Find companies:
Morgan Stanley
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
741 reviews

Morgan Stanley Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Director - Operations Risk and Control (Current Employee), Glasgow, ONAugust 31, 2014
Pros: excellent mobility opportunities, good benefit package.
Cons: less focus given to achieving a good work-life balance.
I have worked for Morgan Stanley for almost 11 years and have been given many opportunities to advance my career through the excellent mobility opportunities that they offer. I have had the unique opportunity to not only work across divisions but also across regional jurisdictions. I was given the opportunity to work in the New York head office for – more... 13 months which allowed me to advance my skill set and experience a new city and culture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day work
IT Consultant (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJune 11, 2014
I monitored alerts through netcool monitoring systems. I created and run autosys job scheduler. I also created and run different shell scripts in UNIX/LINUX environment. I also queried in MySQL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits and salary aren't great
Senior Developer (Current Employee), Montreal, QCApril 23, 2014
Pros: work from home, 6% rrsp matching
Cons: salary, perks
Not very trendy with latest technologies. Lots of in-house proprietary software no one else uses in industry, lots of obsolete software to maintain.
Company still requires a dress code even for IT office.
Benefits and perks are behind compared to other tech companies in Montreal.
What's good?
Great co-workers, lots of smart and enjoyable people, employees – more... are very diverse and multi-cultural. Opportunity to travel and work with co-works across globe. Good for people to start their career and peak at the world beyond the province. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Consultant (Former Employee), Montréal, QCNovember 14, 2013
Pros: nice place
Its a productive and fun place to work. A typical day starts from 9 to 6pm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer experience
Volunteer Software Developer (Former Employee), Montréal, QCMay 7, 2013
Morgan Stanley has a multitude of experience programmers at it hands. The projects we were tasked with was ambitious but achievable. They provided excellent guidance and theoretical training and were always available for questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot to learn
Senior Business Manager (contract) (Current Employee), Montreal, QCApril 7, 2013
Pros: there is so much to learn, its teaching me how to handle two tasks that are completely different, its teaching me how to switch back and forth while paying attention to detail in each task at hand
Cons: i can't find any. the hours are long but its very fulfilling
I am an integral part of the team where formally I am the lead in the Capital Management space where I perform all the functions that I have described in the resume. However, on the side I am also involved in the Resource Management space where I assist my colleague with auditing any new consultants that have been hired in the wrong bracket based on – more... the new governance that is being developed and implemented in house. Moreover, we also raise tickets and approve tickets for new resources - only consultants - once we have completed our due diligence. On the other hand, I speak with the foreign exchange desk and the Treasury department for questions relating to foreign exchange risk if there is a project that will heavily invest in a currency other than US dollars and to see if we are able to minimize the risk in case the dollar drops in relation to the other currency in question. I also socialize ideas on Business Management calls and seek feedback on pain points regarding getting projects approved. I work with teams that are looking to raise new spend requests and explain to them the workflow involved in getting an approval and why their spend request has been sent back. Moreover, I am also putting all best practices, documents that I have created on SharePoint and am currently in the process of putting the the approval process for both the Capital Management space and Resource Management space so we can get all approvals at a central place while eliminating the need for sending emails back and forth and giving full transparency to all stake holders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Very Productive Environment
Infrastructure Engineer (Former Employee), Montreal QCJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: work from home
Cons: slow moving company
Lots of politics, Very good Co-workers, Management kinda sucks, Not very trendy with technologies
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, demanding company with no work/life balance
Director (Former Employee), Fells Point, MDDecember 18, 2014
A typical day for me was filled with meetings, conference calls, approving wires & journals, monitoring a staff of 9 to ensure they completed their daily tasks accurately, responding to emails and client complaints.

I learned how to be a better leader and mentor to my subordinates.

Management was unreasonable.

My co-corkers were stressed, but they – more... were great team players.

The hardest part of my job was trying to find the time to complete my required daily tasks during normal work hours.

I did not enjoy anything about working for Morgan Stanley. I developed a headache everyday when I entered the building. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive environment filled with ambitious people
Investment Banking Summer Intern (Former Employee), London,December 15, 2014
Pros: varied deals, so busy turning away clients
Great place to work if want a career in IBD. Learnt financial valuations and deal execution even in the summer which are typicaly quieter.

Lots of varied events held so met IBD interns as well as interns from across the firm. A great way to build your network. Morgan Stanley has a clear emphasis on the development of its people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To large of a company, compensation not competitive, unable to find good operational and compliance managers
Wealth Management Associate (Former Employee), Bryn Mawr PADecember 10, 2014
Pros: location, branch manager
Cons: complex management
Handled all operational work for a HNW producer and all administrative aspects.

Complex managers didn't seem to be able to high experienced, good operational and compliance managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced, intense, and rewarding work environment
Administrative Assistant, Investment Banking (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 7, 2014
Pros: benefits, diversification, motivating, and fun
Cons: time management
Morgan Stanley is a great company, filled with a diverse and cultured staff. Their room for growth and improvement was prominent, as well as an amazing work place environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet comfortable work environment
DIRECTOR OF N.A. POWER AND NATURAL GAS OPERATIONS (Current Employee), Purchase, NYDecember 5, 2014
Pros: work, life balance; mobility
There's a good sense of comraderie in this firm. There are much skills to learn from as well as be challenged with on a daily basis. Senior management is approachable and willing to provide guidance for career grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well structured, organised firm.
Programme Manager (Contract) (Current Employee), Stanley, SCTDecember 5, 2014
The firm is very well organised and has state of the art resources. The IT capabilities are also very good and provide all the tools to do the job efficiently and effectively.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Senior BPM Admin (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 4, 2014
Excellent Team and working environment.It was a great experience working in ad hoc projects and challenging tasks on day to day basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a,smhf oiweubt09w8gi
Operations - Registered Associate (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLDecember 3, 2014
•a typical day at work - 8:4:30
•what you learned - Compliance and operation procedures
•management - Branch management
•your co-workers - good people
•the hardest part of the job - no training
•the most enjoyable part of the job - co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of freedom
Financial Advisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 2, 2014
Lots of freedom.
Demands personal initiative.
Coaching available. Training ok.
Very high turnover for new FA's.
Long hours required for first 5 years while building clientele.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managers were great
CLIENT SERVICE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Mt. LaurelDecember 1, 2014
worked overtime a lot when my group moved from another company
they were very helpful getting our group what we needed
gave us a special team that helped us get organized
insurance was given at a good price
had great lunches all the time, and many difference training events
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 1, 2014
Great experience, great place to learn and grow. Challening work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good env
Technology & Communication Project - Manager (Former Employee), new yorkNovember 30, 2014
Technology & Communication Project - Manager
• Managed and administered Field services group technology
• Worked directly with Sales force developers and enhanced system according to needs
• Worked with entitlement department ensuring entire desk had proper entitlements
• Performed checkout to ensure integrity of complete environment and troubleshot – more... servers
• Worked with network groups to resolve complex connectivity issues involving multiple VLANs
• Worked directly with Avaya vendors and implemented changes to current platform
• Worked on UNIX platform to maintain and secure current infrastructure
• Worked on SQL database to input Avaya speech database
• Maintained and secured speech recognizer server and supported AVP
• Performed the Data Migration from regular desktop environment to Virtual machine – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Financial Intern
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 23, 2014
Pros: helpful people in the workplace always willing to answer your questions.
Cons: due to status as an intern, there was a limit as to how much you can contribute
As a financial intern I was able to report to professionals in the industry who have experience dealing with high net individuals. Most of the days involved building vast amounts of spreadsheets that helped communicate key metrics in terms of leverage and other classifications. An eagerness to learn is appreciated here and it leads to harder projects – more... which ultimately builds your own skills. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Morgan Stanley

One of the world's top investment banks, Morgan Stanley serves up a smorgasbord of financial services. The company operates in three primary – Read more

Morgan Stanley Photos