Find companies:
Ministry of Education
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
190 reviews

Ministry of Education Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place & have chess room
Computer & Network Administrator (Former Employee), amanNovember 8, 2012
Pros: yas
Cons: 40 hours aweek
Starts working day on Sunday morning eight o'clock, but for me, I show work seven o'clock every day, show by taking a cup of coffee and show rounds in the room, mainframe to check on all servers and security, protection and hardware information retrieval and spreaders Home For the intranet and external check on all coolers
And make sure all internal – more... control cameras that it is working properly
This is within 15 minutes, then sit down to my computer and make sure all systems work perfectly. This need to 30 minutes, and then finished off a detailed technical report. And finished off daily work plan to the team that works with me, where we sit all together every day for 10 minutes to discuss the work plan and the distribution of tasks to everyone.
And then met with the Director-General and told him all the administrative and technical detail and action plan for the day .
Pleasure this work’s doing the supervising engineer on all the equipment in the central computer room and be an engineer supervisor of all the systems software on these systems. And other fun you administratively oversees a group of employees who are around you, and heading every one and at the same time be the person who has the responsibility and all the mistakes, if any, to the senior management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taught responsibility
Office Manager (Former Employee), St Ann JamaicaNovember 5, 2012
Pros: work experience
Cons: n/a
I was taught how to be responsible and how to interact with persons in a professional manner.

This was my first summer job as such i consider it to be the training ground for me. My managers ensured that i was guided initially before being left on my own to carry out my duties. My coworkers were very supportive and the most enjoyable part of the day – more... was how i felt after completing a given task, that is normally in the evening – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with sports facilities
Administrative Clerk - Teacher (Former Employee), MauritiusOctober 28, 2012
Productive and fun workplace with football ground, children playground
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a pedagogy trainer and an assessor at the same time is avery challenging work for me for I gained much experience from it.
Pedagogy Trainer/Garments and Textiles Expert (Current Employee), Addis AbebaOctober 15, 2012
Cons: traveling wihout any free life insurance provided by the government
Basically, my day starts by checking important schedule intended to accomplish for that day. I am deployed in one of the polytechnic colleges in the city of the Southern Region of Ethiopia. Whatever is scheduled for that day, I will attend and document everything because that would be a part of my monthly accomplishment report. I spend most of my time – more... inside the school campus where I capacitate 12 TVET trainers in garments and textile sector. My primary job is to capacitate them in the workshop development where we layout the existing equipment necessary for the training and assessment of the trainees. Sometimes we visit small-scale industries to inspect and standardize the system of their manufacturing based on the work process, applying also the 5s and Kaizen practices.
In this line of work, I learned more of how the TVET system could help the country in supplying skilled workforce in the industry, the same process as we apply here in the Philippines. I should say that the educational strategy that they are employing at present in the technical-vocational education is really very essential for a developing country like Ethiopia.Through this observations, I can define the country's great ambition to be globally competitive in terms of producing skilled workers like every country is aiming.
The country's determination to alleviate its people from poverty is really evident in their education. Though its perfect vision and mission, the educational sector still neglects the closely monitoring of the outcomes of every free training they give to the TVET regional officials and trainers. It lacks follow-up evaluation on how far these trainers have employed to improve their instructional skills they acquired from it. As one of the implementing employees of this educational system, all I can share is my advance expertise along with the process of training.
At present, there are more than 200 Filipino experts working in the Federal TVET Agency and in our region we are about more than twenty-three in number and of different expertise. In the polytechnic college where I am deployed, I would say that I am really part of the team where we are freely sharing ideas and experience to come up with the best plan for every activity we launch. So far, I am very happy with the team I am working with together with other locals in the regional bureau.
In the process of training and assessment of local trainers and industry workers, we are required to travel to assessment and training venues . I can consider this as one of my difficulty because I need to bring with me some personal things especially concerning foods and some insect repellants to avoid insect bites that may cause malaria. Because of the long distance travel, we need to rent in a hotel which sometimes are not standard especially in the provision of comfort rooms. Due to water scarcity, comfort rooms and bedding are not properly maintained especially in a cheaper hotel. Since we are not given a higher pay for the job, we cannot rent higher more than what we receive. For me it is the hardest part of the job, traveling without any health and financial security. But because teaching is really a vocation for me, I am still doing my job as a trainer and an assessor at the same time despite of the difficulties I am encountering in the performance of my job. What I enjoy most about this job is the warm appreciation of the trainers for every skills training we conducted . Here, we are transferring skills based on the identified skills gap, may it be in the pedagogy or manipulative skills. Part also of my working pleasure is learning their national language Amharic. During training, I can use some of the basic ones to catch the attention of my trainees and in this way I can confidently say that I was successful on those given tasks. I met some people and a lot of friends with this basic communication skills.
Based on the two years experience of working there, I gained a lot of experience in teaching where I also developed my confidence that I can really make a difference to a fellow of a different race. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training and support
Summer Student (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 14, 2012
Great place to expand your work skills such as writing and learning about new policies about schools and children with disabilites.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exercise club
Special Education Teacher (Current Employee), Sainte-Catherine, QCAugust 24, 2012
Pros: social events
Cons: long hours
A typical day is always interesting with my students there is never a dull day, there is always fun and laughter especially during a lesson. working there I've gained lots of experience because of the variety of disabilities that I cater for. My co-workers are excellent persons to work with they are co-operative and very sociable. The hardest part of – more... the job is writing the lesson plans, because I want to ensure that it is effective enough to cater to my students. the most enjoyable part of the job is when we are having special events for example: sports day etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok place
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Kingston ,JamaicaAugust 23, 2012
It was an ok place to work,not much can be said as i did not work there for any long period of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education
Teacher and Pedagogical Agent (Former Employee), Libreville, GabonAugust 20, 2012
I was teaching office procedures.
I did simulation office procedures of every department of a company: accounting, Payable accounts, Reception, Human resouces, Production, Social.

After two years I began to coach and supervise the other teacher while teaching. After coaching the other three years, I had been only supervising and counseling teachers. – more... I enjoyed to do my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive nd knowledgeable
TRAINING COORDINATOR / ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Abu Dhabi, AZApril 6, 2014
Pros: free cafetaria for snacks, brunch
Cons: fix time
was working as a training Coordinator , learned about admin nd Course follow up information , Mangment supports a lot, Co Workers as a team always cooperate, i enjoyed my work with my team..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Professor In English
Teacher-Ministry of Education, Maldives for 3 yrs (Current Employee), ChennaiApril 1, 2014
Cons: 7 hours
I look forward a placement in abroad teaching English as a second language...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging Work Environment
Culture and Language Assistant (Current Employee), Huelva, ANMarch 31, 2014
Pros: full immersion in a foreign language
Cons: minimal hours
A typical day included about 4 to 7 hours of class including prep time. I arrived at my high school ready to give lessons to students goes 12 to 17, and ages 4 to 9 for private lessons outside of school.

I leaned how to manage a classroom with students who were eager to learn and some who had no desire to learn anything which proved to be difficult – more... at times, but with time, it became more manageable.

I reported to my bilingual coordinator and the teachers of the various subjects in the bilingual program. We coordinated individual class as well as lessons that overlapped multiple subjects. My coworkers consisted of biology, history, English, physical education, and music teachers. I worked with them to create activities and also help to improve their understanding of English.

The most difficult part of my job as an Auxiliary was having to motivate students every day; while most activities targeted oral communication, not all of there were "fun", which would not motivate students to participate.

The most enjoyable part of being Auxiliary is the opportunity to experience life, its intricacies, while in another country. I have the invaluable knowledge of how education works, both as a former student in the USA and as an educator in Spain. Everyday is a mini adventure. Everyday is another lesson. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but challenging
Physical Sciences educator (Former Employee), Gokwe, Harare, ZimbabweMarch 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: transport problems
My first day, I was a bit nervous. Everyone around me was new and all eyes were on me. I learnt that a workplace is like a society where you find almost all characters and of different academic and social background who treats you in different ways. Also learnt that what we do everyday can build or destroy a life, In the design field is either a profit – more... or loss so I had to do it to my best. My co-workers were supportive and inquisitive. The hardest part was to embrace everyone on board(stakeholders) and to know who to approach for things I needed. most enjoyable part was to see learners pass and to see designed projects working and seeing clients satisfied with offered services – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work at
Teacher/Senior Teacher (Former Employee), INMarch 27, 2014
Pros: ha ha ha freeeee lunches, friendly staff
very busy but fun. too much travelling which left little time for family. its challengin and enriching. one gets a chance to learn new things even outside one s field. the best part is once you have worked for this organisation you become fully prepared to work in any organisation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Metalwork Teacher (Former Employee), zimbabweMarch 21, 2014
Pros: free lunches when we went out for co-curricular activities eg. sports
Cons: long hours
-Lesson planning
-Learnt to identify slow learners and fast learners amongst pupils
-Management was excellent
-The most enjoyable part was when we did practical lessons
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An institution that has goals that are met. An environment conducive for both teachers and students.
Teacher (Current Employee), New Amsterdam, WIMarch 20, 2014
Pros: holidays and weekends off.
Cons: overcrowded classrooms and salary scale are not encouraging
The work environment is awesome, however, the payment plan is not attractive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a government department where progression is limited
Principal Administration officer (Current Employee), GaboroneMarch 20, 2014
Pros: free weekends
Cons: poor pension fund
is performing Human resources & administration tasks
i have learned that above everything else, workers are our best resources and that the more they are happy in an organisation, the more they will perform.
my co-workers are a diverse group of people, some impossible to work with and some are cooperative but i have learned how to deal with all of them.
my – more... hardest part of the job is expecting people to work as hard as i work. i am a perfectionist and i expect a lot from each and every individual i work with – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the company was result-oriented
Chemistry Teacher (Former Employee), Seke 1 High School, Chitungwiza, ZimbabweMarch 13, 2014
Pros: it was closer to my home
Cons: people would talk negatively to me about the organization, whilst they work with me at the organization.
A typical day involves receiving and checking entry forms, data capturing as well as error corrections and filing. Each day I could meet and discover new things everyday. Each day was a learning curve.
Being my first job, I learnt that it is important to do things efficiently and meeting targets. I also learnt that the way I do my job has a bearing – more... on the image of the company. This was to help me as I moved to other jobs.
My supervisor was open about everything to me and he was approachable. He was a happy man with a good sense of humour. It made my job easier.
My co-workers were supportive, not only at work but even in social problems at home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive worplace with separate classrooms. Personal interaction with supervisors.
Graduate Senior Assistant Mistress (Former Employee), Tucville Primary School. Georgetown. GuyanaMarch 4, 2014
Pros: pursuance of higher education while on the job, provision of on the jobs training in teaching and learning programmes.
Cons: availability of mid-morning and lunch breaks, access to teaching and learning materials, participation in extra-curricular activities.
Day begins at 08:45 hrs and ends at 15:00 hrs. Assembly of pupils and marking of registers. Checks and reviews homework. Attends to pupils questions. Supervise and review work. Classroom engagement. States and review work plan. Confer with supervisors and managers. Listens to and paticipates in discussion on issues affecting pupils and co-workers. the – more... hardest part of the job was getting parents to be involved in their child's education. the most enjoyable part was interacting with the pupils. There is so much one can learn from children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a Lot of fun working for Ministry of Education. When I first joined the Ministry, there was no IT department. I set up IT section from start
Computer Technician (Former Employee), Maseru, LesothoMarch 4, 2014
Pros: i did not have a boss
Cons: i was not being managed, no one understood what i was doing
It was a Lot of fun working for Ministry of Education. When I first joined the Ministry, there was no IT department. I set up IT section from the beginning, there were few stand alone PCs, each attached to a printer. I recommended additional IT staff. We setup first Local Area network (LAN) in Ministry Head Quarters. Later we joined other departments – more... to the main LAN, to bring about Metropolitan Area Network. And lastly we hooked the remote areas to bring about Wide Area Network (WAN). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Corporate Support Officer (Former Employee), Buona VistaFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: location is quite near my house
My work ranges from processing students’ admission applications, data entry of registration details, filing of records and mailing services. During my span with the company, I also had the chance to work with different teams and gain my experience.