Find companies:
Ministry of Education
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
213 reviews

Ministry of Education Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive worplace with separate classrooms. Personal interaction with supervisors.
Graduate Senior Assistant Mistress (Former Employee), Tucville Primary School. Georgetown. GuyanaMarch 4, 2014
Pros: pursuance of higher education while on the job, provision of on the jobs training in teaching and learning programmes.
Cons: availability of mid-morning and lunch breaks, access to teaching and learning materials, participation in extra-curricular activities.
Day begins at 08:45 hrs and ends at 15:00 hrs. Assembly of pupils and marking of registers. Checks and reviews homework. Attends to pupils questions. Supervise and review work. Classroom engagement. States and review work plan. Confer with supervisors and managers. Listens to and paticipates in discussion on issues affecting pupils and co-workers. the – more... hardest part of the job was getting parents to be involved in their child's education. the most enjoyable part was interacting with the pupils. There is so much one can learn from children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a Lot of fun working for Ministry of Education. When I first joined the Ministry, there was no IT department. I set up IT section from start
Computer Technician (Former Employee), Maseru, LesothoMarch 4, 2014
Pros: i did not have a boss
Cons: i was not being managed, no one understood what i was doing
It was a Lot of fun working for Ministry of Education. When I first joined the Ministry, there was no IT department. I set up IT section from the beginning, there were few stand alone PCs, each attached to a printer. I recommended additional IT staff. We setup first Local Area network (LAN) in Ministry Head Quarters. Later we joined other departments – more... to the main LAN, to bring about Metropolitan Area Network. And lastly we hooked the remote areas to bring about Wide Area Network (WAN). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Corporate Support Officer (Former Employee), Buona VistaFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: location is quite near my house
My work ranges from processing students’ admission applications, data entry of registration details, filing of records and mailing services. During my span with the company, I also had the chance to work with different teams and gain my experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
energy filled learning environmnt
Mathematics and science Teacher (Former Employee), Chitungwiza ZIMBABWEFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: good working hours that left me with planning space
Cons: to long breaks, poor renumeration
Work begun at 8am and ended by 3.40pm. This organization taught m to be goal oriented and to be well organized for success. it also taught me good leadership qualities as well as the ability to be a good presenter and to convince masses. l found the management as helpful and they were team builders who taught us to share ideas for the best results
as – more... for my co-workers l learnt how to resolve disputes and gained a significant ability of emotional intelligence.
The hardest part of being in my role had to be able to explain point in th short allocated time periods
l enjoyed sharing ideas the most – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace where children are concerned
Assistant Head Teacher (Former Employee), SuvaFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: no free lunch
Cons: long hours
My day begins at 5.45am with the hostel students and ends at 9pm after the whole day school programme. I learned to be passionate with the children since they are Gods blessings and I believe the number of students I teach and look after determines Gods blessings to me. Management of time and my resources is determined or driven by the locality of my – more... workplace and the workload that it has. My co-workers are very supportive since I inspired them to dream more, learn more, do more, achieve more to be a leader. They accommodated all my teachings to them since I proved all my potentials in all my exam achievements and other highlights in other subject areas. There is no hardest part of the job if I set my mnd right before beginning a day since I contextualize things and improvise on materials or thoughts that we have in whichever settings.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when I see children enjoying doing their work and experience victory and success in whatever work that we do together in school with the students at school, zonal and national level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment, opportunities to advance in career.
Teacher (Current Employee), Te Kauwhata CollegeFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: professional development
Cons: teaching in workshops for 28 years became physical demanding.
Teaching Technology since 1987 both in RSA and NZ was really satisfying. It is always developing and challenging as new designs, material equipment etc. comes around.
I have set up and started Automotive Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Building and Construction at three High Schools in my career. To see that fully operational was really satisfying.

I – more... am currently qualifying as an ordained minister through Trinity College and are considering a transition from the practical to the pastoral. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting experience. contribute in facilitating students' access to safe building
International Monitoring & Reporting Adviser (Current Employee), Kabul, AfghanistanFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: supportive
Cons: weak security
a large government ministry. the department of ministry has been improved its capacity day by day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in acceptable environment but the salary is too little with poor benefits
Secondary IGCSE history teacher (Current Employee), Mahe, SeychellesFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: get freedom to teach they way you want to
Cons: no health care, lack of resources, poor communication between school and the ministry and vise versa
Start the day with a morning briefing by the head teacher, then spends 15 in my home class to take register, talk to my students and pass on information. From 8 onward i attend to my classes according to my time table. the management of the school really creates a positive attitude to work with. I mean they do their best with what the ministry provides – more... them with. My co workers are all very friendly, always ready to provide a helping hand. The hardest part of the job is when i have spend long hours preparing lessons and students disturbs and misbehave in the classroom hence i can not deliver the lesson i plan. But the most enjoyable moment is when the results come at the end of the year and you see students who have put a lot of effort in their studies scoring good grades coming to you and simply saying thank you sir. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ministry Of Education and also internet cafe
teacher (Current Employee), GoodI Intent West Bank DemeraraFebruary 8, 2014
As I enter my classroom each mornings I would start to prepare my pupils work for the day as well as keeping my interaction going good with my loving class.

I have learn to deal with my pupils giving tantrum during my hours of teaching,also I am able to mange my home life and teaching altogether.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment is good since i enjoy my job but workers welfare on the side of the employer is poor
Physical education Lecturer (Current Employee), Francistown BotswanaFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: uncongested time table, there is academic freedom where lecturers can have time for their researches
Cons: salaries are very low
T really enjoy every day when i have lessons because my job involves both practicals and theory so they get my spirit uplifted

The college is responsible for every years admissions so being part of the commette has made me exposed to the college admission procedures

Being psrt of the college pdrformance system committee which is the system used to – more... review performance of lecturer has helped to gain good knowledge on work performance

As a college warden i have gained vast experienced in working with students – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too relaxed and not so challenging
assistant teacher (Former Employee), GaboroneFebruary 6, 2014
not so bad
the people were friendly
same thing every day
not challenging intellectually
enjoyed interacting with the students
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teacher (Current Employee), HarareFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: free breakfast
Cons: use of chalkboards instead of whiteboards
My day is filled with Mathematical and Statistical lecturers. I have learnt that students can come up with ideas and to research widely on your subject area. The management team at the college is fantastic. It makes sure that all teachers plan their work in advance, evaluate progress regularly, meet set deadlines and make wide consultations before decision – more... making. It considers the welfare of its staff of significant value.
My co-workers are cooperative and supportive. We do team teaching, seminars and upgrade our teaching skills in regular staff development meetings.
It is very difficult to work with students who do not want to put effort. Some students do not want to put effort to realise their potential.
However it is very interesting to teach students who are keen to learn new thingz,research in advance and participate in class. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgeable Staff
Master of Public Health (Former Employee), Kingston, NYFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: variety of skills displayed with regards to education strategies, techniques and curriculum development.
Cons: long working hours, little resources by the government.
It was fun working with and giving valuable input to Educators across the island.Typical work days were long and tiring.However the knowledge gained and the planning and Organisation skills developed are worth the effort.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After work recreation center
Teacher (Former Employee), KingstonJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: free day each month for less fortunate kids
Cons: safety tips
A typical day at work begins at 8 am , with a devotional prayer followed by the clocking in of workers , the production becomes my main focus as my policy is what you put out is what you get in , with surity that each worker begins the day in a happy and productive manner , production machines begin, the processing and packing room begins almost as – more... soon as production starts , its then to the sales department where sales men and creditors are attended to with fast pace as each is about to be assigned to their routes , with that out of the way , the main office is my next stop , cash and thre scanning cubicles is monitored and each sales representative starts the queries etc, moving to and fro from departments ensuring that all is done , my greatest part of the job is evening cash check off , where our daily sales proved that all was in order , and my clientele seems to get better each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reviewed...
Teacher (Former Employee), MajuroJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: no free lunches....we brought our own lunch to work
Cons: you punched in and punched out...that's houw you get paid
working with the people at the school was not fun at all. there can be jealousy among those that look down on others. I was one of those that do not have any kinds of teaching certificates but was qualified to teach because of my working skills and some skills on working with children due to some Sunday School works. The school management was poor. – more... we were in need of school supplies and most hardest part of my job is having to work with these students and so wanting to educate them but cannot give them what they need to be able to learned to write and read . there were no books and pencils. I sometimes take out my students to used the sand beach as paper. that is where we do most of our mathematic and writing. although it sounds crazy, we all loved and enjoyed it.

We enjoyed using nature's materials for our knowledge and educate ourselves weather we had books, pencils or not, we are fortunate enough to gained knowledge due to our nature. thank God for that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration and Personal Assistant
PA to Principal Catherine Rivers (Former Employee), PakurangaJanuary 28, 2014
Challenging and dynamic work environment

Fast paced atmosphere

Constantly changing errands and check list

Multi tasking
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job ever
Math Teacher and Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), MoroccoJanuary 13, 2014
very comprehensive work place
very rewarding job mentally and very healthy environment
nice co workers
enjoyed my students who were very dedicated
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Teacher, Chapelton All Age (Former Employee), Clarendon, TXJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: good staff members
Cons: poor leadership
Most days present challenges. The students had varied degrees of problems but give some levels of rewards at the end of the day. The worst of was the distance from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job, good people. good structure
Kiwi sport Coordinator (Former Employee), Hokitika, SJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: only part time
Visit my scheduled primary schools through the day. Usually finish before 3pm.
I would deliver fundamental sporting skills in the form of games to help develop children.
I kept record of participation numbers (the roll). Morning break was spent in the office with teachers which I enjoyed.
Lunch Time I would spend half in the staff room the other half – more... I would be out playing games with the children.
Once I finished for the day I would get home and input the data collect throughout the day into the terms report, and then plan for the next week. Planning could require booking sport professionals to visit schools with me or simply putting together a session of games in a specific skill building area.

I loved working with all my co-workers (I know that is really hard in most jobs), They were all easy to get along with and understood the value of physical education. Great senses of humour, you would never expect that sort of humour from school teachers it was great.
The hardest part of my job would have been organising some of the schools timetables to come and participate and making sure they showed up. As this was a new role once they got use to coming out every Friday etc things started going more smoothly.

The most enjoyable part of this job was spending all day outside delivering something that most of the children loved. I also got to participate and sometimes the teachers would join in which made it such a big exciting special event for the children – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the following is a brief review of my work at the ministry. I provided training in inclusive education. Provided awarewess campaign to community on di
SPECIALIST, INCLUSIVE EDUCATION (Former Employee), Monrovia, LiberiaJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: children are eagle to learn
Cons: people lack skills, no interest in providing much needed care, lacks training for this population.
work as a specialist for inclusive education at the Liberian ministry of education through the united nations. The government is not up to the challenge of providing educational opportunities for children with disabilities. There is a complete lack of knowledge nor the willingness to adequately fund and focus on disability. Atmosphere is one of lip – more... service and lack of genuine interest.

The most satisfying part of this job was creating awareness of disabilities in the various village schools. The children were delightful and exhibited eagerness to learn. It was rewarding to provide my experience in classroom management, modification of lesson and technique in teaching inclusive education. The work force in Liberia education system is , to say the less, unqualified. People are misplaced and appointments are made base on tribal and political association. Qualification and education do not take preference in job performance.

The hardest part of the job was the difficulty of getting administrators to approved programs. The ministry is badly managed. there are no transportation to visit school therefore, most programs do not get implemented. – less