Money Mart Employee Reviews

Found 72 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Sudbury, ON18 January 2017
•Responsible for the employment of 5 customer service reps - (health and safety, motivation and disciplinary action given, analyzing job quality, implementing new structures to increase productivity and profits)
•Meeting Key performance indicators targets and maximizing profits and minimizing penalties
•Cash ordering in advance, shifting hours to meet business needs, scheduling, ordering supplies, customer service at Point of sale, training new hires, local area marketing & monitoring Profit and loss
•Employee Retention
•Collection calls for delinquent accounts
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Secluded
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS2 January 2017
terrible place to work,t management is terrible and they treat their employees like trash then fire you without cause.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for a high school student
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  London, ON2 December 2016
minimum wage job with way to many expectations, ceos make all the money and the csrs at the front lines get nothing. bonuses include $20 tim card once every 2 years.
Pros
$5 tim card
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sometimes it was great-other times not so great
Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatchewan14 October 2016
DMs and higher management need to learn how to hire the right staff. Things are definately interesting there!! Great place to work if you dont smoke-there are no breaks if you are by yourself, which usually is what happens.
Pros
meet interesting people
Cons
sporadic hours - 3 hrs one day, 12 the next
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training, good company to work for
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 October 2016
Just started 3 mths ago and the training is great because there is so much to know with rules & regs of the industry. They take care in keeping you safe.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional and fun workplace
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  calgary, AB (Canada)22 September 2016
Easy to communicate with higher authorities
Supporting and opportunities for growth to deserving employees
Harassment and Bulling free work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 September 2016
Horrible pay along with long hours and lack of management support.
If you even have any sort of health problem that can cause even a day of absence, don't reply.
Management doesn't believe in being sick along with emotional support and development.
Customers are very aggressive and To support to the staff.
Unrealistic targets for certain stores
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON8 August 2016
Money Mart helped with my customer service skills and the work environment was a great to work within. Management wanted to see personal growth and did what they needed to do to see it happen.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Mart Summary
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON18 May 2016
I find my workplace enjoyable. I take phone calls, make professional calls, local marketing and serve customers. I love my job and I have made many professional relationships with my customers. In fact I know most of them by name. Majority of the time I am working alone. I open and close the store (key holder). Although my job does satisfy me, I am looking for more. I am unhappy with the management and the treatment given. I am looking for a career in my field to gain experience. I am looking for something perfect for me, in any part of Canada.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that has strong culture in learning and development
Multi-Unit Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 May 2016
I am responsible for the recruitment, staffing, training, and coaching of my employees at 4 stores. Their tasks include sales, customer service, collections, maintenance of the stores and administration. My typical day includes delegating, following up and coaching to all of my great employees. Much of my time is spent communicating with HR, Loss prevention, Regional trainer, conducting recruitment events, and most importantly conducting Marketing events and implementing sales & Growth tactics in order to increase revenues.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many different tasks at hand
Manager and Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 April 2016
There were many services offered so it wasn't always the same thing. I learned alot about money handling and the safety and security necessary when dealing with money. Co-workers were great. It was a small store so we were like a small family. Hardest part of the job was turning away customers who didn't have the necessary requirements. Most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help someone who needed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment for the independent person
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON20 April 2016
Typical day involved processing financial transactions and payday loans. Hardest part of the job was lack of staff on busier days and the most enjoyable aspect was being able to work independently.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Difficult customers
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress, not what was promised
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 April 2016
I was hired virtually on the spot at a high wage after one interview with a district manager - should have been flag number one - as a manager trainee to have my own store. I was told I'd be trained for 8 to 12 weeks or so (can't recall exactly, but several weeks in any case) and then placed in my own store. I did receive very hands-on and thorough training (in most areas, but not all), and quickly found out that it wasn't just "people who need some cash to pay bills" as the DM stated in my interview - the clientele, often, seemed (or were!) very shifty.

After some weeks of training, I was parachuted into my own store. Unprepared. Insufficiently trained. Not asked if I was ready to take it on, just "ok, you're starting in your own store next week" type of thing - huh!?

Working alone from 8 something AM to 5 PM and the occasional weekend was terrible. If it was busy, I had no time to eat lunch in peace. If something came up, I had to call another store for support because there was nobody there to back me up, leaving the customer at the window wondering what the heck was taking so long, leading to their becoming irritated.

Handling such high amounts of cash and worrying about every single cheque being presented being fraudulent or the potential for fraud, and having to call clients who owed money was incredibly stressful. As well, closing up at night, having to balance all the money taken in, and having to do so on a deadline, just lead to panic on my part.

Some people may thrive in such a demanding environment but I certainly did not. The bottom line: if you want
  more... stress, if you want to worry about counterfeit cash, phony cheques, and people doing suspicious Western Union transactions, and no time for breaks if you are working alone: this is the place to work. I couldn't even finish my two weeks' notice. I just had to get out. My tenure there? About 7 weeks.  less
Pros
high starting salary, nice colleagues
Cons
high stress, working alone
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
improve my confidance
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  north vancouver7 April 2016
dealing with very special customers with mostly no credit or bad credit, being alone by yourself that makes you to find a way to solve your problem when it's neccessary
Pros
flexibale schedule
Cons
limited benefit
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was my first job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC5 April 2016
i loved working for money mart i had the best team that was working with me the hours were great lots of overtime i was in a safe location and i enjoyed the customers
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can learn everything quickly to operate a small office
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 March 2016
Money Mart is a place that you never got bored. I met all kinds of customers on daily basis. I figured out customer's needs quickly in fast paced environment and delivered the best service to our customers while using up selling skills. I remain calm, courteous and respectful all the time while take accountability for identifying solutions that work best for the customers and our company,Money Mart.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK6 March 2016
Executed customer transactions, including deposits, withdrawals, money orders and checks.
Sold cashier\'s checks, traveler\'s checks and money orders.
Created strategies to develop and expand sales of services to existing customer which resulted in a 60%
increase in annual revenue.
Organized, stocked and maintained the teller window area.
Pulled daily branch reports.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and fun to be part of
Part time CSR (Current Employee) –  Midland, ON26 February 2016
Responsible for opening and closing the store, Balancing tills and Safe, Cross selling product, Giving and receiving money transactions, Making sure the nightly paperwork is complete for the next business day, Making sure the store is clean and tidy. AML certified, Western union certified, Easy tax certified.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team envirnoment, customer service, and sales
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON21 February 2016
Provide excellent customer service to clients either on the phone or person. Ensuring daily sales and targets are meet or achieved. Performing clerical duties. Most enjoyable part of the job is learning new things, and helping out our customers with there needs.
Pros
positive feedback from customers.
Cons
not enough hours only 6hr a day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, challenging, diverse fast paced environment.
FRONTLINE TELLER/CSRC (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 February 2016
A typical Money Mart day starts off with preparing to open the store. All money is counted and balanced the night before so that leaves printing the appropriate documents, verifying the closing envelope and ordering anything needed for the follow day. Once the doors open your day is filled with transactions ranging from, cheque cashing, bill paying, money loaning, preparing tax files, wiring money, loading and withdrawing money and everything in between. Although this may sound a little intimidating having a friendly supportive hard working staff makes the job very enjoyable and rewarding. The hardest part of my job has to be handling the large volume of customers in a timely but informative and helpful fashion at peak times. But the most enjoyable part of my job happens to be when its a crazy busy day and things seem like there falling apart but we hold on and keep pushing and everyone gets served and is satisfied and feels like they accomplished what they came to do, especially after standing in line for what probably seems like a life time to them. I learned that people will wait on great service. Just to get greeted with that welcoming smile and served without a flaw. Helping someone solve a problem is rewarding and humbling.That's what keeps them coming back and makes them tell a friend who will tell a friend.
Pros
Learn important information about the financial industry
Cons
inconsistent hours and shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 124 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1