Money Mart Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 63 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that has strong culture in learning and development
Multi-Unit Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCMay 12, 2016
I am responsible for the recruitment, staffing, training, and coaching of my employees at 4 stores. Their tasks include sales, customer service, collections, maintenance of the stores and administration. My typical day includes delegating, following up and coaching to all of my great employees. Much of my time is spent communicating with HR, Loss prevention, Regional trainer, conducting recruitment events, and most importantly conducting Marketing events and implementing sales & Growth tactics in order to increase revenues.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a couple of years - but get out while you can!!!
Senior CSR / CSR Coach / Trainer (Former Employee) –  Courtice, ONOctober 19, 2015
I worked here 6.5 years and can honestly say I loved 90% of the people I worked with. I would happily work with most of them again. I even liked the majority of my customers. Head Office tries really hard to create Job Culture and Teamwork. I left as they were making some awesome improvements in this area, actually. 5 stars for that stuff.

...HOWEVER... I caution those with any sense of Integrity to stay FAR, FAR AWAY!!! I don't recommend this to anyone with a big heart, or anyone who enjoys working "by the book". The stress level, if you are not willing to give up your integrity...is incredibly harsh, and not worth your health.

Unfortunately, the biggest issue is an extremely low level of ethics and integrity when it comes to District Management and communication... and a total breakdown of how business is done from one district to the next. Head Office is constantly drilling out emails and reminders to do-this or don't-do-this because it's against policy, or will prevent losses... but there is not enough PROPER communication between head office and district-level, to enforce that integrity and correct it. Head Office thinks things are being done, because reports say they are -- but they're not. Employees are "warned" a million times, yet don't get reprimanded or fired if they don't comply, or worse, get hired back when they leave --- so there's no improvement whatsoever.

This, of course, causes nothing but an endless stream of angry customers --- getting irate over rather obvious requirements such as needing CURRENT contact info before loaning them hundreds
  more... of dollars! All because some districts or stores will throw caution to the wind and haven't asked for or updated a customer's information since 2001. Now the store following the rules is the one getting customer complaints. See the issue?

Lastly... It's extremely hard to advance to management, unless you're willing to throw all the Policies & Procedures out the window for your DM ...and kiss their feet while you're at it. Don't get me wrong, I very much liked the few DM's I had the pleasure of working with... but it's an ugly truth: if you're not willing to help them reach their targets (read: break all the rules), then they're not willing to promote you.

They would never tell you that. I'm telling you that, because a little bird thankfully warned me - so I finally took everyone's advice, took what was left of my morals with me, and quit. On good terms, with an invite from at least 3 people in management, to call if I needed a job. Never been happier. Never gonna call them, because I really don't think these problems will ever change.

Don't say I didn't warn you! ;)
  less
Pros
Great pay, great benefits, Excellent Team Building, Excellent Training Department
Cons
Long evening shifts, usually NO proper lunch breaks due to not enough staffing, no integrity, no advancement, trainers only get paid if trainees last 90+ days or if there is a class.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many different tasks at hand
Manager and Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONApril 26, 2016
There were many services offered so it wasn't always the same thing. I learned alot about money handling and the safety and security necessary when dealing with money. Co-workers were great. It was a small store so we were like a small family. Hardest part of the job was turning away customers who didn't have the necessary requirements. Most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help someone who needed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can learn everything quickly to operate a small office
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 28, 2016
Money Mart is a place that you never got bored. I met all kinds of customers on daily basis. I figured out customer's needs quickly in fast paced environment and delivered the best service to our customers while using up selling skills. I remain calm, courteous and respectful all the time while take accountability for identifying solutions that work best for the customers and our company,Money Mart.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Regina, SKMarch 6, 2016
Executed customer transactions, including deposits, withdrawals, money orders and checks.
Sold cashier\'s checks, traveler\'s checks and money orders.
Created strategies to develop and expand sales of services to existing customer which resulted in a 60%
increase in annual revenue.
Organized, stocked and maintained the teller window area.
Pulled daily branch reports.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment for the independent person
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONApril 20, 2016
Typical day involved processing financial transactions and payday loans. Hardest part of the job was lack of staff on busier days and the most enjoyable aspect was being able to work independently.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Difficult customers
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team envirnoment, customer service, and sales
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ONFebruary 21, 2016
Provide excellent customer service to clients either on the phone or person. Ensuring daily sales and targets are meet or achieved. Performing clerical duties. Most enjoyable part of the job is learning new things, and helping out our customers with there needs.
Pros
positive feedback from customers.
Cons
not enough hours only 6hr a day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and fun to be part of
Part time CSR (Current Employee) –  Midland, ONFebruary 26, 2016
Responsible for opening and closing the store, Balancing tills and Safe, Cross selling product, Giving and receiving money transactions, Making sure the nightly paperwork is complete for the next business day, Making sure the store is clean and tidy. AML certified, Western union certified, Easy tax certified.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
improve my confidance
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  north vancouverApril 7, 2016
dealing with very special customers with mostly no credit or bad credit, being alone by yourself that makes you to find a way to solve your problem when it's neccessary
Pros
flexibale schedule
Cons
limited benefit
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money Mart is a great place to work. Good staff and Challenging Workload
Part time CSR (Current Employee) –  Midland, ONFebruary 2, 2016
At Money Mart, my typical day there is to help clients with any financial situations that they may need help in. Plus we also try to cross sell other products that we also have to offer that may be better for there financial situation.
Pros
Easy going staff and Good business hours
Cons
Not enough working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked at!!!!!!
Csr (Former Employee) –  TorontoMay 31, 2014
DM doesn't show any appreciation toward their employees
A lot of verbal abuse from customers who always end up being right at the end of the day
Low pay, you can hit your monthly target every month and still mangers find a reason to not give you your full raise that you know you deserve
Not flexible job at all especially for students
They will dismiss you from the company if they find out that your looking for other oportunities
Not worth applying for, your not garentee your job. When they feel to dismiss you without a valid reason, you will be let go.
Last when your sick they find reasons why they feel your not sick.
The management team really sucks it's a lot of work with no recognition!!!!!!
Pros
nice customers will bring you coffee
Cons
long hours, no appreciation, verbal abuse from customers and district/branch managers
Was this review helpful?Yes30No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was my first job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCApril 5, 2016
i loved working for money mart i had the best team that was working with me the hours were great lots of overtime i was in a safe location and i enjoyed the customers
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Movement
Teller/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Squamish, BCDecember 3, 2014
- Keep moving around doing various tasks to keep from getting bored or stagnant when it's slow
- Keep up with the fast pace expectation when it suddenly gets busy
- Acceptable compensation for the work and level of potential stress
Pros
easy work, don't bring work home with you, decent hours of operation
Cons
regular difficult customers, poor training and maintaining of acceptable customer service, high turnover, poor upper management, no company culture, overly excessive security, no nearby windows
Was this review helpful?Yes18No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, challenging, diverse fast paced environment.
FRONTLINE TELLER/CSRC (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 2, 2016
A typical Money Mart day starts off with preparing to open the store. All money is counted and balanced the night before so that leaves printing the appropriate documents, verifying the closing envelope and ordering anything needed for the follow day. Once the doors open your day is filled with transactions ranging from, cheque cashing, bill paying, money loaning, preparing tax files, wiring money, loading and withdrawing money and everything in between. Although this may sound a little intimidating having a friendly supportive hard working staff makes the job very enjoyable and rewarding. The hardest part of my job has to be handling the large volume of customers in a timely but informative and helpful fashion at peak times. But the most enjoyable part of my job happens to be when its a crazy busy day and things seem like there falling apart but we hold on and keep pushing and everyone gets served and is satisfied and feels like they accomplished what they came to do, especially after standing in line for what probably seems like a life time to them. I learned that people will wait on great service. Just to get greeted with that welcoming smile and served without a flaw. Helping someone solve a problem is rewarding and humbling.That's what keeps them coming back and makes them tell a friend who will tell a friend.
Pros
Learn important information about the financial industry
Cons
inconsistent hours and shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Excellent communication and good customer service skills.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  winnipeg,MBOctober 1, 2015
• Perform customer transactions competently.
• Balance cash drawer at the end of the day.
• Processing checks.
• Referring bank services to customers when asked about bank programs.
• Perform general clerical work, organizing incoming and outgoing mails.
• Accept loan payments and payday loans.
• Issue prepaid credit card and Open Money Mart account.
• Initiate required action for response to customer service requests for order changes, including fulfilling orders/customer information files and communicate changes to the appropriate departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management and guidance
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Moose Jaw, SKApril 26, 2015
i would personally not work for this company again there was an extreme lack of communication between higher up management and staff since the takeover in regards of how to do our jobs properly i had my pay not come in i wasnt issued my benefits on time my paperwork for everything was misplaced
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes26No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to be
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary ABJune 6, 2013
I have worked with MM for 6 years and unfortunately counting as a branch manager. The only thing good I have to say is they offer decent wages and as a manager potentially decent bonuses. Training is a disaster they have "re-vamped" the program several times now and still no real direction. Turn over is unbelievable be prepared to work long hours alone with no breaks. Nothing you ever do is good enough. Focus is on sales and sales only if you can't sell a visa card you have no place there, it is all they care about. Zero job security they can come in at anytime and fire you without cause. Upper management gives no support and forget about work/life balance you are constantly on call. Depending on location customers can be rude and down right abusive. I have learned a lot working here and am grateful for the opportunities and experience but I have no chance of advancement and with the current lack of ethics and morals I can't wait to get out.
Pros
decent wage, diversity
Cons
long hours, no job security and lack of support
Was this review helpful?Yes36No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress, not what was promised
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 18, 2016
I was hired virtually on the spot at a high wage after one interview with a district manager - should have been flag number one - as a manager trainee to have my own store. I was told I'd be trained for 8 to 12 weeks or so (can't recall exactly, but several weeks in any case) and then placed in my own store. I did receive very hands-on and thorough training (in most areas, but not all), and quickly found out that it wasn't just "people who need some cash to pay bills" as the DM stated in my interview - the clientele, often, seemed (or were!) very shifty.

After some weeks of training, I was parachuted into my own store. Unprepared. Insufficiently trained. Not asked if I was ready to take it on, just "ok, you're starting in your own store next week" type of thing - huh!?

Working alone from 8 something AM to 5 PM and the occasional weekend was terrible. If it was busy, I had no time to eat lunch in peace. If something came up, I had to call another store for support because there was nobody there to back me up, leaving the customer at the window wondering what the heck was taking so long, leading to their becoming irritated.

Handling such high amounts of cash and worrying about every single cheque being presented being fraudulent or the potential for fraud, and having to call clients who owed money was incredibly stressful. As well, closing up at night, having to balance all the money taken in, and having to do so on a deadline, just lead to panic on my part.

Some people may thrive in such a demanding environment but I certainly did not. The bottom line: if you want
  more... stress, if you want to worry about counterfeit cash, phony cheques, and people doing suspicious Western Union transactions, and no time for breaks if you are working alone: this is the place to work. I couldn't even finish my two weeks' notice. I just had to get out. My tenure there? About 7 weeks.  less
Pros
high starting salary, nice colleagues
Cons
high stress, working alone
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Learning Experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, ABNovember 6, 2015
I didn't have a lot of financial experience when I started with Money Mart. It was educational, fun and a different type of job than I had ever experienced. Working with all of our clients and helping them out of difficult situations was very fulfilling for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MANAGER
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 18, 2015
Multi-tasking was essential in order to service the clients and meet company objectives. Team playing and cohesiveness among staff made the job easier and enjoyable. Dealing directly with the public on both a professional and personal level sharpened the staffs communication skills and enabled us to service the customers and increase product knowledge.The hardest part of the job was working with the safe that constantly malfunctioned.The overall atmosphere of the job was relaxed yet productive.The most enjoyable part of the position was interaction with the customers.
Pros
FREE LUNCH
Cons
SHORT BREAK
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 111 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture