Find companies:
Ministry of Education
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
249 reviews

Ministry of Education Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked as instructor in metal processing technology
INSTRUCTOR IN METAL PROCESSING TECHNOLOGY (Current Employee), NairobiOctober 20, 2014
Pros: allowances
Cons: low renumeration
A day starts at 8am in the morning and ends at 4.30pm in the evening.
I learnt to adapt to various situations e.g. environment, working for long hours without supervision and also without money.
The management was ideal as it was well formulated and well delegation of work
My co-workers were all well co-operative especially during problem solving and – more... due to this the institution was highly rated amongst other institutions.
The hardest part of the job was where one was required to facilitate towards a particular project while his account was reading zero.
The enjoyable part of the job was after attaining the targets – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD ACADEMIC CLIMATE FOR CREATING GOOD RESULTS
Teacher (Current Employee), MaldivesOctober 20, 2014
Pros: free food and accomodation
Cons: short breaks, healthcare
A good situation prevailing in the campus .Students gave maximum support to all teachers for showing their efficiency.The vital part is not a lectureship is going on the class,instead of that interactive sections are in Maldives campus. I learned how to behave and how to change my teaching practice and how to utilize our teaching aids.Management wise – more... our principal is very strict in profession wise and friendly.He try to introduce ideas through supervisors.co-workers are very much supportive especially local co-workers.The hardest part of the job is preparing analysis sheet for all the students at the end of each term.we all are celebrating teachers day ,prize day and children s day are most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A beneficial experience
Kuwait - Senior Teacher of English (Current Employee), JahraOctober 18, 2014
It's fine to work there as a senior teacher of English. I have learned more and more. More than 12 workshops have been given with great achievements in teaching.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, keeps the mind upto date by learning new things
teacher (Former Employee), chiredzi, masvingoOctober 16, 2014
Pros: sharing knowledge, learning new things
Cons: low salary
busy, i learned that pupils in the rural areas do not perform very well as compard to those in the urban areas due to lack of resources. the managment was ok and my co workers were friendly, focused on the same goal of helping pupils excel. the hardest part of the job was having to deal with parents encouraging them to plac importnace on homework and – more... helping their children in – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard to work
Teacher (Former Employee), RuhangoOctober 11, 2014
Pros: free break fast and luch
Cons: health insurance
i used to travel 4 km on foot and start working at 7:00 am to 5:00 pm
i learned patience and team working
the management was so difficult to work
my co-workers were very kind to me as i used to create an harmony environment when we were together.
my hardest part of the job was traveling
my enjoyable part of the job was being in class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vollyball and Criket
Teacher for Mathematics (Former Employee), Makkurathoo School, Raa Atoll, Maldives.October 8, 2014
Pros: nil
Cons: nil
It is easy going life. I learned to manage particular rude students in the class, I learn to survive in the management who is supporting only the bad behavior of the students. Most of co-workers are very friendly people supporting each and every steps to manage the new problematic environment. The hardest part of the job nothing all are very easy. I – more... enjoy when the students gets good marks in my subject. at the time I feel I got the victory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An environment in which each person is allowed to grow
Director of Education (Current Employee), Antigua and BarbudaOctober 7, 2014
Pros: your expertise is respected
Cons: working as a team
The work is demanding but I like what I do; it keeps me focused. As one goes up the ladder, humility and honesty are two qualities that are needed when interfacing with people. Helping people is very rewarding and if a person likes his/her job, work becomes what you do.

It is not easy managing people but I have done this for practically my entire career – more... and I love it.

My co-workers are great people from whom I learn. We have a great team of technicians at the Ministry of Education in Antigua and Barbuda.

The hardest part of the job is when we are unable to get funding for a programme that would be beneficial to the development and growth of our students.

The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing people grow in the job (Ministry of Education staff and teachers in the system) and seeing students achieve to their highest potential. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experienced professional
Senior Supervisor (Current Employee), OmanOctober 6, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: longe houres
Performance driven, experienced professional with strong leadership and relationship-building skills and knowledge in Human Resource principles. Excellent leadership qualities as a senior supervisor in Dofar (Oman) being held responsible for looking after 152 primary and secondary schools and the training and allocating of 282 teachers. Awarded certification – more... for 'best supervisor in the department’. Proven successful track record in strategic planning and a solid understanding of employee management, hiring, training and benefits.
PERSONAL SKILLS
- Recruiting
- New hire orientation
- Compensation/payroll
- Mediation expertise
- Employee relations
- Training and development – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the Caribbean classroom
Teacher (Former Employee), St. LuciaSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: small groups among staff to vent
Cons: short breaks, no health benefits, many records to do in litttle time
Typical day at the workplace includes getting in, recording the time I arrived, greet teachers and other staff in the staff room. Students come in with problems with homework or other issues. The bell rings and teachers head up to their homeroom where they pray and give encouragement, take the register then inform students of any information they are – more... requirement to know such as a new retreat date. Bell rings and then back to the staff room to put books, chalk and duster together for the first class. The bell goes and teachers who have class at this time will head to their classes. Teachers shift from class to class until the bell for break taking a register at each class. At this point, the teacher heads to the staff room to eat something light. During this time, student cases may be dealt with or there are visits from parents. The bell rings to end break and teachers head to the next classes until lunch. During the lunch teachers eat as quickly as possible as there are usually meetings during this time or meals are eaten during meetings. The bell goes to end lunch and then teachers head back to class until school ends. When school ends, teachers go to the staff room for a short break and then back to a classroom to give additional tutoring to students who require it or to coordinate a school club. Some teachers stay longer after these sessions to plan and record weekly schemes and daily lesson plans or they go home and complete these plans there. Teachers may stay back to correct scripts as well or correct them at home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
School counsellor (Docente orientadora) (Former Employee), ColombiaSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: socialize with different types of families
Cons: long hours attending as many cases as possible
Most part of the time I was counselling students and their families giving them academic or resolving problems training. Sometimes I had to attend bullying and cyber bullying, then I learned to keep calm working under pressure and giving choices to students, parents and teachers to resolve the conflict. The hardest part of the job was receive cases – more... about domestic violence, abuse or drug consumption. The most enjoyable part of the job was do workshop with students and parents because everybody had something to teach and something to learn from the others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Teacher (Current Employee), SuvaSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: getting to know each individual who struggle to learn despite their vast different backgrounds
Cons: less pay
my day starts at 7am on my way to school. form time starts at 8am to 8:30am where we share values to our Forms,class discussion and devotion time.This is the most enjoyable part of the job.

the management are supportive of the education drive and effort shown towards the students that we teach. my co-workers are wonderful and easy to get along with...with – more... the theme for the year "Together We Can",we are positive to achieve our aim through the positiveness of fellow workmates – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place
Education Support Worker (Former Employee), Hamilton, NSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: playing along side the children, enjoying myself
Cons: far away from where i stay.
Every morning I wake up and is always happy to be going to work because I know I will enjoy it. Some days were great and other days can be real tough. During my time working as an ESW, I learned so much about different children and their disabilities. Each child learns different and so I had to learn how to communicate with them in order for me to understand – more... what they are in need of. Getting tpo work was a bit of a struggle as everyone needs to go to work but we did manage to sort out rides afterwards. The hardest part of the job was trying to understand the little educator when he was upset as they couldn't really speak properly. The most enjoyable part of the job was just having fun with the child and helping them join in with his/her class activities. I really enjoyed working eith kids and helping them become familiar with their environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of challenges
ICT Teacher (Current Employee), Thessaloniki, GreeceSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: july and august vacations and christmas and easter
Cons: you also have to work at home to catch up with everything
A class full of kids and energy, waiting to be guided to the world of Computer Science. Besides teaching (hopefully only on one school) you have to do paperwork and you are assigned many responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
organised workplace
relief teacher (Former Employee), zimbnabweSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: three months holidays per year
Cons: salary is not enough
The organbisation is one that employs disciplined people who are commited and hardworking although the salary is not favourable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work place
English Teacher in the Ministry of Education (Former Employee), Muscat, OmanSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: free transport and support
Cons: very short hours
A better place to work with supportive principal and colleagues. Although students are very rough, they are very honest to accept their mistakes and once they understand they follow the expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was educational and entertaining
Training Assistant (Former Employee), TbilisiSeptember 19, 2014
I had to help organizers carry out necessary training. Attend the training myself and be cautious, well-organized and punctual always.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Teacher(math and Science) (Former Employee), Mongar and Thimphu, Bhutan.September 18, 2014
Pros: good salary
Cons: tiring
Learning and educating.Gives cultural values and ethics.its a tiring job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a Project Engineer about 12 years and handled different types of commercial and residential buildings. My role
Project Engineer (Current Employee), HYDERABADSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: travel facility
Worked as a Project Engineer about 12 years and handled different types of commercial and residential buildings. My role starts from selecting the site with the help of Land Surveyor and suggest the right site for a specified project. Will finalize the project construction program and logistic Plan of the site with the contractor that includes different – more... types of tests n allocation of all equipments and materials including Labour Camp. Attending the site inspections of all the contractor works regularly. Préparation of monthly Progress payments and getting them approved by departmental heads and Chairman of the Project. Preparing progress reports and monthly scheduels of the project and
arrange meetings with higher authorities. Worked as a Site Engineer by supervising & executing of the works according to drawings, specifications and as per the construction schedule. controlling the project in the most economical way by optimum usage of Manpower, material and equipments. Responsible for checking work quality and effeciency of Trade Formen etc.
Strong in Communication and expert in acheiving the targets and makes the task to get completed in the specified time. Handles the Labour Payments in a clear n perfect way. Good in organinsing / maintaining the site locations in a proper way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Classroom Teacher (Current Employee), KingstonAugust 29, 2014
The day can be very tiring but when you enjoy what ever you are doing you do not feel tired. I have learned to manage my time, I have learn to deal with conflict among the children and I also learn how to get along with my coworkers.My co worker are very helpful and motivating. the hardest part of my job is to tidy up the classroom in the evening such – more... as sweeping and fixing the desk and chairs. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I teach a lesson and all my students are in to it or when I give a test and the results are very good, especially for a child that is working below his/her level... wow its a great pleasure when I see that child get a B. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term relieving teaching has enabled to be a confident, adaptable and flexable professional in the workplace.
Relieving Teacher (Current Employee), Flaxmere, NAugust 27, 2014
I am always prepared and ready at the beginning of each day when called upon to teacher relieve at all schools. My adaptability provides me with the necessary requirements, such as being familiar with school routines and experience and knowledge of curriculum areas that may be taught. Always having my own resources in case they are needed assistes with – more... classroom mangement.

I am confident to ask if I am not sure of particular things onsite. This has been rewarding for me because I am able to meet with and work along side with teachers for the first time.

My greatest challenge as a relieving teacher is changing from Junior-Middle School to Senior School. This would be because I have relieved more in Junior & Middle School area.

The most enjoyable part of my position has been to see the delight and excitement in the faces of the children I have taught because they have had a great day learning and fun also. – less

Ministry of Education Photos