Find companies:
Ministry of Finance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
51 reviews

Ministry of Finance Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and fun to work
Software Engineer (Former Employee), AsmaraJuly 28, 2013
* A friendly environment that helped me to grow as one of the talented employee in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moderately a fun place to work with annual sports day activities
Audit Supervisor (Former Employee), Kingston, ONJuly 25, 2013
Pros: interperosnal relationships, employees benefit, job stability, training privileges, loan opportunities and so on.
Cons: low wages, unfair pay scales
Auditing as career is very dynamic. As such, a typical day at work is very exciting and challenging. There is usually lots to do in terms of audit planning, risk analysis, excueting and reporting on audit conducted. Audit is not only concerned with accounting, statistics and maths, it is also about business management, project management, interpersonal – more... relationships, every type of analysis and the list goes on.

As a part of management I thrived to build an inclusive management culture which was embraced in the Unit I worked. The result of this type of managemnt provided an environment where the comaradrie in the office was at an exceptionally high level. Employees outside of the unit regularly compliment us for our stable working einvironment. This was largely to due my contribution as an Audit Supervisor, assisting the Chief Internal Auditor in the management of the Unit. Based on this experience I learnt that including staff at all levels in the decision making activities of the Unit is empowering for them and rewarding for the Unit.

The hardest part of the job was having to perform our jobs without the the necessary resources. For example the Ministry purchased auditing software for which the foundations were not adequately laid for the software to be used productively. This was hard as with the high volume of data in manual form and not electronically held it became difficult to examine and report on findings with a high level of accuracy. Another hard part is the development of the audit report as the tone of the report is crucial for its acceptance by management or the auditee.

The appreciation of management and improvements in effectiveness and efficieny in systems and procedures encourages us a team and goes a long way in inspiring us for the next assignment. This for me is the most enjoyable part of the job. Another enjoyable part is meeting new and interesting people and going to new places and learning new things on a regular basis. All this is the nature of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very different work ethics and values from what we have in the USA
Advisor/Freelancer (Former Employee), Abu Dhabi, UAEJuly 7, 2013
Pros: lots of days off, holidays, tax free salary.
Cons: very expensive country. inexperience management.
My experience as an advisor working at the Ministry of Finance was was very different from what I would expect. The business culture is very different and nothing like what we have in the USA. very immature and inexperience managers and Sr. managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporation tax
A member (Former Employee), DamascusJune 29, 2013
A member of the media committee

Prepare advertising campaign for the new tax law

Participate in a market study carried out by the institution

Participate in choosing our advertising agents and advertising tools for campaign.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day in the IT Unit
Business Systems Analyst/Programmer (Former Employee), Trinidad and TobagoJune 21, 2013
Pros: technology seminars from world wide organizations eg. microsoft
Cons: extended hours at times with no overtime rates
Work starts at 7am and ends at 4pm. When I arrive at the office I will have breakfast with colleagues, read the online newspaper and check company email. I would then check the web applications I were assigned to ensuring that all were up and running and that users reported no problems. I learned to be patient with users that were not technically inclined – more... and provide support whenever they needed it the most. There is one Technologist who controls the IT Unit. This unit consists of three sections; System Support, Information Systems and Networks. I had the opportunity of working within the IS section. The hardest part of the job was ensuring that the users utilized the applications in a manner in which they were supposed to. The most enjoyable part of the job was development. Following development, testing had to be carried out and finally training sessions once applications were approved and deployed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting Internship Program
Data Clerk (Former Employee), Nassau, BahamasJune 8, 2013
Cons: internship time was too short
Starting in the business world, I've learned a lot on how one should handle themselves professional. A typical day on the job here would mostly consist of using Microsoft Excel and we were able to perfect our skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team orientated
Tax Surveillance Assistant Inland Revenue Division (Former Employee), Port of Spain TrinidadApril 22, 2013
Keeping track of customer records, contacting customers via mail on payments owed and reporting any continued delinquencies in payments to senior tax officers. I learned about how the tax system works. Team work was very important in my division to keep customer records current. It became difficult at times when previous information had to be up dated – more... because information was either missing or not current. This was a result of the transition from paper documented system to a computerized system. I enjoyed learning new things and working with my fellow co workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work was very demanding but the system of rewarding performance was lacking.
Assistant Secretary (Former Employee), NairobiApril 19, 2013
Pros: enjoyed discovering new knowledge every time
Cons: the work was not structured and was unpredictable
1. Tax incentives for businesses
2. Tax policy and legislation
3. Management - too busy to handle personal matters
4. Co-workers - willing to share information
5. Hardest part- delivering national budget on schedule
6. Enjoyable part- presentation of the annual national budget statement to the national assembly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had good learning experince
Internship (Former Employee), NAIROBI KENYAApril 12, 2013
Pros: free lunch was paid as an intern
Cons: one could work upto midnight during end months
as an intern i leanrt alot of things since this was an international co
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Junior IT (Former Employee), Nuku'alofa, TongaApril 8, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: working with old people
Working in the Ministry of Finance helped me to understand more how work life is like in the government. Also helping out with IT work boost up my knowledge and experience in my area. I had fun and helping co-workers that helps me out when in need and I learn a lot more from them. the most enjoyable part of the job is when I can be able to solve a problem – more... or help out in any way I can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work
Budgetary Policy Implementation Department Analyst (Former Employee), bishkek, kyrgyz republicMarch 12, 2013
best place to work in terms of career, but if you are money oriented it's not the best place to work.management is perfect. co workers are amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall work environment and package is good.
Lead Engineer (Current Employee), KigaliMarch 9, 2013
Pros: good work environment with better saving options
Cons: the unsecurity due to african regional problems.
I am working on govt project using latest technology.
Learning the live project quality and support importance day by day.
Management is very supportive and understands project very well.
Co-workers are always a source of inspiration for me.
The hardest part is to meet all expectations in a limited and short time.
The most enjoyable time is when you – more... see your implementation helping so many users. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy Workplace
ACTING OFFICE MANAGER - TEMPORARY ASSIGNMENT (Former Employee), Victoria, BCJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: the work variety
Cons: not enough training
Running financial reports, reconciling between reports and invoices, contracts, etc.

Attending to employee's needs in regards to access to various computer applications. Purchases - furniture, and other office supplies.

A fair amount of human resource type of work, filling out forms for new employees. Leave management, entering time on line, vacation, – more... sick days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high standard organizations in a challenging environment, which demands a high level of interaction with clients and team members
Trainee (Former Employee), manamaDecember 12, 2012
Pros: goverment sector
Cons: worked trainee
• How do they analyze the government project.(What are the studies that they do before approving on any project).
• The Process of Financing these Projects.
• How does the Tender board works.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Protect policyholders interest by effective implementation of insurance laws and regulations
Insurance Consultant / Insurance Supervisor (Former Employee), Financial Sector Supervision, Govt. of Saint LuciaDecember 3, 2012
Pros: improve leadership and decision making skills
Cons: one has to always remain focused, alert and innovative to enhance capacity and stability of the financial market.
It was a very challenging role. The very first assignment was to review provisions of the existing Insurance Act, conduct market intelligence and make suggestion based on the international regulatory practices.

* I have suggested over 15 proposals based on the Insurance Core Principles (ICPs), legislation and policies of FSCO and OSFI, Canada. Conducted – more... consultation with the industry and other stake holders, met with the Select Committee of Parliament on Insurance and coordinated with the Attorney Generals Chambers for policy development.
* Enhanced Saint Lucia's image as the most vibrant regulatory jurisdiction in the OECS by effective and timely implementation of regulatory provisions, innovation in financial review process, market conduct examination and by designing and implementing new reporting forms. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and comfortable workplace with cable TV
Database Manager (Current Employee), Limbe,South WestNovember 22, 2012
The day starts at 7:30am with brief meetings as to what is the task at hand, the most pressing tasks, etc. With 5 to 6 hours of intense work a typical day's job is done. My great interest in computers coupled with my studies in management, I have greatly improved my typing and statistical analysis. Management is strict and task oriented. Co-workers – more... are funny,interesting and hard working people. There is no hardest part of the job since its all fun just working in such cool environment away from the hot, noisy town of Limbe. Anyway we could say typing in large volumes of data into the system can be viewed as the hardest part of the job. I enjoy the job the most when i present statistical analysis to the Regional Chief. He loves good statistical analysis which shows him what he wants to see in a glance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive and most responsible position.
Deputy Commissioner (Current Employee), VisakahpatnamNovember 15, 2012
Pros: pride and dignity since serving the country.
Cons: being in responsible position have to put in long hours of working.
In my present position I deal with central excise matters concerning all manufacturing units and dealers falling within the city limits of Visakhapatnam.Iam leading a team of 30 officers and Iam the head of the office.I acquired expertise in indirect taxation matters after working for 23 years in the present department.It is a public dealing place and – more... gives job satisfaction as Iam in decision making capacity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and discreet
audit examiner (Current Employee), mbabaneNovember 1, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: low pay
i get to work and check hanging work and complete. i have learned how to attend auditees. the management is good and i love my coworkers. the hardest part of this job is too little money. the most enjoyable part is doing fieldwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Finance Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 29, 2012
I assisted counsel with a wide variety of matters, including the following: received, tracked and distributed mail, tracked all correspondence using the computer system, received incoming calls, greeted visitors, responded to general inquiries, liaised with other government officials, suppliers and the general public, basic accounting practices with – more... respect to verification and reconciliation of invoices, travel claims and reports, and monitored processes relating to purchasing and budgeting. During this time, I have gained the following skills and experience:

• Communication and Interpersonal Skills (interpersonal, oral and
written communication skills, communicate with counsel in writing
as well as by telephone/in person, providing follow-up disclosure,
and inquire about admission of non-contentious evidence, ability to
work independently and as a team member with minimal
supervision, communicate with agencies to ensure up-to-date
information is maintained with respect to their needs)
• Administrative, Planning, Organizational and Reasoning Skills
(time management, determining work priorities amongst conflicting
demands, file/calendar management)
• Analytical, Problem-Solving and Evaluation Skills (research and
assessment of information to draft background materials and
correspondence, disclosure, pre-trials, ability to meet statutory and
administrative deadlines, determination of inquiries needed for
branch lawyer referral, resolving administrative issues) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment
Senior Debt Management Officer (Former Employee), Guyana, South AmericaOctober 22, 2012
Day's work differ, one day you might be at head office and another day you are out in the field but overall it was enjoyable.
Learned to interact with people with different cultural background.
The most difficult part was to leave home and go to another region, although it was challenging, it was fun.

About Ministry of Finance

The Ministry of Finance continues to implement and encourage employees to participate in the Ministry's Diversity Mentoring Partnership – Read more

Ministry of Finance Photos