Money Mart Employee Reviews

Found 78 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work with lots of opportunity to grow
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB13 February 2017
Productive environment that allowed me to build a strong rappor with customers and allowed me to advance in my career with money mart. Lots of opportunity for growth and development.
Pros
Bonus
Cons
Changing management so often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB30 January 2017
TERRIBLE place to work. High expectations with un-achievable goals. Thrown in to work without adequate training and no support. No recognition for going above and beyond, for long hours worked (12+/day alone with no break) and days off not taken because you get called in - this stuff does not matter in the long run. Gossip and back-biting is rampant from management on down - don't trust anyone!. The only positive about this job is that most of the customers are great and form a positive part of the day.
Pros
Job diversity, majority of the customers are enjoyable
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work. Highschool mentality
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB29 January 2017
You learn alot and fast. Although if the managers don't like you they push you out. The gossip that runs from the staff to managers to district managers is so high school. I know in the store I was working at the temp manager was creating alot of gossip and blaming others. The back stabbing that happened was worse than the mean girls in high school. The wage is minimal for the work you do and the pressure you receive to reach the unattainable goals in sales is worse than being on a bomb squad. If there was a negative star button I'd hit it for -5 stars. Horrible place to work. So happy I quit!!
Cons
Everything about it was a horrible experiance
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK25 January 2017
Very nice place to start for a entry level position. Excellent training program. Management was really nice. You meet interesting people every day. Good relationship with customers. Co workers were like family and helped me in all difficult situations. Upper management was friendly and visited stores often. Manager and DM was awesome and was available all the time to answer any query.
Pros
Excellent management, nice co workers, fun, good work life balance
Cons
salary could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother with these guys
CSR (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON20 January 2017
You apply through a job board - like this one, for instance - and get redirected to their website. Once you're done with the tedious application process, you get sent a generic assessment by e-mail which contains a litany of personality-related questions as well as a some arithmetic exercises any 15-year-old should be able to solve. Then that's it - you won't hear from them again, resulting in a net loss of time and effort. 3-5 days later you'll see the same job posted again on the same job boards.

These guys are dishonest and sleazy. Stay away.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Sudbury, ON18 January 2017
•Responsible for the employment of 5 customer service reps - (health and safety, motivation and disciplinary action given, analyzing job quality, implementing new structures to increase productivity and profits)
•Meeting Key performance indicators targets and maximizing profits and minimizing penalties
•Cash ordering in advance, shifting hours to meet business needs, scheduling, ordering supplies, customer service at Point of sale, training new hires, local area marketing & monitoring Profit and loss
•Employee Retention
•Collection calls for delinquent accounts
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Secluded
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot to take in
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON2 January 2017
a lot of experience is gained in this job however it is very hard to keep up everything at the same time. but work is fruitful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS2 January 2017
terrible place to work,t management is terrible and they treat their employees like trash then fire you without cause.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for a high school student
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  London, ON2 December 2016
minimum wage job with way to many expectations, ceos make all the money and the csrs at the front lines get nothing. bonuses include $20 tim card once every 2 years.
Pros
$5 tim card
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sometimes it was great-other times not so great
Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatchewan14 October 2016
DMs and higher management need to learn how to hire the right staff. Things are definately interesting there!! Great place to work if you dont smoke-there are no breaks if you are by yourself, which usually is what happens.
Pros
meet interesting people
Cons
sporadic hours - 3 hrs one day, 12 the next
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training, good company to work for
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 October 2016
Just started 3 mths ago and the training is great because there is so much to know with rules & regs of the industry. They take care in keeping you safe.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional and fun workplace
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  calgary, AB (Canada)22 September 2016
Easy to communicate with higher authorities
Supporting and opportunities for growth to deserving employees
Harassment and Bulling free work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 September 2016
Horrible pay along with long hours and lack of management support.
If you even have any sort of health problem that can cause even a day of absence, don't reply.
Management doesn't believe in being sick along with emotional support and development.
Customers are very aggressive and To support to the staff.
Unrealistic targets for certain stores
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON8 August 2016
Money Mart helped with my customer service skills and the work environment was a great to work within. Management wanted to see personal growth and did what they needed to do to see it happen.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Mart Summary
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON18 May 2016
I find my workplace enjoyable. I take phone calls, make professional calls, local marketing and serve customers. I love my job and I have made many professional relationships with my customers. In fact I know most of them by name. Majority of the time I am working alone. I open and close the store (key holder). Although my job does satisfy me, I am looking for more. I am unhappy with the management and the treatment given. I am looking for a career in my field to gain experience. I am looking for something perfect for me, in any part of Canada.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that has strong culture in learning and development
Multi-Unit Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 May 2016
I am responsible for the recruitment, staffing, training, and coaching of my employees at 4 stores. Their tasks include sales, customer service, collections, maintenance of the stores and administration. My typical day includes delegating, following up and coaching to all of my great employees. Much of my time is spent communicating with HR, Loss prevention, Regional trainer, conducting recruitment events, and most importantly conducting Marketing events and implementing sales & Growth tactics in order to increase revenues.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many different tasks at hand
Manager and Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 April 2016
There were many services offered so it wasn't always the same thing. I learned alot about money handling and the safety and security necessary when dealing with money. Co-workers were great. It was a small store so we were like a small family. Hardest part of the job was turning away customers who didn't have the necessary requirements. Most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help someone who needed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment for the independent person
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON20 April 2016
Typical day involved processing financial transactions and payday loans. Hardest part of the job was lack of staff on busier days and the most enjoyable aspect was being able to work independently.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Difficult customers
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress, not what was promised
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 April 2016
I was hired virtually on the spot at a high wage after one interview with a district manager - should have been flag number one - as a manager trainee to have my own store. I was told I'd be trained for 8 to 12 weeks or so (can't recall exactly, but several weeks in any case) and then placed in my own store. I did receive very hands-on and thorough training (in most areas, but not all), and quickly found out that it wasn't just "people who need some cash to pay bills" as the DM stated in my interview - the clientele, often, seemed (or were!) very shifty.

After some weeks of training, I was parachuted into my own store. Unprepared. Insufficiently trained. Not asked if I was ready to take it on, just "ok, you're starting in your own store next week" type of thing - huh!?

Working alone from 8 something AM to 5 PM and the occasional weekend was terrible. If it was busy, I had no time to eat lunch in peace. If something came up, I had to call another store for support because there was nobody there to back me up, leaving the customer at the window wondering what the heck was taking so long, leading to their becoming irritated.

Handling such high amounts of cash and worrying about every single cheque being presented being fraudulent or the potential for fraud, and having to call clients who owed money was incredibly stressful. As well, closing up at night, having to balance all the money taken in, and having to do so on a deadline, just lead to panic on my part.

Some people may thrive in such a demanding environment but I certainly did not. The bottom line: if you want
  more... stress, if you want to worry about counterfeit cash, phony cheques, and people doing suspicious Western Union transactions, and no time for breaks if you are working alone: this is the place to work. I couldn't even finish my two weeks' notice. I just had to get out. My tenure there? About 7 weeks.  less
Pros
high starting salary, nice colleagues
Cons
high stress, working alone
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
improve my confidance
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  north vancouver7 April 2016
dealing with very special customers with mostly no credit or bad credit, being alone by yourself that makes you to find a way to solve your problem when it's neccessary
Pros
flexibale schedule
Cons
limited benefit
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 130 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0