Find companies:
Ministry of Finance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
63 reviews

Ministry of Finance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting Internship Program
Data Clerk (Former Employee), Nassau, BahamasJune 8, 2013
Cons: internship time was too short
Starting in the business world, I've learned a lot on how one should handle themselves professional. A typical day on the job here would mostly consist of using Microsoft Excel and we were able to perfect our skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team orientated
Tax Surveillance Assistant Inland Revenue Division (Former Employee), Port of Spain TrinidadApril 22, 2013
Keeping track of customer records, contacting customers via mail on payments owed and reporting any continued delinquencies in payments to senior tax officers. I learned about how the tax system works. Team work was very important in my division to keep customer records current. It became difficult at times when previous information had to be up dated – more... because information was either missing or not current. This was a result of the transition from paper documented system to a computerized system. I enjoyed learning new things and working with my fellow co workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work was very demanding but the system of rewarding performance was lacking.
Assistant Secretary (Former Employee), NairobiApril 19, 2013
Pros: enjoyed discovering new knowledge every time
Cons: the work was not structured and was unpredictable
1. Tax incentives for businesses
2. Tax policy and legislation
3. Management - too busy to handle personal matters
4. Co-workers - willing to share information
5. Hardest part- delivering national budget on schedule
6. Enjoyable part- presentation of the annual national budget statement to the national assembly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had good learning experince
Internship (Former Employee), NAIROBI KENYAApril 12, 2013
Pros: free lunch was paid as an intern
Cons: one could work upto midnight during end months
as an intern i leanrt alot of things since this was an international co
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Junior IT (Former Employee), Nuku'alofa, TongaApril 8, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: working with old people
Working in the Ministry of Finance helped me to understand more how work life is like in the government. Also helping out with IT work boost up my knowledge and experience in my area. I had fun and helping co-workers that helps me out when in need and I learn a lot more from them. the most enjoyable part of the job is when I can be able to solve a problem – more... or help out in any way I can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work
Budgetary Policy Implementation Department Analyst (Former Employee), bishkek, kyrgyz republicMarch 12, 2013
best place to work in terms of career, but if you are money oriented it's not the best place to work.management is perfect. co workers are amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall work environment and package is good.
Lead Engineer (Current Employee), KigaliMarch 9, 2013
Pros: good work environment with better saving options
Cons: the unsecurity due to african regional problems.
I am working on govt project using latest technology.
Learning the live project quality and support importance day by day.
Management is very supportive and understands project very well.
Co-workers are always a source of inspiration for me.
The hardest part is to meet all expectations in a limited and short time.
The most enjoyable time is when you – more... see your implementation helping so many users. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high standard organizations in a challenging environment, which demands a high level of interaction with clients and team members
Trainee (Former Employee), manamaDecember 12, 2012
Pros: goverment sector
Cons: worked trainee
• How do they analyze the government project.(What are the studies that they do before approving on any project).
• The Process of Financing these Projects.
• How does the Tender board works.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Protect policyholders interest by effective implementation of insurance laws and regulations
Insurance Consultant / Insurance Supervisor (Former Employee), Financial Sector Supervision, Govt. of Saint LuciaDecember 3, 2012
Pros: improve leadership and decision making skills
Cons: one has to always remain focused, alert and innovative to enhance capacity and stability of the financial market.
It was a very challenging role. The very first assignment was to review provisions of the existing Insurance Act, conduct market intelligence and make suggestion based on the international regulatory practices.

* I have suggested over 15 proposals based on the Insurance Core Principles (ICPs), legislation and policies of FSCO and OSFI, Canada. Conducted – more... consultation with the industry and other stake holders, met with the Select Committee of Parliament on Insurance and coordinated with the Attorney Generals Chambers for policy development.
* Enhanced Saint Lucia's image as the most vibrant regulatory jurisdiction in the OECS by effective and timely implementation of regulatory provisions, innovation in financial review process, market conduct examination and by designing and implementing new reporting forms. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and comfortable workplace with cable TV
Database Manager (Current Employee), Limbe,South WestNovember 22, 2012
The day starts at 7:30am with brief meetings as to what is the task at hand, the most pressing tasks, etc. With 5 to 6 hours of intense work a typical day's job is done. My great interest in computers coupled with my studies in management, I have greatly improved my typing and statistical analysis. Management is strict and task oriented. Co-workers – more... are funny,interesting and hard working people. There is no hardest part of the job since its all fun just working in such cool environment away from the hot, noisy town of Limbe. Anyway we could say typing in large volumes of data into the system can be viewed as the hardest part of the job. I enjoy the job the most when i present statistical analysis to the Regional Chief. He loves good statistical analysis which shows him what he wants to see in a glance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive and most responsible position.
Deputy Commissioner (Current Employee), VisakahpatnamNovember 15, 2012
Pros: pride and dignity since serving the country.
Cons: being in responsible position have to put in long hours of working.
In my present position I deal with central excise matters concerning all manufacturing units and dealers falling within the city limits of Visakhapatnam.Iam leading a team of 30 officers and Iam the head of the office.I acquired expertise in indirect taxation matters after working for 23 years in the present department.It is a public dealing place and – more... gives job satisfaction as Iam in decision making capacity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and discreet
audit examiner (Current Employee), mbabaneNovember 1, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: low pay
i get to work and check hanging work and complete. i have learned how to attend auditees. the management is good and i love my coworkers. the hardest part of this job is too little money. the most enjoyable part is doing fieldwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment
Senior Debt Management Officer (Former Employee), Guyana, South AmericaOctober 22, 2012
Day's work differ, one day you might be at head office and another day you are out in the field but overall it was enjoyable.
Learned to interact with people with different cultural background.
The most difficult part was to leave home and go to another region, although it was challenging, it was fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and responsible
Public Authority (Former Employee), SofiaOctober 10, 2012
Extremely responsible position, gain a lot of experience, reading every day, be very carful, coordinate your time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working mind and wide experience
Assistant (Former Employee), Gujranwala, PakistanAugust 12, 2012
This was start of my Professional Career.
Applied at Kuwait thereafter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Filing clerk (Former Employee), Monrovia, LiberiaAugust 2, 2012
Pros: accepted when given
Cons: makes you want to get unfinish business done
Achievements of goals was a focus point on this job
I learned how to do proper filing and doing multi task, such as answer phone calls and putting documents in their various prospective.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in the personal office
Specialist in information security (Former Employee), Moscow, IDJuly 29, 2012
a typical day at work - from 9am to 6pm
what you learned - documentation and technology to protect information
management - good
your co-workers - qualified and friendly collective
the hardest part of the job - ...
the most enjoyable part of the job - work with people and technology
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work culture
Accounts assistant (Former Employee), Africa, ZambiaJuly 21, 2012
Pros: challenging but achievable targets.
Cons: failing to meet targets
it was a very involving but fun and rewarding work , recognition by management and incentives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
- Excellent knowledge of Corporate Finance, including Balance Sheets, Income Statements, Cash Flow, Capital Budgeting, Profit and Loss, Mergers an
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Baku, AzerbaijanMay 21, 2012
Pros: travelling and training in europe.
Cons: working till late to finish the budget on time
Budgeting and forecast, reporting and training. Enjoyed working with department team and management. The hardest part of the job was satisfying the President of the Country. The most enjoyable part was when we didnt have to edit the Budget more than one time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Secretary
Assistant Secretary (Former Employee), North Block, New DelhiMay 14, 2012
Pros: free lunches, free drops.
Cons: long hours, stretch on weekends.
Mail/Written Communications/Follow-up
Oral Communications/Internal & External Contacts
Calendar/Travel
Coordination/Supervision
Office Administration
Data Analysis and Report Generation
Preparing stock market reports and graphs on excel ( Ex; Determine variance, Standard Deviation, etc

Compiles and prepares briefing/progress reports for supervisor – more... as requested. Monitors progress/status of work programs.

OthersPerforms any other duties as may be required and reflected in the incumbent’s workplan. – less

About Ministry of Finance

The Ministry of Finance continues to implement and encourage employees to participate in the Ministry's Diversity Mentoring Partnership – Read more

Ministry of Finance Photos