Find companies:
Ministry of Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Ministry of Transportation Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad but could be better
Pavement Evaluation Technician (Current Employee), DownsviewJuly 23, 2014
A typical day at work is not bad, very flexible. In my experience I have had very good managers that not only allowed us to develop our program but worked very hard to work with us to cut through red tape.

Our building is very old (not the case for every ministry office in Ontario). Not an ideal environment for advancement in the ministry. Office environment – more... is not maintained very well and bureaucracy is everywhere making it very hard to update or change policy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), North YorkJune 17, 2014
Pros: great benefits and supportive environment
Cons: difficult to advance in career
Every day brings a new set of challenges, never know what is coming next.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Technical Lead , Service Operations Office (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMay 27, 2014
complex systems, a lot of applications, mostly java , oracle and ibm shop. a great place to grow and learn more
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Middleware Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, ontarioApril 19, 2014
MTO is a great place to work. There are a lot of opportunities to grow and gain experience in different technical areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant Experience
Systems Tester (Former Employee), 1201 Wilson AveMarch 18, 2014
My experience was one of technical skills learned without book help.
On the job training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
file clerk
Support Services Clerk (Former Employee), scarboroughMarch 14, 2014
Pros: i very enjoyed working with thte police officers
my typical day was to pull out and print data from the microfish. i learned to use the microfish, learned how to pull drivers information fro data base, management was very feindly and amazing, nicest bosses I have ever had. The co-workers very friendly. The hardest part of the job was the documents ahd to be very accurate they were going to court. – more... the most enjoyable job was working with the police officers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great work exoerance
Costumer Service Agent (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONNovember 3, 2013
Job is very repetitive, although you gain a great deal of knowledge about work related information everyday, This enhance your knowledge at work and outside related tasks, Most enjoyable part of the job was co-workers, work environment is friendly at most times, management is not very cooperative with the staff the level of communication between in – more... far beyond explainable, no communication between management and employees, no understanding, a great deal of miscommunication due to all these factors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work. It's not what you know its who you know
District Development Technicians (Former Employee), Nelson, BCAugust 6, 2013
Pros: was the retirement package
Cons: very poor management
Find another place to work. Very bad management and culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Collisions Processing Clerk (Current Employee), Kingston, ONJuly 23, 2013
A typical day is coming in to work going to my desk and signing on my computer. I work all day with reports sorting, batching and online input. I learned every day is different because there are many situation I can come across. Managment is very helpful and encourages the employees. Co-works are great to work with and are very helpful when questions – more... need to be answered or problems that need to be solved.The hardest part of my job is working with multiple years for batching documents as there is thousands of documents I handle on a daily basis but my good organizational skills really come in handy when preparing this part. The most enjoyable part of my job is I get to work with a variety of different tasks in a day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 10, 2013
Excellent facilities, helpful management. There was always something to do. They promoted a stress free work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers worked well with workers to provide a positive experience
Provincial Permit Clerk (Former Employee), Dawson Creek, BCMay 28, 2013
Pros: supervisors always willing to provide help
Cons: long hours sitting in chair
The position involved shift work. Each shift presented its own challenges.

I learned how to research policies and acts in a fast-paced environment.

My co-workers were eager to provide assistance.

The hardest part of the job was to keep clients happy when they had to wait for long periods of time to get service.

The most enjoyable part of the job – more... was helping clients from all over north america. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
knowledge of the processes of construction in ground engineering
Researcher (Former Employee), WaterlooMarch 27, 2013
• Working with the MTO has made me an expert in both internal and external governmental communications. I have thorough knowledge of the processes of construction in ground engineering projects as well as excellent interpersonal and communication skills. My organizational and multitasking abilities are also a good fit with your work culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secure and fun place to work
Fleet Administrator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 26, 2013
Pros: secure
Cons: uneven workload distribution
Comfortable work environment
learned better administration and management skills
cooperative and supportive management
Cooperative and friendly co-workers
Occasional workload and uneven distribution
The job itself
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work enviroment
Installation Engineer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: good learning experience
Nice work environment,
Friendly team partners, enjoyed working in a team of professional and provided to employees of the Ministry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Installation Engineer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: nice working environment
Good team to work with, friendly environment. Good and friendly management. Learned team work and dealing with different clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and providing a valued customer service
Court Clerk (Former Employee), North Bay, ONFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Positive work enviroment where you learn lots and get to know a variety of different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Call Centre opratarions (Former Employee), 370 king st wFebruary 17, 2013
Pros: helps u think on the spot faster helps build great people skills
Cons: system problems/bugs
First day at work not knowing how to deal with systems and people some of the good days where when u got useto the system and figured out how to deal with problems in the system and continue the servey with company policy in mind knowing that u need to collect proper data and not falsify information all the co worksers i had where really helpfull and – more... the most enjoable part of the job was checking my performance score at the end of the day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Work Place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 6, 2013
Friendly and diverse environment, great team of individuals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opportunity for my field of study
Co-op Student - Fleet Management Centre (Former Employee), St. CatharinesFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: positive work environment, great learning experience, great staff.
Cons: certain days had heavy workload (carpool was unpredictable certain days).
The second time I worked for the MTO as a co-op associate, depending on the month, I learned a lot of administrative duties. A typical day at work when I took charge of administrating the Fleet Management Centre's carpool program which involved dispatching vehicles, creating reservations, and managing unmanned carpools in Thorold and Burlington through – more... the email reservation system. I also learned how to run a competition for co-op students as I helped set up interviews, contacted candidates, set up the testing and did the paperwork that was required after. I enjoyed working with everyone of my co-workers, it was a mature, positive work environment. Management was very supportive. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with the carpool program on very busy days when there were no cars available for last minute bookings. The most enjoyable part was the learning experience, the people I met and the memories. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we all got laid off due to contracting out
Highway General Foreman (Former Employee), i worked at pat 13 ormsbyJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: just a great place to work
it was the best we'd work hard have fun co workers were the best guys most enjoyable part was going in to work