Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Consultant Physiotherapist (Former Employee) –  kuwait27 September 2017
Good working culture and good management.good supportive staff and helpful management.Get the opportunity to attend different international conferences .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, extensive travel, poor managers, little positive feedback
Long Term Care Homes Inspector (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 September 2017
This job gives you plenty of opportunities to learn and challenge yourself. Co-workers were professional and were available and willing to help. Extensive driving and many nights away from home in a hotel is required. One egotistical team leader made work life miserable for many professionals who left as a result of this person's behaviour. Nothing was done when this individual's behaviour and unprofessional conduct was reported to the manager.
Pros
Professional environment with co-workers
Cons
Poor managers, unorganized, changing priorities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allows me to travel the province
Ambulance Service Inspector/Auditor (Current Employee) –  Province of Ontario31 August 2017
Contract work which allows me to see the entire province and meet many great people. Allows me to see how ambulance services in other areas deal with day to day challenges of EMS allowing me to take home ideas that could improve my work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Record Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 June 2017
I enjoyed working there. I learned a lot in this job. I did not had any background as a Record Clerk but I learned how to do it and became a pro with help of my manager and co workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fast Paced Environment
Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 April 2017
A typical day would be spent in meetings, on the phone assisting customers, answering emails, meeting with staff, financial planning, coordination, review of materials and HR related activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON18 April 2017
Processed forms for the Ministry and updated databases. Good work environment and friendly co-workers. The location was very accessible and the work day was from 7:30 to 4; Monday to Friday
Pros
Good location to grab a quick and affordable lunch
Cons
Traffic was not the greatest when leaving. Very busy location
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work Place and fun too
Finance Officer (Intern) (Current Employee) –  Concord, ON5 April 2017
It is nice place to work, Less tress and happy environment. Good Management and good Work life balance. Some days lots of work and some days not much. You will have lots of time to complete your work
Pros
Management
Cons
Kichen (which is doesnt matter at work most of the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff midwife in delivery room
Staff Midwife (Current Employee) –  Qunfudah gen.hospital27 January 2017
I'm recently working at qunfudah general hospital my area is in delivery room.i can manage uncomplicated obstetric cases.in 8 hour work we 7or 8 deliveries
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
30 min
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity workplace
Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 December 2016
OPS is an organization that provides government services to citizens and promotes an innovative, diverse, eco-friendly and accessible workplace.
Pros
High Job security
Cons
Job culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 July 2016
Typical Day:

On a typical day I manage inquiries from clients related to Ministry incentive programs, contact clients about outstanding legal obligations related to incentive programs and manage Excel spreadsheet used as database.

What I learned:

I have learned the importance of continuous improvement. Business processes can often be improved. I recommended, wrote and implemented a business process improvement designed to increase client compliance with terms and conditions of client agreement with Ministry. I also created the conditions necessary to test the efficacy of business process improvement by creating control and treatment groups.

Co-workers:

My co-workers are highly educated, hard working and well meaning.

Hardest part of the job:

In the public sector you have to accept that priorities and decision-making processes are often driven by media and big P politics. This can create challenges.

Easiest part of the job:

Once I learned the requisite program knowledge, inquiries from Ministry clients became fairly routine.

Most enjoyable part of job:

The satisfaction I get from seeing a task through to completion.
Pros
highly educated and well informed co-workers
Cons
routine tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience, teaching and asisting hospitals across Ontario implment Quality based procedures best practises
Director Quality Based Procedures (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 July 2016
Allowed for innovative projects to create cost effective healthcare car in Ontario. Over collaboration can slow processing of ideas and plans.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
SAP Business Objects/Database Developer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 March 2016
Good place to work.
Challenging work and fast pace work.
Good Co-workers in my team.
Good growth to move forward in career.
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great variety of projects.
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 October 2015
Professional work environment with many different projects to be involved with at any given time. Helpful peers and supportive management,
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved doing this job
Community Based Rights Advisor (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON24 September 2015
My only regret is that the job wasn't offered as a full time opportunity. I wasn't able to continue because the parameters changed, and the hours didn't work with my fultime position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning opportunities
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON20 August 2015
Great place to learn about government policies and procedures. Busy office environment and very interesting technologies involved in health care systems for Ontarians.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Finance Analyst (Former Employee) –  North York16 March 2015
The Financial Management branch of the Ministry of Health and Long-term care is a good place to work. Close to the subway, it is accessible by TTC and a convenient place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Documentation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON27 December 2014
Overall mgmt is okay.
Need more qualified/experienced persons on higher mgmt level.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Project Lead (Current Employee) –  toronto, on12 September 2014
intense timelines, re-working of project implementation models.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment
Junior Business Intelligence Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 May 2014
Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care is good workplace you can learn from and contribute to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR Generalist duties
HR Generalist / Project Lead (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 February 2014
HR Generalist duties for approximately 300 staff.
Co-workers are hard-working and knowledgeable.
Worked with VOR for first time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 12Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7

Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care Reviews by Location