Money Mart Employee Reviews in Canada

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that has strong culture in learning and development
Multi-Unit Branch Manager (Current Employee), Montréal, QCMay 12, 2016
I am responsible for the recruitment, staffing, training, and coaching of my employees at 4 stores. Their tasks include sales, customer service, collections, maintenance of the stores and administration. My typical day includes delegating, following up and coaching to all of my great employees. Much of my time is spent communicating with HR, Loss prevention, Regional trainer, conducting recruitment events, and most importantly conducting Marketing events and implementing sales & Growth tactics in order to increase revenues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many different tasks at hand
Manager and Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONApril 26, 2016
There were many services offered so it wasn't always the same thing. I learned alot about money handling and the safety and security necessary when dealing with money. Co-workers were great. It was a small store so we were like a small family. Hardest part of the job was turning away customers who didn't have the necessary requirements. Most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help someone who needed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment for the independent person
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONApril 20, 2016
Pros: Good people
Cons: Difficult customers
Typical day involved processing financial transactions and payday loans. Hardest part of the job was lack of staff on busier days and the most enjoyable aspect was being able to work independently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress, not what was promised
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 18, 2016
Pros: high starting salary, nice colleagues
Cons: high stress, working alone
I was hired virtually on the spot at a high wage after one interview with a district manager - should have been flag number one - as a manager trainee to have my own store. I was told I'd be trained for 8 to 12 weeks or so (can't recall exactly, but several weeks in any case) and then placed in my own store. I did receive very hands-on and thorough training (in most areas, but not all), and quickly found out that it wasn't just "people who need some cash to pay bills" as the DM stated in my interview - the clientele, often, seemed (or were!) very shifty.

After some weeks of training, I was parachuted into my own store. Unprepared. Insufficiently trained. Not asked if I was ready to take it on, just "ok, you're starting in your own store next week" type of thing - huh!?

Working alone from 8 something AM to 5 PM and the occasional weekend was terrible. If it was busy, I had no time to eat lunch in peace. If something came up, I had to call another store for support because there was nobody there to back me up, leaving the customer at the window wondering what the heck was taking so long, leading to their becoming irritated.

Handling such high amounts of cash and worrying about every single cheque being presented being fraudulent or the potential for fraud, and having to call clients who owed money was incredibly stressful. As well, closing up at night, having to balance all the money taken in, and having to do so on a deadline, just lead to panic on my part.

Some people may thrive in such a demanding environment but I certainly did not. The bottom line: if you want – more... stress, if you want to worry about counterfeit cash, phony cheques, and people doing suspicious Western Union transactions, and no time for breaks if you are working alone: this is the place to work. I couldn't even finish my two weeks' notice. I just had to get out. My tenure there? About 7 weeks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
improve my confidance
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), north vancouverApril 7, 2016
Pros: flexibale schedule
Cons: limited benefit
dealing with very special customers with mostly no credit or bad credit, being alone by yourself that makes you to find a way to solve your problem when it's neccessary
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was my first job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Surrey, BCApril 5, 2016
i loved working for money mart i had the best team that was working with me the hours were great lots of overtime i was in a safe location and i enjoyed the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can learn everything quickly to operate a small office
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 28, 2016
Money Mart is a place that you never got bored. I met all kinds of customers on daily basis. I figured out customer's needs quickly in fast paced environment and delivered the best service to our customers while using up selling skills. I remain calm, courteous and respectful all the time while take accountability for identifying solutions that work best for the customers and our company,Money Mart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Regina, SKMarch 6, 2016
Executed customer transactions, including deposits, withdrawals, money orders and checks.
Sold cashier\'s checks, traveler\'s checks and money orders.
Created strategies to develop and expand sales of services to existing customer which resulted in a 60%
increase in annual revenue.
Organized, stocked and maintained the teller window area.
Pulled daily branch reports.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and fun to be part of
Part time CSR (Current Employee), Midland, ONFebruary 26, 2016
Responsible for opening and closing the store, Balancing tills and Safe, Cross selling product, Giving and receiving money transactions, Making sure the nightly paperwork is complete for the next business day, Making sure the store is clean and tidy. AML certified, Western union certified, Easy tax certified.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team envirnoment, customer service, and sales
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Guelph, ONFebruary 21, 2016
Pros: positive feedback from customers.
Cons: not enough hours only 6hr a day.
Provide excellent customer service to clients either on the phone or person. Ensuring daily sales and targets are meet or achieved. Performing clerical duties. Most enjoyable part of the job is learning new things, and helping out our customers with there needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, challenging, diverse fast paced environment.
FRONTLINE TELLER/CSRC (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 2, 2016
Pros: Learn important information about the financial industry
Cons: inconsistent hours and shifts
A typical Money Mart day starts off with preparing to open the store. All money is counted and balanced the night before so that leaves printing the appropriate documents, verifying the closing envelope and ordering anything needed for the follow day. Once the doors open your day is filled with transactions ranging from, cheque cashing, bill paying, money loaning, preparing tax files, wiring money, loading and withdrawing money and everything in between. Although this may sound a little intimidating having a friendly supportive hard working staff makes the job very enjoyable and rewarding. The hardest part of my job has to be handling the large volume of customers in a timely but informative and helpful fashion at peak times. But the most enjoyable part of my job happens to be when its a crazy busy day and things seem like there falling apart but we hold on and keep pushing and everyone gets served and is satisfied and feels like they accomplished what they came to do, especially after standing in line for what probably seems like a life time to them. I learned that people will wait on great service. Just to get greeted with that welcoming smile and served without a flaw. Helping someone solve a problem is rewarding and humbling.That's what keeps them coming back and makes them tell a friend who will tell a friend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Mart is a great place to work. Good staff and Challenging Workload
Part time CSR (Current Employee), Midland, ONFebruary 2, 2016
Pros: Easy going staff and Good business hours
Cons: Not enough working hours
At Money Mart, my typical day there is to help clients with any financial situations that they may need help in. Plus we also try to cross sell other products that we also have to offer that may be better for there financial situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Learning Experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABNovember 6, 2015
I didn't have a lot of financial experience when I started with Money Mart. It was educational, fun and a different type of job than I had ever experienced. Working with all of our clients and helping them out of difficult situations was very fulfilling for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a couple of years - but get out while you can!!!
Senior CSR / CSR Coach / Trainer (Former Employee), Courtice, ONOctober 19, 2015
Pros: Great pay, great benefits, Excellent Team Building, Excellent Training Department
Cons: Long evening shifts, usually NO proper lunch breaks due to not enough staffing, no integrity, no advancement, trainers only get paid if trainees last 90+ days or if there is a class.
I worked here 6.5 years and can honestly say I loved 90% of the people I worked with. I would happily work with most of them again. I even liked the majority of my customers. Head Office tries really hard to create Job Culture and Teamwork. I left as they were making some awesome improvements in this area, actually. 5 stars for that stuff.

...HOWEVER... I caution those with any sense of Integrity to stay FAR, FAR AWAY!!! I don't recommend this to anyone with a big heart, or anyone who enjoys working "by the book". The stress level, if you are not willing to give up your integrity...is incredibly harsh, and not worth your health.

Unfortunately, the biggest issue is an extremely low level of ethics and integrity when it comes to District Management and communication... and a total breakdown of how business is done from one district to the next. Head Office is constantly drilling out emails and reminders to do-this or don't-do-this because it's against policy, or will prevent losses... but there is not enough PROPER communication between head office and district-level, to enforce that integrity and correct it. Head Office thinks things are being done, because reports say they are -- but they're not. Employees are "warned" a million times, yet don't get reprimanded or fired if they don't comply, or worse, get hired back when they leave --- so there's no improvement whatsoever.

This, of course, causes nothing but an endless stream of angry customers --- getting irate over rather obvious requirements such as needing CURRENT contact info before loaning them hundreds – more... of dollars! All because some districts or stores will throw caution to the wind and haven't asked for or updated a customer's information since 2001. Now the store following the rules is the one getting customer complaints. See the issue?

Lastly... It's extremely hard to advance to management, unless you're willing to throw all the Policies & Procedures out the window for your DM ...and kiss their feet while you're at it. Don't get me wrong, I very much liked the few DM's I had the pleasure of working with... but it's an ugly truth: if you're not willing to help them reach their targets (read: break all the rules), then they're not willing to promote you.

They would never tell you that. I'm telling you that, because a little bird thankfully warned me - so I finally took everyone's advice, took what was left of my morals with me, and quit. On good terms, with an invite from at least 3 people in management, to call if I needed a job. Never been happier. Never gonna call them, because I really don't think these problems will ever change.

Don't say I didn't warn you! ;) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Excellent communication and good customer service skills.
Cashier (Current Employee), winnipeg,MBOctober 1, 2015
• Perform customer transactions competently.
• Balance cash drawer at the end of the day.
• Processing checks.
• Referring bank services to customers when asked about bank programs.
• Perform general clerical work, organizing incoming and outgoing mails.
• Accept loan payments and payday loans.
• Issue prepaid credit card and Open Money Mart account.
• Initiate required action for response to customer service requests for order changes, including fulfilling orders/customer information files and communicate changes to the appropriate departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MANAGER
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 18, 2015
Pros: FREE LUNCH
Cons: SHORT BREAK
Multi-tasking was essential in order to service the clients and meet company objectives. Team playing and cohesiveness among staff made the job easier and enjoyable. Dealing directly with the public on both a professional and personal level sharpened the staffs communication skills and enabled us to service the customers and increase product knowledge.The hardest part of the job was working with the safe that constantly malfunctioned.The overall atmosphere of the job was relaxed yet productive.The most enjoyable part of the position was interaction with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please DONOT WORK HERE
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Tri-cities/ Vancouver BCJuly 4, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: low pay, no breaks, extended hours and they will not pay you for overtime.
Horrible Company to work! As a Branch Manager we are forced to cut hours for CSR and let us all work like a horse. no proper breaks, how can you take breaks if you are working on your own all the time and customers are keep coming and then if you are not serving customer you have to do collection calls because they monitored your "productivity". Then the system is always down and yet they will blame you and your staff for not meeting the targets or they BS expectations. The training is sucks. they will send you to different stores to get trained and they will not reimburse you for your mileage. They will not pay you for OT.

SAVE YOURSELF from embarrassment.

NO STAR FOR THIS COMPANY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Work Here
Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Squamish, BCJune 29, 2015
Pros: okay wage, okay training
Cons: working in isolation, horrible management team, incompetent employees, supervisors and managers, shady/criminal customers
See pros and cons, this company is owned by LoneStar who makes profit out of liquidating assets of the companies it buys off, so it's all about debt in that world in every aspect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience
Customer Service - Teller (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 2, 2015
Pros: good learning experience
Cons: the location was to far
It was great working there I did learn a lot about banking. Customer were most of them good to deal with.Co-workes were great and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hopeless organization
Regional Trainer (Former Employee), Mississauga/ TorontoApril 30, 2015
Cons: always short staffs and high turnover of CSR/ BM
this company need a person who opens the store and close the store , they need a cheap labor and if some one dare to hire at a higher salary then that person will be the first one to go out of the company

if you are in good book of DM then your job is safe otherwise be prepared to face consequence

there is no leadership, everyone is surviving by saving their job and ruthless to take anyone's job