Find companies:
Monsanto
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
230 reviews

Monsanto Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People were great to work with!
Seed Technician (Former Employee), LethbridgeJune 5, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
Started my day at 12 noon went til 10 pm, learned about the processing of Canola, management were fantastic, co-workers were fantastic, hardest part of job, 6 flights of stairs, general maintenance of plant, most enjoyable were the people!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with and interesting work
Junior Research Assistant (Former Employee), Winnipeg ManitobaMay 14, 2013
Pros: learning opportunities and position growth opportunities
Cons: only a summer position
Great opportunity to learn and take initiative to do more within your position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving haggies
Hagie Driver (Former Employee), Lethbridge, ABJuly 16, 2012
People are fun and very enthusiastic about the job that they are doing. A typical day at work for me is to drive a hagie in the fields all day. The people in charge of me are really helpful and understanding to any problems that arise in the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented work space
Bilingual Account Service Rep (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBApril 1, 2012
-nice work environment
-free coffee and water bottles
-flexible work schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a great stepping stone.
internship (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPDecember 9, 2014
having had to carry through my project without supervision, learned how to be self dependent and having to step up as a supervisor to the field workers,
the hardest part of my job was that there is no room for mistakes, but learned to pay attention to detail and be accurate.
my most enjoyable time at work is that i get to expand my knowledge and skills – more... with the team that i am assigned. I make it a point that i learn each day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
International Shipping (Current Employee), Morton, ILDecember 3, 2014
Pros: floor managers take note of the positives and negatives that fellow employees share.
Cons: short breaks and there is no guarantee that work will be busy without layoffs.
The company is successful in the areas of inventory, 2 second lean suggestions, implementing new regulations for the better of the company and establishing a safe safe area of operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Field Claims Specialist (Current Employee), IADecember 3, 2014
Pros: well compensated
Great people, good benefits and they let you do your job.

I did a lot of face to face contact with local area retailers and was compensated very well for that.

Very attentive IT staff and most tech problems are handled very quickly.

Great team atmosphere..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place Ive ever worked.
Warehouse Employee, Machine Operator (Former Employee), Grinnell, IADecember 1, 2014
Pros: extremely well run company
Cons: mainly working in a warehouse
The whole company is ran well from top to bottom. Thorough training and good pay with ample benefits. Only problem can be that it can get a little repetitive at times and you really have to like corn as you will be seeing a lot of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health and safety a priority
Process Operator/Fitter (Current Employee), AcrefairNovember 28, 2014
Pros: good working atmosphere and healthcare benifits
Cons: company closing for good the end of the year
Start of a typical shift is a 10 - 20min handover & walking the job if any problems.Then daily safety checks would be done and a look in the shift log for any supervisory instructions. Have learned a lot about Health & safety and gained a lot more mechanical knowledge.
The management are the best i have worked with and are very understanding.
All work – more... colleagues are great team players and have a good relationship in and out of work.
Maintenance shut downs for vessel inspections, but it has to be done.
Most enjoyable is having great shift co-workers as we work very well as a team which makes the job a lot easier and a more efficient work force. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic work environment.
Chemical Plant Biology Intern (Former Employee), Davis, CANovember 18, 2014
The scientists who I had the privilege to work with at Monsanto were all incredibly intelligent, down-to-earth, and valued a good balance between their work and family lives. Contrary to popular belief, Monsanto is not an evil corporation filled with greedy businessmen, but rather is one of the best companies to work for in the world (Top 100 according – more... to Fortune) filled with inspired scientists interested in cutting-edge agricultural biotechnology. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Research Assistant II (Current Employee), Garden City, KSNovember 3, 2014
Pros: huge corporation
Cons: huge corporation
its a great place to work, has alot of opportunities

• Utilize research related equipment and perform monthly safety inspections
• Manage different inventory operations, planting, management of plants, data collection and harvest and assist in shipping of seeds.
• Assist in computer related activities and provide support for testing activities
• Supervising – more... and training of temporary employees
• Assist in vehicle and equipment maintenance
• Devised a grease bank system for our combines
• In charge of various programs: OFTJS, LOTO, Monthly Housekeeping, Rural Hunger Volunteer Organizer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'd happily work there again
Biologist II (Former Employee), Creve Coeur, MOOctober 22, 2014
Monsanto is a good company to work for. Managers in my department trusted their employees, and concerned themselves more with ensuring that we had the necessary resources to do our job than they did with making demands. We were often busy but didn't feel excessively pressured or stressed.

The only real complaint I had was that since it is such a large – more... company, job duties are fairly specialized. So as a Scientist, you become very good at a particular technique or platform, but there's not many opportunities to gain experience outside of that particular skill set. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place with good people
Laborer/Forklift Operator/Painter (Former Employee), Kearney, NEOctober 22, 2014
Working at Monsanto is hard work but the management along with the people you work with are great people and easy to get along with. I learned a lot about different kinds of seed grown in the mid-west and how to operate a forklift. The hardest part of the job is probably throwing 70lb. seed bags at 7am. but it is made more enjoyable due to the positive – more... work envirronment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional company
Chemical Operator (Former Employee), Augusta, GAOctober 21, 2014
Exceptional company to work for with opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monsanto
Agriculture Worker (Former Employee), Williamsburg, IAOctober 18, 2014
Pros: 40+ hrs
Working in the Corn fields was a great experience, I honestly wouldn't mind doing it again. But Id have to say that the hardest part for me would of been working under the hot blazing Sun. There was a day or two that i felt like giving up, the heat would get to me but, i knew that giving up wasn't an option. A lesson id say I've gotten out of all this – more... is that, If we give up in life we will never move forward towards our goals. We are capable of more than we know. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many different IT cultures and subcultures
IT Security Specialist (Former Employee), Saint LouisOctober 12, 2014
It depends on where you land in Monsanto because there are many different cultures and subcultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outside Labor
Corn Pollinator (Former Employee), Waterman, ILOctober 12, 2014
Pros: short shifts
Cons: high temperature weather
I learned a lot about farming and how corn is grown. The co-workers were all kinds of different people, so it was fun getting to know all of them. The hardest part of the job was the weather being so hot. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with everyone even the manager were fun and easy-going.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent development
Supply Chain (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 11, 2014
Keep up the good work. Blah blah stop forcing me to review. Otherwise I will review Indeed which is being annoying by making me do this and no allowing to do the the function of which I came to this website to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment and good corporate culture.
Greenhouse Technician (Former Employee), Creve Coeur, MOOctober 9, 2014
Pros: incentives for contractors to participate in activities and discounts at various businesses
Cons: no healthcare or long-term security/advancement
The employees at Monsanto are strongly concerned about safety and well being of contractors who work there. It is a flexible work environment that allows workers to find their niche in the work environment and find ways to advance themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Mangement
Inventory Manager (Former Employee), Oxnard, CAOctober 5, 2014
Pros: free fruit and vegetables
Cons: unhappy work atmosphere
Overall, I think my experience was out of the norm. The culture is usually an enjoyable one, but I was hired to work in a new department where the managers were lacking in social graces and/or experience. One manager let power get to her head and made the working environment very toxic and uncomfortable for the entire department.

1 2 3 4 5

About Monsanto

Monsanto is one of the world’s leading agricultural technology companies. We’re a company committed to innovation, – Read more