Find companies:
Morgan Stanley
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
729 reviews

Morgan Stanley Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Director - Operations Risk and Control (Current Employee), Glasgow, ONAugust 31, 2014
Pros: excellent mobility opportunities, good benefit package.
Cons: less focus given to achieving a good work-life balance.
I have worked for Morgan Stanley for almost 11 years and have been given many opportunities to advance my career through the excellent mobility opportunities that they offer. I have had the unique opportunity to not only work across divisions but also across regional jurisdictions. I was given the opportunity to work in the New York head office for – more... 13 months which allowed me to advance my skill set and experience a new city and culture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day work
IT Consultant (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJune 11, 2014
I monitored alerts through netcool monitoring systems. I created and run autosys job scheduler. I also created and run different shell scripts in UNIX/LINUX environment. I also queried in MySQL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits and salary aren't great
Senior Developer (Current Employee), Montreal, QCApril 23, 2014
Pros: work from home, 6% rrsp matching
Cons: salary, perks
Not very trendy with latest technologies. Lots of in-house proprietary software no one else uses in industry, lots of obsolete software to maintain.
Company still requires a dress code even for IT office.
Benefits and perks are behind compared to other tech companies in Montreal.
What's good?
Great co-workers, lots of smart and enjoyable people, employees – more... are very diverse and multi-cultural. Opportunity to travel and work with co-works across globe. Good for people to start their career and peak at the world beyond the province. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Consultant (Former Employee), Montréal, QCNovember 14, 2013
Pros: nice place
Its a productive and fun place to work. A typical day starts from 9 to 6pm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer experience
Volunteer Software Developer (Former Employee), Montréal, QCMay 7, 2013
Morgan Stanley has a multitude of experience programmers at it hands. The projects we were tasked with was ambitious but achievable. They provided excellent guidance and theoretical training and were always available for questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot to learn
Senior Business Manager (contract) (Current Employee), Montreal, QCApril 7, 2013
Pros: there is so much to learn, its teaching me how to handle two tasks that are completely different, its teaching me how to switch back and forth while paying attention to detail in each task at hand
Cons: i can't find any. the hours are long but its very fulfilling
I am an integral part of the team where formally I am the lead in the Capital Management space where I perform all the functions that I have described in the resume. However, on the side I am also involved in the Resource Management space where I assist my colleague with auditing any new consultants that have been hired in the wrong bracket based on – more... the new governance that is being developed and implemented in house. Moreover, we also raise tickets and approve tickets for new resources - only consultants - once we have completed our due diligence. On the other hand, I speak with the foreign exchange desk and the Treasury department for questions relating to foreign exchange risk if there is a project that will heavily invest in a currency other than US dollars and to see if we are able to minimize the risk in case the dollar drops in relation to the other currency in question. I also socialize ideas on Business Management calls and seek feedback on pain points regarding getting projects approved. I work with teams that are looking to raise new spend requests and explain to them the workflow involved in getting an approval and why their spend request has been sent back. Moreover, I am also putting all best practices, documents that I have created on SharePoint and am currently in the process of putting the the approval process for both the Capital Management space and Resource Management space so we can get all approvals at a central place while eliminating the need for sending emails back and forth and giving full transparency to all stake holders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Very Productive Environment
Infrastructure Engineer (Former Employee), Montreal QCJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: work from home
Cons: slow moving company
Lots of politics, Very good Co-workers, Management kinda sucks, Not very trendy with technologies
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Financial Intern
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 23, 2014
Pros: helpful people in the workplace always willing to answer your questions.
Cons: due to status as an intern, there was a limit as to how much you can contribute
As a financial intern I was able to report to professionals in the industry who have experience dealing with high net individuals. Most of the days involved building vast amounts of spreadsheets that helped communicate key metrics in terms of leverage and other classifications. An eagerness to learn is appreciated here and it leads to harder projects – more... which ultimately builds your own skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Morgan Stanley Financial Services
Joined as an Associate Fund Account (Current Employee), IndiaNovember 23, 2014
Pros: culture
Cons: compensation
At Morgan Stanley Fund Services, work culture is quite open. During my 8 years of stay I got to learn a lot of professional culture and managerial skills. I have learned a lot about financial products in this profile. Also related to Hedge fund I acquired lot of in depth knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many intelligent and hard working people
Basel III Reporting, Senior PM - Consultant (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 22, 2014
Many intelligent and hard working people working towards a common goal. Good teamwork across the board. A typical workday includes team meetings, reviews along with some time to focus on analysis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The firm has continually broken new ground in advising our clients on strategic transactions
Accounting Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 19, 2014
The firm has continually broken new ground in advising our clients on strategic transactions, in pioneering the global expansion of finance and capital markets, and in providing new opportunities for individual and institutional investors. Click below to see a timeline of Morgan Stanley's growth, which parallels the history of modern finance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vauable Training available
Corporate Finance Analyst (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDNovember 17, 2014
Great environment with training opportunity for individuals within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place for college graduate
Sourcing Analyst (Full-Time) (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 16, 2014
Pros: many versions of milk in their pantry
Morgan Stanley doesn't foster a culture of innovation. Their policies are traditional, and management is allergic to change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, friendly and fast paced environment
Receptionist (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 15, 2014
A typical day at work was getting in ahead of the crowd and beginning the tasks which were most time sensitive for that day. I enjoyed working with my co-workers. I appreciated the support and contact I had with them. The hardest part of my job was when an unplanned assignment came up and time was short. It would be then that I realized how important – more... it was to plan for the time sensitive tasks for that day. Though, the unplanned assignment was always completed and well done, it became a bigger challenge in a short time frame. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with and meeting other employees from different departments. I enjoyed learning new skills which I could incorporate into my position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work at
Jr Project Manager -PMO - Consultant (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 13, 2014
A Qualified IT graduate with comprehensive knowledge of Product lifecycles, Analysis, MS Excel, Access, Project, Crystal reports, SQL, Powerpoint,etc . I am a quick learner with excellent team work abilities and can meet tight deadlines. Possess excellent communication, interpersonal, analytical, and problem-solving and team management skills. Possess – more... excellent eye for design, creative and very eager to learn. In all my previous jobs I have worked as a Business Analyst whereby my main role was to act as a liaison between Business and technology, providing solutions to business/technology teams, reporting on the progress of the projects, escalating at risk milestones to senior management, collecting and documenting requirements for various projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy contract
Network Support Engineer (Former Employee), Stanley, SCTNovember 12, 2014
Pros: lots of hours
Cons: no time for myself
Working Day & Night Shifts, monitoring the Network for any issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work.
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Charlottesville, VANovember 10, 2014
Was only an intern there for a summer. Great location downtown, good people to work with. Highly Flexible schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QAPM Engineering Support
Quality Assurance Project management(QAPM) (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 10, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: lack of people level communication from management
Morgan Stanley is a global company. Support teams are located all over the world. The firm has created a technical infrastructure that is solely specific to their environment requiring new employees to undergo specific technical training to be functional in their technical roles. This is a good thing for in the long term for employees but for consultants – more... the time required to be functional in their jobs usually is 6 months or greater and they typically go off contract within a year or more and have not really gained transferable skills to their next assignment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed years working in one of the world's premier IT shops.
Associate (Former Employee), Oakbrook Terrace, ILNovember 7, 2014
Pros: latest technology, enthusiastic workers, good pay
Cons: burn-out is optional. not encouraged, but achievable if your'e not careful.
Morgan Stanley is the "Premier global financial services firm dedicated to being investors’ first choice," and everything about the organization reflects this ethic, and the challenges faced.

I was privileged to work for many years with the best and brightest in Information Technology, and the skills I learned allowed me to establish my own company, – more... Results Matter, Inc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment, Smart people
Senior Developer, Order Management System (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 6, 2014
Excellent environment, Smart people
-------------------------------

1 2 3 4 5

About Morgan Stanley

One of the world's top investment banks, Morgan Stanley serves up a smorgasbord of financial services. The company operates in three primary – Read more

Morgan Stanley Photos