Find companies:
MONEY MART
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
68 reviews

MONEY MART Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Mart
Branch Manager (Former Employee), WestonSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: no micro managing
Cons: have to telemarket previous clients, rude and annoying customers.
Money Mart is a good place to work for those who like working alone without micro managing.
Most shifts you are working by yourself from open to close and handle money transfers and cash advances.

You do have support from other stores if you have any issues and their help line is helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to test your customer service skills.
Manager (Former Employee), British ColumbiaAugust 5, 2014
Great place to test your skills for customer service, patience and multitasking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting at best
CSR (Former Employee), Toronto,July 19, 2014
Pros: sweet customers
Cons: unprofessional bms and dms. bad management, undervalued front line staff, shift work
One should've read these reviews before I even applied ! These guys con you into thinking your job is secure and when you let your guard down, get comfortable and start giving your input that's when the BMs start to conspire against you. CSRs go unappreciated and any CSR hired that seems to have some sort of an opinion is seen as a threat and is let – more... go, not to mention the bogus write ups that some power hungry BMs will script every once in a while. The BMs will find every excuse in the books to not give you your raise quoting policies and rules that you haven't even heard of before ,the DM will avoid answering any pressing questions unless you tag human resources or anyone higher than her in status of the company in the emails you send her, BMs don't realize this but CSRs do have colleagues that work in other stores in different districts, word goes around even if you said it in the Yukon....I'm shocked this company hasn't been taken to court for something human rights related. All in all if you just want a "job" and to make a bit of petty cash and wanna meet some sweet people from your neighbourhood ( the customers) then this is the place for you :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place to work in Canada
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 17, 2014
Pros: learn to deal with the worst people on earth from a management and customer stand point
Cons: everything.
They don't care about employees or customers. they are constantly breaking laws and putting their employees at risk. Management has no clue what they are doing. They have no leadership. This business is a joke.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked at!!!!!!
Csr (Former Employee), TorontoMay 31, 2014
Pros: nice customers will bring you coffee
Cons: long hours, no appreciation, verbal abuse from customers and district/branch managers
DM doesn't show any appreciation toward their employees
A lot of verbal abuse from customers who always end up being right at the end of the day
Low pay, you can hit your monthly target every month and still mangers find a reason to not give you your full raise that you know you deserve
Not flexible job at all especially for students
They will dismiss – more... you from the company if they find out that your looking for other oportunities
Not worth applying for, your not garentee your job. When they feel to dismiss you without a valid reason, you will be let go.
Last when your sick they find reasons why they feel your not sick.
The management team really sucks it's a lot of work with no recognition!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service oriented
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), HamiltonMay 14, 2014
Pros: customer service
Cons: shift work
I worked as a CSR, the training was very intense as I had never experienced this line of work. This company was more geared to cheque cashing as apposed to loans at the time I worked there.I enjoyed working with the public , however I found the hours challenging at the time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE
Former BM (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Customers are abusive and if you try to defend yourself your DM will side with customers " customer is always right"

DM treats her BM's like garbage!!!!

So un professional and they breach the word confidentiality whenever they can!!!!

My DM was bestfriends with one of the BM's and that BM's staff use to hear about both individuals partying on the – more... weekend!!!! I don't know but if you ask me THAT'S UNPROFESSIONAL!!!

My DM never visited me as she should have, at the end of the day they get paid to do do. At some point my staff and i didn't see her for over a month!!!! It didn't stop the company from paying her.

If you are looking for just a job to help you make ends meet whatever you do DO NOT SPEAK UP if you feel you are being treated unequally, they will fire you without cause the minute they feel you are a threat .

Whoever said the pay is good its NOT true. They expect so much out of their CSRs and in return the pay is sooo minimal!!!! And they abuse their managers with the work load!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Financial Services Representative (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: experience
Great company with awesome people. Management full of new ideas. You can learn a lot. The most enjoyable part is meeting new people (customers).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low life
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: decent pay and protective glass
Cons: long hours alone, no training and high turn around.
If you want a job where management does not take the proper time to train you and throw you in the deep end this is the job for you.
Long days working alone while customers come in and threaten your life this is the place for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Teller (Former Employee), mississaugaDecember 12, 2013
Pros: people
Cons: retail shifts
good pay and people. Always learning something new. reasonable hours for a retail company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent hours and pay, not a fan of management.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lindsay, ONDecember 2, 2013
Pros: steady pay increase.
Cons: bad management.
Working at Money Mart you have to be able to stand for a long period of time as well as be okay with getting yelled at. You're dealing with peoples money so if something isn't perfect, brace yourself.
For the most part I enjoyed the customers, you get your regular friendly people, who put a smile on your face and brighten your day. On the other hand, – more... it's a very strict place to work, and if you're not doing everything perfectly you can get in trouble. Careful not to make mistakes, because it's serious stuff you're dealing with. You don't just get a slap on the hand. Management can use some work. Answers varied a fair bit when questions were asked for clarification. As well as improper and unprofessional training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), sakatoon,SKOctober 4, 2013
Managment was Awsome, Training was very good. Regular customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to be
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Calgary ABJune 6, 2013
Pros: decent wage, diversity
Cons: long hours, no job security and lack of support
I have worked with MM for 6 years and unfortunately counting as a branch manager. The only thing good I have to say is they offer decent wages and as a manager potentially decent bonuses. Training is a disaster they have "re-vamped" the program several times now and still no real direction. Turn over is unbelievable be prepared to work long hours alone – more... with no breaks. Nothing you ever do is good enough. Focus is on sales and sales only if you can't sell a visa card you have no place there, it is all they care about. Zero job security they can come in at anytime and fire you without cause. Upper management gives no support and forget about work/life balance you are constantly on call. Depending on location customers can be rude and down right abusive. I have learned a lot working here and am grateful for the opportunities and experience but I have no chance of advancement and with the current lack of ethics and morals I can't wait to get out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meeting new people
Financial Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Dieppe, NBMarch 20, 2013
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: being locked in for hours
It can be a great place to work, however,there is alot of time that you work by yourself for long hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
CSR (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 16, 2013
Pros: benefits, we get to have our free visas, no hidden charges, services free of charge.
Cons: rude customers
A typical day for me would be doing collection calls, doing lapsed calls and even doing audits. I learned about doing manager audits, and with these, I learned to be detail oriented. My managers are very understandable,especially with my situation with babysitting, they taught me things that only managers should know and I think that is good because – more... even though I am just a customer service representative but I have the knowledge of a manager and I think for me that is very important tool to success. My co-workers are very good too and we all share duties each day. But the thing I like the most is we share this aggressiveness of making our store to be on top. To gather as much customers as we can, and not to have more collection calls, because the lesser the calls the more revenue of our store. The hardest part of the job would be dealing with very rude customers. I managed to stay calm and somehow I do not have any incidents where I have to call the police or even close the door. I tend to calm customers down every time I know that they are very irate and especially when doing collection calls. The most enjoyable part of the job would be I work alone. The only time I see someone is when I am done for the day and I will transfer my money to the next person. Either a manager or another customer service representative. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its like selling your soul to the devil
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Vancouver IslandMarch 5, 2013
Pros: customers are nice
Cons: no life, no appreciation
No work/life balance, always understaffed, you'll work your butt off and never be appreciated for it. Constant turnover at head office. Terrible place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative work environment
Accounting clerk (Former Employee), Victoria,February 15, 2013
Pros: nice co-workers
Cons: long hours, repetitive tasks, boring, no future
Money Mart managers pick favourites and they are given all the opportunities. Staff with health or family issues are treated poorly. During my time there the accounting department went from good managers to ones that had no HR skills and the morale was awful. Don't work here unless you are desperate. There is a revolving door at the entrance which should – more... be a clue to Money Mart's hiring practises. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee), Lindsay, ONFebruary 10, 2013
Pros: great training
Cons: long hours
Deal with diverse group of people, great life experience, learn many things about cash handling
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great place for me to work
csr (Current Employee), Lower Sackville, NSJanuary 26, 2013
Pros: great benifits, supply all necessary means of cooking. free bill payments
Cons: no cons except my feeling of dispare if i make a mistake
MM takes very good care of us..Quite secure worry about our safety..Training on all parts of our work required..We get to meet new people each day, and help them with arising costs of bills each day.The job is what we make of it daily..Mistakes can be easily made but I strive to do my best..Management is always there to help also other co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy environment.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: incentives.
Cons: shifts
It varies sometimes it's very busy and sometimes we get a very slow day. I developed my computer skill and my interpersonal skills and most especially my customer service skills. Management are very helpful. The coworkers are excellent workers. The shifts vary and the fact that I get to meet alot of eople I enjoyed every bit of the job.

1 2 3 4

About MONEY MART

If your wallet is flat and payday is far away, DFC Global can tide you over. The company owns some 1,350 check-cashing and payday – Read more