Money Mart Employee Reviews

Found 66 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that has strong culture in learning and development
Multi-Unit Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCMay 12, 2016
I am responsible for the recruitment, staffing, training, and coaching of my employees at 4 stores. Their tasks include sales, customer service, collections, maintenance of the stores and administration. My typical day includes delegating, following up and coaching to all of my great employees. Much of my time is spent communicating with HR, Loss prevention, Regional trainer, conducting recruitment events, and most importantly conducting Marketing events and implementing sales & Growth tactics in order to increase revenues.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Mart Summary
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ONMay 18, 2016
I find my workplace enjoyable. I take phone calls, make professional calls, local marketing and serve customers. I love my job and I have made many professional relationships with my customers. In fact I know most of them by name. Majority of the time I am working alone. I open and close the store (key holder). Although my job does satisfy me, I am looking for more. I am unhappy with the management and the treatment given. I am looking for a career in my field to gain experience. I am looking for something perfect for me, in any part of Canada.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 19, 2016
Horrible pay along with long hours and lack of management support.
If you even have any sort of health problem that can cause even a day of absence, don't reply.
Management doesn't believe in being sick along with emotional support and development.
Customers are very aggressive and To support to the staff.
Unrealistic targets for certain stores
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many different tasks at hand
Manager and Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONApril 26, 2016
There were many services offered so it wasn't always the same thing. I learned alot about money handling and the safety and security necessary when dealing with money. Co-workers were great. It was a small store so we were like a small family. Hardest part of the job was turning away customers who didn't have the necessary requirements. Most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help someone who needed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can learn everything quickly to operate a small office
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 28, 2016
Money Mart is a place that you never got bored. I met all kinds of customers on daily basis. I figured out customer's needs quickly in fast paced environment and delivered the best service to our customers while using up selling skills. I remain calm, courteous and respectful all the time while take accountability for identifying solutions that work best for the customers and our company,Money Mart.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked at!!!!!!
Csr (Former Employee) –  TorontoMay 31, 2014
DM doesn't show any appreciation toward their employees
A lot of verbal abuse from customers who always end up being right at the end of the day
Low pay, you can hit your monthly target every month and still mangers find a reason to not give you your full raise that you know you deserve
Not flexible job at all especially for students
They will dismiss you from the company if they find out that your looking for other oportunities
Not worth applying for, your not garentee your job. When they feel to dismiss you without a valid reason, you will be let go.
Last when your sick they find reasons why they feel your not sick.
The management team really sucks it's a lot of work with no recognition!!!!!!
Pros
nice customers will bring you coffee
Cons
long hours, no appreciation, verbal abuse from customers and district/branch managers
Was this review helpful?Yes35No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional and fun workplace
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  calgary, AB (Canada)September 22, 2016
Easy to communicate with higher authorities
Supporting and opportunities for growth to deserving employees
Harassment and Bulling free work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a couple of years - but get out while you can!!!
Senior CSR / CSR Coach / Trainer (Former Employee) –  Courtice, ONOctober 19, 2015
I worked here 6.5 years and can honestly say I loved 90% of the people I worked with. I would happily work with most of them again. I even liked the majority of my customers. Head Office tries really hard to create Job Culture and Teamwork. I left as they were making some awesome improvements in this area, actually. 5 stars for that stuff.

...HOWEVER... I caution those with any sense of Integrity to stay FAR, FAR AWAY!!! I don't recommend this to anyone with a big heart, or anyone who enjoys working "by the book". The stress level, if you are not willing to give up your integrity...is incredibly harsh, and not worth your health.

Unfortunately, the biggest issue is an extremely low level of ethics and integrity when it comes to District Management and communication... and a total breakdown of how business is done from one district to the next. Head Office is constantly drilling out emails and reminders to do-this or don't-do-this because it's against policy, or will prevent losses... but there is not enough PROPER communication between head office and district-level, to enforce that integrity and correct it. Head Office thinks things are being done, because reports say they are -- but they're not. Employees are "warned" a million times, yet don't get reprimanded or fired if they don't comply, or worse, get hired back when they leave --- so there's no improvement whatsoever.

This, of course, causes nothing but an endless stream of angry customers --- getting irate over rather obvious requirements such as needing CURRENT contact info before loaning them hundreds
  more... of dollars! All because some districts or stores will throw caution to the wind and haven't asked for or updated a customer's information since 2001. Now the store following the rules is the one getting customer complaints. See the issue?

Lastly... It's extremely hard to advance to management, unless you're willing to throw all the Policies & Procedures out the window for your DM ...and kiss their feet while you're at it. Don't get me wrong, I very much liked the few DM's I had the pleasure of working with... but it's an ugly truth: if you're not willing to help them reach their targets (read: break all the rules), then they're not willing to promote you.

They would never tell you that. I'm telling you that, because a little bird thankfully warned me - so I finally took everyone's advice, took what was left of my morals with me, and quit. On good terms, with an invite from at least 3 people in management, to call if I needed a job. Never been happier. Never gonna call them, because I really don't think these problems will ever change.

Don't say I didn't warn you! ;)
  less
Pros
Great pay, great benefits, Excellent Team Building, Excellent Training Department
Cons
Long evening shifts, usually NO proper lunch breaks due to not enough staffing, no integrity, no advancement, trainers only get paid if trainees last 90+ days or if there is a class.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment for the independent person
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONApril 20, 2016
Typical day involved processing financial transactions and payday loans. Hardest part of the job was lack of staff on busier days and the most enjoyable aspect was being able to work independently.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Difficult customers
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hopeless organization
Regional Trainer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga/ TorontoApril 30, 2015
this company need a person who opens the store and close the store , they need a cheap labor and if some one dare to hire at a higher salary then that person will be the first one to go out of the company

if you are in good book of DM then your job is safe otherwise be prepared to face consequence

there is no leadership, everyone is surviving by saving their job and ruthless to take anyone's job
Cons
always short staffs and high turnover of CSR/ BM
Was this review helpful?Yes27No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Regina, SKMarch 6, 2016
Executed customer transactions, including deposits, withdrawals, money orders and checks.
Sold cashier\'s checks, traveler\'s checks and money orders.
Created strategies to develop and expand sales of services to existing customer which resulted in a 60%
increase in annual revenue.
Organized, stocked and maintained the teller window area.
Pulled daily branch reports.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Movement
Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Squamish, BCDecember 3, 2014
- Keep moving around doing various tasks to keep from getting bored or stagnant when it's slow
- Keep up with the fast pace expectation when it suddenly gets busy
- Acceptable compensation for the work and level of potential stress
Pros
easy work, don't bring work home with you, decent hours of operation
Cons
regular difficult customers, poor training and maintaining of acceptable customer service, high turnover, poor upper management, no company culture, overly excessive security, no nearby windows
Was this review helpful?Yes19No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management and guidance
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Moose Jaw, SKApril 26, 2015
i would personally not work for this company again there was an extreme lack of communication between higher up management and staff since the takeover in regards of how to do our jobs properly i had my pay not come in i wasnt issued my benefits on time my paperwork for everything was misplaced
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes28No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
improve my confidance
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  north vancouverApril 7, 2016
dealing with very special customers with mostly no credit or bad credit, being alone by yourself that makes you to find a way to solve your problem when it's neccessary
Pros
flexibale schedule
Cons
limited benefit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team envirnoment, customer service, and sales
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONFebruary 21, 2016
Provide excellent customer service to clients either on the phone or person. Ensuring daily sales and targets are meet or achieved. Performing clerical duties. Most enjoyable part of the job is learning new things, and helping out our customers with there needs.
Pros
positive feedback from customers.
Cons
not enough hours only 6hr a day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and fun to be part of
Part time CSR (Current Employee) –  Midland, ONFebruary 26, 2016
Responsible for opening and closing the store, Balancing tills and Safe, Cross selling product, Giving and receiving money transactions, Making sure the nightly paperwork is complete for the next business day, Making sure the store is clean and tidy. AML certified, Western union certified, Easy tax certified.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was my first job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCApril 5, 2016
i loved working for money mart i had the best team that was working with me the hours were great lots of overtime i was in a safe location and i enjoyed the customers
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting at best
CSR (Former Employee) –  Toronto,July 19, 2014
One should've read these reviews before I even applied ! These guys con you into thinking your job is secure and when you let your guard down, get comfortable and start giving your input that's when the BMs start to conspire against you. CSRs go unappreciated and any CSR hired that seems to have some sort of an opinion is seen as a threat and is let go, not to mention the bogus write ups that some power hungry BMs will script every once in a while. The BMs will find every excuse in the books to not give you your raise quoting policies and rules that you haven't even heard of before ,the DM will avoid answering any pressing questions unless you tag human resources or anyone higher than her in status of the company in the emails you send her, BMs don't realize this but CSRs do have colleagues that work in other stores in different districts, word goes around even if you said it in the Yukon....I'm shocked this company hasn't been taken to court for something human rights related. All in all if you just want a "job" and to make a bit of petty cash and wanna meet some sweet people from your neighbourhood ( the customers) then this is the place for you :)
Pros
sweet customers
Cons
unprofessional bms and dms. bad management, undervalued front line staff, shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes52No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Mart is a great place to work. Good staff and Challenging Workload
Part time CSR (Current Employee) –  Midland, ONFebruary 2, 2016
At Money Mart, my typical day there is to help clients with any financial situations that they may need help in. Plus we also try to cross sell other products that we also have to offer that may be better for there financial situation.
Pros
Easy going staff and Good business hours
Cons
Not enough working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great place for me to work
csr (Current Employee) –  Lower Sackville, NSJanuary 26, 2013
MM takes very good care of us..Quite secure worry about our safety..Training on all parts of our work required..We get to meet new people each day, and help them with arising costs of bills each day.The job is what we make of it daily..Mistakes can be easily made but I strive to do my best..Management is always there to help also other co-workers
Pros
great benifits, supply all necessary means of cooking. free bill payments
Cons
no cons except my feeling of dispare if i make a mistake
Was this review helpful?Yes4No13Report

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 116 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1