Milestones Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
milestones
Assist other servers (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 December 2017
called off lots of shifts, not enough hours, extensive training, 8 days long .. lol even if you have experience, your coworkers are usually nice, but this is stil a restauarnt, so you are still trying to work with alot of people every day
Pros
short shifts
Cons
short shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Milestones review
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 December 2017
The team is a great group of people, shifts are easily exchanged
Managers could use more training to become more supportive/ helpful leaders in the workplace.
Overall the work environment is good.
Pros
50 percent off food when
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Milestones in Niagara Falls is different than any other location
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON1 December 2017
Milestones in Niagara Falls is operated differently than in any other location. Great place if you want to make money. The staff is friendly and willing to help.

The issue with Milestones in Niagara Falls is poor management.

The restaurant is disorganized, making simple tasks difficult.

Taking breaks is also rare, but half hour is deducted from your pay automatically.

Overall, the Milestones is a great franchise to work at, but the Niagara Falls location needs improvement.
Pros
Good pay and tips, good starter job for students who want to become cooks, great staff.
Cons
Long hours, no appreciation from management, disorganized, poor management, no raises, high turnover rate, no breaks, benifits promised but not guaranteed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun work places for those with the passion for hospitality
Bartender/Variable manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 November 2017
I've been with the company for 6 years and I've been able to move around in many different positions at multiple locations. Milestones has allowed me the pleasure of meeting, and learning from some of the best people I know.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun But Hard To Move Up
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC29 October 2017
Managers were great, understanding people.
Overall work environment was fun and encouraging.
Only issue is that it is hard to move up positions. Not much opportunity for growth.
Pros
Fun, Helpful Managers and Coworkers
Cons
No growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to build on customer service skills
Host (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON20 October 2017
Always a friendly work environment with encouraging management and great staff.

Multiple opportunities to grown within the company and management was never shy in helping you reach your goals.
Pros
Room to grow
Cons
Hours were too short and not many shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good environment and great people.
Pantry Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON3 October 2017
I only worked at Milestones for a very short time as a Pantry Cook. I learned the recipes, learned how to prepare the ingredients, and how to put everything together beautifully on a plate. The kitchen staff was friendly and patient, and they were always ready to teach me new and better ways to perform my duties. There were a few "poisonous" who spent their time complaining about few hours and low pay. Management was professional, non-confrontational, and were always ready to do whatever it took to make employees feel safe and happy at work. Training was good, but boring, outdated at points, and repetitive. Learning more positions on the line was up to me, and I found it difficult to learn recipes for Fry station without proper training. I was still expected to be able to work independently at Fry station with no training and no supervision, which provided a lot of stress at work and created a plethora of timing problems in the kitchen. Overall, it was a good job, but the training needs to be handled in a more personal, hands-on way. Most of it is left to you to know or learn by yourself.
Pros
discounts at Cara restaurants
Cons
Training is hands-off and left to the employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL11 September 2017
Awesome place to work. Management is great along with the staff. Friendly and very accommodating place. Great work systems and flow. Couldn't get any better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very efficient organisation
Waiter/Manager (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC7 September 2017
Nice to start in restaurant, can learn a lot from every position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good values and training
Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 August 2017
Great company to work for, great benefits. Just ask too much from their staff and don't have enough staff on supporting the business. This is the restaurant industry and things are so cut and dry.
Cons
Expects too much from management, too long of shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with great people as well
DISH WASHER/ PREP TRAINING (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON2 August 2017
very great place to work, the hours will keep you there late. great managers and great people. Good work environment with good hours unless you are closing.
Pros
Free food, great people
Cons
late late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 July 2017
Good place to work and very busy. Co-workers were very nice and the hours are very flexible. Overall working at milestones was a good learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack Luster
Kitchen manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 July 2017
The milestones organization as a whole has many flaws and downsides, from a lack of accountability all the up to management and back down, too a mediocre care for food quality or guest satisfaction. On a daily basis i am inundated with excuses and a general lack of caring from any one inside the building walls. The management team is so unknowledgeable that it is an insult to the word chef for that term to apply to those that run said restaurant.
Pros
no one cares you can get away with almost anything.
Cons
I must serve food I wouldn't eat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
Pantry Chef (Former Employee) –  Tsawwassen, BC7 July 2017
the whole environment was unique and friendly everyone was very productive and there was a lot of communication that went throughout the co-workers i enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Milestones review
Server (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 July 2017
Management was terrible. It's difficult to work in an environment where you're providing great service as a server, but your food comes out cold or uncooked or tasting bad and then your tips are effected and the kitchen's tip out is not.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family restaurant with friendly staff
Bartender/Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 June 2017
staff was great
management was lacking and food was inconsistent
lovely guests and happy atmosphere
day to day included simple cleaning tasks and engaging with guest while offering recommendations and solutions to problems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat workplace
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 June 2017
Milestones was like being part of a big family. I've learned some of my best customer (guest) service skills from working there. I didn't want to leave, but commuting there was a challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i work here in very diligently as well as fun together
A employee in restaurant (Current Employee) –  Tsawwassen, BC12 June 2017
mangement and stafff is too good and they motivate all of the employee to work harder and and never give up and continue work in busy time moreover,at the weekend we also do work with without taking break as well as listening to music
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture, wonky principles
DEVO Server (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON11 June 2017
Milestones as a brand has developed a solid culture inside the four walls, but short-sighted operational principles leave them playing catch-up at all times.

If you're great at your job, you will find yourself doing far more than your share of the work without any extra benefit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management, great staff and great atmosphere
N/A (Former Employee) –  Ontario5 June 2017
this is a fast work environment, if you cant handle the heat stay you of the kitchen as they say. here you will learn things like time management among other things...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Milestones. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 95 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9