Find companies:
Money Mart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
90 reviews

Money Mart Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Work Here
Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Squamish, BCJune 29, 2015
Pros: okay wage, okay training
Cons: working in isolation, horrible management team, incompetent employees, supervisors and managers, shady/criminal customers
See pros and cons, this company is owned by LoneStar who makes profit out of liquidating assets of the companies it buys off, so it's all about debt in that world in every aspect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience
Customer Service - Teller (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 2, 2015
Pros: good learning experience
Cons: the location was to far
It was great working there I did learn a lot about banking. Customer were most of them good to deal with.Co-workes were great and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hopeless organization
Regional Trainer (Former Employee), Mississauga/ TorontoApril 30, 2015
Cons: always short staffs and high turnover of CSR/ BM
this company need a person who opens the store and close the store , they need a cheap labor and if some one dare to hire at a higher salary then that person will be the first one to go out of the company

if you are in good book of DM then your job is safe otherwise be prepared to face consequence

there is no leadership, everyone is surviving by saving their job and ruthless to take anyone's job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management and guidance
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Moose Jaw, SKApril 26, 2015
Cons: poor management
i would personally not work for this company again there was an extreme lack of communication between higher up management and staff since the takeover in regards of how to do our jobs properly i had my pay not come in i wasnt issued my benefits on time my paperwork for everything was misplaced
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mentally challenging and rewarding!
CSR (Current Employee), Windsor, ONApril 21, 2015
Pros: Great supportive teams.
Cons: Sadly it is a risk taking job at times.
As for our locations we have great BMs and DMs. Any time there is a question or concern our BMs are always available and supportive. In comparison to my previous job (Walmart) it is so great to be respected, appreciated and to be known as a person not just a number. I found the training to be very intense, as there is so much to learn and no matter how good the training session is, there is always something new to learn in this business. To me that is rewarding, makes me look forward to going to work. Definetly has been a good experience for me this far.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 15, 2015
Pros: Meeting new people as they came into the store
Cons: late Hours
I like working at money mart Part time as with CIBC I was not dealing with the public. I was sad when CIBC had told me I had to leave Money mart as I was conflict of Interest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working with the co workers i had the best enviroment experiance here
Customer service (Former Employee), Edmonton AbFebruary 6, 2015
Pros: awesome customers
Cons: long hours
I learned how to count and handle money way better then I use to I also learned how to prepare taxes and I also learned about foreign currency.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unique services that has been design for everyone even for the people with no ID card
CSR (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJanuary 16, 2015
Pros: multi task
Cons: stress
providing different services based on customers needs and doing verity of transaction that doesn't make me bored . Being able to help my customers and meet their needs gives me a self satisfaction to see them happy. we are having a good team work in my work place and we care about one another. The hardest part of the job is when I have to say NO to my customer that really makes me upset. Saying No and not being able to help my customer makes me upset. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I go above and beyond my customer expectation and successfully be able to meet their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Teller (Former Employee), Edmonton abDecember 31, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: management
Worked there for a few years and its crooked, crooked crooked!! Branch managers steal, the management is probably the worst type ive ever worked for. Pay is alright and the work is super easy but the management makes none of that worth it. Edmonton locations have the worst managers in history. They should all be fired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Movement
Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Squamish, BCDecember 3, 2014
Pros: easy work, don't bring work home with you, decent hours of operation
Cons: regular difficult customers, poor training and maintaining of acceptable customer service, high turnover, poor upper management, no company culture, overly excessive security, no nearby windows
- Keep moving around doing various tasks to keep from getting bored or stagnant when it's slow
- Keep up with the fast pace expectation when it suddenly gets busy
- Acceptable compensation for the work and level of potential stress
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Store Manager (Mississauga) (Former Employee), Mississauga, ontarioNovember 16, 2014
Pros: fast paced sometimes
Cons: long hours
Cashing cheques and giving out payday loans to individuals that qualify. Scheduling concerns, dealing with money transfers with western union.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
csr
Customer service representative (Current Employee), airdrieOctober 14, 2014
it is a good job , i am a csr for past 2 years however i want to step up from moneymart
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HARD LABOUR
MANAGER (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: nothing is free
Cons: long hours not enough pay
LOTS OF CONTROVERSY WITH THIS COMPANY.

DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Mart
Branch Manager (Former Employee), WestonSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: no micro managing
Cons: have to telemarket previous clients, rude and annoying customers.
Money Mart is a good place to work for those who like working alone without micro managing.
Most shifts you are working by yourself from open to close and handle money transfers and cash advances.

You do have support from other stores if you have any issues and their help line is helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to test your customer service skills.
Manager (Former Employee), British ColumbiaAugust 5, 2014
Great place to test your skills for customer service, patience and multitasking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting at best
CSR (Former Employee), Toronto,July 19, 2014
Pros: sweet customers
Cons: unprofessional bms and dms. bad management, undervalued front line staff, shift work
One should've read these reviews before I even applied ! These guys con you into thinking your job is secure and when you let your guard down, get comfortable and start giving your input that's when the BMs start to conspire against you. CSRs go unappreciated and any CSR hired that seems to have some sort of an opinion is seen as a threat and is let go, not to mention the bogus write ups that some power hungry BMs will script every once in a while. The BMs will find every excuse in the books to not give you your raise quoting policies and rules that you haven't even heard of before ,the DM will avoid answering any pressing questions unless you tag human resources or anyone higher than her in status of the company in the emails you send her, BMs don't realize this but CSRs do have colleagues that work in other stores in different districts, word goes around even if you said it in the Yukon....I'm shocked this company hasn't been taken to court for something human rights related. All in all if you just want a "job" and to make a bit of petty cash and wanna meet some sweet people from your neighbourhood ( the customers) then this is the place for you :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place to work in Canada
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 17, 2014
Pros: learn to deal with the worst people on earth from a management and customer stand point
Cons: everything.
They don't care about employees or customers. they are constantly breaking laws and putting their employees at risk. Management has no clue what they are doing. They have no leadership. This business is a joke.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked at!!!!!!
Csr (Former Employee), TorontoMay 31, 2014
Pros: nice customers will bring you coffee
Cons: long hours, no appreciation, verbal abuse from customers and district/branch managers
DM doesn't show any appreciation toward their employees
A lot of verbal abuse from customers who always end up being right at the end of the day
Low pay, you can hit your monthly target every month and still mangers find a reason to not give you your full raise that you know you deserve
Not flexible job at all especially for students
They will dismiss you from the company if they find out that your looking for other oportunities
Not worth applying for, your not garentee your job. When they feel to dismiss you without a valid reason, you will be let go.
Last when your sick they find reasons why they feel your not sick.
The management team really sucks it's a lot of work with no recognition!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service oriented
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), HamiltonMay 14, 2014
Pros: customer service
Cons: shift work
I worked as a CSR, the training was very intense as I had never experienced this line of work. This company was more geared to cheque cashing as apposed to loans at the time I worked there.I enjoyed working with the public , however I found the hours challenging at the time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE
Former BM (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Customers are abusive and if you try to defend yourself your DM will side with customers " customer is always right"

DM treats her BM's like garbage!!!!

So un professional and they breach the word confidentiality whenever they can!!!!

My DM was bestfriends with one of the BM's and that BM's staff use to hear about both individuals partying on the weekend!!!! I don't know but if you ask me THAT'S UNPROFESSIONAL!!!

My DM never visited me as she should have, at the end of the day they get paid to do do. At some point my staff and i didn't see her for over a month!!!! It didn't stop the company from paying her.

If you are looking for just a job to help you make ends meet whatever you do DO NOT SPEAK UP if you feel you are being treated unequally, they will fire you without cause the minute they feel you are a threat .

Whoever said the pay is good its NOT true. They expect so much out of their CSRs and in return the pay is sooo minimal!!!! And they abuse their managers with the work load!!!!

1 2 3

About Money Mart

If your wallet is flat and payday is far away, DFC Global can tide you over. The company owns some 1,350 check-cashing and payday – Read more