house and promised everything to their clients without realizing that the firm couldn't live up to that promise. People WILL stab you in the back with you in the room...happened too many times to me. If you have no conscience – more... or morals, MS is for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing firm to work for.
Business Management Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 7, 2014
I learned a great deal very very quickly.

By far, some of the smartest and most enjoyable people I have ever worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Associate Portfolio Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 6, 2014
The gym is great! Hardest part is the commute. Great employee networks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHSeptember 5, 2014
Typical work day was cold calling setting appointments. Management helpful hands on daily basis.Co-workers and Senior advisers all very helpful. Great Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for those interested in a career in finance.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: health/dental benefits and work-life balance etc.
Cons: long hours
I learned a great deal and worked with a diverse set of individuals. Answering calls and heavy calendaring was a typical day. Compensation could have been better. A lack of decent raises over the past few years was due to the economic downturn as was the case with similar companies in the industry. The company encourages you to incorporate challenges – more... in your career. Overall the work-life balance and benefits was excellent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment, very professional
Senior Vice President/Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Miami, FlSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: being able to customize a portfolio to meet the client's goals long term
Cons: market volatility
Be on top of the news in the different stock markets. Day to day broker transactions, customer relations and care. Meeting clients to review their portfolios and investments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hiring and therefore skills but poor IT culture - it's a bank!
Equity Derivatives Project Manager (Former Employee), Hong Kong, HKISeptember 4, 2014
Pros: interesting technical work and business
Cons: difficult co-workers
A great bunch of developers and excellent technical knowledge right up the chain of command. But seemingly no interest in management and no expectation of this within the company culture. This is where investment banking doesn't work with IT. There's too much competition and this precludes team work.
Still, the technology is interesting and so is the – more... business - the frustration is in getting anything really done. It's as if you have to fool the system in order to do so.
I learned a huge amount about structured products and the business rationale for trading them. Improved my knowledge of market risk management. Learned a fair bit of accounting. Learned a number of areas of regulatory aspects to trading.
Generally co-workers were smart and skilled, but competition led some to be difficult to work with - and that was the hardest part of the job.
Getting into technical and business detail on complex products was fascinating and where the different participants could lose themselves in the job and thereby let go of their career anxieties. The result was enjoyable work. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Morgan Stanley

One of the world's top investment banks, Morgan Stanley serves up a smorgasbord of financial services. The company operates in three primary – Read more

Morgan Stanley Photos