Find companies:
Monsanto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
193 reviews

Monsanto Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monsanto is a good, ethical, global corporation.
Work at Headquarters (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 13, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits and work environment.
Cons: hiring/advancement practices.
The work is rewarding and the benefits are good.
It has been difficult to advance within the company despite advanced knowledge and experience. Confusing why they would pay for training and schooling, only to deny advancement and hire externally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Look
Research Associate (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 12, 2013
Pros: great atmosphere, compensation and benefits
Opportunities to work with a wide range of experienced scientists within a matrix organization and access to new and exciting technologies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Field Worker (Former Employee), Sturgis, MIAugust 7, 2013
I would go into the corn fields everyday for a month. I learned to respect those that work in the fields for a living. The management is great they have inspectors at all times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid well
Machine Operator / Inspector (Former Employee), Greenwood, SCJuly 12, 2013
Pros: paid well
Cons: swinging shifts was rough.
Monsanto paid well. We had to swing shifts. We worked 8-4, 4-12, 12-8, within a month. The work was heavy but I was young and I could handle it. We generated yarn for carpet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with any outstanding safety record.
Laboratory Chemist / Lab Specialist (Former Employee), Luling, LAJuly 11, 2013
Pros: safe place to work and great benefits
Cons: cutbacks
Started out working as a rotating shift Lab Tech then moved to Industrial Hygiene Lab Tech. Worked various environmental day positions and also prepared lab solutions. Moved to plant-wide training department. Return to Lab as Lab First-Line supervisor. Promoted to Lab Specialist/Chemist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice enviroment
Customer Service (Former Employee), st.louis, moJune 28, 2013
Monsanto was a temporary project and i enjoyed it. I talked to farmers and learned a little about the farming industry. I enjoyed talking to monsanto customers and loved to see there participation in helping out local school districts in their area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a great place
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Creve Coeur, MOJune 27, 2013
Pros: great benefits; beautiful campus
Cons: "corporate values" are a farce
Highly political environment. Management cares more about "playing politics" than actual work performance.

The company purports to encourage values such as “integrity, respect, ethical behavior, perspective and honesty”. The general workforce seems to believe in those values but senior management follows a different code of conduct that makes a mockery – more... of those "values"

I love the concept of this company as a "Great place to work" but in my experience senior management places more value on politics than ethics, transparency or honesty. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sr QA Analyst
Sr. QA Analyst III (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 27, 2013
Work included QA Analyst III.
Worked in Agile environment, worked in different Iterations at the same time.
Performed testing in QAT & UAT environment
Responsible for running the Manual and Automation Test Cases directly from FA’s requirements.
Worked on manual and automation on Work soft Certify 8.4.0 testing tool which is requirement oriented and – more... a script less tool.
Testing techniques performed include Smoke, Functional, System, Regression, Integration, Concurrence, Load and Performance. Used EKG on PM Dashboard for performance
Defects were found, tracked and were resolved on own and or assigned to the appropriate teams through the Team Tract defect management tool.
Wrote automation Java scripts for Requirement driven tests.
Performed validations on various Querying tools such as Toad Used SQL and MIDAS database.
Technologies: Work soft Certify 8.4.0, Toad, QAT& UAT environments, Mercury Quality center 9.2, Team Tract defect tracking tool, Java Platform, Apollo, Midas, PM Dashboard for performance, web based and In house applications. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome work environment, can do work on the sofa, do not have to stay in cube all day.
Performance Test Lead (Contractor) (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOMay 13, 2013
A really nice place to work, has the feel of a start up company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship
Internship (Former Employee), Hays, KSMay 5, 2013
I would help do field days and sign fields. Also help collect data on corn root worm. My supervisor was awesome to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Educational Work Experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee), United StatesApril 28, 2013
Pros: variation in work duties throughout the year, excellent combination of business, laboratory, and field work responsibilities throughout the year with a great deal of international networking.
Cons: site location (there isn't much around the site in terms of towns or places to live)
My experience with Monsanto has been very educational and has allowed me to develop a wide range of skills and strengthen abilities learned in College. I have had the opportunity to experience and practice laboratory and business management, business finance, deal with federal agriculture regulations, as well as become immersed in a highly international – more... program with opportunities to interact with employees around the world and from diverse cultural backgrounds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inovative and cutting edge ideas.
Team Coordinator/Supervisor (Former Employee), Allentown, PAApril 26, 2013
Pros: people.
Cons: experimental technology that did not pan out.
Great Corporate backing. Attempted to break in to new horizons.
Division closed after funding withdrew.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Laboratory Assistant/Media Coordinator (Current Employee), Durham, NCApril 22, 2013
Pros: very friendly peers. very warm.
Cons: manager and hr do not decide raises or promotions, this is done by a team at the site, this system does not provide fair consideration but very weak transparency as well.
The people here are great to work with. My only problem is not being compensated via title and pay for doing the same things my peers are doing. We are a small site at RTP and yet the communication on all levels has not been what it should be for the last seven years. I am glad I have a job but feel undervalued at this time and wish to find employment – more... that has compensation in line with the duties that are being performed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something new to learn and implement regularly. Diverse group of people from different cultures and countries.
ESH Generalist (Current Employee), Brits, South Africa - baseApril 4, 2013
Travel regularly to different locations (away from home at least 15 days of every month). Started with zero qualifications and experience in Occupational Safety and have managed to obtain formal qualifications and experience since 2004. Have also been promoted from initial position where I was responsible for one location to providing support to local – more... Occupational Safety person at the various locations.
I enjoy the interaction with different colleagues that I come into contact with. Resolving the challenges that we face in Africa when compared to Monsanto facilities in other world regions is fulfilling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Lab Technician (Former Employee), Waterman, ILMarch 25, 2013
I have never seen people like this .Supervisors and workers and management ...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monsanto
Shoot Bagger (Former Employee), Stonington, ILMarch 21, 2013
Good hours and overtime along with excellent outdoor work and plenty of new knowledge to gain.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all it was a nice work experience
Field worker (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAMarch 19, 2013
Pros: work with nice people
I would get on the bus at around 4:30 every morning and about an hour and a half bus ride we would arrive at the corn fields. I worked anywhere from 6-7 hours a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's going to keep you busy
Seed Laborer (Former Employee), Jerseyville, ILMarch 14, 2013
Pros: flexible hours, decent pay
Cons: contract employee = no benefits
I worked in the greenhouses at one of the farm sites. I was actually a tempory/contract employee that worked on a large experiment. The team was actually made of temporary/contract employees. The management on site was great. Everyone took their turn working weekends, holidays, and overtime. Any and all safety equipment required for any part of the – more... job was supplied by Monsanto. All in all it was a good experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a job
Lab Technition (Former Employee), Soda Springs, IDMarch 12, 2013
Pros: the workers are great people
Cons: most bosses and management do not care
I really enjoyed my job itself and some of the employees I worked with. Management was all about production not safety but always talked safety, would never listen to complaints or issues that needed to be adressed. Ther is no ownership so noone cares about their job quality. Management and upfront personal all about them looking good not whats best – more... for the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary position - people worked independently
Administrative Assistant to Plant Manager (Former Employee), Augusta, GAMarch 11, 2013
Pros: temporary position so dont know what they actually offered
Cons: temporary position
Good company - most everyone worked independently . Not a lot of team projects. I took care of the safety shoe and safety glasses programs so was in contact with most all the employees which I enjoy very much. Nothing really hard about the job - I enjoyed learning new skills.

About Monsanto

Monsanto is one of the world’s leading agricultural technology companies. We’re a company committed to innovation, – Read more