MOHAWK COLLEGE Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to get teaching experience
a remote sensing instructor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON15 November 2017
I took the job as a way to gain some experience in the field of GIS and for the most part I enjoyed it. Be sure you get to know people good at a certain level of web design because you will have to design your own lessons. The hours are flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We are on Strike
Professor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 November 2017
we are on strike for good reason.
80/20 part time to full time staff.
staff are exploited.
most enjoyable part of the job is connecting with students caught in the middle of the struggle.
Pros
The Union has our backs
Cons
Poor Leadership Model
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mohawk College
Professor (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 November 2017
many hours for preparation - not fully compensated
supportive culture
rewarding work content
Good onboarding procedures
many opportunities for professional development
Pros
continuous learning
Cons
long hours and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Peer Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 October 2017
Mohawk College is a good place to work. It seems like working in the educational field is very beneficial because the majority of people are there to help folks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good summer job
Facilities Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON6 September 2017
worked here for a summer job and enjoyed it. The boss was very helpful with explaining the tasks I had to do in the morning and I had free reign to finish them throughout the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not utilized to your potential, promised rewarding work
Writing Centre Tutor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON22 August 2017
Not enough limits put on students seeking help and they are allowed to abuse the service that is presented to them for free. You will be asked to do things that that are way beyond your mandate because you are viewed as free labour. There are moments of great satisfaction when you are able to help students and watch them grow and learn as a result of your direct coaching.
Pros
Very flexible scheduling
Cons
Lack of respect from some students and not enough respect from management for the role you do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience as a student
Editor-in-Chief of Students' Newspaper (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON20 July 2017
The Mohawk Student Association has a great work atmosphere. Of course people skills are necessary and students learns the ropes of the workforce while getting an education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I didn't work at Mohawk College
On Air Host/Producer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON18 July 2017
I was only a student in the radio broadcasting program. All I did was on Ignite Radio and 1015 the Hawk do the following positions. Such as: Air Host/Producer/Sports/News and Weather/Entertainment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Environment
SUPPLY TEACHER (Part Time) (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 July 2017
I was called to cover absent teachers. I had to teach the class various of topics such as reading, writing, computer skills, job search skills and interview skills. I learned that the students have a different way of thinking and how they respond to the lessons provided. It was a very interesting experience because it allowed me to open up my mind and understand how to reinforce positivity with the students or staff.

The management was not supportive.

The workplace culture was good because we communicated by ASL (American Sign Language)

I enjoyed teaching and still do to this day.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 July 2017
As an instructor at Mohawk College, I was able to fulfill my childhood desire to teach others. I was given the opportunity to develop two courses which I've had the opportunity to instruct for more than 20 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment in the Student Life Office
GRAPHIC DESIGNER (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 May 2017
The student designer in the student life office gives amazing work experience while being a student at Mohawk College. Debra Pearson, the head of the department, ran it beautifully and was a great mentor to work with. Great culture and opportunity to build a portfolio. Unfortunately it is only a student position, so there is not much room for advancement once you graduate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Generic Computer Lab Instructor - Co-op (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON4 May 2017
Great place to work in. Opportunity to learn within a team and to improve the way to deliver customer service. New job environment for me but full of learning.
Pros
Team work
Cons
Not-permanent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 May 2017
•Assisted students with online registration process
•Assisted with convocation preparations including organizing graduates’ lists and diplomas, preparing gowns and liripipes, and creating posters for program names
•Kept the office filing up to date
•Scheduled faculty meetings
•Performed other duties such as preparation of orientation, start smart, and open house

The team was amazing and I did not experience any negativity in the workplace
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing environment
Student (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON23 April 2017
its a very great college for the engineering studies and provided with lots of practical work along with the theoratical knowledge for the implementation for what you learned.its good be a part of this college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn so much about to work diffrent culture
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 April 2017
1. Always satisfied with my work at the end of the day
2.Learn many things like public speaking, management and communication skills many more
3.Helped tutties in their subjects and submit daily reports to head of the department
Pros
Always learning experience
Cons
Sometimes lazy students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to learn and work
COMPUTER USER ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON11 April 2017
I am very happy to get education and work experience both at the same time. In my co-op's I was doing workshops to teach Mohawk staff to use computer . It's the awesome place. I
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Program
Architectural Technologist (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON24 March 2017
In the 3 year Architectural Technology program at Mohawk college due to graduate in December 2018.
The course includes a 12 month work co-op, in order to prepare us with real life work scenarios.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management - good flexibility
Professor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON21 February 2017
College is in a place where education is not a priority - money is...

Students and teaching are great opportunities and can be very fulfilling - but this is becoming increasingly challenging.

Management pretends quality is important but every decision is still financial and innovation is not supported, nor is research.

Department leadership is very poor in some departments .
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
High stress periods
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional atmosphere
English Instructor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 February 2017
ESL team was great to work with! There was a clear focus on the future of TESL/LINC at the college and making it relevant to our newcomer students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and professional environment with amazing and intelligent co-workers
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON25 January 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job is my co-workers are hardworking and intelligent people. I also enjoy the experience i receive and the things I learn from it.
Pros
hours
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MOHAWK COLLEGE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 72 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9

MOHAWK COLLEGE Reviews by Location