Money Mart

98 reviews

Money Mart Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Mart is a great place to work. Good staff and Challenging Workload
Part time CSR (Current Employee), Midland, ONFebruary 2, 2016
Pros: Easy going staff and Good business hours
Cons: Not enough working hours
At Money Mart, my typical day there is to help clients with any financial situations that they may need help in. Plus we also try to cross sell other products that we also have to offer that may be better for there financial situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Learning Experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABNovember 6, 2015
I didn't have a lot of financial experience when I started with Money Mart. It was educational, fun and a different type of job than I had ever experienced. Working with all of our clients and helping them out of difficult situations was very fulfilling for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a couple of years - but get out while you can!!!
Senior CSR / CSR Coach / Trainer (Former Employee), Courtice, ONOctober 19, 2015
Pros: Great pay, great benefits, Excellent Team Building, Excellent Training Department
Cons: Long evening shifts, usually NO proper lunch breaks due to not enough staffing, no integrity, no advancement, trainers only get paid if trainees last 90+ days or if there is a class.
I worked here 6.5 years and can honestly say I loved 90% of the people I worked with. I would happily work with most of them again. I even liked the majority of my customers. Head Office tries really hard to create Job Culture and Teamwork. I left as they were making some awesome improvements in this area, actually. 5 stars for that stuff.

...HOWEVER... I caution those with any sense of Integrity to stay FAR, FAR AWAY!!! I don't recommend this to anyone with a big heart, or anyone who enjoys working "by the book". The stress level, if you are not willing to give up your integrity...is incredibly harsh, and not worth your health.

Unfortunately, the biggest issue is an extremely low level of ethics and integrity when it comes to District Management and communication... and a total breakdown of how business is done from one district to the next. Head Office is constantly drilling out emails and reminders to do-this or don't-do-this because it's against policy, or will prevent losses... but there is not enough PROPER communication between head office and district-level, to enforce that integrity and correct it. Head Office thinks things are being done, because reports say they are -- but they're not. Employees are "warned" a million times, yet don't get reprimanded or fired if they don't comply, or worse, get hired back when they leave --- so there's no improvement whatsoever.

This, of course, causes nothing but an endless stream of angry customers --- getting irate over rather obvious requirements such as needing CURRENT contact info before loaning them hundreds – more... of dollars! All because some districts or stores will throw caution to the wind and haven't asked for or updated a customer's information since 2001. Now the store following the rules is the one getting customer complaints. See the issue?

Lastly... It's extremely hard to advance to management, unless you're willing to throw all the Policies & Procedures out the window for your DM ...and kiss their feet while you're at it. Don't get me wrong, I very much liked the few DM's I had the pleasure of working with... but it's an ugly truth: if you're not willing to help them reach their targets (read: break all the rules), then they're not willing to promote you.

They would never tell you that. I'm telling you that, because a little bird thankfully warned me - so I finally took everyone's advice, took what was left of my morals with me, and quit. On good terms, with an invite from at least 3 people in management, to call if I needed a job. Never been happier. Never gonna call them, because I really don't think these problems will ever change.

Don't say I didn't warn you! ;) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Excellent communication and good customer service skills.
Cashier (Current Employee), winnipeg,MBOctober 1, 2015
• Perform customer transactions competently.
• Balance cash drawer at the end of the day.
• Processing checks.
• Referring bank services to customers when asked about bank programs.
• Perform general clerical work, organizing incoming and outgoing mails.
• Accept loan payments and payday loans.
• Issue prepaid credit card and Open Money Mart account.
• Initiate required action for response to customer service requests for order changes, including fulfilling orders/customer information files and communicate changes to the appropriate departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MANAGER
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 18, 2015
Pros: FREE LUNCH
Cons: SHORT BREAK
Multi-tasking was essential in order to service the clients and meet company objectives. Team playing and cohesiveness among staff made the job easier and enjoyable. Dealing directly with the public on both a professional and personal level sharpened the staffs communication skills and enabled us to service the customers and increase product knowledge.The hardest part of the job was working with the safe that constantly malfunctioned.The overall atmosphere of the job was relaxed yet productive.The most enjoyable part of the position was interaction with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please DONOT WORK HERE
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Tri-cities/ Vancouver BCJuly 4, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: low pay, no breaks, extended hours and they will not pay you for overtime.
Horrible Company to work! As a Branch Manager we are forced to cut hours for CSR and let us all work like a horse. no proper breaks, how can you take breaks if you are working on your own all the time and customers are keep coming and then if you are not serving customer you have to do collection calls because they monitored your "productivity". Then the system is always down and yet they will blame you and your staff for not meeting the targets or they BS expectations. The training is sucks. they will send you to different stores to get trained and they will not reimburse you for your mileage. They will not pay you for OT.

SAVE YOURSELF from embarrassment.

NO STAR FOR THIS COMPANY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Work Here
Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Squamish, BCJune 29, 2015
Pros: okay wage, okay training
Cons: working in isolation, horrible management team, incompetent employees, supervisors and managers, shady/criminal customers
See pros and cons, this company is owned by LoneStar who makes profit out of liquidating assets of the companies it buys off, so it's all about debt in that world in every aspect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience
Customer Service - Teller (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 2, 2015
Pros: good learning experience
Cons: the location was to far
It was great working there I did learn a lot about banking. Customer were most of them good to deal with.Co-workes were great and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hopeless organization
Regional Trainer (Former Employee), Mississauga/ TorontoApril 30, 2015
Cons: always short staffs and high turnover of CSR/ BM
this company need a person who opens the store and close the store , they need a cheap labor and if some one dare to hire at a higher salary then that person will be the first one to go out of the company

if you are in good book of DM then your job is safe otherwise be prepared to face consequence

there is no leadership, everyone is surviving by saving their job and ruthless to take anyone's job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management and guidance
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Moose Jaw, SKApril 26, 2015
Cons: poor management
i would personally not work for this company again there was an extreme lack of communication between higher up management and staff since the takeover in regards of how to do our jobs properly i had my pay not come in i wasnt issued my benefits on time my paperwork for everything was misplaced
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mentally challenging and rewarding!
CSR (Current Employee), Windsor, ONApril 21, 2015
Pros: Great supportive teams.
Cons: Sadly it is a risk taking job at times.
As for our locations we have great BMs and DMs. Any time there is a question or concern our BMs are always available and supportive. In comparison to my previous job (Walmart) it is so great to be respected, appreciated and to be known as a person not just a number. I found the training to be very intense, as there is so much to learn and no matter how good the training session is, there is always something new to learn in this business. To me that is rewarding, makes me look forward to going to work. Definetly has been a good experience for me this far.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 15, 2015
Pros: Meeting new people as they came into the store
Cons: late Hours
I like working at money mart Part time as with CIBC I was not dealing with the public. I was sad when CIBC had told me I had to leave Money mart as I was conflict of Interest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working with the co workers i had the best enviroment experiance here
Customer service (Former Employee), Edmonton AbFebruary 6, 2015
Pros: awesome customers
Cons: long hours
I learned how to count and handle money way better then I use to I also learned how to prepare taxes and I also learned about foreign currency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unique services that has been design for everyone even for the people with no ID card
CSR (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJanuary 16, 2015
Pros: multi task
Cons: stress
providing different services based on customers needs and doing verity of transaction that doesn't make me bored . Being able to help my customers and meet their needs gives me a self satisfaction to see them happy. we are having a good team work in my work place and we care about one another. The hardest part of the job is when I have to say NO to my customer that really makes me upset. Saying No and not being able to help my customer makes me upset. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I go above and beyond my customer expectation and successfully be able to meet their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Teller (Former Employee), Edmonton abDecember 31, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: management
Worked there for a few years and its crooked, crooked crooked!! Branch managers steal, the management is probably the worst type ive ever worked for. Pay is alright and the work is super easy but the management makes none of that worth it. Edmonton locations have the worst managers in history. They should all be fired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Movement
Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Squamish, BCDecember 3, 2014
Pros: easy work, don't bring work home with you, decent hours of operation
Cons: regular difficult customers, poor training and maintaining of acceptable customer service, high turnover, poor upper management, no company culture, overly excessive security, no nearby windows
- Keep moving around doing various tasks to keep from getting bored or stagnant when it's slow
- Keep up with the fast pace expectation when it suddenly gets busy
- Acceptable compensation for the work and level of potential stress
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Store Manager (Mississauga) (Former Employee), Mississauga, ontarioNovember 16, 2014
Pros: fast paced sometimes
Cons: long hours
Cashing cheques and giving out payday loans to individuals that qualify. Scheduling concerns, dealing with money transfers with western union.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
csr
Customer service representative (Current Employee), airdrieOctober 14, 2014
it is a good job , i am a csr for past 2 years however i want to step up from moneymart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HARD LABOUR
MANAGER (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: nothing is free
Cons: long hours not enough pay
LOTS OF CONTROVERSY WITH THIS COMPANY.

DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Mart
Branch Manager (Former Employee), WestonSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: no micro managing
Cons: have to telemarket previous clients, rude and annoying customers.
Money Mart is a good place to work for those who like working alone without micro managing.
Most shifts you are working by yourself from open to close and handle money transfers and cash advances.

You do have support from other stores if you have any issues and their help line is helpful.