Find companies:
Montana's Cookhouse
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

Montana's Cookhouse Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just do your time then get out, looking for a new job
Dishwasher (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaJuly 30, 2014
Pros: some decent people work there. flexible compared to other restaurants
Cons: managers, short staffed, pay sucks, and overall a useless job
I'm quitting this job soon because working here has been useless. The General Manager at my work screws around which Is fine with me because I am only there one day a week and I'm getting an education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yum
Hostess (Current Employee), Vaughan, ONMay 23, 2014
Pros: discounts, atmosphere
Cons: wage, hours
- Great food
- Energetic staff
- Fun
- Positive environment
- Good job if you enjoy interacting with people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with enjoyable customer interactions
Hostess and Server (Current Employee), Richmond hill, ONApril 21, 2014
A typical day at work consists of working with my team to ensure that customers have a great experience.

I get to meet a variety of people on the job which helps my ability to understand almost everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Line Cook (Former Employee), North York, ONApril 8, 2014
- come to work and it would be a fun energetic environment
- learned how to properly handle food and prepare meals
- management always helped me out and looked out for my success
- my co-workers also were always helping everyone out and worked together
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly, fun and relaxed place to work!
Waitress (Former Employee), Waterloo, ONApril 7, 2014
Pros: personal ability to ensure customer satisfaction
Cons: lack of hours
Working at Montanas was an excellent experience. The staff and management was fun and friendly, and I very much enjoyed going into work every day. The nature of the restaurant attracts a very diverse group of people, primarily in family groups. The opportunity to talk to and learn about so many different people is an unparalleled experience. Overall, – more... I loved my time here and only left because of school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a busy fun environment with people
Line Cook, Prep Cook (Current Employee), Calgary, ABApril 2, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: long hours with (sometimes) no breaks
A typical day at work would be changing into a uniform, washing your hands, prepping and cleaning the station you would be working at each day and immediately begin making and finishing the orders in the most efficient and orderly fashion.
What I did learn besides detailed recipes, was something that has been implemented to me by past jobs, but enforced – more... by this particular one, which was the ability to determine an efficient route to find a particular solution to a problem in a busy or rushed environment. This has led me to be a greater solution seeker and ultimately more reliable and useful.
The management is great for they always seek to help you in areas where you need assistance.
The most difficult part of the job was the highly busy and stressed-filled hours that one would have to work through, especially on the weekends.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the people that you associate with as they are focused in making a professional working environment but have the time to have fun while doing it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felt like a family
Server (Former Employee), St. John's, NLMarch 28, 2014
Working here for 5 years made my coworkers more then that. They became my best friends, some I would even consider family.
We all hung out together outside of work.
Sometimes this could lead to some tension at the workplace, but most times we knew how to separate work and personal disputes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly workplace
Expeditor/Hostess (Current Employee), Coquitlam, BCMarch 24, 2014
I've learnt a of multi tasking skills while working here. I have also learnt to deal with stressful situations in a calm manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must have teamwork for success
Line Chef (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONJanuary 10, 2014
Montana's Cookhouse typically runs on a station to station basis. By the end of my time working there I was able to run each station throughout the kitchen. During down times the main responsibilities were to keep your station stocked with fresh produce, meats or sauces, as well as keeping your work station cleaned through a list of what should be cleaned – more... for that station. During busy times, the kitchen is to work together to make sure the food comes out in an orderly fashion. If one station is less busy, normally the employees would be inclined to help them while maintaining their own station, in that the kitchen was run through team effort. The hardest part of this job was keeping up with the numbers of orders that were coming into the kitchen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, friendly atmosphere
Supervisor/Linecook (Former Employee), Red Deer ABJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: free meal after 5 hours discount at all cara restaurant
Cons: felt under appreciated for amount of effort
Check stock levels, then insure the were brought up to necessary levels for lunch rush then again for supper rush.

During rush would mainly work pivot witch involved leading the kitchen and helping communicate between front and back of house.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced environment
Hostess (Current Employee), Sarnia, ONNovember 26, 2013
Pros: interacting with people
Cons: i only work one 3 hour shift a week. i don't get a consistent paycheque
I usually work Friday nights. I work one 3 hour shift a week. I greet customers, seat them, I deliver food when we're super busy, I bus tables and collect dishes. I get along with all my co-workers. I enjoy a fast paced environment! I love interacting with the customers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced unorganized kitchen
Server (Former Employee), Moncton, NBNovember 20, 2013
typical day consisted of taking customers orders and bringing them there orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for students
Bartender (Former Employee), Lethbridge, ABOctober 15, 2013
It was a good job for a student
Servers and Bartenders need to make way more than minimum wage!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN AND GREAT TEAM WORK
Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 22, 2013
- NEVER GOT BORED TO WORK
- LEARNED TO WORK AS A TEAM
- MANAGEMENT WAS WELL ORGANIZED
- CO WORKERS ARE VERY HELP FULL , BUT NEED IT TO BE CROSS TRAINED
- HARDEST PART OF MY JOB GETTING STAFF TO MOVE FASTER
- GUEST SERVICE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy restaurant in Northern Alberta
Operating Partner/ General Manager (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABJuly 7, 2013
Pros: excellent pay & benefits
Cons: remote location, staffing challenges
• Managed all daily operations of extremely high volume casual dining franchise restaurant and bar.
• Hired and provided training to all new and existing staff on procedures, policies and safety.
• Promoted business throughout the community and organized several fundraising efforts for local charities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Line cook, hostess, and expo (Former Employee), LethbridgeJuly 7, 2013
Pros: half of food
Cons: sometimes long hours
Do different tasks to be occupied till your shift is done. different positions in the establishment.The managers are very nice, helpful when u need it. Coworkers help each other out if one is falling behind, work very hard. The hardest part is getting food out in a decent period of time. Making sure customers leave happy and smiling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a pleasent experience.
Line Cook/Closer/Opener/Prep (Former Employee), Oshawa, OntarioJune 15, 2013
Just awful. Bad management, working 9 days straight, no tip out. Barely any raises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Bartender/Server/Shift Manager (Current Employee), VaughanJune 12, 2013
Pros: intrinsic rewards
Cons: wage
When starting your shift, one must prepare for success. As a server or bartender you must realize that there are items that need to be stocked up so you have a successful shift. Examples are plates, napkins and wet naps are stocked. There are backups of sour cream and coleslaw for the dinner rush. Ice is filled up and your section is clean and ready – more... to be sat. I have learned the steps of guest experience and from that I am able to read our guest and if there is a problem with the menu (allergy) I will suggest recommendations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enthusiastic work place
Host (Current Employee), Brantford, ONJune 6, 2013
Amount of shifts per week are great, however, the hours are short. The management team is awesome. They are very flexible with your hours. It is extremely enjoyable interacting with guests on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place with staff
hostess/expo (Former Employee), Kimberley BCMay 24, 2013
our managers are awesome they work around the other schedules in their employee's lives. for the most part a great set of coworkers. a typical day included running food, cleaning tables and serving costumers. hardest part of the job is when a costumer was upset and trying to keep up the positive additude. the most enjoyable was the staff they are so – more... great to work with always got a good laugh at least once a shift. things i learned form my experience was that it is not a job i want to be in for the rest of my life and i want to go to college and move up in the world. – less