Find companies:
Ministry of Education
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
231 reviews

Ministry of Education Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teacher (Current Employee), HarareFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: free breakfast
Cons: use of chalkboards instead of whiteboards
My day is filled with Mathematical and Statistical lecturers. I have learnt that students can come up with ideas and to research widely on your subject area. The management team at the college is fantastic. It makes sure that all teachers plan their work in advance, evaluate progress regularly, meet set deadlines and make wide consultations before decision – more... making. It considers the welfare of its staff of significant value.
My co-workers are cooperative and supportive. We do team teaching, seminars and upgrade our teaching skills in regular staff development meetings.
It is very difficult to work with students who do not want to put effort. Some students do not want to put effort to realise their potential.
However it is very interesting to teach students who are keen to learn new thingz,research in advance and participate in class. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgeable Staff
Master of Public Health (Former Employee), Kingston, NYFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: variety of skills displayed with regards to education strategies, techniques and curriculum development.
Cons: long working hours, little resources by the government.
It was fun working with and giving valuable input to Educators across the island.Typical work days were long and tiring.However the knowledge gained and the planning and Organisation skills developed are worth the effort.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After work recreation center
Teacher (Former Employee), KingstonJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: free day each month for less fortunate kids
Cons: safety tips
A typical day at work begins at 8 am , with a devotional prayer followed by the clocking in of workers , the production becomes my main focus as my policy is what you put out is what you get in , with surity that each worker begins the day in a happy and productive manner , production machines begin, the processing and packing room begins almost as – more... soon as production starts , its then to the sales department where sales men and creditors are attended to with fast pace as each is about to be assigned to their routes , with that out of the way , the main office is my next stop , cash and thre scanning cubicles is monitored and each sales representative starts the queries etc, moving to and fro from departments ensuring that all is done , my greatest part of the job is evening cash check off , where our daily sales proved that all was in order , and my clientele seems to get better each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reviewed...
Teacher (Former Employee), MajuroJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: no free lunches....we brought our own lunch to work
Cons: you punched in and punched out...that's houw you get paid
working with the people at the school was not fun at all. there can be jealousy among those that look down on others. I was one of those that do not have any kinds of teaching certificates but was qualified to teach because of my working skills and some skills on working with children due to some Sunday School works. The school management was poor. – more... we were in need of school supplies and most hardest part of my job is having to work with these students and so wanting to educate them but cannot give them what they need to be able to learned to write and read . there were no books and pencils. I sometimes take out my students to used the sand beach as paper. that is where we do most of our mathematic and writing. although it sounds crazy, we all loved and enjoyed it.

We enjoyed using nature's materials for our knowledge and educate ourselves weather we had books, pencils or not, we are fortunate enough to gained knowledge due to our nature. thank God for that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration and Personal Assistant
PA to Principal Catherine Rivers (Former Employee), PakurangaJanuary 28, 2014
Challenging and dynamic work environment

Fast paced atmosphere

Constantly changing errands and check list

Multi tasking
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job ever
Math Teacher and Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), MoroccoJanuary 13, 2014
very comprehensive work place
very rewarding job mentally and very healthy environment
nice co workers
enjoyed my students who were very dedicated
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Teacher, Chapelton All Age (Former Employee), Clarendon, TXJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: good staff members
Cons: poor leadership
Most days present challenges. The students had varied degrees of problems but give some levels of rewards at the end of the day. The worst of was the distance from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job, good people. good structure
Kiwi sport Coordinator (Former Employee), Hokitika, SJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: only part time
Visit my scheduled primary schools through the day. Usually finish before 3pm.
I would deliver fundamental sporting skills in the form of games to help develop children.
I kept record of participation numbers (the roll). Morning break was spent in the office with teachers which I enjoyed.
Lunch Time I would spend half in the staff room the other half – more... I would be out playing games with the children.
Once I finished for the day I would get home and input the data collect throughout the day into the terms report, and then plan for the next week. Planning could require booking sport professionals to visit schools with me or simply putting together a session of games in a specific skill building area.

I loved working with all my co-workers (I know that is really hard in most jobs), They were all easy to get along with and understood the value of physical education. Great senses of humour, you would never expect that sort of humour from school teachers it was great.
The hardest part of my job would have been organising some of the schools timetables to come and participate and making sure they showed up. As this was a new role once they got use to coming out every Friday etc things started going more smoothly.

The most enjoyable part of this job was spending all day outside delivering something that most of the children loved. I also got to participate and sometimes the teachers would join in which made it such a big exciting special event for the children – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the following is a brief review of my work at the ministry. I provided training in inclusive education. Provided awarewess campaign to community on di
SPECIALIST, INCLUSIVE EDUCATION (Former Employee), Monrovia, LiberiaJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: children are eagle to learn
Cons: people lack skills, no interest in providing much needed care, lacks training for this population.
work as a specialist for inclusive education at the Liberian ministry of education through the united nations. The government is not up to the challenge of providing educational opportunities for children with disabilities. There is a complete lack of knowledge nor the willingness to adequately fund and focus on disability. Atmosphere is one of lip – more... service and lack of genuine interest.

The most satisfying part of this job was creating awareness of disabilities in the various village schools. The children were delightful and exhibited eagerness to learn. It was rewarding to provide my experience in classroom management, modification of lesson and technique in teaching inclusive education. The work force in Liberia education system is , to say the less, unqualified. People are misplaced and appointments are made base on tribal and political association. Qualification and education do not take preference in job performance.

The hardest part of the job was the difficulty of getting administrators to approved programs. The ministry is badly managed. there are no transportation to visit school therefore, most programs do not get implemented. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely High Stressed Workplace.
General Education Officer (Former Employee), SingaporeDecember 29, 2013
Cons: stressful environment, terrible management, teachers not judged based on their job description
A teacher working for the Ministry in Singapore is made to do many jobs. And they are not judged based on the job they are supposed to do. Instead, they are judged based on how well they can fulfill other areas outside of their job description. The turn over is high because of the imbalance in work-life. Most management are promoted not because they – more... are good at what they do but because the turn over is high, and these people have expressed an interest in managing. 80% of those now in the position cannot manage. And these are aiming for higher positions. Job security is no longer a part of the benefit either. Good teachers are given bad grades simply because they want to teach and make a difference in their students' lives instead of concentrating on projects that are just mainly for show. These teachers leave on their own or are forced to leave the service by the school (personally seen it happened to a very good teacher once) because they can do much better outside the Ministry and if they stay longer, they will only put their own future in danger. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i believe with alot of adjustments the system will be better appreciated by teachers
Dance Teacher II (Current Employee), Port-of-SpainDecember 14, 2013
Pros: vacations
Cons: lack of management
I am a very hard working educator i am actively involved in the arts and always finds ways and means to keep students engaged in my subject area.I have been taught various skills so i am nit only limited to teaching dance, as i can also teach beauty culture, art, drama and i love assisting in the management of the school as i held the position of dean – more... of discipline in many institutions i have taught at. i just am of the belief that as an educator in the Caribbean your opportunities are quite limited and i will love to further my tertiary education in another country so i am seeking now to find a suitable employer that will be also convenient to the universities i have applied to – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, friendly co-workers, professional autonomy,
Management of Business teacher, Head Of Department (Current Employee), Rusape,ZimbabweDecember 11, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: transport
Busy all day,learnt to be a self starter and a team member.Friendly co-workers and management who gave room for professional autonomy. Supervising older subordinates was the hardest part of the job. Enjoy attaining the highest pass rate in the commercial subjects,an area I oversee as the head of department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,outcome based curriculum and fun filled with lots of improvisation
Teacher (Former Employee), Kinoya ,FijiDecember 9, 2013
Pros: holidays and no shift work..free accomodation in rural schools
Cons: very low salary and lots of paper work demnding long hours...robbing my leisure time
busy as soon as i enter the school gate and the last to leave the school. I have learned to do my best and just excei in all ido ..to be an example to my officers in all areas of the job...not just a talk and do nothing which is the practice of some.Some do learn fast but others need constant reminders and much coaching on the job.
The hardest to cope – more... with are the ones who refuse to be corrected or given assistance to improve as students and collegue at work.THE best of part of teaching is getting to meet new people evry week,month and year and really reflect on self through the children i teach.Teaching is such a humble proffession where I get to be part of the child's life in a real way..since i am with the child 8 hours daily..Monday to Friday – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Maths and Computer Sceince
Faculty (Comp./Maths) (Former Employee), Dhall Meedhoo and MaroshiDecember 9, 2013
Heading the Mathematics department, teaching of O Level Mathematics of Cambridge syllabus and computer basics like MSOFFICE and Internet browsing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Exciting and times
Modern Foreign Language Teacher, Spanish (Former Employee), Antigua and BarbudaDecember 3, 2013
Pros: good work hours
Cons: salary does not fit work dedication and expectation
Once Planning has taken place before hand, a typical day is usually productive, it all depends and the teacher execution. I have come to the realization that once teachers are able to cope with the unfavorable situation at work, management lack being expeditious in making the situation better. Most staff members get along, the rapport with staff is – more... remarkable.The hardest part of the job is planning and the most enjoyable part of the job is when we see evidence that the children are learning base on responses, assessment results. transferring what is taught to real life situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
got more salary with out any satisfaction
Maths teacher (Current Employee), MaldivesDecember 3, 2013
I couldn't enjoy teaching there but I got more salary ....I am trying to change from that place
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND FUN WORKPLACE
QUALITY ASSURRANCE AND STANDARDS OFFICER (Current Employee), NairobiNovember 29, 2013
Pros: free newspapers. internet
Cons: being asked to travel at short notice, pay is not comensurate with tasks performed
REPORT PROCESSING/REPORT WRITING
INVESTIGATING AND SOLVING PROBLEMS AT SCHOOL LEVEL
LEARNT NEW THINGS EVERYDAY,
GOOD RELATIONS WITH COOPERATIVE CO-WORKERS
HARDEST PART OF THE JOB IS THE INABILITY NOT TO ATTAIN MY OBJECTIVES AT THE END OF THE DAY DUE TO LACK OF RESOURCES

MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF MY JOB IS THE ABILITY TO TRAVEL TO MANY PARTS OF THE COUNTRY – more... AND LEARN NEW THINGS EVERY DAY. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
school teacher (Former Employee), Westmorland, JamaicaNovember 27, 2013
Pros: gifts
Cons: poor parenting
a typical day was hearing my name called every second of the day, getting endless hugs and notes from my students. i leaned that students are like play claw, you mold them into what they become tomorrow. realizing my role as a teacher from very early i used my every skill and talent, all resources i had to be the very best teacher i could be.
my most – more... enjoyable part is seeing my students try, once they try i know they can only fail or succeed. but having me their side failure wasn't an option. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Program Coordinator (Former Employee), Palestine, west bankNovember 22, 2013
it's an ok place if you have the right connections,stressful unstable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good working place
Supply Chain Management Unit (Former Employee), WindhoekNovember 12, 2013
Pros: time consuming, work done manual
Cons: health care
I was doing my attachment at the Ministry of Education at the Department of Supply chain management unit, i enjoyed working as a team and individual,i have experience on the supply chain management of textbooks.