Find companies:
Ministry of Natural Resources
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Ministry of Natural Resources Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdoors, Great Experience, Fun People
FIRE CREW LEADER (Current Employee), Red Lake, ONAugust 29, 2014
Working in forest fires in Ontario is exhilarating. It really builds in you a strong understanding of teamwork, leadership and initiative. It makes you feel like you are contributing to something greater than yourself. The experience of the outdoors, going to places in the wilderness where few if any other humans go, is unforgettable. Leadership qualities – more... you gain as a leader in charge of three other crew members will always stick with you. Good pay and benefits really makes this one of the best summer contract jobs out there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, productive, cooperative working enviroment
Park Ranger (Former Employee), ONJuly 14, 2014
Pros: excellent breakfast/lunch/dinner included with expense to wages
Cons: long hours, some hazards
I enjoyed this program very much as it was the best summer experience I have had so far.
Every day was easy to get up and go out to work with the guys, especially knowing we had a nice motivating breakfast to wake up to, and an amazing well deserved supper to return to the camp to after a long day of work.
The ranger supervisor's were practically one – more... of us younger rangers right off the beginning of the program and were very clear and communicative of the tasks being given.
I learned very much about the wilderness, the parks, and what it takes to maintain them as Ministry of Natural Resource park ranger.
The most enjoyable part was canoeing/portaging and camping for days at a time. Knowing we were out there to assist the public in encouragement towards attracting more portage enthusiasts to the areas which were over grown by weeds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I liked about the MNR
Jr. Ranger Program, Thunder Bay (Former Employee), Thunder Bay, ONMay 4, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: having to work in poor weather conditions
I loved working for the MNR, I have worked for them for the past 2 years and I have gained so much experience. Working for the MNR has given me great outdoor experience and I've learned to step out of my comfort zone working with power tools, going away for the summer, meeting new people, and traveling to places I never thought I'd ever go.

A typical – more... day at work consists of hard work, sweat, and determination but also very enjoyable. The hardest part of the job for me was having to wake up early, but on the bright side we only had 7 hour work days. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people because you develope new friendships that'll last forever; and you get the chance to work with people who have the same interests as you do. Overall, working for the MNR was my favorite job and I hope to work for them again in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Senior Communications Officer (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: friday lunches
Cons: issues in media
Several files which are issues driven and politically relevant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer program for youth.
Ontario Ranger (Former Employee), Sioux Lookout, ONJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: food was really good.
Cons: twenty two girls in one cabin isn't the best idea, but its doable provided your a good problem solver.
The program has since been cancelled however it was a great work experience and I made life long friends. I received a lot of training and had a lot of fun doing it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misery of No Results
Information management specialist (Former Employee), Peterborough, OntarioJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: can't think of anything unless lack of accountability is a pro.
Cons: way too many to list - but incompetent managers is a good place to start.
If you are willing to forsake poor advancement options for a slowly eroding benefits package, can live with incompetent managers and supervisors, have a desire to see any hard work you do either claimed by someone else or be disregarded - the the Misery of No Results (MNR) is the place for you. Anyone with any ambition, brains or know-how has either – more... left or are just hanging on to max out their pensions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Dorset, ONSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: great open minded team
Cons: it was closed down
I enjoyed working with the cooks and the team, we ran a very tight ship so we didnt really have much we couldnt handle. It was a loss when it was closed. We were all assigned a task for the day be it dishes, cook, prep, or dining room prep and clean. The guests were sometimes a challenge, however we always made sure they were happy. I enjoyed being – more... part of a very happy productive team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review: Amazing fun atmosphere!!
Administrative Assistant - College Job Placement (Former Employee), Pembroke, ONJuly 26, 2013
Pros: everyone was so helpful and easy going.
Cons: i am not bilingual, makes it hard to get a permanent position with them since they are a government institution.
I thoroughly enjoyed my placement with the Ministry of Natural Resources, two weeks went far too fast. Met a lot of great people and felt like one big family being there. I would love to establish full time employment with them only thing holding me back was I am not bilingual :(.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow industry with little progress
Petroleum Inspector (Current Employee), London, ONJuly 22, 2013
Oil and gas industry in Ontario is a much slower pace than out west. I am relocating west to pick things up a bit. It was a good experience but it's time to move west again this fall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, fun, detail oriented, labour intensive
Hose Plant Labourer (Former Employee), Thunder Bay, ONMay 31, 2013
A typical day at work involved doing anything from off-loading firefighting equipment from incoming tractor-trailers to testing the firefighting equipment such as charging hoses on pumps to look for leaks, and defects to repairing the same defects. It was hands-down one of the best jobs I have ever had, and one of the best employers anyone could work – more... for. The work was extremely challenging, dirty, and long; but it was also a lot of fun. The people I worked with, including bosses were always nice, approachable, professional, and ready to pitch in when required. I learned so many things in this job, time management, camaraderie, how to repair complex pieces of equipment, how to operate complex pieces of equipment, commitment to a challenging work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very educational and fun
Aboriginal Youth Work Exchange Program (Former Employee), Chapleau, ONMay 28, 2013
I was part of a three year summer student program and was one of the first to fulfill the three years of my contract. I really enjoyed working with the Ministry and shadowing some of the employees in different sectors. Two of my favorite outings were going out for the day with one of the conservation officers, and going up in the helicopter for the – more... day with fish & wildlife technicians. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job
Hunter Safety Training instructor (Former Employee), essex countyApril 18, 2013
Pros: good part time money
Cons: loss of evenings
If you enjoy hunting you should apply to MNR and become a instructor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly varied, exciting and perfect for the outdoors-men
Naturalist (Former Employee), Lansdowne, ONApril 7, 2013
I personally loved this job, and perfectly tied in with what I'll be pursuing in university -- environmental sciences. You're outside about half the time, usually in the form of presenting the natural world to campers and tourists, whether it be kid's programs, family-oriented evening programs or hikes. You may also be inside the Visitor's Centre working – more... with people in much smaller groups, or researching your next program. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Ontario Ranger (Former Employee), Killarney, ONMarch 1, 2013
Pros: work in the enviorment
Cons: rude staff
it was a comfortable environment, but the other crew was very unfriendly and rude
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Microbiological Technician
Microbiological Technician (Former Employee), North Bay, ONDecember 19, 2012
Supervise design and installation of pine tree seed enzyme research laboratory. Sample collection, testing, analysis and report writing. Maintenance and operation of laboratory instrumentation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summer job
North Simcoe Private Land Stewardship Rangers (Former Employee), Midhurst, ONDecember 15, 2012
learned so much doing this job had alot of fun sad it was just a summer job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outdoor atmosphere. fun and exciting
Sr. Operations Technician (Current Employee), OrilliaNovember 17, 2012
Pros: outdoors
Cons: funding is limited
I am responsible for operating a Provincial Park. Enforcing laws, policies and regulations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Area Enforcement Manager (Former Employee), Sudbury,Timmins,Sault Ste MarieOctober 26, 2012
Best career choice anywhere.Lots of great people,challenging career.Outdoor environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic learning experience
Co-OP Student (Former Employee), Timmins, ONSeptember 20, 2012
An overall good experience in working with the MNR. Using GI systems and software to aid in the growth of an endangered species (Lake Sturgeon).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first day in field
Petroleum Operations Technologist (Current Employee), FredrictonSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: setting in neat and clean suv not like schlumberger ugly truck
Cons: missed my previous job working on rig floor holding heavy pipe wrench
It is always a great fun when you do a job and you have sufficient expertise in hand. When i joined Ministry of Petroleum,some operations were already in progress. I studied all program of one operation and headed to the field for inspection.
Once I used to be inspected by ERCB,well site supervisors and other regulatory bodies and now I was inspecting – more... the crew members tool push and well site supervisor. Being aware of the stress and nature of the job I talked to the crew in the same oil and gas dialect which was a pleasant surprise for them.They cooperated with me in all aspects of technical specification, rig inspection and HSE regulations and I came back to my office in a happy mood – less