Find companies:
Ministry of Education
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
231 reviews

Ministry of Education Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging Work Environment
Culture and Language Assistant (Current Employee), Huelva, ANMarch 31, 2014
Pros: full immersion in a foreign language
Cons: minimal hours
A typical day included about 4 to 7 hours of class including prep time. I arrived at my high school ready to give lessons to students goes 12 to 17, and ages 4 to 9 for private lessons outside of school.

I leaned how to manage a classroom with students who were eager to learn and some who had no desire to learn anything which proved to be difficult – more... at times, but with time, it became more manageable.

I reported to my bilingual coordinator and the teachers of the various subjects in the bilingual program. We coordinated individual class as well as lessons that overlapped multiple subjects. My coworkers consisted of biology, history, English, physical education, and music teachers. I worked with them to create activities and also help to improve their understanding of English.

The most difficult part of my job as an Auxiliary was having to motivate students every day; while most activities targeted oral communication, not all of there were "fun", which would not motivate students to participate.

The most enjoyable part of being Auxiliary is the opportunity to experience life, its intricacies, while in another country. I have the invaluable knowledge of how education works, both as a former student in the USA and as an educator in Spain. Everyday is a mini adventure. Everyday is another lesson. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but challenging
Physical Sciences educator (Former Employee), Gokwe, Harare, ZimbabweMarch 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: transport problems
My first day, I was a bit nervous. Everyone around me was new and all eyes were on me. I learnt that a workplace is like a society where you find almost all characters and of different academic and social background who treats you in different ways. Also learnt that what we do everyday can build or destroy a life, In the design field is either a profit – more... or loss so I had to do it to my best. My co-workers were supportive and inquisitive. The hardest part was to embrace everyone on board(stakeholders) and to know who to approach for things I needed. most enjoyable part was to see learners pass and to see designed projects working and seeing clients satisfied with offered services – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work at
Teacher/Senior Teacher (Former Employee), INMarch 27, 2014
Pros: ha ha ha freeeee lunches, friendly staff
very busy but fun. too much travelling which left little time for family. its challengin and enriching. one gets a chance to learn new things even outside one s field. the best part is once you have worked for this organisation you become fully prepared to work in any organisation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Metalwork Teacher (Former Employee), zimbabweMarch 21, 2014
Pros: free lunches when we went out for co-curricular activities eg. sports
Cons: long hours
-Lesson planning
-Learnt to identify slow learners and fast learners amongst pupils
-Management was excellent
-The most enjoyable part was when we did practical lessons
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An institution that has goals that are met. An environment conducive for both teachers and students.
Teacher (Current Employee), New Amsterdam, WIMarch 20, 2014
Pros: holidays and weekends off.
Cons: overcrowded classrooms and salary scale are not encouraging
The work environment is awesome, however, the payment plan is not attractive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a government department where progression is limited
Principal Administration officer (Current Employee), GaboroneMarch 20, 2014
Pros: free weekends
Cons: poor pension fund
is performing Human resources & administration tasks
i have learned that above everything else, workers are our best resources and that the more they are happy in an organisation, the more they will perform.
my co-workers are a diverse group of people, some impossible to work with and some are cooperative but i have learned how to deal with all of them.
my – more... hardest part of the job is expecting people to work as hard as i work. i am a perfectionist and i expect a lot from each and every individual i work with – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the company was result-oriented
Chemistry Teacher (Former Employee), Seke 1 High School, Chitungwiza, ZimbabweMarch 13, 2014
Pros: it was closer to my home
Cons: people would talk negatively to me about the organization, whilst they work with me at the organization.
A typical day involves receiving and checking entry forms, data capturing as well as error corrections and filing. Each day I could meet and discover new things everyday. Each day was a learning curve.
Being my first job, I learnt that it is important to do things efficiently and meeting targets. I also learnt that the way I do my job has a bearing – more... on the image of the company. This was to help me as I moved to other jobs.
My supervisor was open about everything to me and he was approachable. He was a happy man with a good sense of humour. It made my job easier.
My co-workers were supportive, not only at work but even in social problems at home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive worplace with separate classrooms. Personal interaction with supervisors.
Graduate Senior Assistant Mistress (Former Employee), Tucville Primary School. Georgetown. GuyanaMarch 4, 2014
Pros: pursuance of higher education while on the job, provision of on the jobs training in teaching and learning programmes.
Cons: availability of mid-morning and lunch breaks, access to teaching and learning materials, participation in extra-curricular activities.
Day begins at 08:45 hrs and ends at 15:00 hrs. Assembly of pupils and marking of registers. Checks and reviews homework. Attends to pupils questions. Supervise and review work. Classroom engagement. States and review work plan. Confer with supervisors and managers. Listens to and paticipates in discussion on issues affecting pupils and co-workers. the – more... hardest part of the job was getting parents to be involved in their child's education. the most enjoyable part was interacting with the pupils. There is so much one can learn from children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a Lot of fun working for Ministry of Education. When I first joined the Ministry, there was no IT department. I set up IT section from start
Computer Technician (Former Employee), Maseru, LesothoMarch 4, 2014
Pros: i did not have a boss
Cons: i was not being managed, no one understood what i was doing
It was a Lot of fun working for Ministry of Education. When I first joined the Ministry, there was no IT department. I set up IT section from the beginning, there were few stand alone PCs, each attached to a printer. I recommended additional IT staff. We setup first Local Area network (LAN) in Ministry Head Quarters. Later we joined other departments – more... to the main LAN, to bring about Metropolitan Area Network. And lastly we hooked the remote areas to bring about Wide Area Network (WAN). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Corporate Support Officer (Former Employee), Buona VistaFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: location is quite near my house
My work ranges from processing students’ admission applications, data entry of registration details, filing of records and mailing services. During my span with the company, I also had the chance to work with different teams and gain my experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
energy filled learning environmnt
Mathematics and science Teacher (Former Employee), Chitungwiza ZIMBABWEFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: good working hours that left me with planning space
Cons: to long breaks, poor renumeration
Work begun at 8am and ended by 3.40pm. This organization taught m to be goal oriented and to be well organized for success. it also taught me good leadership qualities as well as the ability to be a good presenter and to convince masses. l found the management as helpful and they were team builders who taught us to share ideas for the best results
as – more... for my co-workers l learnt how to resolve disputes and gained a significant ability of emotional intelligence.
The hardest part of being in my role had to be able to explain point in th short allocated time periods
l enjoyed sharing ideas the most – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace where children are concerned
Assistant Head Teacher (Former Employee), SuvaFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: no free lunch
Cons: long hours
My day begins at 5.45am with the hostel students and ends at 9pm after the whole day school programme. I learned to be passionate with the children since they are Gods blessings and I believe the number of students I teach and look after determines Gods blessings to me. Management of time and my resources is determined or driven by the locality of my – more... workplace and the workload that it has. My co-workers are very supportive since I inspired them to dream more, learn more, do more, achieve more to be a leader. They accommodated all my teachings to them since I proved all my potentials in all my exam achievements and other highlights in other subject areas. There is no hardest part of the job if I set my mnd right before beginning a day since I contextualize things and improvise on materials or thoughts that we have in whichever settings.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when I see children enjoying doing their work and experience victory and success in whatever work that we do together in school with the students at school, zonal and national level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment, opportunities to advance in career.
Teacher (Current Employee), Te Kauwhata CollegeFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: professional development
Cons: teaching in workshops for 28 years became physical demanding.
Teaching Technology since 1987 both in RSA and NZ was really satisfying. It is always developing and challenging as new designs, material equipment etc. comes around.
I have set up and started Automotive Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Building and Construction at three High Schools in my career. To see that fully operational was really satisfying.

I – more... am currently qualifying as an ordained minister through Trinity College and are considering a transition from the practical to the pastoral. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching ICDL and IT.
Teacher / ICDL Training. (Current Employee), AmmanFebruary 12, 2014
Giving lectures in ICDL and IT
Love to talk about Market management and E-Business
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting experience. contribute in facilitating students' access to safe building
International Monitoring & Reporting Adviser (Current Employee), Kabul, AfghanistanFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: supportive
Cons: weak security
a large government ministry. the department of ministry has been improved its capacity day by day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in acceptable environment but the salary is too little with poor benefits
Secondary IGCSE history teacher (Current Employee), Mahe, SeychellesFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: get freedom to teach they way you want to
Cons: no health care, lack of resources, poor communication between school and the ministry and vise versa
Start the day with a morning briefing by the head teacher, then spends 15 in my home class to take register, talk to my students and pass on information. From 8 onward i attend to my classes according to my time table. the management of the school really creates a positive attitude to work with. I mean they do their best with what the ministry provides – more... them with. My co workers are all very friendly, always ready to provide a helping hand. The hardest part of the job is when i have spend long hours preparing lessons and students disturbs and misbehave in the classroom hence i can not deliver the lesson i plan. But the most enjoyable moment is when the results come at the end of the year and you see students who have put a lot of effort in their studies scoring good grades coming to you and simply saying thank you sir. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ministry Of Education and also internet cafe
teacher (Current Employee), GoodI Intent West Bank DemeraraFebruary 8, 2014
As I enter my classroom each mornings I would start to prepare my pupils work for the day as well as keeping my interaction going good with my loving class.

I have learn to deal with my pupils giving tantrum during my hours of teaching,also I am able to mange my home life and teaching altogether.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment is good since i enjoy my job but workers welfare on the side of the employer is poor
Physical education Lecturer (Current Employee), Francistown BotswanaFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: uncongested time table, there is academic freedom where lecturers can have time for their researches
Cons: salaries are very low
T really enjoy every day when i have lessons because my job involves both practicals and theory so they get my spirit uplifted

The college is responsible for every years admissions so being part of the commette has made me exposed to the college admission procedures

Being psrt of the college pdrformance system committee which is the system used to – more... review performance of lecturer has helped to gain good knowledge on work performance

As a college warden i have gained vast experienced in working with students – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suitable working hours
Expert, Strategic Planning Department (Former Employee), Dubai,February 6, 2014
Ministry of Education is a government entity established on 1972 that manage and supervise the Education in 6 Educational zone in United Arab Emirates. The number of employees in the ministry is more that 18,000
Consultant, Strategic Planning support in developing, monitoring and reporting on the strategic and operational plans, implementing the risk – more... management policy, and developing and maintaining policies, procedures and processes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too relaxed and not so challenging
assistant teacher (Former Employee), GaboroneFebruary 6, 2014
not so bad
the people were friendly
same thing every day
not challenging intellectually
enjoyed interacting with the students